QUOTE(ali00 @ Oct 30 2019, 02:54 PM)
Whatt?! That's a lot of returns
currency gains nia2 lah...LOL.
fund performance stashaway better ...
backspace66
post Apr 13 2020, 10:31 AM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Apr 13 2020, 10:24 AM)
What's the point of even using Wahed if they invest in the local market. Even their so called "US stocks" ETF is on the local market instead of the US and have almost non-existent trading volume. You might as well DIY and save money.
Exactly, no point . Although i would consider to buy that myetf directly in KLSE if it has more activity and i-vcap is not preparing to let go of the fund management business. It is listed in KLSE but that does not mean it is investing here, that us titan 50 is inveating in US equity just that it is listed here.

If someone decide to make etf that track s&p 500 in KLSE, i will definitely snap it up unless it is not active as in the current myetf

This post has been edited by backspace66: Apr 13 2020, 10:39 AM
zstan
post Apr 13 2020, 10:43 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Apr 13 2020, 10:24 AM)
What's the point of even using Wahed if they invest in the local market. Even their so called "US stocks" ETF is on the local market instead of the US and have almost non-existent trading volume. You might as well DIY and save money.
the advantage of robo advisors is that you can buy with minimum amount of funds, even with RM100.
red streak
post Apr 13 2020, 10:45 AM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Apr 13 2020, 10:31 AM)
Exactly, no point . Although i would consider to buy that myetf directly in KLSE if it has more activity and i-vcap is not preparing to let go of the fund management business. It is listed in KLSE but that does not mean it is investing here, that us titan 50 is inveating in US equity just that it is listed here.

If someone decide to make etf that track s&p 500 in KLSE, i will definitely snap it up unless it is not active as in the current myetf
The thing is you can buy it directly because it's listed locally so you don't need a middleman at all. Other Robos are at least buying overseas ETFs which are much harder for small time investors to purchase, which is likely the target market. The problem with such a low volume ETF in the first place is that once you want to dump it, there aren't any buyers. Which means you have trouble getting your money.
backspace66
post Apr 13 2020, 10:47 AM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Apr 13 2020, 10:45 AM)
The thing is you can buy it directly because it's listed locally so you don't need a middleman at all. Other Robos are at least buying overseas ETFs which are much harder for small time investors to purchase, which is likely the target market. The problem with such a low volume ETF in the first place is that once you want to dump it, there aren't any buyers. Which means you have trouble getting your money.
Yeah, Thats what i said. Again the us titan 50 is investing in us equity, it not a derivative. It is just listed here.

This post has been edited by backspace66: Apr 13 2020, 10:49 AM
backspace66
post Apr 13 2020, 10:54 AM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 13 2020, 10:43 AM)
the  advantage of robo advisors is that you can buy with minimum amount of funds, even with RM100.
Still, 1 lot of those myetf is cheap enough some of them even lower than MYR100 per lot, but transaction fee is going to eat up into that especially for small investor

This post has been edited by backspace66: Apr 13 2020, 11:07 AM
red streak
post Apr 13 2020, 02:27 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Apr 13 2020, 10:47 AM)
Yeah, Thats what i said. Again the us titan 50 is investing in us equity, it not a derivative. It is just listed here.
Most ETFs aren't derivatives. I just don't see the upside to using Wahed over something like SA. Personally I don't really trust Robos when they can go belly up any time since you'll be forced to realize any losses you have when it happens when they force sell your units. Just look at what happened to Smartly.

This post has been edited by red streak: Apr 13 2020, 04:57 PM
honsiong
post Apr 13 2020, 03:10 PM

3,182 posts

Looked into wahed's website and their ETF of choice, 0.5% p.a. expense ration on top of 0.8% platform fee holy shit.

For comparison, StashAway ETFs are like 0.4% for GLD, 0.07% for treasuries, normal S&P 500 ETFs like VOO charge 0.03%.

If you aren't a weird person wanna syariah compliant everything, there are no reasons to use Wahed.
Death Wings
post Apr 13 2020, 03:13 PM

102 posts

I took out all my funds from wahed last week... lost confidence
will find better vehicles to invest in
GrumpyNooby
post Apr 13 2020, 03:14 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(Death Wings @ Apr 13 2020, 03:13 PM)
I took out all my funds from wahed last week... lost confidence
will find better vehicles to invest in
Process completed?
Got your money already in the bank account?
dopp
post Apr 13 2020, 03:59 PM

1,733 posts

I took out all of mine, Sunday last week.
Since their policy says "up to" 8 business days.. I will continue to wait

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Apr 13 2020, 03:14 PM)
Process completed?
Got your money already in the bank account?
watabakiu
post Apr 13 2020, 06:48 PM

1,572 posts

Usually how long does it take for withdrawals?
tadashi987
post Apr 14 2020, 09:29 AM

2,106 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Apr 13 2020, 06:48 PM)
Usually how long does it take for withdrawals?
it is not standard, hearsay some get it within a week, some get it week(s) after, claimed due to low volume of the ETF in Bursa and it takes time to sell hmm.gif
dopp
post Apr 14 2020, 09:55 AM

1,733 posts

"Hello! Your request (165227) has been received and is being reviewed by our support staff.
Please note that we are currently experiencing high ticket volume, we will try to get back to you within 1-3 days."

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Apr 14 2020, 09:29 AM)
it is not standard, hearsay some get it within a week, some get it week(s) after, claimed due to low volume of the ETF in Bursa and it takes time to sell  hmm.gif
watabakiu
post Apr 14 2020, 11:22 AM

1,572 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Apr 14 2020, 09:29 AM)
it is not standard, hearsay some get it within a week, some get it week(s) after, claimed due to low volume of the ETF in Bursa and it takes time to sell  hmm.gif
uf so the gap from the time the withdrawal request and the actual date the request gets done is quite long then!
seiluen
post Apr 14 2020, 08:04 PM

550 posts

request withdrawal on 6th april. till now the fund still in my account..hmmm
GrumpyNooby
post Apr 14 2020, 08:15 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(seiluen @ Apr 14 2020, 08:04 PM)
request withdrawal on 6th april. till now the fund still in my account..hmmm
They couldn't liquidate your holding? hmm.gif
seiluen
post Apr 14 2020, 08:32 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Apr 14 2020, 08:15 PM)
They couldn't liquidate your holding?  hmm.gif
will wait until next Monday and see how it goes before email them sad.gif
kruzae
post Apr 14 2020, 09:06 PM

75 posts

So many people taking out their money😅 I guess I'm the only one topup money. I don't have much choice though, SA is not an option for me as its not sharia compliance.
Oh well, long term!
*finally see some movement on one of the etf
Kpjh
post Apr 14 2020, 09:43 PM

69 posts

Maybe you got basis for your preference.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/isla...uncertain-times

128 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0528sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:17 AM