Wahed Invest Malaysia, Good, Ok2, Bad?

honsiong
post Jan 25 2020, 06:14 PM

3,182 posts

Withdrawn S$10 from Simple. No charges, took 4 days though.
honsiong
post Jan 29 2020, 04:55 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(qal123 @ Jan 29 2020, 04:49 PM)
Finally, I got my answer on why the percentage gains and profit earns is not synchronized. No wonder I see my percentage quite high tho

TWR is good at showing how well they do, not how well you do.
honsiong
post Apr 8 2020, 06:37 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Apr 8 2020, 05:45 PM)
The etf wahed put in is very low vol etf.

That’s explain why you buy fast sell slow and less movement.

Which is why I always say understand what you invest. Don’t just buta buta follow and earn that referral money.
Some people prolly use it coz of its shariah compliance.
honsiong
post Apr 8 2020, 07:53 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(seiluen @ Apr 6 2020, 07:08 PM)
have just cut loss at RM4471.45 (-9.55%)

lets see how long I will received my balance
That's not how you use robo advisor, it's not for you to day trade... doh.gif
honsiong
post Apr 13 2020, 03:10 PM

3,182 posts

Looked into wahed's website and their ETF of choice, 0.5% p.a. expense ration on top of 0.8% platform fee holy shit.

For comparison, StashAway ETFs are like 0.4% for GLD, 0.07% for treasuries, normal S&P 500 ETFs like VOO charge 0.03%.

If you aren't a weird person wanna syariah compliant everything, there are no reasons to use Wahed.
honsiong
post May 8 2020, 02:47 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(smartlife38 @ May 8 2020, 01:12 AM)
https://www.myetf.com.my/en/MyETF-Series/My...rical-NAV-Price

what I am being told from this graph, it shows the ETF price is deviating too far from NAV which means eventually, it will correct itself by by going down. and those who buy the ETF right now aren't making a good decision because you buy it at a really expensive price.

Is it true?
It seems like the market maker aka authorized participants arent issuing new ETF shares?

As of January 2020, they only have RM 2M AUM. This is a very very very very small ETF, dont expect it to have good trading volume to close the bid-ask spread.
honsiong
post May 11 2020, 01:54 PM

3,182 posts

Some forumer pointed this out last week, the ETFs Wahed invested in seem to have massively inflated price over their net asset value:

MMID

US50

Tread carefully.
honsiong
post May 12 2020, 01:47 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim1990 @ May 12 2020, 01:33 AM)
Hello newbie here. Saw a few posts asking about moratorium calculation. So if anybody is interested in calculating the extra amount you need to pay from this loan moratorium, came across this pretty good calculator here: http://doctorfrugal.com/loanmoratoriumcalculator/
Hope this helps!
Is that how you promote something without coming off as directly associated with it?
honsiong
post May 13 2020, 01:34 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(dinkelberg @ May 13 2020, 12:59 PM)
Hi guys , just wondering. Whats the point of wahed if you could buy it through Bursa ?
QUOTE(ameli7a @ May 13 2020, 01:02 PM)
“why wouldn’t I buy securities suggested by Wahed directly?” Their answer is:

While you may be able to buy the securities suggested by Wahed directly through your broker, you may not be able to get them all at the same time in a cost-effective and efficient manner. In addition, some brokers may require a high minimum investment to open an account. Wahed’s service also monitors and facilitates the periodical rebalancing of your portfolio at no additional cost.

More importantly, you may not be able to open and monitor an account in the same seamless manner as you do with Wahed. With Wahed’s advanced technology, you can open an account online and in minutes and get access to global markets.
Bursa is much cheaper to trade on vs foreign brokers. RM8-10 per trade is really small compared to the 0.8% platform fee incurred to Wahed over time.

honsiong
post May 14 2020, 02:13 PM

3,182 posts

This ETF Wahed invests in really feels like a ticking timebomb, from the order book it has a 8.33% spread currently, but the market maker seems to be selling/buying (those with ~300 lots in the queue) with a spread of almost 10%.

Let's say if there is one day nobody deposits into Wahed and you wanna withdraw a large sum of money, you will take on 10% loss immediately.
honsiong
post May 14 2020, 02:23 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ May 14 2020, 02:19 PM)
the fund is managed by Khazanah. so i think they won't screw it up. that's my consolation right now laugh.gif
Walao their market makers are making a killing woi, everytime Wahed buy, they pocket 5-10% of the profit.
honsiong
post May 15 2020, 05:14 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ May 15 2020, 04:52 PM)
As of 4.51 pm there is a 20 cent drop which equals to 88 cent drop in MYR for US ETF.

Which means there about 50% of gains will be wiped. Will there be people withdrawing all their accounts next monday? hmm.gif
Days ago I was thinking to buy high sell low 1 lot on this ETF right after Wahed’s daily trade around 2.50PM.

Then I think Wahed would not register that price drop on their app anyway, so I didnt bother.

Let me know if Wahed actually shows that price drop coz of bid ask spread? Dont say I never say ah, the ETFs Wahed buy have crazy spreads and near 0 volume.
honsiong
post May 15 2020, 08:35 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(dinkelberg @ May 15 2020, 08:17 PM)
user posted image That dive
QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ May 15 2020, 08:31 PM)
What a volume spike?  hmm.gif

There was a selloff of this ETF, weird.

The graph on MyETF website is not updated yet, but the ETF price on KLSE now is closer to the NAV.

honsiong
post May 15 2020, 08:54 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ May 15 2020, 08:39 PM)
Any Bursa gossip regarding this selloff?  hmm.gif
Cmon... this ETF is pretty dead
honsiong
post May 16 2020, 02:42 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Assassin's @ May 16 2020, 02:36 AM)
It's very likely the authorized participant is the one selling off their unit which they created through ETF creation process. You can see the unit in circulation go from 8,812,300 in 8 May 2020 to 9,112,300 in 12 May 2020 (+300,000 = 1 creation/redemption basket).

METFUS50 Net Asset Value (08 May 2020)

METFUS50 Net Asset Value (12 May 2020)
That means they are finally doing their job. Still I think people should stay away from Wahed altogether because of these zombie ETFs they invest in.
honsiong
post May 16 2020, 01:08 PM

3,182 posts

I gonna see if on Monday the US50 ETF still has a >10% spread, this is ridiculous.

If the authorized participants stop creating new units again, you all are going to see ETF price dislocate from its NAV badly, meaning the +10% gain you see do not exist, it's fake.

The -10% drop did not come from the underlying assets price drop, its just the price correcting back to what its worth the NAV.
honsiong
post May 18 2020, 01:07 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(dinkelberg @ May 18 2020, 01:06 PM)
user posted image Im thinking of entering back to the market , any thoughts?
Wrong chart to look at, you should see this one: https://www.myetf.com.my/en/MyETF-Series/My...rical-NAV-Price

The price should be close to the NAV blue line.
honsiong
post May 18 2020, 02:04 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ May 18 2020, 01:41 PM)
Close down meaning? They will buy other ETF? Would you prefer StashAway over wahed?
Best case means they sell off the ETFs, regardless whether its green or red and give back money to you.

I prefer stashaway over wahed due to the choice of ETFs. See previous pages where few other forumers and I pointing out their insane bid ask spread and dislocation of price from NAV. These are huge red flags to stay away frkm Wahed and MyETF.
honsiong
post May 18 2020, 04:51 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(svchia78 @ May 18 2020, 04:26 PM)
Fuh, another steep drop of asset, today MSCI Islamic Dividend. 25% (22.93% actual in my portfolio) weightage...

Whoever queued buy orders below NAV... you all profit.

Jeez that's painful to look at.

This post has been edited by honsiong: May 18 2020, 04:51 PM
honsiong
post May 18 2020, 09:51 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ May 18 2020, 09:42 PM)
Both ETFs finally corrected to the NAV
I wish I can buy puts on these ETFs the next time it dislocates again. No options trading for these zombies here though.

0.0207sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:58 AM