427 Pages « < 420 421 422 423 424 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

watermineral
post May 5 2025, 10:45 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ May 4 2025, 05:18 PM)
Buy $BIL watermineral. The 30% tax will be refunded next year Feb
price not adjusted for dividendsprice adjusted for dividends
user posted imageuser posted image
this one pay dividend monthly right? does it mean I have to buy before ex dividend and sell it after next dividend pay?
Medufsaid
post May 5 2025, 10:58 PM

3,485 posts

watermineral do you even read what I wrote and quoted?
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ May 4 2025, 05:18 PM)
The 30% tax will be refunded next year Feb
QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 13 2024, 05:30 PM)
With the refund, my BIL IRR now stands at 4.80%, pretty close to short-term US T-bill rates, albeit the rate can be better if they refund sooner, but definitely better than the old "sell before ex-date then buy on ex-date" strategy... tongue.gif

watermineral
post May 5 2025, 11:08 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ May 5 2025, 10:58 PM)
ok i change my question, can i sell when i need the cash anytime? lets say i buy at 7th may and sell maybe 2 week later, will i still get pay dividend?

This post has been edited by watermineral: May 5 2025, 11:10 PM
watermineral
post May 7 2025, 10:10 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ May 5 2025, 10:58 PM)
thank you.. I am putting some money in it to see how it goes.. biggrin.gif
Paul13579
post May 18 2025, 12:38 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 3 2024, 12:02 AM)
I still think I am a fundamental guy... Charts and resistances... head and shoulders patterns all seem like aliens to me lol

I make 2-3 USD a day every 3 days or so trading the bid-ask spread of BIL ETF... passive income for a start...

Quantitative researcher/analyst is a more suitable job for me. I heard the pay is 15k SGD - 20k SGD a month for PhD graduates in quant firms like Citadel, Jane Street etc. but I guess the trading desks people bring home more money lah..

You can help check for me the pay for Physics PhD working as quant analyst/researcher in Malaysia banks/funds? tongue.gif

As for your OT question, no I am just starting my 2nd year PhD at NTU Singapore... Will graduate in August 2027. See if I can land an intern at one of the market makers out there. PhDs and Masters' quants are in high demand in Singapore...
High Frequency Trading. A good book to read is 'Flash Boys" by Michael Lewis. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flash_Boys

You can find the e-book for free online, given the book's popularity (PM me if you have difficulty looking for one.)

A very common HFT tactic is known as SIP latency arbitrage: https://www.law.berkeley.edu/wp-content/upl...latency2017.pdf

In essence these traders program computers so that they can seek arbitrage profits in a very short period of time. The NMS regulation by the SEC requires a common pricing to be known to the public, but the problem is NMS regulation does not specify the time (or time delay) for the information to be known. The SIP systems are often delayed by milliseconds, but stocks tick every nanoseconds or so.

So in that short instance, a trader can buy from one exchange and sell to the order to make money.

That's a simplified version of the HFT story, books will tell you more.

---------------------

Yes, you can do HFT with IBKR although theoretically, you will always lose out to the traders whose servers and PCs are right next to the exchange's matching engine in say Mahwah, New Jersey (for NYSE).

But even if you are located physically in the US, there may be requirements to fulfill before you can start trading like a pro... Some license or something... Can check out on IBKR's website.

-----------------------

I think IBKR connects to the exchanges' matching engines directly, but I am not sure how close IBKR's servers are to the data centers of NYSE, NASDAQ etc...

What I can share with you from my previous attendance in Citadel, Point72, QRT etc.'s campus recruitment talk in NTU Singapore is that they are using short waves to relay signals all the way to the US as the underground fibre optic cables are congested and slow. The signal bounces along the ionosphere of Earth... from Singapore all the way to the US...

https://panoradio-sdr.de/the-world-of-short...ck%20to%20earth.

------------------------

Ans lastly, this info is from my HK finance professor who knows people working in Citadel Hong Kong. A lot of these non-bank trading firms, hedge/quant funds do not have solid footing in traditional hardcore finance unlike people who work at investment banks like Goldman, Morgan Stanley or Deutsche. Their backgrounds are somewhat diverse, with people coming in as long as they have a Masters/PhDs and can think/analyze...

My prof confirms that Citadel makes money by taking positions against its counterparties, albeit for a short period of time (e.g. in low-latency HFT trades). Pure "vanilla" market-making will never be profitable...

(A joke from him: He himself applied for a job at Citadel HK and the HR asked him his research field. He said Capital Asset Pricing Model, CAPM. The HR asked him what is "CAPM" laugh.gif)

Hope that helps. biggrin.gif
Crazy how those tiny NMS time-delay gaps still slip past the SEC, trading moves faster than rule-making, I guess. If you’re lining up a private raise for a hedge or quant desk, grab a lawyer who lives and breathes Reg D.

This quick JD Supra read on choosing a private-placement attorney keeps it simple and might save you a fortune in cleanup later: https://www.jdsupra.com/legalnews/10-keys-t...rivate-1391811/

This post has been edited by Paul13579: May 21 2025, 04:13 PM
Ramjade
post May 19 2025, 09:08 PM

24,330 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ May 19 2025, 07:33 PM)
Bro,...

I have just re-opened my Tigers acct,... would like to ask you : What are the pros and cons of using Tiger Brokers to do Sell options ? I see that most Option traders would go for IB.
Like I said many times. Cost.
1. Long term cost savings with IBKR. Why?
The only brokerage which gives you spot exchange rate. No one give that even if priority customer. Maybe your bank give you. But I know I don't have it.
Lower fees Vs tiger.
2. Tiger HQ is in china. I wouldn't trust my finance with anything from China even though they have a MAS license or listed on Nasdaq (I am looking at you luckin coffee). Call me racist. Lol.

No harm if you trust Chinese products. For my own wealth, I cannot trust them yet. It's just personal.

I never use tiger. Tiger is only use for real time price for stocks and maybe ? real time price for option price. Not very sure if tiger is real time. But no importance to me even if it's 1 minute slower as I am not a trader.

You want super nice interface with real time data, tastytrade. They are the one behind TD platform.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: May 19 2025, 09:30 PM
Hansel
post May 20 2025, 02:27 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 19 2025, 09:08 PM)
Like I said many times. Cost.
1. Long term cost savings with IBKR. Why?
The only brokerage which gives you spot exchange rate. No one give that even if priority customer. Maybe your bank give you. But I know I don't have it.
Lower fees Vs tiger.
2. Tiger HQ is in china. I wouldn't trust my finance with anything from China even though they have a MAS license or listed on Nasdaq (I am looking at you luckin coffee). Call me racist. Lol.

No harm if you trust Chinese products. For my own wealth, I cannot trust them yet. It's just personal.

I never use tiger. Tiger is only use for real time price for stocks and maybe ? real time price for option price. Not very sure if tiger is real time. But no importance to me even if it's 1 minute slower as I am not a trader.

You want super nice interface with real time data, tastytrade. They are the one behind TD platform.
I read everything,... including your sarcastic first line,... biggrin.gif

Then I saw you've never used Tiger, thot you have tried out most, if not ALL of the platforms out there,... judging by your choice of words. Have you used Tastytrade before ?
Ramjade
post May 20 2025, 02:59 PM

24,330 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ May 20 2025, 02:27 PM)
I read everything,... including your sarcastic first line,... biggrin.gif

Then I saw you've never used Tiger, thot you have tried out most, if not ALL of the platforms out there,... judging by your choice of words. Have you used Tastytrade before ?
It is not sarcastic. I know my banks don't give me spot rates for currency conversion. But I know IBKR does. that is why I am sticking to them.

It is one of my fundamentals because of this quote "Keep your fees as low as possible. Never underestimate the effects of fees long term. A small fees will sink a ship with time". I think it was from Jack Bogle. Not sure where I got it from. Could be wrong. That is why I always say don't give free money to banks.

I have not use tastytrade or want to use tastytrade but I know that they got better desktop interface and mobile interface than IBKR. I know Tastytrade have like lots of video to teach you how to do options correctly for newbies. It is nice of them to provide the tutorial.

Because tastytrade does not offer the service of funding using SGD and they only accept USD, that means I need to send either SGD or RM directly to them, I will easily lose out 2-3% per conversion (force to use banks) compare to if I use IBKR where I am able to get spot rates for my SGD. Long term it is going to be more expensive for me to use tastytrade. I know if I went with IBKR, I save the 2-3% per currency conversion. Remember what I said above. Keep your fees as low as possible.

Choose whichever platform you like. Fees matter but so does returns. It doesn't make sense to use a cheap platform and compromise your returns. IBKR is like airaisa. Give you the barebones. You want real time stock data, you pay for it. You want real time options price, you pay for it. Keep in mind some package that you pay on IBKR will be refunded if you can hit say USD10/month in trading fees making it essentially free.

Correction, I use Tiger to get free real time price for stocks and ? options. I am not paying IBKR for that. I don't buy and hold or trade anything on Tiger or intend to use Tiger to buy and hold or trade.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: May 20 2025, 03:37 PM
Hansel
post May 20 2025, 06:20 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 20 2025, 02:59 PM)
It is not sarcastic. I know my banks don't give me spot rates for currency conversion. But I know IBKR does. that is why I am sticking to them.

It is one of my fundamentals because of this quote "Keep your fees as low as possible. Never underestimate the effects of fees long term. A small fees will sink a ship with time". I think it was from Jack Bogle. Not sure where I got it from. Could be wrong. That is why I always say don't give free money to banks.

I have not use tastytrade or want to use tastytrade but I know that they got better desktop interface and mobile interface than IBKR. I know Tastytrade have like lots of video to teach you how to do options correctly for newbies. It is nice of them to provide the tutorial.

Because tastytrade does not offer the service of funding using SGD and they only accept USD, that means I need to send either SGD or RM directly to them, I will easily lose out 2-3% per conversion (force to use banks) compare to if I use IBKR where I am able to get spot rates for my SGD. Long term it is going to be more expensive for me to use tastytrade. I know if I went with IBKR, I save the 2-3% per currency conversion. Remember what I said above. Keep your fees as low as possible.

Choose whichever platform you like. Fees matter but so does returns. It doesn't make sense to use a cheap platform and compromise your returns. IBKR is like airaisa. Give you the barebones. You want real time stock data, you pay for it. You want real time options price, you pay for it. Keep in mind some package that you pay on IBKR will be refunded if you can hit say USD10/month in trading fees making it essentially free.

Correction, I use Tiger to get free real time price for stocks and ? options. I am not paying IBKR for that. I don't buy and hold or trade anything on Tiger or intend to use Tiger to buy and hold or trade.
Cool,.... tks,...
swiss228
post Jun 25 2025, 10:57 AM

317 posts

Anyone in this forum tried Interactive Forecast Trader? No fees. I am trying out the E-mini S&P 500 forecast. Any feedback from fellow traders?
Medufsaid
post Jun 30 2025, 12:13 PM

3,485 posts

sending via Wise just got more expensive
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Feb 10 2025, 12:02 PM)
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jun 30 2025, 12:12 PM)
fee increased to 0.6%

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Jun 30 2025, 12:59 PM
Hansel
post Jun 30 2025, 02:00 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jun 30 2025, 12:13 PM)
sending via Wise just got more expensive
Tq for the update, bro,....
sonotme
post Jul 2 2025, 10:28 AM

1,709 posts

I just withdrawed from IBKR to my SG bank.
What's the best way to transfer from SGD to MYR?
WISE?
Medufsaid
post Jul 2 2025, 10:52 AM

3,485 posts

sonotme CIMB SG -> CIMB MY
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jan 4 2024, 05:39 PM)

swiss228
post Jul 3 2025, 10:56 AM

317 posts

Hi. Recently I updated some settings on my IBKR account, and was asked to give my Mysian tax no to them, as well as uploading documents like ic and proof of address. Just want to know you whether we can refuse to submit our tax no to them?

This post has been edited by swiss228: Jul 3 2025, 10:56 AM
privatequity
post Jul 3 2025, 12:26 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(swiss228 @ Jul 3 2025, 10:56 AM)
Hi. Recently I updated some settings on my IBKR account, and was asked to give my Mysian tax no to them, as well as uploading documents like ic and proof of address. Just want to know you whether we can refuse to submit our tax no to them?
Hi, is there anyone deposited too much $ into IBKR n they asked for proof of income/source of funds?
Ramjade
post Jul 3 2025, 02:52 PM

24,330 posts

QUOTE(swiss228 @ Jul 3 2025, 10:56 AM)
No cannot. Cause that way they know your money is legitimate and you are paying taxes on it.
Hansel
post Jul 3 2025, 03:44 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 3 2025, 02:52 PM)
No cannot. Cause that way they know your money is legitimate and you are paying taxes on it.
I think, them asking for these details is just following some rules out there which are related to Anti-MOney Laudering / Terrorist Financing (AML/TF) Rules & Regulations. Could br OECD Rules, or whatever institutionalized rules.

I don't think they will go any further after getting hold of your LHDN Number, and they will not put in any effort to ensure your money is legit and you have paid taxes on them. They don't have time to do all these.

But,... they might release information of you to any 'offocial' authorities if requested upon.
privatequity
post Jul 4 2025, 08:42 PM

504 posts

Hi, for malaysian created account in IBKR, its all IBKR in US not other countries right?

which means not under CRS.
potatobanana
post Jul 7 2025, 12:16 AM

453 posts

Hi Sifus, I am planning to do some test on some brokers.

Would like to know if below is the best way to transfer the funds from IBKR to other broker?

IBKR > Wise > Other-broker

Is there a better approach than the above?

427 Pages « < 420 421 422 423 424 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:14 PM