Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

Hansel
post Dec 3 2019, 11:17 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(zenjiazenjia @ Nov 30 2019, 10:06 PM)
For Cimb sg first sgd1k deposit,  I do this unintentionally,  I asked my brother who working at sg to fast transfer sgd1k  to my cimb sg account,  I thought this will fulfill the account opening requirement, but later cimb cs called and told me that they can't do verification as the source account is not from my account,  she advise me to make a transfer from my Cimb Malaysia account to cimb sg account,  so they can verify me and activate my cimb sg account.  So I just make another sgd 10 (about rm30++) from my cimb Malaysia account to cimb sg account,  and my cimb sg account get activated next business day and received pin via SMS for cimb click registration.
Congrats,...

Actually,.. just wanted to say this : we Malaysians are quite fortunate, being closely-related to SG, we have these 'privileges' to be able to open bank accts quite easily in SG. I have neighbours from Australia and Japan, friends from HK, etc, who needed to go through many levels of checking before being granted accounts.

Even for private banking accts today,...
Hansel
post Oct 15 2021, 12:39 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 13 2021, 01:02 PM)
probably try until you pass type... no incentive for them to block you... all these basically to cover their ass lah imho

anyways good luck
QUOTE(thxxht @ Oct 13 2021, 04:06 PM)
if you failed they will ask if you still want to trade options, just choose to continue trade anyway and they'll let you through.
Yeah, bros,... the concept is something like the 'KYC' exercise in SG practised by the brokerages and needed to be renewed every 2 or 3 years, can't remember... In NABTrade, an Australian brokerage, one has to pass all questions, 100% right,... before being allowed to trade Options.
Hansel
post Nov 8 2021, 09:12 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(tkwfriend @ Nov 7 2021, 04:50 PM)
hi i am looking at IB, had been using TD for sometime

few question would like to know here

1. how is the platform for stocks & also for option
2. What are the charges
    - Opening account
    - Trading for stocks
    - trading for option
    - OTC
    - Wire transfer in and out

3. Where are the nearest branch or just in US alone

4. I notice from the front page example for CIMB other not sure

5. How long to open the account

6. Is it allowed to day trade, any minimum charges or capital amount

7. what is the minimum amount to depsoit in order allowed to trade
If you got DBS Acct., open Tiger Broker, bro,....

Hansel
post Dec 10 2021, 10:48 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 10 2021, 09:50 PM)
My recommendation may not be suitable for you Why is that? I am high risk investor for long term holdings and I buy stuff without dividend and sell options to generate my own sort of DIY dividends.

I said multiple times who cares about dividends when you can sell options to generate your own DIY dividends. Do you want peanut dividend of 0.x-1.x% net dividend tax or do you want to generate your own dividends in the range of 10-20%p.a. I know which one I prefer.
How many times can you win ?

Your 10% to 20% per annum in Options is an annualised calculation from now many wins ?... one, two,.. or three ? Then losses or 'still holding' in the rest, right ?

What you are implying is a method of gambling whcih is, as you have rightfully admitted, high-risk.

If you want high-risk, why do Options with stocks ?

Do forex with leverage like me,... and earn many times more,....

Don't deny others and talk bad of those who wish to invest in dividend stocks.
Hansel
post Dec 10 2021, 10:59 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(CODDarkKnightDk @ Dec 9 2021, 10:08 PM)
Hi Sifus, any ideas or recommendations for which US stocks to invest on? Looking for high dividends which can generate some passive income in the long run~
QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 10 2021, 09:35 PM)
While what Ram says make sense, it is important to consider after-tax yields too. If the after-tax yield is the same as the peers in SG, HK or the UK markets, you can consider them too.

CODDK,....

If you already have investments in SG which are REITs and divvy stocks, then perhaps it is right that you look at earning dividends from instruments based in The USA too. And yes, if yuo do this,... you will have to look past the 30% dividend tax.

I'll provide some input here for I've been looking at this.

First point : Earning 6% or thereabout yield is better than earning zero yield on your US Dollar holdings, right ?

And after some thinking and researching,... I am looking at PFLT. I am looking at something called BDCs - Business Development Companies. Why don't you guys look these up in the net,... and give me your input too.

Now,... I've let out some ideas for Ramjade to go after,.... hehe,...
Hansel
post Dec 10 2021, 11:21 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 10 2021, 11:08 PM)
https://www.investopedia.com/terms/b/bdc.asp

Sounds like Astrea bonds to me, but in the form of equities rather than debt securities.
Not really like the Astrea bonds, bro,... these BDCs do not have the waterfall arrangement,... and there is no stopgap damage ctrl mechanism in the BDCs.

The thing that BDCs caught my attention in is simply,... many BDCs tend to do well in a period of rising interest rate environment,....

And secondly,.. many pay on a monthly basis.

Let's see what others say.
Hansel
post Dec 15 2021, 02:04 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 12 2021, 10:52 AM)
only you can decide what kind of trader you wanna be...

got friend is kanchiong scared to lose type... so spend few hours every day on dedicated scalping...

me is tidak apa type... swing a few week, sometimes trapped end up position trade with big draw down... never monitor for months on end... lol

but still... market gives everyone good opportunities to win... casino only random few... another friend is pro gambler genting 9-5 type... if got good discipline can still beat the house
I'm also like you, bro,... my AUDJPY pair went up and down and I forgot abt it. And I kept paying interest on the JPY margin loans but not earning anything from the AUD loans.
Hansel
post Dec 17 2021, 10:03 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 17 2021, 12:02 AM)
I did before with DBs sg bank. No issue. No fee. Took same day for Ibkr to accept it.

For Malaysian, I am sure you have to pay to pay tt fees.
Everybody knows that !

Langtrasse is asking abt TT-ing from a Msian bank acct....
Hansel
post Dec 17 2021, 10:03 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 17 2021, 09:50 AM)
bro... you give me your account I trade for you... rclxm9.gif

oh I forgot past 9 months I no motivation to trade... laugh.gif
Hansel
post Feb 22 2022, 01:42 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 22 2022, 01:15 PM)

tq for this useful news.
Hansel
post Feb 22 2022, 08:28 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 22 2022, 02:14 PM)
bro you opened ibkr account ar?... or just lurking here... smile.gif
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 22 2022, 06:29 PM)
Don't think he will ever use Ibkr. He prefers to give free money to his bankers.

The day he actually open and use Ibkr as his main brokerage, will be the day I belanja him makan. biggrin.gif
Just lurking, bro,.... but I've started to use Tiger Brokers.
Hansel
post Mar 20 2022, 05:45 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Mar 17 2022, 07:11 PM)
dwRK Hansel

A tax question (today is Roche's ex-date. Dividend coming in in 3 days time.)

If assume I stay in SG for 90 days (circa 3 months), and divide the rest of my time in 2022 evenly in Malaysia and Hong Kong, i.e. say 137 and 138 days, respectively. (of course unlikely so exact since I am most likely a HK tax resident for 2022, but just a hypothetical question.)

That means I will not be a tax resident of either SG, MY or HK. So if this is the case, where does my tax residency belong too? And how am I suppose to reclaim my withholding tax if I am not a tax resident of all 3 places?
Emm,... depending on where you preferred your tax residency location to be in, you will first undergo the tax residency test with that ctry. If you pass, that will be your tax resident ctry, and you must receive a certificate as proof of this. This is my most practical answer to your situation.
Hansel
post Mar 23 2022, 04:00 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Mar 20 2022, 09:20 PM)
Wow I can prefer my tax residency in certain locations? That means I can choose my tax residency?

From what I have checked, based on dwRK's advice, the latest version of HK-MY DTA. https://phl.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/Hong_Kon...UA_366_2012.pdf

Based on the (English version) Article 4, "Resident", I am a MY resident which is the case if I stay less than the 180 days in a year of assessment (or less than 360 days in 2 consecutive years of assessments). But if I meet that requirement, I am considered to be "domiciled in Malaysia", so "by reason of domicile", as paragraph 2a) says I am deemed a resident to Malaysia since my permanent home is available there.

So, to me, there are no two ways about it, I am a MY tax resident. At least that is how I interpret the DTA. You have a different view?

Also, unrelated to this, Takudan have you tried claiming your Nestle WHT from Swiss FTA before? Just want to know the details of the TT fees charged. If I use a local bank account like Maybank I need to pay for the inbound TT fees? What if I use my SG CIMB account, since the TT fees are waived, I presume that can be used to receive the money (i.e., in SGD)?

I chose to answer your questions in a practical way earlier, hence, I used the words : choosing your tax residency.

Of course, you must have grounds to be able to prove that you are a tax resident of the ctry that you wised to pay tax in. A ground I can think of is to be able to pass the tax residency test of the ctry in-question.

Think abt it,...
Hansel
post Aug 10 2022, 11:52 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Aug 9 2022, 10:11 PM)
Lai lai aspiring corporate lawyers... laugh.gif Hansel 

[/spoiler]
Bro,.. I'm not too keen to practise law anymore... There are easier ways to make money out there,... biggrin.gif
Hansel
post Sep 21 2022, 12:46 PM

9,347 posts

" certain S-banks like OCBC allow Malaysians to subscribe to rights offerrings. That's how I ended up with 102 units of OCBC (2 units from rights subscription) "

When did OCBC do a Rights Offering ? I have not read abt this,...
Hansel
post Sep 22 2022, 02:48 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 21 2022, 08:39 PM)
It all stated from the link above. Back then I was just curious and it's small talk of some sort. Then with Hansel's encouragement, I started emailing the Swiss Federal Tax Administration for further details about how to reclaim WHT etc. That's how I slowly acquire the necessary knowledge. You can always email the FTA via the link below and a "tax specialist" will reply you within 1-2 days.

https://www.estv.admin.ch/estv/en/home/fta/...patory-tax.html

------------------------------

I have PMed you my LinkedIn and contact details. smile.gif

I am still a full-time student, so I have free time between classes and sometimes one 1.5 hour class a day. Next time when I start to work, maybe things are different. We shall see then.

There are comments here previously about Wise transfer to IBKR having AML issue. I think it's around 2-3 members getting queries from IB on AML matters and it seems to be USD having problems. (Those members usually use ACH transfer from their Wise USD account directly into IBKR's USD cash balance). The advice from me is the same as Ramjade, you are better off with an SG bank account (Maybank SG/CIMB SG) with your own name and transfer funds from there. Then there is no room for dispute. Fintech are good for transferring funds between Malaysia and SG bank accounts in this case since both receiving/sending party is you, again no dispute.

However, I personally tried transferring CHF directly from my Wise CHF cash balance (no CHF account details, so in terms of AML, worse than those with USD account details) directly to IBKR. I transferred 899.50 CHF (0.5 CHF is Wise transfer fee) and received it in IBKR under an hour around 4-5 pm Malaysia time. Maybe the amount is small and just one-time, so it didn't trigger IB compliance department's alert. In the future, it's best to do double conversion SGD -> USD -> CHF if the amount is large to be safe. You won't lose much as IB's rate aren't too bad.

And as you can see in the date, I started investing this year around end of January.
Well done, bro,... glad that whatever little things I have done has contributed to your 'success' here. Soon,... you'll be our in-house Swiss tax expert ! thumbsup.gif
Hansel
post Sep 22 2022, 03:33 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 21 2022, 11:05 PM)
Use FSM for sg stocks. Not sure how tiger or moomoo handle rights.

If you like 2-3%p.a interest like FD then yeah. Paid in SGD. Bonds by government. For me not worth it. Why?

One round of ascendas REIT dividend easily ~5.53%p.a so you do the calculation.
A few comments here :-

1) If you have bought AREIT early and your holding price is low,... you would be earning MORE THAN 5.53% today. And you would have a high margin-of-safety because your holding price is low. This margin-of-safety is impt because as the yield betw risk-free rates and REIT yields narrow, investors may selloff the REITs and 'switch-over' to the risk-free instruments.

If your holding price is low enough, there is chance that the price dip will not reach your holding price and you will still be in the green. Or,... even if the dip goes below your holding price, it will bounce back very quickly when the mkt recovers. Your red holding will quickly turn green because your price if low enough for the mkt price to run back up.

2) I've been thinking abt the the REIT model,... perhaps this model is not so 'suitable' in a rising interest rate environment,... or later-on,... in a high-interest rate environment. In the last many years since the 2008 Global Financial Crisis, the Feds has kept interest rates low, hence, REITs have a chance to do well,... but moving fwd ?

3) Finally,... how abt if the Feds overshoots,... and causes a Recession instead of a soft-landing ? The IMF and the World Bank are already signalling that growth will not be good next year.
Hansel
post Sep 22 2022, 03:54 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 22 2022, 03:37 PM)
I will rather buy ascendas over ssb. So what if overshoot? If it goes lower, I will just buy more.

I am working extra part time now to generate more cash for upcoming crash. I believed we will be there.
Extra 20-50% of salary every month really helps with firepower with options premium make big difference in able to keep buying.
You will need to have umlimited 'firepower' to keep buying. Do you have this ? YOu can't print money like what the Feds can do.

You might lose your job/s if a Recession hits.
Hansel
post Sep 22 2022, 04:06 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 22 2022, 03:59 PM)
Bro, I don't have unlimited firepower. What I do have money keep coming in from options and part time job (50-100% of my current pay) Good enough for me to keep buying.
How would you know if a Recession will not cause this parttime job of yours to disappear ?
Hansel
post Sep 22 2022, 04:12 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 22 2022, 04:10 PM)
Because it's kinda of iron bowl sector. Rain or shine, people still need to use the service that I am in.
Then only you will know the type of job you are in.

0.2548sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:55 PM