427 Pages « < 385 386 387 388 389 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

AthrunIJ
post May 30 2024, 11:27 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ May 30 2024, 11:14 PM)
Hello, you should ask in the IBKR thread over here https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4843925/+7700

With the T+1 settlement in US onshore market and thus the mismatch with UK/Europe's T+2 settlement, it's best to stick to onshore US market ETFs like VOO, QQQ etc. for peace of mind...

I don't buy using the app so can't comment. But if you use the Trader Workstation software, you get to choose which exchange to route your orders to. It's generally advised to choose ECNs like Turquoise, CHI-X or BATS Europe as their charges are cheaper compared to the original electronic boards/exchanges whose stocks are listed.

DCA-wise, let me ping Medufsaid.
Wait what.

I can choose for a cheaper routing?

Puts on sherlock homes hat

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: May 30 2024, 11:28 PM
SUSTOS
post May 30 2024, 11:32 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ May 30 2024, 11:27 PM)
Wait what.

I can choose for a cheaper routing?

Puts on sherlock homes hat
If you do recurrent trade not sure if can select the exchange or not, though you get to save on the FX conversion fees as IBKR will auto-convert the cash for you.

This need to ask sifu Medufsaid.

But for one-off manual trades you always get to choose the exchange to route your order to if you use the Trader Workstation software. Never use SMART router for European stock orders.

For US side large cap super-liquid counters have very narrow bid-ask spread for most exchanges, so just let SMART route the order to the one with the cheapest fee will do.
AthrunIJ
post May 30 2024, 11:38 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ May 30 2024, 11:32 PM)
If you do recurrent trade not sure if can select the exchange or not, though you get to save on the FX conversion fees as IBKR will auto-convert the cash for you.

This need to ask sifu Medufsaid.

But for one-off manual trades you always get to choose the exchange to route your order to if you use the Trader Workstation software. Never use SMART router for European stock orders.

For US side large cap super-liquid counters have very narrow bid-ask spread for most exchanges, so just let SMART route the order to the one with the cheapest fee will do.
Need to check soon as weekend!!!

Thanks for info bro

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: May 30 2024, 11:38 PM
Medufsaid
post May 31 2024, 08:23 AM

3,495 posts

QUOTE(xenonarc99 @ May 30 2024, 11:03 PM)
Is a  monthly DCA of around RM1,000 - RM1,500 makes the fees worthwhile?
QUOTE(ck8811 @ May 27 2024, 02:29 PM)
Hi, newbie here, anyone here dca into sp500 index? Which etf did you buy? And how much transaction cost you incurred? I have seen people recommend CSPX, but my dca amount is very low, and the minimum cost of usd 1.70 seems quite expensive over long term.
my strategy is to buy USA etfs using recurring investment, then once a year, liquidate that ETF and buy CSPX

Month Action Fees
Jan buy USA etf $0.35
Feb buy USA etf $0.35
Mar buy USA etf $0.35 + $0.34 (34 cents because your money in USA etf so additional 15% deduction)
Apr buy USA etf $0.35
May buy USA etf $0.35
Jun buy USA etf $0.35 + $0.68 (you have twice as much money now)
Jul buy USA etf $0.35
Aug buy USA etf $0.35
Sep buy USA etf $0.35 + $1.02
Oct buy USA etf $0.35
Nov buy USA etf $0.35
Dec
  • buy USA etf (we'll do double work to utilise the free conversion fees of recurring investment)
  • sell USA etf & buy LSE etf
  • $0.35
  • $0.35 + $1.91
Total fees $8.50

buying purely LSE will cost you $20.40 yearly. the difference is only $11.90 or RM55.93.
QUOTE(xenonarc99 @ May 30 2024, 11:03 PM)
I'm just prodding around in the app using the calculator icon, the sum showed is more than $1.9
use this to calculate in excel

A B C
1 Amount Tiered Fixed
2 <<Enter your amount here>> =min(max(1.7, A2 * 0.0005),39)+max(0.13, A2 * 0.000045)+0.08 =max(4, A2 * 0.0005)

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: May 12 2025, 09:11 AM
xenonarc99
post May 31 2024, 11:57 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ May 30 2024, 11:14 PM)
Hello, you should ask in the IBKR thread over here https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4843925/+7700

With the T+1 settlement in US onshore market and thus the mismatch with UK/Europe's T+2 settlement, it's best to stick to onshore US market ETFs like VOO, QQQ etc. for peace of mind...

I don't buy using the app so can't comment. But if you use the Trader Workstation software, you get to choose which exchange to route your orders to. It's generally advised to choose ECNs like Turquoise, CHI-X or BATS Europe as their charges are cheaper compared to the original electronic boards/exchanges whose stocks are listed.

DCA-wise, let me ping Medufsaid.
Thanks for your explanation!
xenonarc99
post May 31 2024, 12:08 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ May 31 2024, 08:23 AM)
my strategy is to buy USA etfs using recurring investment, then once a year, liquidate that ETF and buy CSPX

Month Action Fees
Jan buy USA etf $0.35
Feb buy USA etf $0.35
Mar buy USA etf $0.35 + $0.34 (34 cents because your money in USA etf so additional 15% deduction)
Apr buy USA etf $0.35
May buy USA etf $0.35
Jun buy USA etf $0.35 + $0.68 (you have twice as much money now)
Jul buy USA etf $0.35
Aug buy USA etf $0.35
Sep buy USA etf $0.35 + $1.02
Oct buy USA etf $0.35
Nov buy USA etf $0.35
| Dec |

• buy USA etf
  • sell USA etf & buy LSE etf (we'll do double work to utilise the free conversion fees of recurring investment)

• $0.35
  • $0.35 + $1.91
Total fees $8.50

buying purely LSE will cost you $20.40 yearly. the difference is only $11.90 or RM55.93. use this to calculate in excel

A B C
1 Amount Tiered Fixed
2 <<Enter your amount here>> =min(max(1.7, A2 * 0.0005),39)+max(0.13, A2 * 0.000045)+0.08 =max(4, A2 * 0.0005)
Thanks for the informative explanation!

Sorry I couldn't understand:

1. "+$0.34, + $0.68", which I understand to be related to dividend, but why the specific number $0.34? "

2. "utilise the free conversion fees of recurring investment". Are you referring to currency conversion fee?

Thank you for your time!
SUSTOS
post May 31 2024, 12:41 PM

8,667 posts

Digital banks are never the hype they promise...

https://archive.ph/J8LTE
Medufsaid
post May 31 2024, 12:53 PM

3,495 posts

QUOTE(xenonarc99 @ May 31 2024, 12:08 PM)
1. "+$0.34, + $0.68", which I understand to be related to dividend, but why the specific number $0.34? "
  • every 3 months, you have fresh deposits into $IVV worth RM3,000. that's $637.21
  • $637.21 will buy you 1.2129 shares of $IVV
  • assuming dividend of $1.90 per share that's $2.304 in dividend https://www.nasdaq.com/market-activity/etf/...ividend-history
  • 15% of $2.304 is $0.345. this is the extra amt you pay bcos you are in USA etf with 30% WHT
after 6 months you have RM6k, 9 months RM9k and so on
QUOTE(xenonarc99 @ May 31 2024, 12:08 PM)
2. "utilise the free conversion fees of recurring investment".  Are you referring to currency conversion fee?
yes

xenonarc99
post May 31 2024, 02:34 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ May 31 2024, 12:53 PM)

• every 3 months, you have fresh deposits into $IVV worth RM3,000. that's $637.21
  • $637.21 will buy you 1.2129 shares of $IVV
  • assuming dividend of $1.90 per share that's $2.304 in dividend https://www.nasdaq.com/market-activity/etf/...ividend-history
  • 15% of $2.304 is $0.345. this is the extra amt you pay bcos you are in USA etf with 30% WHT
after 6 months you have RM6k, 9 months RM9k and so onyes
Thank you for your explanation.

Assuming a monthly investment of RM1,000 (~$212), I can't buy a whole share of IVV, and for fractional shares, their maximum charge is 1%, does that mean that I have to pay $2.12 instead of $0.35?
SUSTOS
post May 31 2024, 11:03 PM

8,667 posts

Another reason why you should stay away from private equity...

https://archive.ph/631aX
SUSTOS
post Jun 11 2024, 10:45 AM

8,667 posts

Tried transferring 781.45 HKD to IBKR from my Mox Bank HK account today at 10.17 am. Money is in by 10.41 am.

I notice they change their bank entry format. Previously beneficiary name is IBKR but now it's your own name at Citibank N.A.

Sounds like you have your own bank account in HK...

Now gonna try out the auto FX conversion feature to buy BIL ETF. The commission rate is 0.03% right, no FX markup from mid-market interbank rate, last time Medufsaid confirmed?

This post has been edited by TOS: Jun 11 2024, 10:45 AM
Medufsaid
post Jun 11 2024, 10:54 AM

3,495 posts

TOS you are on cash account? it won't work for margin acct
SUSTOS
post Jun 11 2024, 10:55 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jun 11 2024, 10:54 AM)
TOS you are on cash account? it won't work for margin acct
Of course cash lah haha

Me kiasu kiasi, not like Ramjade laugh.gif laugh.gif
SUSTOS
post Jun 11 2024, 08:32 PM

8,667 posts

First try was a success. Pretty hassle-free execution. Almost all my USD, SGD and CHF are cleared. Now left my EUR and HKD only.

10 units of BIL ETf bought on NYSE ARCA during the premarket session. Auto FX conversion with no commission charged.

SUSTOS
post Jun 11 2024, 08:47 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jun 11 2024, 08:32 PM)
First try was a success. Pretty hassle-free execution. Almost all my USD, SGD and CHF are cleared. Now left my EUR and HKD only.

10 units of BIL ETf bought on NYSE ARCA during the premarket session. Auto FX conversion with no commission charged.

I counterchecked the rate with real time FX on Yahoo Finance and ICE data from TradingView. Damn good exchange rate man!

USD.HKD at 7.58 pm was 7.8099 (Yahoo Finance source, ICE quoted 7.8094 on TradingView). IBKR executed rate (from screenshot) was 7.8109. Markup of... 2 basis points!

USD.CHF at 7.58 pm was 0.8967 (Yahoo Finance source, ICE quoted 0.8967 as well on TradingView). IBKR executed rate (from screenshot) was 0.89675. Markup of... negligible basis points! laugh.gif

USD.SGD at 7.58 pm was 1.3533 (Yahoo Finance source, ICE quoted 1.3533 as well on TradingView). IBKR executed rate (from screenshot) was 1.35365. Markup of 3 basis points.

All in all, super pleased with the FX rates and auto convert features... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TOS: Jun 11 2024, 08:47 PM
SUSTOS
post Jun 13 2024, 10:36 AM

8,667 posts

FT Private equity

Private equity firms collect $1tn in fees at reduced tax rates
Oxford professor’s report highlights gentle treatment at time of heightened political scrutiny over ‘loophole’

https://archive.ph/NXhKB

The paper can be found on SSRN preprint server here: https://papers.ssrn.com/sol3/papers.cfm?abstract_id=4860083
SUSTOS
post Jun 13 2024, 01:58 PM

8,667 posts

FT Segantii Capital Management

Segantii bet against Canada Goose after call with Morgan Stanley
US prosecutor examined the conversation during its investigation of the Wall St bank

https://archive.ph/sC6Vt

------------------------------------

Remember CLOs? Yes, the one in 2008... They are back again!

FT Capital markets

European CLO issuance hits record rate as investors chase yields
Launches of vehicles that scoop up risky loans top €22bn in first five months of the year

https://archive.ph/56lCX

-------------------------------------

FT OpenAI

OpenAI expands lobbying team in battle to influence regulation
ChatGPT maker beefs up global affairs unit as politicians push for new laws that could constrain powerful AI models

https://archive.ph/XTbNb

-------------------------------------

Tokyo Metro to be privatized?

FT Opinion | Japanese business & finance

Why an 89p metro ride is a recipe for ideological conflict
An IPO of the national treasure has been an ambition for a decade but risks facing a shift in shareholder priorities
Headshot for Leo Lewis

by Leo Lewis

https://archive.ph/1Xs3h
SUSTOS
post Jun 15 2024, 08:50 AM

8,667 posts

Just to check with the sifus here on some technical details.

I received trade confirmation reports a few days after the trades and I find that they reversed some of the earlier long USD.SGD trades (IB auto-converted SGD to USD to buy BIL back then, but a few days later at US Eastern 5 pm, market close I believe, they reversed the trade to short USD.SGD, essentially converting USD back to SGD again).

Also, FX settlement period should be T+2 right (US shares changed to T+1, this we already know). How is it possible that IBKR settle the FX trades 1 day after I purchase BIL (i.e., same as the purchase of BIL ETF itself)? Shouldn't my FX trades settle at T+2 (i.e., 13th June?)

rclxub.gif

Medufsaid
post Jun 15 2024, 09:12 AM

3,495 posts

TOS i take their reports with a pinch of salt sometimes. nowadays i replicate my trades in excel in case they decide to swallow some money/shares from me
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Feb 16 2024, 10:38 AM)
below is a snapshot of last night's daily report to show u what i mean. reports says i was charged $0.36 but grand total (and also my excel) agrees that $0.35 is the correct charge (altogether $0.70)

forex still at T+2 raises interesting questions though. for those who're doing recurring investment for US shares

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Jun 15 2024, 09:41 AM
Medufsaid
post Jun 17 2024, 02:05 PM

3,495 posts

TOS in the last report you shared, the forex fees for the manual BIL purchase are free. is it still free now when you generate the report?

(after dealing with IBKR reports, i'm aware the commission fees are only really finalised days after the actual trade)

427 Pages « < 385 386 387 388 389 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:53 AM