427 Pages « < 264 265 266 267 268 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

SUSTOS
post Mar 23 2022, 04:17 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(clovercliff @ Mar 23 2022, 04:10 PM)
that being said, opening TD Ameritrade SG will be cheaper option to enjoy $0 fee compare to IBKR?
Yes, if you count explicit costs (front-end fees and commission). But there are "back-end" payment of order flow charges reflected in your stock purchase/selling price. Also, some others complained about funding TDA before.

https://www.tdameritrade.com.sg/why-td-amer...nd-funding.html

If you have bank accounts in SG, life would be easier for you.

This post has been edited by TOS: Mar 23 2022, 04:18 PM
clovercliff
post Mar 23 2022, 05:07 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Mar 23 2022, 04:17 PM)
Yes, if you count explicit costs (front-end fees and commission). But there are "back-end" payment of order flow charges reflected in your stock purchase/selling price. Also, some others complained about funding TDA before.

https://www.tdameritrade.com.sg/why-td-amer...nd-funding.html

If you have bank accounts in SG, life would be easier for you.
I have SG and US bank account, so funding should be no issue.
But wonder TD have better rate if i'm opening account as US instead SG?

SUSTOS
post Mar 23 2022, 05:49 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(clovercliff @ Mar 23 2022, 05:07 PM)
I have SG and US bank account, so funding should be no issue.
But wonder TD have better rate if i'm opening account as US instead SG?
Hmm I don't know about that. You can ask here though. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4963971/+240

However, note that some in the past say SG account means you are not subject to US estate tax, some say they are affiliated with US, so there are estate tax.
Zephyral
post Mar 23 2022, 09:57 PM

45 posts

Hi all, I have been hunting around in the CIMB SG site and some blogs but failed to get a definite answer to the transfer charges.

Some of the blogs I seen about low fees involved transfer to IBKR bank account in HK or SG, but what about transfer from CIMB SG to IBKR account in the US? Specifically the Citibank NA on Wallstreet

What are the charges like?

SUSTOS
post Mar 23 2022, 11:46 PM

8,667 posts

A rare article on Air Liquide (EPA.AI) from WSJ

https://www.wsj.com/articles/a-gas-giant-ma...share_permalink
SUSTOS
post Mar 23 2022, 11:49 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Zephyral @ Mar 23 2022, 09:57 PM)
Hi all, I have been hunting around in the CIMB SG site and some blogs but failed to get a definite answer to the transfer charges.

Some of the blogs I seen about low fees involved transfer to IBKR bank account in HK or SG, but what about transfer from CIMB SG to IBKR account in the US? Specifically the Citibank NA on Wallstreet

Can check from 7:13 in Ziet's video below:

But some members have observed that the advertised rates from Wise pre-login is different from that after login when you really start the transaction. Just take note of that.
dwRK
post Mar 24 2022, 08:46 AM

the consummate chartist
6,238 posts

you don't know how to look...

https://www.cimb.com.sg/en/personal/help-su...remittance.html

Ramjade
post Mar 24 2022, 09:40 AM

24,385 posts

Avoid using cimb sg to transfer USD. Just use FAST transfer to Ibkr.
Then convert SGD into USD internally using interactive broker. No one can give better rates than interactive broker even if you are a priority customer. Private banking maybe can get good rates.
Zephyral
post Mar 24 2022, 11:06 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Mar 24 2022, 08:46 AM)
Thank you for the link. I am aware of it, but not ashamed in saying I don't quite understand which applies in this instance.
Zephyral
post Mar 24 2022, 11:07 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Mar 23 2022, 11:49 PM)
Can check from 7:13 in Ziet's video below:

But some members have observed that the advertised rates from Wise pre-login is different from that after login when you really start the transaction. Just take note of that.
Thank you

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 24 2022, 09:40 AM)
Avoid using cimb sg to transfer USD. Just use FAST transfer to Ibkr.
Then convert SGD into USD internally using interactive broker. No one can give better rates than interactive broker even if you are a priority customer. Private banking maybe can get good rates.
interesting workaround. will take note. thank you

This post has been edited by Zephyral: Mar 24 2022, 11:08 AM
Ramjade
post Mar 24 2022, 11:11 AM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(Zephyral @ Mar 24 2022, 11:07 AM)
Thank you
interesting workaround. will take note. thank you
Cimb sg have lousy rates unless it's for transfering money back to Malsysia.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 24 2022, 11:11 AM
dwRK
post Mar 24 2022, 11:22 AM

the consummate chartist
6,238 posts

QUOTE(Zephyral @ Mar 24 2022, 11:06 AM)
Thank you for the link. I am aware of it, but not ashamed in saying I don't quite understand which applies in this instance.
ok lah then dun say cannot find... say found but dun understand... bangwall.gif

Remittance Outward - Telegraphic Transfer

Debit from SGD account or payment by SGD cash... 0.125% commission (min S$10, max S$100) + agent fee (if applicable) + cable charges (flat rate of S$30)

Agent upfront charges... USD - 27

so when you wire sgd 5000 to usa... your total fee is sgd 10 + usd 27 + sgd 30

really cut throat...

Ramjade
post Mar 24 2022, 11:26 AM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Mar 24 2022, 11:22 AM)
ok lah then dun say cannot find... say found but dun understand...  bangwall.gif

Debit from SGD account or payment by SGD cash... 0.125% commission (min S$10, max S$100) + agent fee (if applicable) + cable charges (flat rate of S$30)

really cut throat...
Aren't all banks in Malaysia and sg like that? That's why I avoid using banks at all cost. I don't like to give free money to banks/brokerage.
dwRK
post Mar 24 2022, 11:58 AM

the consummate chartist
6,238 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 24 2022, 11:26 AM)
Aren't all banks in Malaysia and sg like that? That's why I avoid using banks at all cost. I don't like to give free money to banks/brokerage.
malaysia charge you in cheaper ringgit... biggrin.gif
Ramjade
post Mar 24 2022, 12:05 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Mar 24 2022, 11:58 AM)
malaysia charge you in cheaper ringgit...  biggrin.gif
Same thing. Both over charge with on top of lousy rates.
SUSTOS
post Mar 24 2022, 01:00 PM

8,667 posts

FT 240322: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1iGJHpE-iXx...iew?usp=sharing
Zephyral
post Mar 24 2022, 01:24 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Mar 24 2022, 11:22 AM)
ok lah then dun say cannot find... say found but dun understand...  bangwall.gif

really cut throat...
Thank you for the breakdown. That's really quite cutthroat eh.

isn't that kinda more expensive than remittance from Malaysia CIMB itself?
Davidtcf
post Mar 24 2022, 01:51 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(Zephyral @ Mar 24 2022, 01:24 PM)
Thank you for the breakdown. That's really quite cutthroat eh.

isn't that kinda more expensive than remittance from Malaysia CIMB itself?
this is why Wise is so popular now.
evangelion
post Mar 24 2022, 07:24 PM

The Ancient Ones
1,057 posts

Just wondering, any of you able to buy russia stocks? confused.gif

This post has been edited by evangelion: Mar 24 2022, 07:24 PM
dwRK
post Mar 24 2022, 07:38 PM

the consummate chartist
6,238 posts

QUOTE(evangelion @ Mar 24 2022, 07:24 PM)
Just wondering, any of you able to buy russia stocks? :confused:
russian market suspended

427 Pages « < 264 265 266 267 268 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:24 PM