I have been using instarem to fund my IB with HKD. So far no problem. IB received within 6 hours.
Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!
Mar 14 2020, 09:44 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
83 posts Joined: May 2009 |
I have been using instarem to fund my IB with HKD. So far no problem. IB received within 6 hours.
Mar 14 2020, 10:59 AM
Probation
9 posts Joined: Mar 2020 |
Hi sifus, would like to ask, let say for US based brokers, they do ask to fill in FIRST NAME and LAST NAME. For exp let say my name is NG XIAO MIN where i
fill NG as last name/surname and XIAO MIN as first name/given name hence give the name of XIAO MIN NG. Hence when performing wire transfer from local Malaysian bank, will the bank show the sender's name according to NRIC (NG XIAO MIN)? So when transfer to us broker account which carry the name XIAO MIN NG, will the fund be rejected and redirected back due to the misalignment of the name convention? Hope sifus can shed some light on this and here i thanking you all in advance :) |
Mar 14 2020, 11:11 AM
2,210 posts Joined: Jan 2018 |
QUOTE(travelisfun @ Mar 14 2020, 10:59 AM) Hi sifus, would like to ask, let say for US based brokers, they do ask to fill in FIRST NAME and LAST NAME. For exp let say my name is NG XIAO MIN where i Won't be rejected.fill NG as last name/surname and XIAO MIN as first name/given name hence give the name of XIAO MIN NG. Hence when performing wire transfer from local Malaysian bank, will the bank show the sender's name according to NRIC (NG XIAO MIN)? So when transfer to us broker account which carry the name XIAO MIN NG, will the fund be rejected and redirected back due to the misalignment of the name convention? Hope sifus can shed some light on this and here i thanking you all in advance |
Mar 14 2020, 12:09 PM
1,917 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
Mar 14 2020, 12:55 PM
Mar 14 2020, 01:19 PM
128 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
How do I open ibkr lite ...when I registered there's no option to choose and was diverted to ibkr pro.
Mar 14 2020, 01:24 PM
Probation
9 posts Joined: Mar 2020 |
Mar 14 2020, 05:06 PM
Mar 14 2020, 05:27 PM
11,954 posts Joined: May 2007 |
yes its for US citizen only
Mar 15 2020, 01:11 AM
Anyone here knows why I am unable to buy/sell options although I've been approved? It keeps on saying I don't have permission but account management says I do and any changes to my details will downgrade my permission for options (making me ineligible to trade).
Mar 15 2020, 02:18 AM
652 posts Joined: Jun 2017 |
QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Mar 15 2020, 01:11 AM) Anyone here knows why I am unable to buy/sell options although I've been approved? It keeps on saying I don't have permission but account management says I do and any changes to my details will downgrade my permission for options (making me ineligible to trade). Fund your account. Apply for trading options. Send them a message from IBKR to activate it. |
Mar 15 2020, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(powerlinkers @ Mar 15 2020, 02:18 AM) Is there a minimum balance for options? Because my account may have fallen in value the past few days lolHere it says no permission. ![]() Here it says if I change, I am downgrading and removing options. ![]() This post has been edited by Yggdrasil: Mar 15 2020, 10:45 AM |
Mar 15 2020, 11:04 AM
652 posts Joined: Jun 2017 |
QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Mar 15 2020, 10:43 AM) Is there a minimum balance for options? Because my account may have fallen in value the past few days lol call them.... they have increased margin on their products since financial crisis has started ... call them... hong kong ibkr will be opened tomorrow.Here it says no permission. ![]() Here it says if I change, I am downgrading and removing options. ![]() |
Mar 15 2020, 11:50 AM
6,227 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Mar 15 2020, 10:43 AM) Is there a minimum balance for options? Because my account may have fallen in value the past few days lol account value drop below XXXX...margin account temporary becomes cash account afaik...Here it says no permission. ![]() Here it says if I change, I am downgrading and removing options. ![]() |
Mar 15 2020, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Mar 15 2020, 11:50 AM) Hmm. I read somewhere that $10k is the minimum for margin but they already eliminated the minimum some time ago. But my account is more than $10k. I guess it's a sign that I shouldn't be gambling on options |
Mar 15 2020, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Mar 15 2020, 11:54 AM) Hmm. I read somewhere that $10k is the minimum for margin but they already eliminated the minimum some time ago. But my account is more than $10k. I guess it's a sign that I shouldn't be gambling on options margin for stocks different from margin for derivatives ...don't know your case so hard to say why... account details may give clue to why...if can buy last time but now cannot...most likely available margin is below initial margin to buy your put option This post has been edited by dwRK: Mar 15 2020, 12:21 PM |
Mar 16 2020, 07:51 AM
QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Mar 15 2020, 11:54 AM) Hmm. I read somewhere that $10k is the minimum for margin but they already eliminated the minimum some time ago. But my account is more than $10k. I guess it's a sign that I shouldn't be gambling on options I try searching fx and futures stuff nothing comes out... looks like ibkr changed all our permissions...edit...looks fine on pc...not on mobile...haven't tried any trades so dunno for sure This post has been edited by dwRK: Mar 16 2020, 08:08 AM |
Mar 18 2020, 12:48 AM
3,294 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
For Instarem, which currencies give better rate? EUR, SGD or HKD?
Mar 18 2020, 01:48 AM
72 posts Joined: Jul 2016 |
Hi All
successfully open an account with IBKR and funded using both instarem and transferwise. I transferred HKD. learning the TWS platform now, so so so complicated and un-user friendly. anyone here subscript to market data? the data for HK market is so expensive. can please share with me if I plan to do both Mini HSI futures and stock, which data should I subscript to, really confuse |
| Change to: | 0.0234sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:04 PM |