427 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

dwRK
post Dec 26 2019, 04:21 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Dec 26 2019, 02:11 PM)
what? f.... I've been using smart algo all the time.

This only applies to the exchange fees? It's still considered as one order?
For example, 100 unit at Xetra. They sliced it into 50 unit at Xetra, 50 at LSE. Then how?
Min €1.75 per order for Xetra; min £1.50 per order for LSE. So I'll be paying for both fees plus their respective exchange fees?
that will be 2 orders at their respective lse & xetra fees... bear in mind that the algo tries to find the lowest price, highest liquidity, etc., to fulfill your conditions... so might still ends up in your favor

personally I don't use smart/adaptive...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Dec 26 2019, 04:34 PM
TSmoosset
post Dec 26 2019, 04:55 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 26 2019, 04:21 PM)
that will be 2 orders at their respective lse & xetra fees... bear in mind that the algo tries to find the lowest price, highest liquidity, etc., to fulfill your conditions... so might still ends up in your favor

personally I don't use smart/adaptive...
ah, I see. Thanks!
I just checked my transactions. Only those of my ETF purchases are routed to other exchanges, but they didn't split the order.

by the way, I'm looking for Tencent 0007 in HKSE but I can't find it on IBKR, only CFD. The same with HSBC 0005.
I looked through the website about CFD but it seems, not much difference. confused.gif
So, I can't buy these stocks, only their CFD?
elea88
post Dec 26 2019, 05:12 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Dec 26 2019, 04:55 PM)
ah, I see. Thanks!
I just checked my transactions. Only those of my ETF purchases are routed to other exchanges, but they didn't split the order.

by the way, I'm looking for Tencent 0007 in HKSE but I can't find it on IBKR, only CFD. The same with HSBC 0005.
I looked through the website about CFD but it seems, not much difference.  confused.gif
IBKR u just key in Tencent.. will find it.

TENCENT HOLDINGS LTD
Underlying

Currency
  HKD
Exchange
  SEHK
Symbol

dwRK
post Dec 26 2019, 05:55 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Dec 26 2019, 04:55 PM)
ah, I see. Thanks!

I looked through the website about CFD but it seems, not much difference.  :confused:
hsbc... search for "5"
TSmoosset
post Dec 27 2019, 01:49 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Dec 26 2019, 05:12 PM)
IBKR u just key in Tencent.. will find it.

TENCENT HOLDINGS LTD
Underlying

Currency
  HKD
Exchange
  SEHK
Symbol
QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 26 2019, 05:55 PM)
hsbc... search for "5"
Thanks. I don't know why but when I use the help/ticker look up, it only shows the CFD.
but when I search under the order and the monitor section, then I found it.

ah well, thanks.

dwRK
post Dec 27 2019, 05:06 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Dec 27 2019, 01:49 AM)
Thanks. I don't know why but when I use the help/ticker look up, it only shows the CFD.
but when I search under the order and the monitor section, then I found it.

ah well, thanks.
that's strange bug there...
DiamondRuby
post Dec 29 2019, 09:03 PM

112 posts

Hello all,

I saw weakening of USD giving us some advantages to exchange now.

Any sifu here, any idea how to take this opportunity to do maximum gain?

My situation is I'm having SGD now at IBKR Acc. Any idea how to trade max to get USD. I'm not in hurry to get USD..

Does forex trding got future contract selling option?

DiamondRuby
post Jan 21 2020, 09:50 PM

112 posts

Hello All Sifu,

Any member here trade Option.

I got a question in IBKR system,
I use Iron Condor to capture my profit & it is going to expiry next week.

Usually, Do you close/sell the Iron Condor before expiry date even is OTM status?
What's the difference between Sell Vs Close, IBKR need another round of commission charges?

As stated in IBRK, FOP last trading 28Jan, underlying FUT 26Feb.

I dont understand this statement, I meant, 28Jan is the last amendment/close of contract? Whats underlying meaning here?

Regards,
RubyDiamond, Beginner to Option.
DiamondRuby
post Jan 22 2020, 04:53 PM

112 posts

No idea?
No reply
TSmoosset
post Jan 22 2020, 06:02 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(DiamondRuby @ Dec 29 2019, 09:03 PM)
Hello all,

I saw weakening of USD giving us some advantages to exchange now.

Any sifu here, any idea how to take this opportunity to do maximum gain?

My situation is I'm having SGD now at IBKR Acc. Any idea how to trade max to get USD. I'm not in hurry to get USD..

Does forex trding got future contract selling option?
just transfer to SGD, then USD I think. No simpler way.

QUOTE(DiamondRuby @ Jan 21 2020, 09:50 PM)
Hello All Sifu,

Any member here trade Option.

I got a question in IBKR system,
I use Iron Condor to capture my profit & it is going to expiry next week.

Usually, Do you close/sell the Iron Condor before expiry date even is OTM status?
What's the difference between Sell Vs Close, IBKR need another round of commission charges?

As stated in IBRK, FOP last trading 28Jan, underlying FUT 26Feb.

I dont understand this statement, I meant, 28Jan is the last amendment/close of contract? Whats underlying meaning here?

Regards,
RubyDiamond, Beginner to Option.
I'm not sure if many of us trade options.
I don't trade options, so I've no idea. I was always under the impression that it's high risk.
rotijon25
post Jan 28 2020, 09:44 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 5 2019, 08:10 AM)
doesn't matter...just instarem EUR or HKD, then convert in ibkr to whatever trade currency
You can do this for SGD too btw.
DiamondRuby
post Feb 5 2020, 03:26 PM

112 posts

Hello, Sifu

Need some advice on the margin requirement@IBKR.

As I saw, if I send money to IBKR(in SGD) I dont convert to USD.
Rephase: Means, I keep my cash in SGD, but trade with the (visual) amount in USD, (the column in Total in USD)

I compare against buying power & the Inital margin also not much changes(Total in USD).

Hence, Why we want to convert ? Keep SGD also good mah, can save X-rate commision fees ...

please advice if IBKR occurs hidden charges, if I trade with SGD?

This post has been edited by DiamondRuby: Feb 5 2020, 03:28 PM
TSmoosset
post Feb 5 2020, 09:13 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(DiamondRuby @ Feb 5 2020, 03:26 PM)
Hello, Sifu

Rephase: Means, I keep my cash in SGD, but trade with the (visual) amount in USD, (the column in Total in USD)

I compare against buying power & the Inital margin also not much changes(Total in USD).

Hence, Why we want to convert ? Keep SGD also good mah, can save X-rate commision fees ...

please advice if  IBKR occurs hidden charges, if I trade with SGD?
Good for you. I've cash upfront account, I think.... so I can't place orders in other currencies other than those currencies that I hold. So, if I want to queue on a USD stock without USD, it doesn't work for me even though I've enough cash in SGD. sad.gif
Ramjade
post Feb 5 2020, 09:37 PM

24,346 posts

Hello, Sifu

Yes you will get charged. That's why is best to trade in that currency of that instrument.
dwRK
post Feb 5 2020, 09:45 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

Hello, Sifu

when you buy usd denominated products, ibkr will create a usd loan for you...you will pay interests on it

if sgd drops in value, your available margin may become insufficient especially if you try to max out buying power, and you have to top up asap... if your assets drop in value as well, way below maintenance margin...ibkr will liquidate some of your positions

everything is transparent... no hidden charges

only reason to keep sgd whilst trading usd... sgd strengthening against usd and you are good short term trader...quick contra profit can pay off interest

This post has been edited by dwRK: Feb 5 2020, 10:23 PM
DiamondRuby
post Feb 6 2020, 11:59 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 5 2020, 09:45 PM)
when you buy usd denominated products, ibkr will create a usd loan for you...you will pay interests on it

if sgd drops in value, your available margin may become insufficient especially if you try to max out buying power, and you have to top up asap... if your assets drop in value as well, way below maintenance margin...ibkr will liquidate some of your positions

everything is transparent... no hidden charges

only reason to keep sgd whilst trading usd... sgd strengthening against usd and you are good short term trader...quick contra profit can pay off interest
Thanks for feedback,

I saw at my account management page, I believe you;re refer to MTD- interest & it shows USD$-2..
(@Pls help to verify its MTD interest)

I already kena, yesterday, The system automatically sell stock at my portfolio, Stock w/o asking me...
(after the yellow trigger)
Lucikly not heavy damage. my portfolio is doing at that time.

I agree with you, since corona virus, USD-bullish, If I change X-rate to USD from SGD now.. Rugi like hell...
Wait for a while might have better rate,.. I wish...

Anyone hold USD from previous, Now is good time to Cash to SGD

This post has been edited by DiamondRuby: Feb 6 2020, 12:01 PM
nbafans99
post Feb 7 2020, 07:08 PM

86 posts

Two quick Q here.

1. May I know how can we exchange SGD in IB into USD please?

2. For those open account via TSG, do you use IB app or TSG app for trading and why?

This post has been edited by nbafans99: Feb 7 2020, 07:09 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 7 2020, 09:05 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(nbafans99 @ Feb 7 2020, 07:08 PM)
Two quick Q here.

2. For those open account via TSG, do you use IB app or TSG app for trading and why?
1. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3396549/+980

2. IB desktop/webpage/portal. Have your pick. For what I want to use TSG? I am dealing everything with IB. Might as well use IB. Whitelabels are only a stepping stone for me to pure IB.
TSmoosset
post Feb 7 2020, 09:37 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(nbafans99 @ Feb 7 2020, 07:08 PM)
Two quick Q here.

1. There are more info on the internet. Just google IBKR convert currency.

2. I don't have windows so I can't use TSG. Mac users can only use IBKR.
There's no app for TSG; only IBKR has app.
Their CS claims that TSG platform is better. You can give it a try and write some review here for us.
trapezohedron13
post Feb 11 2020, 09:43 AM

703 posts

Hi
Wondering if I can use IBKR to transfer in foreign share certificate? Specifically from LSE. Anyone tried before?

Having some shares of a UK-based company while working, now resigned but don't plan to sell it.

427 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0158sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:50 PM