12 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

PC Audio Please Recommend... a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker set V2, Comparison and advice needed...

nismo91
post Jul 10 2009, 10:30 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Jul 10 2009, 10:27 PM)
what cable u using to connect it ??
normal one. since i also use onboard soundcard in laptop. later i gonna use it for desktop though.
no use if i upgrade cable but use onboard. might aswell spend it for the soundcard first.

anyway for ipod, generally for me ipod sound suck, thats y i bought zen that time.
but when put into ifi. become very good even in flat eq.

oh wait. if u mean what cable did i use to connect by "how" means, i just use normal 3.5mm cable to 3.5mm cable.
the ifi is designed to be able to be used with ipod and computer simultaneously.

This post has been edited by nismo91: Jul 10 2009, 10:32 PM
nismo91
post Jul 10 2009, 10:59 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

u cannot simply compare one-by-one. its more like a car.
different car got different traction, different horsepower, different gas mileage etc.

most importantly is price. write your budget, and then ask people here.
im not familiar with those, im not that serious audiophile. beginner here. haha
nismo91
post Jul 10 2009, 11:04 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

nah u can ask fellow forumer here. im not familiar with soundcards...
nismo91
post Jul 10 2009, 11:54 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

QUOTE(Angel of Deth @ Jul 10 2009, 11:34 PM)
I'll give you a hint for buying speaker. The best one usually got boxy shape.
hahahaha for the subwoofer i say yes... but for satellites... not really leh..
nismo91
post Jul 11 2009, 01:53 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

you want good speaker for ipod?
basically computer one will do, but the one with dock that can charge ipod and control the songs, i'd say klipsch ifi and jamo i300. but dun think can find.

bose sounddock is not bad. but lack of bass.
anyway edifier IF500 is also very good for the size. but not portable.
portable and good, harman kardon go+play. recently my relative bought it.
sound very2 good.

all these depends u want to keep the speaker at home or bring around.
nismo91
post Jul 11 2009, 08:43 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Jul 11 2009, 08:25 PM)
Pretty gd eh the Ifi, can be used as both for PC and iPod, I was hoping that Edifier will come out with something like that as well. The IF500 darn freaking expensive man, I would rather grab a gd IEM than getting the speaker for iPod xD
haha, but ifi doesnt charger newer ipod and iphone.

anyway can just mod your S730D to be like ifi. add ipod dock like this and get a wall-usb charger. loll.

yeah if500 is expensive. but its solid, and it has good bass, even better than M3300 i must say.
also, good design for those minimalistic interior.
nismo91
post Jul 12 2009, 02:56 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

if you like Z2300, more likely you also like the complete version, Z5500.
nismo91
post Jul 12 2009, 03:07 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

since u like Z2300, good chance u also like Z5500.

remember, they use different satellites, different subwoofer etc. so its not exactly the same. some ppl would prefer Z2300, while others prefer Z5500.

for me, i never own any logitech speaker before. but probably i wont buy them. although i like the Z5500 control unit only.
nismo91
post Jul 12 2009, 03:33 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

no lah, i dont really like logitech stuff. even my keyboard, i replace it to microsoft wireless 4000, and the mouse also use razer v1.6.

z5500 seems good and famous, but too big. i think my ifi is super big already. perhaps if i got the money, i try for entry home theater instead. also z5500 design and material i dont like. only like the control unit.
nismo91
post Jul 12 2009, 05:52 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

wah u bought Z5500! congrats!
nismo91
post Jul 12 2009, 06:17 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Jul 12 2009, 05:55 PM)
z5500 subwoofer can near to any electronic things ??
i think so. nowadays almost any computer speaker is magnetically shielded. except some altec lansing products are not.

QUOTE(xk2 @ Jul 12 2009, 06:10 PM)
Not mine , hahaha , i wont buy Z5500 if i wan a 5.1  tongue.gif  Edifier S750 is my target if i wan biggrin.gif
hahaha, i also dont really like Z5500. although i like the remote control part, and some said they offer up to 3 years warranty, which is unique.
either way, if got edifier S750, surely pawns liao... hope also, it passes creative S750 spec. Creative S750 offers much more power than Z5500. just woofer is smaller... if edifier can combine power amp with large + passive woofer, its the winner between these. laugh.gif
nismo91
post Jul 12 2009, 06:55 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

99% yes. like i always said, u can google : z5500 magnetically shielded.
it will give u more precise answer.
nismo91
post Jul 12 2009, 07:15 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

oh then my mistake. but for a large subwoofer, it has large magnets, thats y it may not magnetically shielded. but who cares? who want to put subwoofer very close to a TV anyway?

i'd place my subwoofer nearer to wall as to spread the bass to the room.
nismo91
post Jul 12 2009, 07:33 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

im not sure. but i used to place my old M3300 just exactly beside the PC tower. no known effect till now. and remember, most things that are magnetically shielded may apply to satellites, but not woofer.

for today, i place a AIO printer on top of ifi sub. and the sub is about 60cm from a CRT TV! its not even a LCD TV! but nothing happens.

im not sure about the z5500 reviewers that being scared the EMI (electromagnetic interference) may affect the power line. i dont think it's that fatal, unless u have alot of tangling cable around your subwoofer.

anyway im also not sure, Z5500 is a "near-field" or "far-field" speaker.
if it's far field (like how it suppose, cause its huge), no point placing near PC.

anyway, i got something to show you, Edifier S550D, rival to Logitech Z5500. he placed his sub very near to the CPU. but i dont think he got problem with that. see the video on youtube, search for "edifier s550 razer"
nismo91
post Jul 12 2009, 07:58 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Jul 12 2009, 07:42 PM)
what things can do to prevent the subwoofer damage my things
are u kidding me? i cant believe that question comes out...

well subwoofer just vibrate and has strong magnet inside. but its not so dangerous, lethal nor fatal until it K.O. any appliances.
remember the name, its a multimedia speaker, which also meant to be used for computers. if they are dangerous, they would not be allowed by FCC to even come out to the market...

those magnet shield things are for pre-caution only... i have not heard any major issues with it. as for LCD, i dont think LCD is going to be affected by any subwoofer. as for instance, Z5500 and S550 control unit has LCD display. if subwoofer kill them, they wont exist together. im not sure about LCD monitors but i dont think it will be affected as well.

please take a good look at this video : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X928YKClop8
and also do some youtube views about Z5500, Z2300 all those computers speakers which are popular on youtube.
so many people place their subwoofer near to CPU and i did not see anyone posted a video about how a subwoofer kill their system silently.

at the very least, u can just put the subwoofer far from everything.

but seriously, all my handphones, mp3 player, cd player, all those things did not spoil although placed near subwoofer.
just dont be too paranoid about these things. try google and youtube.

This post has been edited by nismo91: Jul 12 2009, 08:00 PM
nismo91
post Jul 12 2009, 09:29 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

i oso duno why he ask. thats y i wait someone to reply... doh.gif
nismo91
post Jul 12 2009, 10:39 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

and i do hope he got the correct one, thus no more question after that. laugh.gif
nismo91
post Jul 13 2009, 04:40 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

not necessary. u buy the Z5500 first. if not satisfied with the sound, can spare some money to buy soundcard. i suggest u buy the Z5500 first.

because, u need to get the speaker first, and explain which part not satisfying. and get a soundcard that corresponds to your needs.
nismo91
post Jul 13 2009, 07:51 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Jul 13 2009, 06:14 PM)
Cable more important or Soundcard ??
Which 1 is doesn't improve the performance at all ?
Really hard to find a shop that can audit z5500 and s550 at the same time in Penang . I hope i can go to K.L , can u suggest any shop that can audit z5500 and s550 in K.L.
QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Jul 13 2009, 07:10 PM)
Asus souncard better or Creative souncard ??
i really hope u read my reply promptly. i did said, get the Z5500 first, and then decide which part you want the soundcard to improve. anyway u can buy first, but in the end you may regret if it doesnt suit you. as i said previously, asus and creative have different personality. some ppl like asus, some like creative. u cannot just say this one better than other, because sound is subjective. just like food. some prefer rice others prefer noodles.

as for the cable, it improves performance, but since Z5500 is just a computer speaker,
the difference would not be much. so dont upgrade the cables.

if u cannot listen to them, reads reviews in google. if you dont understand terms like boomy bass, tight bass, recessed mid or etc, ask here.
by reading those reviews properly (u should cause u are really concerned), u have idea how it sound. at the very least, if u dont want reviews u just tell us what are your characteristic and expectation of a speaker u gonna buy.

let me give an example, my own experience:
- i like to listen to techno and electronic songs, i prefer great bass than superb clarity. -> basshead
- i like to have a speaker, that has good bass that when i play even at low volume, i can feel the heartbeat -> find spk with deep bass
- my room is super small -> dont find a speaker thats too big. my ifi is too big in my room.
- when watching movie, i want to feel the ambience of the movie, make my room sounds large -> get a room-filling speaker.

if, u give details like my examples on what u like and what u dont, trust me, more forumer can suggest u to which one to buy, without being afraid u get the wrong one.

This post has been edited by nismo91: Jul 13 2009, 07:52 PM
nismo91
post Jul 14 2009, 09:52 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

that thing actually go for klipsch. but sadly no longer in market. forget it.

then i'd say, from my view Z5500 suit you better than S550. thing is, i never listen S550 also, maybe it has decent bass. but for S730, the bass is not that surprising, indicating something special like the klipsch.

dont know, its my opinion, cause i like techno also, but i want quality bass, not just boom.

12 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0597sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:55 PM