PC Audio Please Recommend... a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker set V2, Comparison and advice needed...

nismo91
post Oct 12 2009, 02:19 AM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

[quote=ArianneG,Oct 12 2009, 01:35 AM]
i may want to recommend Edifier R501. im using it now. for the price, cant complain. [/quote]

I forgot to mention, I will be using the system with my laptop-- Not sure if there are any special connectors required in this case? Usually just plug in the 3.5mm jack and good to go already right? Also, how much is the Edifier R501 market price? Because I tend to favour Altec Lansing sound more than most other brands, but reviews online about the Altec Lansing VS3251 seem to say it sounds better for games than for music listening. Is it?

[/quote]

well maybe altec has boomy bass. but, i like the fact that Edifier R501 has 8" sub, which physically does not limit it performing in larger room. i used to setup my R501 in my small room, when i move it to living room, the bass is sufficient to fill the living room. i doubt altec 3251 can do that.

about the altec vs edifier, it really depends on the usage and it is subjective to ears. im not sure about price but it should be around 400.

as for the laptop, your laptop must support 5.1 analog (like those with dolby home theater logo), or otherwise u gonna have to buy external soundcard.
nismo91
post Oct 15 2009, 08:08 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

QUOTE(predicate undefined @ Oct 15 2009, 05:41 PM)
my soundcard support 7.1 (audigy 2),
I have 7 pieces. edifier(front)2.1, logitech(rear)2.0, sonic gear(center)2.0<-- become left channel only since it is set as center.
i use vlc and watching transformers2 1080p which comes with 5.1 audio support

now the center speaker sounds funny, sounded like handphone put inside tin biskut.
how to settle the problem,

does enzo 4000 sound is acceptable?
or any other way to get center channel sounds better
your setup is really messed up. if u put sonic gear morro as a center channel, it will also act as a subwoofer channel, thus it would be badly distorted on the other end. if u want surround sound then i suggest get a real 5.1 or 7.1 speakers. at least it would sound properly.
nismo91
post Oct 15 2009, 11:31 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

QUOTE(predicate undefined @ Oct 15 2009, 11:13 PM)
so u r using edifier R501, how does it sound? good enuff?for me, the design was not so appealing, does R501 do its job well? i dont really care about the look, but it kind of make me think twice. if its good enough, I will buy 1. your review puhlis...  notworthy.gif

woah z-5500D, over my budget la. but I see your point there. so now I really have to buy a 5.1 speaker, and hybrid with my edifier and become 7.1, good idea  icon_rolleyes.gif
yea just bought it last 2 months. sounds very good, especially for rm400 price area. really satisfied. was deciding on C3 before but then i went for R501 cause wanna try 5.1

if u wan try R501 + M3400 then try but i think R501 should be good enough la. cause if u put different spk then the sound also different. the design i dont like but i like it as no-frills, means there are no buttons at all. so dont have to pay for the design.

or if u wan 7.1 badly, then buy some cheap creative 7.1 speakers, but i can assure u the same price as R501, none of them will sound better than R501. especially in bass dept since less 5.1/7.1 spkr <400 uses 8inch sub.
nismo91
post Oct 16 2009, 11:06 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

QUOTE(ArianneG @ Oct 16 2009, 09:12 PM)
Ok, since my laptop probably doesn't support 5.1 and I lazy to go find an external soundcard (also, extra cost = moneyflies.gif that I don't have), I decide to just massively upgrade my current 2.1 speakers (specs here: DENN D-102 admittedly ANYTHING is probably better than this...). So what would you all recommend for 2.1 speakers for music? Budget is RM400 and below (preferably below), and I listen to a wide variety of music-- classic rock (Metallica, AC/DC), punk, a cappella choir (Tallis Scholars), instrumentals, classical music, orchestra, operas etc. So again, am looking for speakers with clear, crisp sound, decent bass and treble. SQ trumps everything including looks. For me, the best speakers I have are Altec Lansing ATP3-- but I can't move it from the house desktop or will kena from the other users (dad).  laugh.gif So is there any speaker out there nowadays with better sound than AL ATP3?

Am considering Edifier C3-- sound seems ok to my ears. I can even tell the difference between mp3 at different bit rates with it. Also, the guy in the audio store said that Edifier R501 sound quality not as good as Edifier C3? I dunno true or not since 2.1 would be kinda difficult to compare with 5.1? Comments, guys and girls?
yes., edifier C3 is better than R501 in 2.1 mode. C3 price is same with R501 although R501 got more satellites = C3 satellites better. plus C3 satellites got their own crossover. R501 sounds thin, its midrange need to improve. but i still prefer R501 because the R501 subwoofer is way better than C3 subwoofer.

in RM400 u can always choose C3, S330 or R501. dont follow our suggestions, follow your ears, so you will not regret.
nismo91
post Oct 20 2009, 12:16 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

QUOTE(darkcurves @ Oct 20 2009, 03:29 AM)
Can anyone recommend a good system for RM500? Looking for 5.1 system since my comp can support it. I love bass small system so pls help me!
i may want to suggest an Edifier R501. good 5.1 in 400 price.

QUOTE(Deswin @ Oct 20 2009, 05:06 AM)
hey guys,
im planning to get a 5.1 surround system... i chose enzo 7000 according to my budget n also the optical input 4 my ps3... Hows this model?? hmm Can this speaker can be used for PC n ps3 at the same time??
according to this picture, click here from forumer, u can see that enzo 7000 have multiple inputs, which makes it compatible with PS3 and PC.
nismo91
post Oct 20 2009, 12:34 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

QUOTE(darkcurves @ Oct 20 2009, 12:19 PM)
Is it better than Altec Lansing VS3251? Thx.
i never had the chance to listen to altec 3251. but comparing the physical size of R501 and 3251, im pretty sure R501 has the edge.

R501 uses 8" subwoofer, 3" midrange and 1 tweeter.
3251 uses 5.25" subwoofer, 2.5" fullrange.

small speakers must not sound bad, but i also know that 3251 isn't that famous like the aegoM so im sure its just average for the size.

but since sounds is very subjective, you may want to listen first. anyway 3251 has headphone jack, R501 does not. but both has infrared remote ctrl.
nismo91
post Oct 28 2009, 12:36 AM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

QUOTE(narkon @ Oct 27 2009, 09:16 PM)
hello there.... icon_rolleyes.gif

now i eliminate other speaker that i choose before and left this two...

1.Logitech Z cinema
2.Edifier s730D
i dont know to choose which one....both got pros and cons...i already go test it...but still cant decide....ohh maiiii
Logitech Z Cinema

Pros

- Excellent audio clarity
- all balance (clarity,mid range,
- Nice design (glossy material)
- Surround sound with only 2 Speakers
- superb for playing games and movies
- earthshake boomy type of bass  laugh.gif
- Cool remote control

Cons

- Lack of high volume, when open quite loud, the sound will be not that nice...
- boomy type bass where when u listen for a long time,it will hurt your ear
Edifier s730d

Pros

- Lively sound
- great treble and lower bass
- very deep tight bass
- classy wood finishing

Cons

- Lacking of Mid range
- woofer quite big
- not that good for movies and games because of the hard hitting bass..

so im in dilemma right now....i want to buy the best out of this two....dont want regret later.... notworthy.gif

i listen to music a lot. i listen to almost all music but more to techno,electro...but i also listen to slow2 music such as shrek haleluya,jason mraz n etc....so i love bass but at the same time i like to hear clear voice also...hard to explain it.... rclxub.gif

i also use alot for movies and games.....
so please..please give a super good opinion....tq smile.gif
one of the conclusion of both systems are:
- Z cinema - USB, will never need sound-card - classy remote control for windows
- S730 - may be improved with soundcard

logitech signature = basshead, edifier signature = treblefreak.

nismo91
post Oct 28 2009, 01:36 AM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

QUOTE(narkon @ Oct 28 2009, 01:29 AM)
so can z cinema go louder than s730?

logitech is famous with the "extra hot subwoofer"....so z cinema will have the same problem?

and if u say s730 is treble freak, why they make the sub very big if it is more on treble?
it is the signature of both systems. i listened to S730 before, it have a big sub but if they tune it for max efficiency for a sub that size, im pretty sure S730 goes more deeper and powerful. since edifier never really makes a speaker for basshead, S730 are not designed for that purpose.
nismo91
post Oct 28 2009, 05:05 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

QUOTE(narkon @ Oct 28 2009, 05:42 AM)
since im a quite bass head person, i should go with z cinema then? but z cinema cant go loud as s730d....sound quite boring if a bass song cant be listen in a loud mode...
z cinema speaker is 6 inch or 8 inch ya?
yeah maybe u should consider again.. im not sure how loud zcinema can go, but i think it should be average?
its 8inch sub btw.

QUOTE(omg528 @ Oct 28 2009, 10:37 AM)
Anyone can help me? I am lookin for a new speaker, either 2.1 or 5.1...
currently in my consider list is Creative L3800, Altec Lansing 4121, Logitech Z4 and X540.....
any idea of it? Please help me.....T.T...
say no to VS4121 and logi Z4.
nismo91
post Oct 29 2009, 02:51 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

QUOTE(omg528 @ Oct 29 2009, 08:59 AM)
say no to V4121 n Z4?then what should i get?  cry.gif
Creative L3800? blush.gif
how abt Creative X540?lol.. rclxms.gif
its better for u to listen first... then can decide properly.

QUOTE(narkon @ Oct 29 2009, 10:46 AM)
yup..only average....not as loud as s730d....

Added on October 29, 2009, 10:54 am
im not talking about the surround....that is a bonus for me...but i am concentrate at the quality of the sound and the superiority of the bass and clarity..
in your opinion which one better..overall...
average? how loud? did the demo using aux or USB?
nismo91
post Oct 29 2009, 10:09 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

QUOTE(omg528 @ Oct 29 2009, 08:00 PM)
nismo91, as for you...what will u go for the budget within RM250?
even though i have M3300 before i gave it to my relatives, i will take E3100. E3100 costs about 150, but it doesnt sound like a 150 speaker.
nismo91
post Oct 30 2009, 01:30 AM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

i take E3100 anytime. M1310 not that nice imo. VS4121 is like listening to subwoofer and tweeter only. midrange almost absent.
nismo91
post Nov 1 2009, 12:42 AM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

in sg, u can try challenger @ funan to listen to some speakers.
or simlim sq - alphawave 6th floor. and one shop in 5th floor in front of escalator. they have plenty of speakers to try...
nismo91
post Nov 2 2009, 04:22 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

QUOTE(siowcharbor @ Nov 2 2009, 04:10 PM)
cool! thx biggrin.gif

btw, can anyone recommend me a speaker below sgd100 (rm250)? I wanted to get edifier's M3300 SF, but so hard to find (although I havent check out sin lim and funan yet).

Any other models or recommendations? Strictly 2.1 dat has good bass. For music purposes. (will be carrying it around my uni's campus for dance practices  tongue.gif )
u wan 2.1 with meanest subwoofer then get VS4121. also its subwoofer is damn light, u can bring around easily. most probably vs4121 sub is only with particle board. its around 110SGD, but if u can bargain im sure u can get it for $100.
nismo91
post Nov 2 2009, 11:26 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

yeah, its been discontinued. assume it as no-more. now then regret sold my GMX, i should have keep it as a spare...
nismo91
post Nov 3 2009, 03:58 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

QUOTE(siowcharbor @ Nov 3 2009, 03:43 PM)
Heyz there! Thx for the recommendations, but I felt dat vs4121 is too bassy... besides, the speakers easily get distorted at loud volume.

Is there any speakers can produce good bass (not necessary bassy, but i like solid bass, like edifier's M3300 or M2300 or creative's T3 =P), and also durable and loud (using laptop as the player, the music can fill the room the size of 5mx5m)? budget can increase to sgd150 (roughly rm307.5). =P
lol VS4121 sound is terrible. heard one clothes shop using it, can only hear boom from a distance.

how about edifier S330? its only about $129 in simlim if u are in sg.
nismo91
post Nov 3 2009, 04:11 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

have u checked the 5th and 6th level of SLS?
nismo91
post Nov 3 2009, 07:21 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

dont forget to check out the 5th floor, the shop exactly after escalator from 4th level. and alphawave, level 6. they have speakers at the back.

12 Pages « < 10 11 12Top

0.0654sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:17 AM