119 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

What 1080p/4K Movie did You Watch Today (Part III), Movies thats worth sharing or warned abt

AVFAN
post Jun 19 2020, 08:16 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Jun 17 2020, 02:46 PM)
dear movies fans, anyone know if the back to the future series are available in 4k ?
i dun think so.

RIP...

Ian Holm, Shakespearean Actor Who Played Bilbo Baggins, Dies at 88

In later years, however, he worked increasingly in movies and more selectively onstage, appearing in high-profile films such as "Alien," "The Fifth Element," "Lord of the Rings" pics "The Fellowship of the Ring" and "The Return of the King" and "Hobbit" movies "An Unexpected Journey" and "The Battle of the Five Armies."

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/world/2020/...gins-dies-at-88

kevinlim001
post Jun 19 2020, 10:45 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 19 2020, 08:16 PM)
i dun think so.

RIP...
RIP...
Andrewtst
post Jun 20 2020, 10:25 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Jun 17 2020, 02:46 PM)
dear movies fans, anyone know if the back to the future series are available in 4k ?
Normally not appear in blu-ray.com, then don't have.

You do seen 4K HDR version in internet, that version is make by Tekno3d.

Some title make by Tekno3D in 4K HDR do very awesome, for example Avatar and TRON: Legacy.

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 19 2020, 08:16 PM)
i dun think so.

RIP...
RIP

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jun 20 2020, 10:30 AM
kevinlim001
post Jun 20 2020, 11:22 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jun 20 2020, 10:25 AM)
Normally not appear in blu-ray.com, then don't have.

You do seen 4K HDR version in internet, that version is make by Tekno3d.

Some title make by Tekno3D in 4K HDR do very awesome, for example Avatar and TRON: Legacy.
RIP
thanks for the tip bro.. let me check it out flex.gif
Andrewtst
post Jun 21 2020, 11:00 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Jun 20 2020, 11:22 PM)
thanks for the tip bro.. let me check it out flex.gif
Welcome smile.gif add-on recently have more 4K HDR title that is only release from streaming services like iTunes, Amazon, Disney+ and etc. but not yet releasing in 4K UHD Blu-ray. For example recently release 4K HDR stream version included Deep Impact, Rango, Artemis, The King of Staten Island and etc.

Those streaming quality was ok and normally better than 1080p Blu-ray but when it get release as 4K UHD Blu-ray, the quality will be better.
Some title never get release as 4K UHD Blu-ray even a long time release in streaming services, for example the documentary Samsara.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jun 21 2020, 11:34 AM
AVFAN
post Jun 21 2020, 05:39 PM

24,452 posts

Wasp Network is a political drama. not the usual fast action thriller, based on a true story about the politics in 1990s fidel castro's cuba-miami.
i was attracted to it becos of the actors - penolope cruz (pirates of the carribean), edgar ramirez (wrath of titans, point break), ana de armas (blade runner 2049, knives out) and wagnar moura (escobar in narcos). 3/5.

if u like jet li's fearless 2006, here is a kind of a remake.
so new that title in english is not out! but it's Gong Fu Zong Shi Huo Yuan Jia 功夫宗师霍元甲2020.
the new star is pretty good - almost as good as jet li, donnie yen or wu jing. hope to see more of this talented young kungfu fighter.
if u enjoy the wongfeihung or ipman or huoyanjia movies, u will like this one.
been a while since i watched something good in this genre... best one since ipman 4, i wud say. 3.5/5.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jun 21 2020, 05:46 PM
Andrewtst
post Jun 21 2020, 08:00 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

Recently continue watching some remaster film in 4K HDR. wow! I am impress with all the transfer. biggrin.gif

Crash Shocking me when I know this movie release in 4K HDR.
Movie - 4 Star.
Video Quality - 4 Star.
Audio Quality - 4 Star.

The Doors The best ever release version. Val Kilmer was great portrait the Jim Morrison.
Movie - 4 Star.
Video Quality - 4.5 Star.
Audio Quality - 5 Star.

Jaws Another awesome transfer. Hope others Jaws get same restoration as well.
Movie - 4 Star.
Video Quality - 5 Star.
Audio Quality - 4 Star.

Deep Impact This is streaming version, the best copy I ever seen, the colors totally re-shade compare with previous Blu-ray release.
Movie - 3 Star.
Video Quality - 4 Star.
Audio Quality - 4 Star.

Zombie Flesh Eaters - The restoration is good but with some slightly flickering in certain scenes.
Movie - 3 Star.
Video Quality - 3.5 Star.
Audio Quality - 4 Star.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jun 22 2020, 01:28 AM
Andrewtst
post Jun 21 2020, 10:43 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

Force of Nature - Another straight to Home release. Story is ... hmm... meh, action is kind of ok. 2.5 Star.

Infection - This Spanish film was quite good but it get destroy when near end.
It is like rushing the end with some silly idea but then after post credit part was well done though and gain back some point. 3 Star.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jun 22 2020, 01:40 AM
rx330
post Jun 22 2020, 09:02 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 21 2020, 05:39 PM)
Wasp Network is a political drama. not the usual fast action thriller, based on a true story about the politics in 1990s fidel castro's cuba-miami.
i was attracted to it becos of the actors - penolope cruz (pirates of the carribean), edgar ramirez (wrath of titans, point break), ana de armas (blade runner 2049, knives out) and wagnar moura (escobar in narcos). 3/5.

if u like jet li's fearless 2006, here is a kind of a remake.
so new that title in english is not out! but it's Gong Fu Zong Shi Huo Yuan Jia 功夫宗师霍元甲2020.
the new star is pretty good - almost as good as jet li, donnie yen or wu jing. hope to see more of this talented young kungfu fighter.
if u enjoy the wongfeihung or ipman or huoyanjia movies, u will like this one.
been a while since i watched something good in this genre... best one since ipman 4, i wud say. 3.5/5.
Penelope drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

this remake... I see the poster... I cannot tahan dy hahahah
Andrewtst
post Jun 24 2020, 01:37 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

Lawrence of Arabia - Finally finish watch this, among all the classic movie release recently, this is the Top Restoration.
The output is unbelievable spectacular, wow! A Great Demo for classic film restoration in 4K HDR.

Movie - 4 Star.
Video Quality - 5 Star.
Audio Quality - 5 Star.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jun 24 2020, 01:40 AM
Andrewtst
post Jun 30 2020, 12:43 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

Just finish watch Trolls World Tour. As usual, this animation was beautiful and vividness.

Not as great as the 1st one, but still entertain.

Movie - 3 Star.
Video Quality - 5 Star.
Audio Quality - 5 Star.

kevinlim001
post Jul 13 2020, 02:47 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

seems all are quiet recently.. let me bump this thread.. the movie i watched yesterday
another tom hanks movies.. i have high expectation on tom hanks movies.. this round he is not alone/deserted.
he is a captain of a warship and this is a true story of ww2.

storyline - simple and straight forward. I give 3 out of 5
picture quality - looks realistic i give 4 out of 5
sound quality - not sure if its my problem but its playing softly.. i m cranking my master vol to 70%. its a digital copy so DD+ for non atmos player even with atmos i believe is highly compressed audio signal. quite a number of lfe you can expect if you sub to flex the muscle. Sound wise i rate 3 out of 5 (non atmos).

Andrewtst
post Jul 13 2020, 05:32 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Jul 13 2020, 02:47 PM)
seems all are quiet recently.. let me bump this thread.. the movie i watched yesterday
another tom hanks movies.. i have high expectation on tom hanks movies.. this round he is not alone/deserted.
he is a captain of a warship and this is a true story of ww2.

storyline - simple and straight forward. I give 3 out of 5
picture quality - looks realistic i give 4 out of 5
sound quality - not sure if its my problem but its playing softly.. i m cranking my master vol to 70%. its a digital copy so DD+ for non atmos player even with atmos i believe is highly compressed audio signal. quite a number of lfe you can expect if you sub to flex the muscle. Sound wise i rate 3 out of 5 (non atmos).
Thanks for highlight this, I love true story. Maybe I will watch it this weekend.

I kind of waste of Apple TV+ subscription as I seldom watch it. Haha!
kevinlim001
post Jul 13 2020, 06:10 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 13 2020, 05:32 PM)
Thanks for highlight this, I love true story. Maybe I will watch it this weekend.

I kind of waste of Apple TV+ subscription as I seldom watch it. Haha!
Bro u ada pintu depan dun waste it I have to go thru pintu belakang 😆
Andrewtst
post Jul 13 2020, 07:32 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Jul 13 2020, 06:10 PM)
Bro u ada pintu depan dun waste it I have to go thru pintu belakang 😆
Haha! ok ok.
Andrewtst
post Jul 13 2020, 10:00 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

Marriage Story - 5 Star.
This is absolute one of the greatest Netflix Film ever did.

This is Criterion Collection edition, not the Netflix 4K Dolby Vision / HDR edition.

Criterion Collection is absolute knowing what they are doing, this is the 1st time I ever feel 4K HDR is not a must if you have a group of people that very well known on remaster the film.

The color, film noise and details in this 1080p is far far better than origin Netflix provided in 2160p HDR. You need to watch it to believe it! wow!
I had comparing few times and it is so obvious the Criterion Collection is ahead superior especially the colors and details.

Film - 5 Star.
Video Quality - 5 Star.
Audio Quality - 5 Star.

Comparison as below. The Netflix 4K HDR is playback at my PC as SDR as I don't have HDR Monitor and also HDR is hard to capture.
I use mkv player as mkv player is able to playback as SDR quite closed to HDR.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jul 13 2020, 10:58 PM
fisherman10
post Jul 13 2020, 11:46 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 13 2020, 10:00 PM)
Marriage Story - 5 Star.
This is absolute one of the greatest Netflix Film ever did.

This is Criterion Collection edition, not the Netflix 4K Dolby Vision / HDR edition.

On the contrary, the 4k version does slightly look sharper. As for colour, I don't think it's fair to compare when viewing SDR. Conversion from HDR to SDR makes things look dark and slightly wrong colour. Have to view with real eyes to see. Can't compare with a screenshot.
Andrewtst
post Jul 14 2020, 12:18 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Jul 13 2020, 11:46 PM)
On the contrary, the 4k version does slightly look sharper. As for colour, I don't think it's fair to compare when viewing SDR. Conversion from HDR to SDR makes things look dark and slightly wrong colour. Have to view with real eyes to see. Can't compare with a screenshot.
I know when HDR convert to SDR do slightly darker but not very much. Mpv player did a very great HDR to SDR conversion. I also had view this in LG C9 OLED TV, thus I know it is closed to origin color.

In playback as HDR (download version) or Dolby Vision (direct from Netflix), both look much darker, less sharpen, less details, the less sharpen and details probably due to Netflix compression too much. But color wise is the issue as Netflix version came with weird slight sepia color.

Last time i watch a while in Netflix and closed it because I don't like the color, I am so impress Criterion Collection fixed it all.

This is a all 5 Star review at blu-ray.com as well.
https://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Marriage-Story-Blu-ray/260413

Netflix start given Criterion Collection remastered for those winning awards title, Marriage Story is the first release title.

Criterion Collection always did stunning, actually all transfer by them is perfect. I hope one day Criterion Collection will move to 4K HDR, I am pretty sure it will be even stunning, since now their 1080p already did better than 4K HDR by Netflix.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jul 14 2020, 12:38 AM
kevinlim001
post Jul 14 2020, 08:34 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 14 2020, 12:18 AM)
I know when HDR convert to SDR do slightly darker but not very much. Mpv player did a very great HDR to SDR conversion. I also had view this in LG C9 OLED TV, thus I know it is closed to origin color.

In playback as HDR (download version) or Dolby Vision (direct from Netflix), both look much darker, less sharpen, less details, the less sharpen and details probably due to Netflix compression too much. But color wise is the issue as Netflix version came with weird slight sepia color.

Last time i watch a while in Netflix and closed it because I don't like the color, I am so impress Criterion Collection fixed it all.

This is a all 5 Star review at blu-ray.com as well.
https://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Marriage-Story-Blu-ray/260413

Netflix start given Criterion Collection remastered for those winning awards title, Marriage Story is the first release title.

Criterion Collection always did stunning, actually all transfer by them is perfect. I hope one day Criterion Collection will move to 4K HDR, I am pretty sure it will be even stunning, since now their 1080p already did better than 4K HDR by Netflix.
yea bro i agree with fisherman the netflix HDR looks softer.

Dolby Vision is a complicated tech and required hardware support.. your tv/monitor support dolby vision? thumbsup.gif

HDR is a single format being coded for the entire film.. Dolby vision format change by scene.. complicated doh.gif
Andrewtst
post Jul 14 2020, 09:22 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Jul 14 2020, 08:34 AM)
yea bro i agree with fisherman the netflix HDR looks softer.

Dolby Vision is a complicated tech and required hardware support.. your tv/monitor support dolby vision? :thumbsup:

HDR is a single format being coded for the entire film.. Dolby vision format change by scene..  complicated doh.gif
My TV is LG OLED C9, and it is support Dolby Vision. My Netflix is playback as Dolby Vision in this film.

LG OLED TV implement own proprietary HDR solution which process HDR signal dynamically frame by frame using enhanced dynamic tone mapping. This process make the normal HDR10 and Dolby Vision basically not much big differences.

It is very obvious Netflix version is less sharpen than the Criterion Collection.

To ensure not the Internet line issue affect the quality, I go find and download a 4K HDR copy, it is same less details than Criterion Collection also. They is more compression for Netflix version which probably impact the details and color.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jul 14 2020, 09:38 AM

119 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:37 AM