164 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v.32, Need To Buy Laptop..? Please Come In

leymahn
post Nov 3 2019, 01:38 PM

150 posts

hi. looking for laptop for a pre u student.

1. Budget : 1.5k to 2k. the cheaper the better
2. Usage : light office works, movies, YouTube
3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) : light(because user is a girl), decent battery, speaker and display. and offer satisfactory warranty.

thanks.
ZM Fong
post Nov 3 2019, 01:46 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(leymahn @ Nov 3 2019, 01:38 PM)
hi. looking for laptop for a pre u student.

1. Budget : 1.5k to 2k. the cheaper the better
2. Usage : light office works, movies, YouTube
3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) : light(because user is a girl), decent battery, speaker and display. and offer satisfactory warranty.

thanks.
Acer Swift 3 SF314-41-R0CS/R2YE +RAM
Asus
post Nov 3 2019, 04:38 PM

VXR 200
2,800 posts

Hi guys, i'm planning to buy my son a new laptop.

1. Budget : Around RM4k
2. Usage : Games (Roblox, Minecraft, CS:GO, Fortnite)
3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) : What can i get?

I recently saw an advertisement for Illegear Raven SE with specs as below which i think is quite good price. Only it doesn't come with original windows.

Processor - i5-9300H
Ram - 2x8GB DDR4 (dual channel)
Hdisk - 512GB M2
Graphic - GTX1650 4GB DDR5
Display - 15.6" FHD Anti-glare IPS
WiFi - AC9560, Bluetooth 5
OS - No (Add RM349 W10H)
Battery - No Info
Beg - No (Add RM139)
Warranty - 2 years
Weight - 1.9kg
Price - RM3,379 (no OS) / RM3,703 (with W10H) or RM3,987 (i7 & 144hz no OS)

I am currently using MSI GL63 8SE-099 which runs on i5 8th gen and RTX2060. I saw some guy here in lowyat forum selling it brand new for around RM4500 only. Should i add some money to get RTX2060 graphic or GTX1650 is sufficient already to handle.

This post has been edited by Asus: Nov 3 2019, 04:38 PM
ZM Fong
post Nov 3 2019, 05:55 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Asus @ Nov 3 2019, 04:38 PM)

2. Usage  : Games (Roblox, Minecraft, CS:GO, Fortnite)
Get Legion Y7000 SE with code LENXCIMB and Shopback 14%, should be around RM3.7k with these specs:
i7-9750H, GTX1660Ti, 16GB RAM, 1TB HDD+512GB SSD, 144Hz, 2x2 WIFI, W10, 2 yr premier onsite
Asus
post Nov 3 2019, 06:03 PM

VXR 200
2,800 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 3 2019, 05:55 PM)
Get Legion Y7000 SE with code LENXCIMB and Shopback 14%, should be around RM3.7k with these specs:
i7-9750H, GTX1660Ti, 16GB RAM, 1TB HDD+512GB SSD, 144Hz, 2x2 WIFI, W10, 2 yr premier onsite
how do i use this shopback thing? tried to look into the website but still cant brain hahaa..

i already entered the code LENXCIMB and how do i proceed with the shopback? and in the shopback website only 10% discount got for lenovo legion with code SHOP10. however i cant add 2 codes at the same time at lenovo website.

This post has been edited by Asus: Nov 3 2019, 06:40 PM
ZM Fong
post Nov 3 2019, 07:45 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Asus @ Nov 3 2019, 06:03 PM)
how do i use this shopback thing? tried to look into the website but still cant brain hahaa..

i already entered the code LENXCIMB and how do i proceed with the shopback? and in the shopback website only 10% discount got for lenovo legion with code SHOP10. however i cant add 2 codes at the same time at lenovo website.
tbh I'm also not sure how it works since I never tried before
Asus
post Nov 3 2019, 08:19 PM

VXR 200
2,800 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 3 2019, 07:45 PM)
tbh I'm also not sure how it works since I never tried before
lol 😂
ZM Fong
post Nov 3 2019, 09:22 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Asus @ Nov 3 2019, 08:19 PM)
lol 😂
a few forumers had tried but not me
biatch0
post Nov 3 2019, 11:32 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

Looking at a Windows laptop to replace my MBP.

Because I'm on the road a lot I would like the machine to be slim/light but at the same time have these requirements:

1) Dedicated graphics card
2) 16GB minimum RAM, 32GB preferred
3) 2 storage slots - Either 2x M2, or 1x M2 + 1x SATA

For these reasons, I'm mainly looking at the new(er) Xiaomi Notebook Pro that comes with the 1050. If there are any other options, I'd like to hear them.
maxsteel
post Nov 3 2019, 11:34 PM

371 posts

1. Budget : 3K to 3.5K
2. Usage : For MS Office usage, light gaming(optional), browsing
3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) : 13/14 inch, weight less than 1.5kg. The lesser the better. Having a dedicated GPU is a plus.
4. Mostly will use it for travel and meeting. Currently using 15 inch Lenovo Y510p. Too heavy to carry around for a long time.

Thank you. smile.gif
CtashKies
post Nov 4 2019, 10:51 AM

Hi all,

Good day. Appreciate the recommendations from all sifus here.

My requirements are simple: Normal working use, wish to pick up Adobe skills, thus wish to get one that could support all kinds of high-tech software/ programs (mainly Adobe cz want to do photo and video editing, and also Virtual Box etc). Durable outer layer, lightweight, good battery life, screen around 14 inch, high speed or RAM and long lasting at least 5 years, and wish to have good after-sales service/ long warranty.

Budget: Around RM4k (inclusive Microsoft license + after-sales warranty).

In terms of brand comparison, Dell vs HP vs Lenovo vs Asus vs Acer, which is good/ reliable?

I did some survey in shops, can sifus enlighten me wt's the difference between HDD vs SSD? SSD better or HDD better or combo of both? And is graphic card needed for Adobe/ photos & video editting use?

Kindly suggest the brands and models, thanks all sifus wink3.gif

This post has been edited by CtashKies: Nov 4 2019, 10:58 AM
hamjun0225
post Nov 4 2019, 01:09 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(Asus @ Nov 3 2019, 04:38 PM)

2. Usage  : Games (Roblox, Minecraft, CS:GO, Fortnite)

I recently saw an advertisement for Illegear Raven SE with specs as below which i think is quite good price. Only it doesn't come with original windows.

Processor - i5-9300H
Ram - 2x8GB DDR4 (dual channel)
Hdisk - 512GB M2
Graphic - GTX1650 4GB DDR5
Display - 15.6" FHD Anti-glare IPS
WiFi - AC9560, Bluetooth 5
OS - No (Add RM349 W10H)
Battery - No Info
Beg - No (Add RM139)
Warranty - 2 years
Weight - 1.9kg
Price - RM3,379 (no OS) / RM3,703 (with W10H) or RM3,987 (i7 & 144hz no OS)

I am currently using MSI GL63 8SE-099 which runs on i5 8th gen and RTX2060. I saw some guy here in lowyat forum selling it brand new for around RM4500 only. Should i add some money to get RTX2060 graphic or GTX1650 is sufficient already to handle.
QUOTE(biatch0 @ Nov 3 2019, 11:32 PM)

Because I'm on the road a lot I would like the machine to be slim/light but at the same time have these requirements:

For these reasons, I'm mainly looking at the new(er) Xiaomi Notebook Pro that comes with the 1050. If there are any other options, I'd like to hear them.
QUOTE(maxsteel @ Nov 3 2019, 11:34 PM)
2. Usage  : For MS Office usage, light gaming(optional), browsing
3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) : 13/14 inch, weight less than 1.5kg. The lesser the better. Having a dedicated GPU is a plus.
4. Mostly will use it for travel and meeting. Currently using 15 inch Lenovo Y510p. Too heavy to carry around for a long time.

Thank you. smile.gif
QUOTE(CtashKies @ Nov 4 2019, 10:51 AM)
Hi all,

My requirements are simple: Normal working use, wish to pick up Adobe skills, thus wish to get one that could support all kinds of high-tech software/ programs (mainly Adobe cz want to do photo and video editing, and also Virtual Box etc). Durable outer layer, lightweight, good battery life, screen around 14 inch, high speed or RAM and long lasting at least 5 years, and wish to have good after-sales service/ long warranty.

In terms of brand comparison, Dell vs HP vs Lenovo vs Asus vs Acer, which is good/ reliable?

I did some survey in shops, can sifus enlighten me wt's the difference between HDD vs SSD? SSD better or HDD better or combo of both? And is graphic card needed for Adobe/ photos & video editting use?

Go for Raven Se, Illegear just updated their 11.11 promo, a lot of discounts and freebies

15.6″ Full HD IPS Display with INFINIVISION Bezel-less Technology (60Hz/144Hz)
9th gen. Intel i5-9300H / i7-9750H
Nvidia GTX1050 3GB (2019 Edition) / GTX1650 4GB / RTX2060 6GB
16GB DDR4 RAM (PROMO)
512GB NVMe PCIe M.2 SSD (up to 6TB)
4-zone RGB Tactile Keyboard
Matmaster Gaming Mousepad (PROMO)
1.9kg | 20mm

I5 & GTX1050 (FHD 60Hz) RM3,040
I7 & GTX1050 (FHD 60Hz) R̶M̶3̶,̶3̶7̶0̶ RM3,324
I5 & GTX1650 (FHD 60Hz) R̶M̶3̶,̶3̶7̶0̶ RM3,324
I7 & GTX1650 (FHD 60Hz) R̶M̶3̶,̶7̶0̶2̶ RM3,608
I7 & GTX1650 (FHD 144Hz) R̶M̶3̶,̶9̶8̶7̶ RM3,844
I5 & RTX2060 (FHD 144Hz) RM4,655
I7 & RTX2060 (FHD 144Hz) R̶M̶5̶,̶0̶3̶4̶ RM4,939

https://store.illegear.com/game-ready-perfo...r-raven-se.html

This post has been edited by hamjun0225: Nov 4 2019, 01:10 PM
ZM Fong
post Nov 4 2019, 01:12 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(biatch0 @ Nov 3 2019, 11:32 PM)

Budget? Preferred max weight and min battery life?
QUOTE(maxsteel @ Nov 3 2019, 11:34 PM)
2. Usage  : For MS Office usage, light gaming(optional), browsing
Can consider Lenovo Thinkpad T495 or X395 (customize in Lenovo website)
QUOTE(CtashKies @ Nov 4 2019, 10:51 AM)
Hi all,

No brand is good/reliable, it all depends on model (except for Razer which has bad QC)

If you want durable+long lasting, consider business laptops:
Lenovo Thinkpad T490 (optional MX250), T495
Lenovo Thinkpad X390, X395, T495s

use code LENXCIMB for 20% discount
biatch0
post Nov 4 2019, 02:58 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 4 2019, 01:12 PM)

No budget... I'm down/side grading from MBP 13 Touchbar. Mac OS just doesn't suit my requirements anymore. I just want similar specs to what I currently have.

Will look at the illegear but I think it was a bit on the chunky side - I prefer something light and slim because of how often I travel.

This post has been edited by biatch0: Nov 4 2019, 02:58 PM
ZM Fong
post Nov 4 2019, 03:08 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(biatch0 @ Nov 4 2019, 02:58 PM)
No budget... I'm down/side grading from MBP 13 Touchbar. Mac OS just doesn't suit my requirements anymore. I just want similar specs to what I currently have.

Will look at the illegear but I think it was a bit on the chunky side - I prefer something light and slim because of how often I travel.
Can consider Level51 Vapor 15 Pro aka Eluktronics Mag-15
biatch0
post Nov 4 2019, 04:42 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

Looks nice but I feel like I would be paying for the 144hz screen that I don't need. Maybe I will check it out when I get back to KL.
ZM Fong
post Nov 4 2019, 06:15 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(biatch0 @ Nov 4 2019, 04:42 PM)
Looks nice but I feel like I would be paying for the 144hz screen that I don't need. Maybe I will check it out when I get back to KL.
144Hz IPS also has decent overall quality (high sRGB colour coverage / colour accurate, decent brightness+contrast, minimal ghosting)
biatch0
post Nov 4 2019, 11:58 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 4 2019, 06:15 PM)
144Hz IPS also has decent overall quality (high sRGB colour coverage / colour accurate, decent brightness+contrast, minimal ghosting)

I don't think most of those things are important to XLS laugh.gif Also, the kind of gaming I do (if I even have time) is basic - I play some Cities Skyline and Dead by Daylight (although the last time I opened either of those games is months ago).

maxsteel
post Nov 5 2019, 12:00 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 4 2019, 01:12 PM)

Can consider Lenovo Thinkpad T495 or X395 (customize in Lenovo website)

No brand is good/reliable, it all depends on model (except for Razer which has bad QC)

If you want durable+long lasting, consider business laptops:
Lenovo Thinkpad T490 (optional MX250), T495
Lenovo Thinkpad X390, X395, T495s

use code LENXCIMB for 20% discount
Thank you. Book X395 and customized it in Lenovo website. Manage to get it under 3K after 45% Lenovo discount + 8% Shopback discount. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by maxsteel: Nov 5 2019, 12:00 PM
ZM Fong
post Nov 5 2019, 01:44 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(maxsteel @ Nov 5 2019, 12:00 PM)
Thank you. Book X395 and customized it in Lenovo website. Manage to get it under 3K after 45% Lenovo discount + 8% Shopback discount. biggrin.gif
No problem, nice deal!

164 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:14 PM