Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v.32, Need To Buy Laptop..? Please Come In

Asus
post Nov 3 2019, 04:38 PM

VXR 200
2,800 posts

Hi guys, i'm planning to buy my son a new laptop.

1. Budget : Around RM4k
2. Usage : Games (Roblox, Minecraft, CS:GO, Fortnite)
3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) : What can i get?

I recently saw an advertisement for Illegear Raven SE with specs as below which i think is quite good price. Only it doesn't come with original windows.

Processor - i5-9300H
Ram - 2x8GB DDR4 (dual channel)
Hdisk - 512GB M2
Graphic - GTX1650 4GB DDR5
Display - 15.6" FHD Anti-glare IPS
WiFi - AC9560, Bluetooth 5
OS - No (Add RM349 W10H)
Battery - No Info
Beg - No (Add RM139)
Warranty - 2 years
Weight - 1.9kg
Price - RM3,379 (no OS) / RM3,703 (with W10H) or RM3,987 (i7 & 144hz no OS)

I am currently using MSI GL63 8SE-099 which runs on i5 8th gen and RTX2060. I saw some guy here in lowyat forum selling it brand new for around RM4500 only. Should i add some money to get RTX2060 graphic or GTX1650 is sufficient already to handle.

This post has been edited by Asus: Nov 3 2019, 04:38 PM
Asus
post Nov 3 2019, 06:03 PM

VXR 200
2,800 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 3 2019, 05:55 PM)
Get Legion Y7000 SE with code LENXCIMB and Shopback 14%, should be around RM3.7k with these specs:
i7-9750H, GTX1660Ti, 16GB RAM, 1TB HDD+512GB SSD, 144Hz, 2x2 WIFI, W10, 2 yr premier onsite
how do i use this shopback thing? tried to look into the website but still cant brain hahaa..

i already entered the code LENXCIMB and how do i proceed with the shopback? and in the shopback website only 10% discount got for lenovo legion with code SHOP10. however i cant add 2 codes at the same time at lenovo website.

This post has been edited by Asus: Nov 3 2019, 06:40 PM
Asus
post Nov 3 2019, 08:19 PM

VXR 200
2,800 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 3 2019, 07:45 PM)
tbh I'm also not sure how it works since I never tried before
lol 😂
Asus
post Nov 10 2019, 11:41 PM

VXR 200
2,800 posts

at last i bought the Y540 (i5-9300H, 8gb ram, 1660ti, 256gb m2 + 1tb hdisk, 144hz screen and 2yrs premium warranty) since i want the keyboard light to be white or else i would opt for the Y7000SE with better specs (i already have the red keyboard light with my current msi laptop)..pwp for RM1 got the lenovo M200 RGB mouse, Lenovo H300 headset, Lenovo Recon Gaming backpack and the lenovo mousepad..

i use the LENXCIMB and purchased with shopback..original price is RM5250, the LENXCIMB gave me RM1049.80 discount (around 20%) and shopback gave me RM570.24 (around 14%)..so my final price is RM3629.96 which i think is a good price for the specs above compared to other brands..

This post has been edited by Asus: Nov 11 2019, 04:42 AM
Asus
post Nov 11 2019, 06:18 PM

VXR 200
2,800 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 11 2019, 06:07 PM)
Hmm why not upgrade to i7 and 16GB RAM also hmm.gif (1TB SSD also very cheap)

thats another RM1000 bro if i upgrade bruce.gif

This post has been edited by Asus: Nov 11 2019, 06:18 PM
Asus
post Nov 11 2019, 07:05 PM

VXR 200
2,800 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 11 2019, 06:51 PM)
Oh forgot you're buying Y540, I though Y7000SE, my bad

Anyway I highly suggest adding another 8GB RAM on your own for dual channel
will it void warranty? and which brand should i go for?
Asus
post Nov 13 2019, 12:50 PM

VXR 200
2,800 posts

adoi baru beli intel 9th gen sudah keluar 10th gen pula..sohai la intel
Asus
post Nov 13 2019, 06:11 PM

VXR 200
2,800 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Nov 13 2019, 01:37 PM)
Icic,ok will look into it...
As 1tb ssd is nice,i would prefee y540 outlook...
Btw,is d y7000 cooling ok?

Btw,i see d Y540 is under 4k after discount if not mistaken...
D shopback is not usable anymore rite?
Which is more or less y7000 price also? For dis setup...
If dat so,i would prefer y540 look...

i5-9300H
GTX 1660 Ti
8GB x 2
144hz Screen
256gb + 1tb
you got the specs above under 4k??
Asus
post Nov 16 2019, 10:18 PM

VXR 200
2,800 posts

Hi forumers..i checked my lenovo shipment just now and it states that “An import license is missing and is required for clearance”.

Usually how long will this be solved? The item already arrived in sepang.

0.0999sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:31 PM