Best LCD TV for Astro?

TSkittlsk
post Jun 26 2007, 01:54 PM, updated 19y ago

53 posts

Hi all sifus,

I'm a newbie in LCD and am looking to get one soon. I spend 90% time watching Astro so I would like to know the best LCD TV for Astro in town. I've gone through a bit of the previous topics and I know that Astro doesn't look good on LCD but can I know which is the best? I've also spent some time shopping around but the more i shop (with different salesmen suggestions), the more I get confused.... cry.gif

I NEED HELP!!!

Thanks to all sifus...
jy14
post Jun 26 2007, 02:05 PM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

In my opinion, Astro's picture quality is not that good, so, any LCD will be good enuf. Its up to your budget and also depends wat other purpose u plan to use the LCD with. If u wanna game PS3 or Xbox, then better get some with at least 720p. thumbup.gif

Anyway, enjoy your new gadget thumbup.gif
htkaki
post Jun 26 2007, 02:07 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

first of all, what's your budget? Frankly speaking, for Astro viewing, most brands are as good such as Sony, Sharp, Toshiba, Panasonic and Samsung.
xterminator
post Jun 26 2007, 02:09 PM

=What a small box in here=
793 posts

Maybe try sony...ready hd wan la...
enCORe
post Jun 26 2007, 02:12 PM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

Astro still have lots of artifacts, normal LCD will do

I'll buy HDTV if they support HD transmission,
TSkittlsk
post Jun 26 2007, 02:12 PM

53 posts

hi all sifus,

About the budget, of course i guess the cheaper the better but i'm trying to strike for the balance on quality and price. I'm trying to get 40 inch LCD TV so i think it will cost me RM5k at least. Since all brands have similar quality on Astro, I guess the cheapest "branded" LCD TV around is LG? Corrrect me if I'm wrong please.

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 26 2007, 02:07 PM)
first of all, what's your budget? Frankly speaking, for Astro viewing, most brands are as good such as Sony, Sharp, Toshiba, Panasonic and Samsung.
htkaki
post Jun 26 2007, 10:32 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Yes, cheapest would be LG to date. Sony and Sharp are rather 'premium' priced. In the middle, you have Samsung and Toshiba.

All LCD TV is HD ready. It is only whether it could only accept 720p and 1080i signals or Full HD (1080p). However, having said that, 1920x1080 native rez panel is still expensive.
Criptonox89
post Jun 27 2007, 01:01 AM

2,792 posts

Astro's picture quality seems to be acceptable....It's depends on which types of cables you're using....diffrent cable performs diffrent picture quality and preety significant improvement...
Kidicarus
post Jun 27 2007, 03:20 PM

727 posts

My criteria for a good lcd tv for astro would be one that lets you fiddle around with aspect ratios since everything is being broadcast in 4:3 anyway (There are some exceptions though). So something that lets you stretch to 16:9(10?), crop or show the picture in it's original aspect ratio would be great.

The image quality is going to be low res anyway so it's not going to be the prettiest picture anyway. It'll only shine once you get to DVD picture quality level.
Ngto
post Jun 27 2007, 05:06 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Jun 27 2007, 03:20 PM)
My criteria for a good lcd tv for astro would be one that lets you fiddle around with aspect ratios since everything is being broadcast in 4:3 anyway (There are some exceptions though).  So something that lets you stretch to 16:9(10?), crop or show the picture in it's original aspect ratio would be great.

The image quality is going to be low res anyway so it's not going to be the prettiest picture anyway.  It'll only shine once you get to DVD picture quality level.
I have the LG 37LC2R and it has many different Aspect Ratios for TV dispaly to play with. It can even automatically detect the black borders of widescreen programmes shown on TV and enlarge them to fit the whole screen.

HughieRmX
post Jun 27 2007, 09:24 PM

::.. ♬|♪ HaRdC0Re TrAnCE AddiCT ♬|♪..::
3,394 posts

Hmmm ... there are some LCD TV's that comes with the AEM @ Astro Enhancement Mode .. such as Sony.. but when I take a look with my own eyes at Best Denki and Senq .. it seems like nothing much difference compare to other LCD TV's from other manufacturers .. IMHO .. smile.gif
psp _BOY
post Jun 27 2007, 10:12 PM

I've been lying wide awake paralyzed
1,978 posts

Astro does not go very well with LCD TVs. Plasma TVs make Astro acceptable, sometimes, some channels look really good I have to say.
Quenox
post Jun 27 2007, 10:22 PM

99 posts

Indeed. Astro on LCD is not so good; in fact, bad. It happens even with very good S-Video cable, there are slightly better in contrast, color and brightness but not really help in sharpness.

This post has been edited by Quenox: Jun 27 2007, 10:23 PM
kaichia
post Jun 27 2007, 10:27 PM

77 posts

Concusion : Plasma TV looks better with astro. smile.gif
HD ready are crap, better go for full HD like psp boy. tongue.gif
Ngto
post Jun 27 2007, 10:42 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(kaichia @ Jun 27 2007, 10:27 PM)
Concusion : Plasma TV looks better with astro. smile.gif
HD ready are crap, better go for full HD like psp boy. tongue.gif
One of the reasons why Astro look bad on LCD is because the LCD panel is HD but Astro is low resolution. The scaling of the low res pic to fit the HD screen is what makes the pic look bad.
HughieRmX
post Jun 28 2007, 07:26 AM

3,394 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Jun 27 2007, 10:42 PM)
One of the reasons why Astro look bad on LCD is because the LCD panel is HD but Astro is low resolution. The scaling of the low res pic to fit the HD screen is what makes the pic look bad.
What to do ... ? Coz there is still CRT TV users around .. therefore they have to concern about them as well I guess ... unsure.gif When we are viewing it in a larger resolution .. the picture quality goes worse .. not to mention wide screen option as well ...
piscesguy
post Jun 28 2007, 07:46 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

QUOTE(kittlsk @ Jun 26 2007, 01:54 PM)
Hi all sifus,

I'm a newbie in LCD and am looking to get one soon.  I spend 90% time watching Astro so I would like to know the best LCD TV for Astro in town.  I've gone through a bit of the previous topics and I know that Astro doesn't look good on LCD but can I know which is the best?  I've also spent some time shopping around but the more i shop (with different salesmen suggestions), the more I get confused.... cry.gif

I NEED HELP!!!

Thanks to all sifus...
If u spend 90% on astro...might as well get a Plasma TV.
htkaki
post Jun 28 2007, 09:20 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Jun 27 2007, 09:24 PM)
Hmmm ... there are some LCD TV's that comes with the AEM @ Astro Enhancement Mode .. such as Sony.. but when I take a look with my own eyes at Best Denki and Senq .. it seems like nothing much difference compare to other LCD TV's from other manufacturers .. IMHO .. smile.gif

Some sort of mktg gimmick, I wld say. If source is bad, no matter what you do with ur LCD TV (unless u r talking hi-end external video scaler) PQ wont improve much.

yuheng
post Jun 28 2007, 09:37 AM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 28 2007, 09:20 AM)
Some sort of mktg gimmick, I wld say. If source is bad, no matter what you do with ur LCD TV (unless u r talking hi-end external video scaler) PQ wont improve much.
yeah. every LCD come with same astro quality, even the enhancer wont do the job well, i would jz dl it 24hours and play on LCD, this is the best choices rather than astro. doh.gif
TSkittlsk
post Jun 28 2007, 02:52 PM

53 posts

all sifus,

which one will you pick considering the three models below? i can only find these 3 models so far which are under my budget (not over RM6k) and with 40" - 42" screen.

1. Sony 40V200
2. LG 42LC2R
3. Phillips 42TA2800

Appreciate any comments and feedback or any better suggestion.

Thanks a lot!!!
HughieRmX
post Jun 28 2007, 06:31 PM

3,394 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 28 2007, 09:20 AM)
QUOTE(yuheng @ Jun 28 2007, 09:37 AM)
yeah. every LCD come with same astro quality, even the enhancer wont do the job well,  i would jz dl it 24hours and play on LCD, this is the best choices rather than astro. doh.gif
QUOTE(kittlsk @ Jun 28 2007, 02:52 PM)
all sifus,

which one will you pick considering the three models below?  i can only find these 3 models so far which are under my budget (not over RM6k) and with 40" - 42" screen.

1.  Sony 40V200
2.  LG 42LC2R
3.  Phillips 42TA2800

Appreciate any comments and feedback or any better suggestion.

Thanks a lot!!!
Ya .. agreed with you guys. No matter how good is the LCD TV .. it will always have downgraded picture quality when screening Astro programs.
Hmm .. IMHO .. i will not vote for LG .. smile.gif
neoardi
post Jun 28 2007, 08:21 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Jun 28 2007, 06:31 PM)
Ya .. agreed with you guys. No matter how good is the LCD TV .. it will always have downgraded picture quality when screening Astro programs.
Hmm .. IMHO .. i will not vote for LG .. smile.gif
Any bad expirienced with LG? Care to share? icon_rolleyes.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Jun 28 2007, 08:24 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

As has been mentioned here, Astro on LCD TVs suck big time. You're better off with a good quality CRT.

If you REALLY want to watch Astro on LCD, lower down your size and target the 32 inchers...I've seen good results with Sony and Philips.
karyeowl
post Jun 28 2007, 08:45 PM

309 posts

Why discriminate against LG? LG-Philips is one of the biggest plasma and LCD panels supplier to the world market. Sony doesn't even make their LCD panel (I think they are currently using Samsung's)

LG products are not bad.

This post has been edited by karyeowl: Jun 28 2007, 08:46 PM
HughieRmX
post Jun 28 2007, 10:31 PM

3,394 posts

QUOTE(neoardi @ Jun 28 2007, 08:21 PM)
Any bad expirienced with LG? Care to share? icon_rolleyes.gif
Hi ! Actually what makes me think that LG doesn't look good is the color saturation that I saw during my visit at the electrical stores. No offense smile.gif
Just my humble opinion.

* Out of topic question here :-
Currently I am using LG CRT TV and I wonder why the color pallet always not stable .. sometimes it will be very bright till it hurts your eyes but sometimes it wouldn't .. unsure.gif
Ngto
post Jun 29 2007, 01:03 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Jun 28 2007, 10:31 PM)
Hi ! Actually what makes me think that LG doesn't look good is the color saturation that I saw during my visit at the electrical stores. No offense smile.gif
Just my humble opinion.

* Out of topic question here :-
Currently I am using LG CRT TV and I wonder why the color pallet always not stable .. sometimes it will be very bright till it hurts your eyes but sometimes it wouldn't .. unsure.gif
Well I am using the LG 37LC2R and for TV programs, I am using the normal Terrestrial antenna and not Astro. Astro is only used downstairs with a CRT.

My experience with my LG using normal Terrestrial antenna (the signal is strong in my area) is the clarity is really good. The colors for me is perfect. They are rich and natrual. I am really happy with it.

For DVD, I have it paired with the Sony 76H HDMI model using one of it's enhanced modes with the LG's XD mode. The clarity and colours are fabulous. I have watched *ahem* Casino Royale , I, Robot, LOTR, Matrix etc. and also all sorts of cartoons like Open Season. And I wouldn't trade the LG for even Sony.

The Sony Bravias look Sharper of course, but to my eyes they have that oversharpnesss that make them a bit 2-dimensional. To me it's like taking a normal photo and using photoshop to make the image over sharp until they somehow look a bit unnatrual. (Please don't flame me smile.gif ). To lots of people they prefer it this way, but not me.

The colours in Casino Royale DVD, esp. the facial colours, are so stunning that it makes the Casino Royale trailer that Sony uses for their LCD-TV demo look dull.

The same for I-Robot , LOTR , Matrix, Open Season. I prefer the colours on the LG than those I have seen demo on Samsung and Sony models.

However, one big complaint with the LG is that the XD engine can be a bit too much sometimes, causing some movies to have to much contrast.

Without the XD engine however, the LG doesn't look nice in some scenes especially the facial colours.Dark scenes look a bit too dark.

For PC, connected via VGA, I am more than happy with this LG. Perfect pixel mapping 1368x768.

That's the good and bad that I have experienced with the LG.

sunauto
post Jun 29 2007, 01:07 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Well, just for FYI, LG Philips are using their own S-IPS panels and if offers a wider viewing angles at equal sharpness and colour saturation but of course, this panel is only available for LG's LC7R series. I've seen it in action and no doubt, it's impressive. Other than that, Panasonic is using IPS-Alpha in its recently launched 32' 700 series LCD tv, it's also the same technology as LG Philips. All these panels originated from Hitachi, it was licensed to LG Philips, they named theirs as S-IPS panels, mostly made in Korea. The other panel called IPS-Alpha is used by Hitachi, Panasonic and Toshiba. The specs should be the same, just the naming is different. Dell and Apple monitors are using S-IPS panels because it produces the best colours with the widest viewing angles whereas the S-PVA panels used by Sony and Samsung might have better constrast and better blacks but looses out of some minor ghosting and smearing issues. They're using the overdrive mode to achieve decent refresh times but honestly, for your HD gaming, their flaws are quite evident on a 60 fps game like Ridge Racer. I guess that's all I've found out so far.
hmwong
post Oct 15 2007, 01:32 AM

387 posts

Was told by couple of salesmen in the past weeks that Astro will be beaming digital signlas next year. I have not read it anywhere in the local papers. Is there any truth in it?
g5sim
post Oct 15 2007, 06:47 AM

5,757 posts

QUOTE(hmwong @ Oct 15 2007, 01:32 AM)
Was told by couple of salesmen in the past weeks that Astro will be beaming digital signlas next year. I have not read it anywhere in the local papers. Is there any truth in it?
they have always been in Digital. however the crappy digital signal where analogue terestrial RTM 1 signals 10x better.
kepco
post Oct 15 2007, 09:23 PM

108 posts

TS, it is wasting money if the bought LCD TV to watch Astroj( a standard 300MB AVI picture quality is way much better); IMHO, better spend the money on other stuffs. If your condition due to space and to protect kids eye, go get china made one.
Ngto
post Oct 16 2007, 10:16 AM

4,350 posts

Interesting to see an old topic where I posted surface again.

So I would like to take this opportunity to give an update about the very flattering comment I posted on the LG 37LC2R dated June 2007.

It's now been more than half a year since I first bought the LG. When it was brand new and ultra bright, everything looked stunning. But now when things have settled down, and the brightness has lessened somewhat, colours look less natrual and need some calibration. What was white previously, now have a slight reddish tinge. Picture quality is no longer as sharp as before.

The XD engine, especially the XD contrast has become too dark in a lot of DVD movies. There is a loss of details in the black areas. So I have turned it off for most of my movies.

Hope this feedback will be helpful for some people smile.gif

sunauto
post Oct 16 2007, 11:59 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Oct 16 2007, 10:16 AM)

So I would like to take this opportunity to give an update about the very flattering comment I posted on the LG 37LC2R dated June 2007.

It's now been more than half a year since I first  bought the LG. When it was brand new and ultra bright, everything looked stunning. But now when things have settled down, and the brightness has lessened somewhat, colours look less natrual and need some calibration. What was white previously, now have a  slight reddish tinge. Picture quality is no longer as sharp as before.

The XD engine, especially the XD contrast has become too dark in a lot of DVD movies. There is a loss of details in the black areas. So I have turned it off for most of my movies.

Why don't you call the technical folks from LG to check on your set? Probably something wrong with the backlight. A nearby coffee shop in my area has been using this model for more than a year, the colour is still spot on and good like a brand new set. No harm giving them a call since your set is still under warranty.
teak87
post Oct 3 2008, 12:43 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Oct 16 2007, 10:16 AM)

It's now been more than half a year since I first  bought the LG. When it was brand new and ultra bright, everything looked stunning. But now when things have settled down, and the brightness has lessened somewhat, colours look less natrual and need some calibration. What was white previously, now have a  slight reddish tinge. Picture quality is no longer as sharp as before.

That was too radical changed for your LG lcd. Its scarry me...$$$

QUOTE(sunauto @ Oct 16 2007, 11:59 AM)
Why don't you call the technical folks from LG to check on your set? Probably something wrong with the backlight. A nearby coffee shop in my area has been using this model for more than a year, the colour is still spot on and good like a brand new set. No harm giving them a call since your set is still under warranty.
Yeap, I fully agreed with your opinion. He should call the technician to fix the problems...Hope the tv is under warranty... sweat.gif

From my spec of view, my bro were just bought a brand new 40' SAMSUNG LCD Series 6. When turned on Astro, the picture looks damn blurred and expended. Some channels such as TV3 looks better compared to Astro's channels; RIA, PRIMA etc.. It is much better when using Terrestrial antenna even some channels are not clear enough. At this moment, I just convenience watched Astro with CRT TV. Waiting for any enchancement from Astro for HD broadcasting.

Rgrds,
Amin - Penang

~Happy Aidilfitri & Have A Good Holidays Lowyatsters~
DigitalTech
post Oct 3 2008, 10:35 AM

974 posts

The only way to improve your Astro picture quality on your LCD/Plasma is a good build quality cable like monster s-video cable.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/742712

Sold more than 60 cables with excellent feedbacks.

You don't have to pay through your nose for a monster cable now.

This post has been edited by DigitalTech: Oct 3 2008, 02:35 PM
jazzy939
post Oct 3 2008, 11:01 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I concur! Just bought the Monster's S-Video cable and true enough, it does improve the picture! Thanks Digitaltech!
Go for it guys.. thumbup.gif
tzerjiunn
post Oct 3 2008, 11:09 AM

17 posts

Buy SONY..got 1 model suit to Astro Enchancement..very very clear and nice...~~
DigitalTech
post Oct 3 2008, 02:38 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Oct 3 2008, 11:01 AM)
I concur! Just bought the Monster's S-Video cable and true enough, it does improve the picture! Thanks Digitaltech!
Go for it guys.. thumbup.gif
No worries, mate! nod.gif Glad that you are satisfied.

If you want Monster Component or HDMI cable, give me a buzz!

Cheers!
mADmAN
post Oct 3 2008, 02:50 PM

10,530 posts

the best LCD TV for astro would be...

DigitalTech
post Oct 3 2008, 03:55 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 3 2008, 02:50 PM)
the best LCD TV for astro would be...

Plasma TV + Monster cable = EXCELLENT Astro PQ rclxms.gif
arremie
post Oct 3 2008, 08:30 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

90% usage for Astro? Get plasma. I was searching for 32" plasma before Raya but unable to find one except Haier which is not suitable for PC since the resolution is too low. So I end up with 32" LCD Panasonic LX800. So far I'm satisfied with Astro PQ. That is just with cap ayam s-video cable. My Monster s-video coming tomoro. We'll see... biggrin.gif
mikapoh
post Oct 4 2008, 12:07 AM

1,263 posts

Make sure you do your review on this moster cable thingy. I am sure many would like you to comment...........
jazzy939
post Oct 4 2008, 12:13 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I would have to agree.
LCD wise don't go over 32".

QUOTE(DigitalTech @ Oct 3 2008, 03:55 PM)
Plasma TV + Monster cable = EXCELLENT Astro PQ  rclxms.gif
spoke
post Oct 4 2008, 12:22 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Oct 3 2008, 08:30 PM)
90% usage for Astro? Get plasma. I was searching for 32" plasma before Raya but unable to find one except Haier which is not suitable for PC since the resolution is too low. So I end up with 32" LCD Panasonic LX800. So far I'm satisfied with Astro PQ. That is just with cap ayam s-video cable. My Monster s-video coming tomoro. We'll see... biggrin.gif
Bro, I was pondering whether to get 32" Panasonic LX80 or LX800, any huge difference between those 2? Tried looking at the specs but can't tell much difference except for the 100Hz and sd card slot. Suggestions please? I mainly use it for astro. icon_question.gif
arremie
post Oct 4 2008, 12:56 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(spoke @ Oct 4 2008, 12:22 AM)
Bro, I was pondering whether to get 32" Panasonic LX80 or LX800, any huge difference between those 2? Tried looking at the specs but can't tell much difference except for the 100Hz and sd card slot. Suggestions please? I mainly use it for astro. icon_question.gif
The price difference is not that much bro. I would rather have the extra features the LX800 has to offer especially 100Hz and 24p playback support. 100Hz will be very useful for my PC gaming...less flicker so easy on the eyes. Plus I got it for less than what LX80 is selling outside so why not thumbup.gif

...and not to mention LX800 looks better than LX80 tongue.gif
spoke
post Oct 4 2008, 02:18 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Oct 4 2008, 12:56 AM)
The price difference is not that much bro. I would rather have the extra features the LX800 has to offer especially 100Hz and 24p playback support. 100Hz will be very useful for my PC gaming...less flicker so easy on the eyes. Plus I got it for less than what LX80 is selling outside so why not thumbup.gif

...and not to mention LX800 looks better than LX80 tongue.gif
Thanks man, how much did you get it for? smile.gif
prasys
post Oct 4 2008, 10:21 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

The difference is that one is full HD and the one is HD ready. Again if you're just solely using it for ASTRO only , then there is no use to jump into Full HD , plus with 32" Full HD there is no big deal about it. If you really want to experience full HD , then go for a bigger screen - otherwise it would be just waste of money. Unless you plan to use a PC with HDMI and you want to get 1:1 pixel ratio without overscanning.

I am using a 37" Panny LCD TV (HD Ready). Serves me very well. Although its not 1080p , but it does a pretty good job for my needs. I do watch lot of ASTRO , compared to HD Movies , so full HD isn't worth it for me and plus ASTRO isn't HD in the first place. It would be a different story if astro supports 1080i. Then by getting full HD , you'll notice the whole difference , in this case they are using 576i (and not progressive scan). Since you're mainly using it for ASTRO , I would recommend you to go for the 80 *unless you really want 1080p then go for the 800 series* , since you're mainly watching ASTRO. Save the money and use it for something else in the near future ! (or buy one of those good quality S-video cable to improve the PQ of ASTRO)
arremie
post Oct 4 2008, 11:47 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Oct 4 2008, 12:07 AM)
Make sure you do your review on this moster cable thingy. I am sure many would like you to comment...........
Ok just installed Monster S-Video 2 I got from Digitaltech. Before I could see any difference, my wife walk into the room and...."eh apa dedi dah buat astro cantik...kaler terang...gambar sharp dah tak kelabu sangat..." laugh.gif

I guess no need comment from me...the wife has spoken laugh.gif

For u who didn't know, previously I use cap ayam s-video cable so this is a very valid comparison. Monster s-video very much improve Astro PQ over normal cap ayam s-video thumbup.gif

QUOTE(spoke @ Oct 4 2008, 02:18 AM)
Thanks man, how much did you get it for? smile.gif
less than rm2.2k cash....u might want to pm iamsobloodysick for latest price.
vex
post Oct 4 2008, 06:50 PM

1,984 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Oct 4 2008, 11:47 AM)
Ok just installed Monster S-Video 2 I got from Digitaltech. Before I could see any difference, my wife walk into the room and...."eh apa dedi dah buat astro cantik...kaler terang...gambar sharp dah tak kelabu sangat..." laugh.gif

For u who didn't know, previously I use cap ayam s-video cable so this is a very valid comparison. Monster s-video very much improve Astro PQ over normal cap ayam s-video thumbup.gif
but lx80 is rm 1699 now wow ~ in BM ~
spoke
post Oct 4 2008, 07:39 PM

27 posts

Thanks for the info everyone, very ummm.... informative. tongue.gif But seriously, appreciate the help. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(vex @ Oct 4 2008, 06:50 PM)
I heard about the seller looking through the forum, anyone has experience trading with the person? BM no problem for me.
vex
post Oct 4 2008, 08:02 PM

1,984 posts

got shop 1 ...should be no problem gua ~ just call them just now, a girl answer, point how to go their shop, thinking to pick up a samsung LCD, now c alot review, some say samsung alot dead pix .... aisk ~~ confusing now ~~~ lol ~
arremie
post Oct 4 2008, 08:08 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

That's cheap. Go for it. LX80 also got good IPS-Alpha panel.
vex
post Oct 4 2008, 08:52 PM

1,984 posts

using lx70 b4 .... feel so so, and i feel quite annoying when the dynamic contrast is on, u can see the white suddenly become bright, suddenly become dim 1 ... other brand also same ?
aawcy
post Oct 4 2008, 08:54 PM

179 posts

if watch ASTRO, better buy plasma tv..........lcd not suitable...
vex
post Oct 4 2008, 10:15 PM

1,984 posts

plasma consume 350W above for 42", LCD 32" consume around 150-180 only ... this is 1 of my concern ...
now dunno wan buy 3.7K plasma or 2.0K punya LCD ~~ argh ~~~
spoke
post Oct 4 2008, 10:32 PM

27 posts

I was recommended by shop to get samsung series 4 instead of panasonic, this coming from a panashop. lol.
Now I'm rclxub.gif

vex, did you get the name of the shop in BM?
arremie
post Oct 4 2008, 10:35 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Sammy 4 series? Bad idea...trust me that one on my list and I finally ditch it. A big no no with Astro...
MyDevil
post Oct 4 2008, 10:57 PM

7,480 posts

QUOTE(spoke @ Oct 4 2008, 10:32 PM)
I was recommended by shop to get samsung series 4 instead of panasonic, this coming from a panashop. lol.
Now I'm  rclxub.gif

LOL...Pana staff recommends Samsung? May be he has a big fight with the boss. biggrin.gif tongue.gif
Mooneyes
post Oct 5 2008, 12:27 AM

Time heals
2,731 posts

damn..cheap price u got there..my dad bought the old tx-32le8m for 1899 here in kuching cry.gif
bmipp
post Oct 5 2008, 12:30 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(spoke @ Oct 4 2008, 11:32 PM)
Now I'm  rclxub.gif

only get the 6 series if for Samsung...

saw 4 and 5 series PQ, can't beat Panny....if thus, go for Panny better, 42 inch, RM3799 only
ronaldjoe
post Oct 5 2008, 12:33 AM

3,569 posts

Get Plasma PV8 RM3.8k for 42"
Good for astro icon_rolleyes.gif
vex
post Oct 5 2008, 08:47 AM

1,984 posts

PANASONIC 42" Plasma TH-42PV8 = RM 3390
this 1 okay ah ? not pv80 better meh ?
both use 1024x768 panel only .... the full hd 1080p panel cost a bomb ~
ecam
post Oct 6 2008, 04:33 PM

145 posts

i use panasonic plasma tv 42 too. The picture ok especially when coupled with max. Sony plasma tv sux when u want to use astro. blurry.
accs_centre
post Oct 6 2008, 05:40 PM

4,840 posts

QUOTE(ecam @ Oct 6 2008, 04:33 PM)
i use panasonic plasma tv 42 too. The picture ok especially when coupled with max. Sony plasma tv sux when u want to use astro. blurry.
Sony Got Plasma?
ecam
post Oct 6 2008, 06:21 PM

145 posts

Sony Got Plasma? Wat kind of question is that? My office got one.
arremie
post Oct 6 2008, 06:29 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Sony where got plasma TV? All LCD...
auronthas
post Oct 6 2008, 06:32 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(ecam @ Oct 6 2008, 06:21 PM)
Sony Got Plasma? Wat kind of question is that? My office got one.
Rear projection TV kuah?
aiz1j
post Oct 6 2008, 09:50 PM

156 posts

Sony used to produce plasma tv. but they stopped production late 2005 if I'm not mistaken. So the one in the office must be an old model.
DigitalTech
post Oct 6 2008, 11:09 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Oct 4 2008, 11:47 AM)

There's nothing much you can do with the bad Astro PQ on your LCD/Plasma.

The only thing you can improve the PQ is using a good built cable like Monster S-Video Cable.

Previously, monster cables are not affordable at all. Only the rich one can buy it as premium stuff.

I have brought in the monster cables from a wholesaler from the US in bulk.
So, now you don't have to worry that a monster cable will cost you a bomb.

Now everybody can afford a Monster cable for your AV devices.

Imagine enjoying every minute on your astro channels with improved PQ without paying premium price for the improvement.
If you do the math, is more than worth it.

Sold more than 70 cables with excellent feedback. Arremie is one of them.

This post has been edited by DigitalTech: Oct 6 2008, 11:10 PM
finalfantasty
post Oct 7 2008, 01:14 AM

107 posts

toshiba !!
vex
post Oct 7 2008, 02:50 PM

1,984 posts

any PV80 user here ?? confirm this TV got 100hz refresh rate ???
becos some say got, some say dun have ~ i dunno which to belive.
99below0
post Oct 7 2008, 02:51 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(vex @ Oct 7 2008, 02:50 PM)
any PV80 user here ?? confirm this TV got 100hz refresh rate ???
becos some say got, some say dun have ~ i dunno which to belive.
Confirm got. smile.gif
euronymous
post Oct 8 2008, 03:26 PM

238 posts

please comment on this dealers' popular comment :

"panasonic plasma yes... LCD no good... go for other brand..."

99below0
post Oct 8 2008, 03:44 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(euronymous @ Oct 8 2008, 03:26 PM)

I believe the appropriate question should be:

"What will you be using your flat-panel TV for, sir? Astro, DVD, Blu-Ray, PS3 or PC?

And then the answer:

Astro, DVD - HD-Ready Plasma
Blu-Ray - Full HD Plasma
PS3 or PC - Full HD LCD

and then proceed to sell you the most expensive TV you can afford. smile.gif

This post has been edited by 99below0: Oct 8 2008, 03:46 PM
arremie
post Oct 8 2008, 03:46 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(euronymous @ Oct 8 2008, 03:26 PM)

....if he that smart, he won't be a salesman tongue.gif
bvlagar
post Oct 8 2008, 09:49 PM

26 posts

I go for Sony X series LCD TV rclxms.gif
vex
post Oct 8 2008, 09:57 PM

1,984 posts

saw my bro in law X series ... also so so nia , when watch their cable TV ~ no different from normal LCD pun ~
bvlagar
post Oct 9 2008, 03:11 PM

26 posts

If Sony X not good for u then go for Pioneer KUDO biggrin.gif
pspfan
post Oct 9 2008, 03:12 PM

516 posts

Kudo? new model? kuro ade la
arremie
post Oct 9 2008, 03:46 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Sony X series very cun with BD. How can watch normal TV and say X series not good. U need HD material to take full advantage.
99below0
post Oct 9 2008, 04:01 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Oct 9 2008, 03:46 PM)
Sony X series very cun with BD. How can watch normal TV and say X series not good. U need HD material to take full advantage.
Title of this thread is "Best LCD TV for Astro?" mah... so the TVs discussed here are going to be used for Astro big-time... so sorrylah, man... that cheapo Tosh AV500 is going to look better than the X-Series... with Astro... hahaha

This post has been edited by 99below0: Oct 9 2008, 04:02 PM
arremie
post Oct 9 2008, 04:06 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Haha no prob....who cares about astro crappy picture. Just get any LCD and use good s-video cable and you are done. X series too high class for astro tongue.gif
99below0
post Oct 9 2008, 04:08 PM

251 posts

I would venture to say... LCD TV too high class for Astro... go find a cheap second-hand 34" CRT for excellent PQ... smile.gif
jazzy939
post Oct 10 2008, 11:13 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Even a back projection TV is good. wink.gif
mikapoh
post Oct 12 2008, 12:37 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(99below0 @ Oct 8 2008, 03:44 PM)
I believe the appropriate question should be:

"What will you be using your flat-panel TV for, sir? Astro, DVD, Blu-Ray, PS3 or PC?

And then the answer:

Astro, DVD - HD-Ready Plasma
Blu-Ray - Full HD Plasma
PS3 or PC - Full HD LCD

and then proceed to sell you the most expensive TV you can afford. smile.gif
So, what 99<0's comment is LCD TV now is ONLY good for Gaming console and PC connection. Astro & movies should hook-up with Plasma TV. In other words,
all HDMI players, Blu-ray players, HDMI Receivers and Hardcore Speakers to produce all HD pictures and audios are BEST pair with Plasma TV.

So, beware all LDC potential buyer, and luckily I am a plasma owner, rclxms.gif In other words, Plasma is more relevant to Home Theatre and this implies its limitless potential in the future movie generation. BTW, most of the advanced talk about hardware like BDP, HD AVRS, HD Surround are associated with Movies, indirectly Plasma......I rest my case. smile.gif
arremie
post Oct 12 2008, 01:38 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Not really la. Full HD LCD also got excellent PQ for HD movies.
accs_centre
post Oct 12 2008, 07:39 PM

4,840 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Oct 10 2008, 11:13 PM)
Even a back projection TV is good. wink.gif
Dont agree so..
charng
post Oct 14 2008, 06:19 AM

13 posts

from my point of view, go for Full HD LCD for astro...and some my friend said astro using analog signal that is the reason lcd using digital signal can't accept well....

overfloe
post Oct 14 2008, 09:40 AM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,211 posts

QUOTE(charng @ Oct 14 2008, 07:19 AM)
from my point of view, go for Full HD LCD for astro...and some my friend said astro using analog signal that is the reason lcd using digital signal can't accept well....
getting a Full HD LCD just for viewing astro only is not a good idea.. since astro is not broadcasted at 1080p blush.gif
99below0
post Oct 14 2008, 10:00 AM

251 posts

QUOTE(charng @ Oct 14 2008, 06:19 AM)
Wrong... and wrong. Please double check your facts to avoid confusing other forum members.

Astro is regular PAL interlaced signal (576i), so HD Ready sets don't have to upscale so much and will look better. Full HD sets will have to upscaled to 1080p, and you can't just add information that isn't there, therefore you'll get more blocking and colour runs.

Poor picture on LCDs have nothing to do with the analog signals. A good analog component 480p signal from a good DVD player can frequently look better than a poor HDMI set. The reason Astro looks bad is because of the amount of compression that Astro applies to its channels in order to cram them all into that limited bandwidth. Because the LCD has to upscale, compression blocks and artifacts look far more obvious, depending on the quality of the upscaler in the LCD TV.
mikapoh
post Oct 14 2008, 12:38 PM

1,263 posts

But u have mentioned before, HD Ready tv also upscaled everything to 1080p before downscale to 720p such as Panny Plasma correct ??

99below0
post Oct 14 2008, 12:58 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Oct 14 2008, 12:38 PM)
But u have mentioned before, HD Ready tv also upscaled everything to 1080p before downscale to 720p such as Panny Plasma correct ??
That's the Panasonic method. And, you are watching 768p finally, not 1080p, which means the poor quality picture does not have to be stretched so much. You will notice that Astro looks very good on those old 42" EDTV 832x480 plasmas too (like the LG42PC3), cause there's very little interpolation going on.
mikapoh
post Oct 14 2008, 04:01 PM

1,263 posts

Copy that. U are a real technician behind those technologies. Keep it up.

But if there are die hard fans still wanna to use LCD to watch astro, take 2 notes. Choose only HD ready and smaller size like 32inch. I found Sharp Aquos 32inch very good in handling astro....

DigitalTech
post Oct 14 2008, 04:52 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Oct 14 2008, 04:01 PM)

But if there are die hard fans still wanna to use LCD to watch astro, take 2 notes. Choose only HD ready and smaller size like 32inch. I found Sharp Aquos 32inch very good in handling astro....
another way is to sit far far away from your LCD TV and you will not notice the bad PQ in Astro. tongue.gif

Or get a monster s-video cable..... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by DigitalTech: Jun 5 2009, 11:38 AM
awiekupo
post Oct 17 2008, 03:42 PM

Lucky to be coming home again..
1,481 posts

guys.. i just wanna use my tv to watch astro & play dvd movie once in a while..

Among the cheapest i can get now is 32' inch sharp aquos.. so basically i just get tis LCD TV + Monster cable and that would be around 2k.

Is that rite? OR is there any 32 Plasma TV? Sould I just get 32' LCD TV + Monster cable or just 32' Plasma for the best picture quality on Astro..
htkaki
post Oct 17 2008, 04:27 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Oct 14 2008, 04:01 PM)

Are you referring to 32A33 or 32A53?

Johore
post Oct 17 2008, 05:05 PM

286 posts

i heard SONY T Series LCD is good with astro & no need to get other S-video cable just used that come with astro..dunno la kan...
icez
post Oct 17 2008, 10:26 PM

The Icezman Gone Cold
1,053 posts

I am considering getting a flat screen for astro watching. Since the sentiment is plasma is better, I am considering 2 models:

Panasonic 42PV8 or Hitachi P42A01A.

What really interest me is the Hitachi's ALiS panel which has 1080i and the fact that ALiS panel supposed to use less power because pixels are lit one row after the other.

What do you guys think? Anyone got experience with these (esp the Hitachi?)
welwitchia
post Oct 17 2008, 10:41 PM

1,219 posts

^ The Hitachi Plasmas tend to "flicker" more than others.. Make sure you're ok with that before making a purchase.
icez
post Oct 17 2008, 10:43 PM

The Icezman Gone Cold
1,053 posts

^ What do you mean by flicker? Do you mean the TV "scans" (i know its not really scanning but for comparison) like a CRT?
mikapoh
post Oct 18 2008, 12:19 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 17 2008, 04:27 PM)
Are you referring to 32A33 or 32A53?
I am referring 32A53. Try not to watch too close then it is pretty ok.

DigitalKL
post Oct 18 2008, 10:21 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(icez @ Oct 17 2008, 10:26 PM)
I am considering getting a flat screen for astro watching. Since the sentiment is plasma is better, I am considering 2 models:

Panasonic 42PV8 or Hitachi P42A01A.

What really interest me is the Hitachi's ALiS panel which has 1080i and the fact that ALiS panel supposed to use less power because pixels are lit one row after the other.

What do you guys think? Anyone got experience with these (esp the Hitachi?)
Do a side by side comparison before buying. i cant remember well but I think I like the panasonic picture better. first and foremost i have a Hitachi 9500 and I have no regrets with it. The sound is much better than even the newer models. But if I were to buy another plasma TV today, I probably go for the PV80. Watch what Im saying. I said buy another. I wont replace my 9500 though. Why? because of the price and 5 years warranty.

How much is the Hitachi P42A01A? I dont see any flickering with my eyes so I am okay with it. Since I dont have have anything to compare side by side, it looks good to me as it is. Astro works fine for me at the distance Im watching about 10 feet or less. I have it in my bedroom. personally I dont think ALiS is a big advantage unless someone can point out the difference to me. Use less power? I am not sure either.

Best is you go to a big store like TBM and compare them side by side and let the picture quality dictates.

This post has been edited by DigitalKL: Oct 18 2008, 10:23 AM
dannyl77
post Dec 9 2008, 12:54 AM

116 posts

Hi everyone..

i wanted to buy LG 32" LCD - Model 32LG30.. Usage mainly on Astro & DVD..

Saw C4 offering about RM 1999 like that + RM 300 C4 Voucher + 2 Years warranty ? I have watched the quality before on Astro comparing with Samsung & Sony.. It looks Better... & will definetly will get a MONSTER S-Cable ( after reading the review..)

Anyone can comment ?How's The Offer ? is it reasonable ? Anyone using it ? How's The Quality ? Or any Better Sugestion ? Better Brand / better Price or deal....

hope some1 can advise me.. Thanks...

This post has been edited by dannyl77: Dec 9 2008, 12:00 PM
xgreen7
post Dec 9 2008, 07:08 AM

131 posts

i want LG or samsung! actually i c their design..i luv both of them.
dannyl77
post Dec 24 2008, 11:36 AM

116 posts

Hi , Any 1 Using 32 " Samsung or LG - Korean Brand , How is it incomparison to those Japanese Brand like.. SONY , TOSHIBA , SHARP , Philips ( Sunno if its Japan Brand la )..

Any1 Can advise ar ?.... Thanks....
JayC75
post Dec 24 2008, 03:13 PM

Here We Go
1,404 posts

Get 3S, i.e. Sony, Sharp or Samsung. If $$ is not a problem, get a pioneer..
neojack
post Dec 24 2008, 03:16 PM

262 posts

sony bravia! yeah!
suns8630
post Dec 24 2008, 03:31 PM

1,122 posts

Hi all sifus,

I'm a newbie in LCD and am looking to get one soon.  I spend 90% time watching Astro so I would like to know the best LCD TV for Astro in town.  I've gone through a bit of the previous topics and I know that Astro doesn't look good on LCD but can I know which is the best?  I've also spent some time shopping around but the more i shop (with different salesmen suggestions), the more I get confused.... cry.gif

I NEED HELP!!!

Thanks to all sifus...
for your infor ....ALL LCD in the market of Malaysia are 2nd grade from the factory (OEM )which produce the LCD panel ...

1st grade LCD panel .. are too expensive for our market ..

be it whatsoever "brand" Japanese or korea made ...they are not much different 0r difficult to choose ...

and as for recommendation ..... this will very much depend on your budget ...!!! and the most important .. your liking and your house interior setup to match this LCD ...

some example to your liking .. !!!!

color tend to be more greenish ... or reddish or blue... picture ... more sharper then others .... contrast more deeper ....

try compare a view of tree or leaf ... or a flower of red .. or seawater

this are the few area to look for ...!!!

as the market $$$ is at WAR right now ..( year end sale ... maaahh )

happy shopping...

SUSMatrix
post Dec 24 2008, 05:14 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(suns8630 @ Dec 24 2008, 03:31 PM)
for your infor ....ALL LCD in the market of Malaysia are 2nd grade from the factory  (OEM )which produce the LCD panel ...

1st grade LCD panel .. are too expensive for our market ..
be it whatsoever "brand" Japanese or korea made ...they are not much different 0r difficult to choose ...

and as for recommendation ..... this will very much depend on your budget ...!!! and the most important  .. your liking and your house interior  setup to match this LCD ...
some example to your liking .. !!!!

color tend to be more greenish ... or reddish or blue... picture ... more sharper then others .... contrast more deeper ....

try compare  a view of tree or leaf ... or a flower of red  .. or  seawater 

this are the few area to look for ...!!!

as the market $$$ is at WAR right now ..( year end sale ... maaahh )

happy shopping...
OEM Panels from factory? Sure about that? Sharp, Sony, Samsung all make their own panels from their own factories. LG and Philips are partners and share the panels. Sony and Samsung are partners. Sharp, i think they're hooking up with somebody ...Toshiba or Hitachi?

ar188
post Dec 24 2008, 05:55 PM

9,206 posts

matrix.. I also laugh when I read that.. haha!
99below0
post Dec 24 2008, 06:25 PM

251 posts

I believe we're getting china and taiwan oem panels on our branded TVs simply because of the price point. Even the LG lcds are lower spec than their international equivalent. Notice how different our panel performance seems compared to international reviews? Eg Samsung series 4. Excellent reviews internationally. Doesn't look that fantastic in your home. Professional reviewers can't be that far off the mark. Figure it out.
robertngo
post Dec 24 2008, 08:03 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(99below0 @ Dec 24 2008, 06:25 PM)
I believe we're getting china and taiwan oem panels on our branded TVs simply because of the price point. Even the LG lcds are lower spec than their international equivalent. Notice how different our panel performance seems compared to international reviews? Eg Samsung series 4. Excellent reviews internationally. Doesn't look that fantastic in your home. Professional reviewers can't be that far off the mark. Figure it out.
most tv are not setup properly out of the box, need to do some tuning and calibrating to bring out the best. i see in US the price of tv is even cheaper than here during this holiday sales period.
edbe
post Dec 25 2008, 11:55 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 24 2008, 05:14 PM)
OEM Panels from factory? Sure about that? Sharp, Sony, Samsung all make their own panels from their own factories. LG and Philips are partners and share the panels. Sony and Samsung are partners. Sharp, i think they're hooking up with somebody ...Toshiba or Hitachi?
Sharp will be partnering with Sony in the future. All of them have their own panels respective partners. OEM ones are normally for those Cap Ayam brands I believe.
robertngo
post Dec 25 2008, 12:35 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(edbe @ Dec 25 2008, 11:55 AM)
Sharp will be partnering with Sony in the future. All of them have their own panels respective partners. OEM ones are normally for those Cap Ayam brands I believe.
many taiwan OEM are now in deep trouble due to over supply for LCD panel after all the big manufacturer setup new plant.
ar188
post Dec 25 2008, 12:45 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(99below0 @ Dec 24 2008, 06:25 PM)
US market got use our LCD P/N ar? how to compare international reviews? I'm not sure..
but if you say online reviews, things like c-net/engadget/gizmondo and such, I take them with a grain of salt..
pychan
post Dec 25 2008, 07:14 PM

150 posts

hi all sifus,

i am new into the Home AV thing.

I am just plan to buy 32LCD Tv. looking at Samsung and sharp model

LA32A450, LA32A550 anf Sharp: LC32D30M

but i suddenly find out this thread abt LCD + astro. I am using TV ( current CRT) for astro, as many feedbak here, LCD is bad pair iwth Astro.

My living room is small, cant go beyond 32".

I seldom see plasma TV at the kind of size and even soem feeback, plasma ia for above 32 and lcd is for below 32.

Some said after using s video cable ( cap ayam), only slightimprove on colour and brigthness and not Picture quality.

Now is really confuse, which TV should choose?

LCD or PLasma?

if plasma which model?

if LCD which model?

I dun wanna spend 2-3K and get a blurry image on TV , rite? then there is not point to buy a new TV, rite?

really in dilema.

Hoep all expert here, can help to explain and advise.

Thanks in advance

htkaki
post Dec 25 2008, 11:05 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Aint have 32" plasma other than LG, which is crap in PQ. So, you have to buy LCD TV. Try to get those with fast response time, say 5ms and below. to minimise motion blur issue (or being referred as 'ghosting effect')
dannyl77
post Dec 26 2008, 12:02 AM

116 posts

Wah , So many expert reply.. Thanks.....

Just wondering , ANy1 using 32" LCD LG 32LG30 ... ? Any review ?

This post has been edited by dannyl77: Dec 26 2008, 12:03 AM
kianwee
post Dec 26 2008, 12:21 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

Just to share with you guys, I bought a PV80 a couple of months ago, ever since that day my gf non-stop nagging me about the fugly design, in the end went and buy LG PG60.

I compared both the unit side by side, seems like PG60 can display black better, and just more pleasant to my eyes. Now my gf's happy, I'm not cause forked out 9k within 3 months for 2 plasmas just for Astro. doh.gif
siam
post Dec 26 2008, 11:19 AM

QUOTE(pychan @ Dec 25 2008, 07:14 PM)
hi all sifus,

i am new into the Home AV thing.

I am just plan to buy 32LCD Tv. looking at Samsung and sharp model

LA32A450, LA32A550 anf Sharp: LC32D30M

but i suddenly find out this thread abt LCD + astro. I am using TV ( current CRT) for astro, as many feedbak here, LCD is bad  pair iwth Astro.

hi... just wanna share my opinion..

i just bought LA32A450.. so far i'm quite happy with it.. watch astro most of the time, dvd on certain weekends..

i always tot LCD + astro is a bad combo.. last week i went to legend SS2, just to survey.. was suprised with the PQ on some of the models.. never tot can get such PQ with astro.. so i decided to get 1.. samsung, sharp, lg and sony look good.. toshiba was bad.. not many other 32LCD for me to compare.. i prefer sharp LC32D30M but i picked LA32A450 since it's cheaper by rm300.. and i don't need the woofer available on sharp, since i already have my HT.. samsung colour a bit too bright/unnatural compre to sharp, but after some adjustments, i'm quite happy with it.. black level is good... i didn't pick sony or lg due to brand preference.. i'm not using s-video cable, just normal RCA..
pychan
post Dec 26 2008, 12:42 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(siam @ Dec 26 2008, 12:19 PM)

i just bought LA32A450.. so far i'm quite happy with it.. watch astro most of the time, dvd on certain weekends..

i always tot LCD + astro is a bad combo.. last week i went to legend SS2, just to survey.. was suprised with the PQ on some of the models.. never tot can get such PQ with astro.. so i decided to get 1.. samsung, sharp, lg and sony look good.. toshiba was bad.. not many other 32LCD for me to compare.. i prefer sharp LC32D30M but i picked LA32A450 since it's cheaper by rm300.. and i don't need the woofer available on sharp, since i already have my HT.. samsung colour a bit too bright/unnatural compre to sharp, but after some adjustments, i'm quite happy with it.. black level is good... i didn't pick sony or lg due to brand preference.. i'm not using s-video cable, just normal RCA..
thanks for ur feedback.

so buying LCD TV match with astro still acceptable?

i am thinking same model as urs, 450 or 550 or sharp designer series

dannyl77
post Dec 30 2008, 12:53 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(siam @ Dec 26 2008, 11:19 AM)

Thanks for the opinion, Siam... really appreciate

So , u Bought Samsung la... is it .. LA32A450... is it 32" Series 4 ?... Legend SS2 ? i heard about a Shop in SS2 which offer good price for LCD TV...U dont mind sharing the Price ? So, this model is one of those with the Alright Picture Quality one la? samsung, sharp, lg and sony ? will look into those.. Thanks...
BassHead2
post Dec 30 2008, 01:26 PM

26 posts

Panasonic 50inch very nice for Astro.
TH-50PY850

siam
post Jan 1 2009, 11:39 PM

QUOTE(dannyl77 @ Dec 30 2008, 12:53 PM)
Thanks for the opinion, Siam... really appreciate

So , u Bought Samsung la... is it .. LA32A450... is it 32" Series 4 ?... Legend SS2 ? i heard about a Shop in SS2 which offer good price for LCD TV...U dont mind sharing the Price ? So, this model is one of those with the Alright Picture Quality one la?  samsung, sharp, lg and sony ? will look into those.. Thanks...
Yea, bought the LA32A450.. I didn't really compare prices with other shops.. since few frens said Legend give good price, I just went there straight away.. got it for RM1850.. but i saw better prices posted in forums.. maybe you can bargain better than me..
just fyi, my normal watching distance is about 10-11 feet.. so better consider yours also.. i think it should not be less then 6-7 feet..

dannyl77
post Jan 2 2009, 10:44 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(siam @ Jan 1 2009, 11:39 PM)
Yea, bought the LA32A450.. I didn't really compare prices with other shops.. since few frens said Legend give good price, I just went there straight away.. got it for RM1850.. but i saw better prices posted in forums.. maybe you can bargain better than me..
just fyi, my normal watching distance is about 10-11 feet.. so better consider yours also.. i think it should not be less then 6-7 feet..
Thanks Siam , Will try to go there to survey & bargain ....

Anyone else with Recommendations on 32" LCD ??... Good Picture Quality for watching astro la of cos ? Thanks..

& HAPPY NEW YEAR to all the Forumer...... laugh.gif
htkaki
post Jan 2 2009, 12:10 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(BassHead2 @ Dec 30 2008, 01:26 PM)
Panasonic 50inch very nice for Astro.
TH-50PY850

That's Full HD and very pricey too (5 fig) sweat.gif

Jediknight8820
post Jan 2 2009, 12:35 PM

197 posts

since almost everyone here already owned either a HD Ready of Full HD display, seeing a HD resolution through bluray or DVD. we cannot expect much from Astro, unless they've to move towards HD. doh.gif
BlueWind
post Jan 2 2009, 02:04 PM

Sianzation
2,901 posts

Just called Assthrow, they said not in the near future of releasing HD signal.. WTF!! doh.gif

Everybody please go flood Astro to pressure them please. Everyone is slowing going into LCD era and yet Astro doing nothing about it.

Anyway, Sharp is quite good in viewing Astro right? This one?
http://www.sharp.com.my/product.php?ProductID=LC32D30M-B
ronnt88
post Jan 2 2009, 02:09 PM

2,353 posts

not this wan la... A85 model is the one tongue.gif
ar188
post Jan 2 2009, 02:13 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 2 2009, 02:09 PM)
not this wan la... A85 model is the one tongue.gif
tongue.gif or the samsung A950.. rclxms.gif
ronnt88
post Jan 2 2009, 02:17 PM

2,353 posts

he said sharp ma tongue.gif

Added on January 2, 2009, 2:18 pmSamsung A950 smallest size is 46" wor smile.gif

This post has been edited by ronnt88: Jan 2 2009, 02:18 PM
siam
post Jan 2 2009, 11:13 PM

no need full hd for 32.. can't see much difference.. if watch astro, guess no difference at all.. so better save money.. try LG if u're not brand conscious, it got 5m/s response time..
ar188
post Jan 2 2009, 11:57 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 2 2009, 02:17 PM)
he said sharp ma tongue.gif

Added on January 2, 2009, 2:18 pmSamsung A950 smallest size is 46" wor smile.gif
s&V reviewed the A950 wor they said very good unit can challenge kuro in blacks and brillant picture quality. except 2 areas..

blooming (as aiman4) mentioned due to insufficient LED zones..
off axis viewing (over 20deg) start to lose picture information to due LCD nature.
so have to always sit in the "money seat"
ronnt88
post Jan 3 2009, 12:09 AM

2,353 posts

alamak doh.gif i oledi ordered la.....
anyways, saw on whathifi that philips just launched LED backlight LCD tv with >1k LEDs .. but pricey, 2k quids for 42" tongue.gif
ar188
post Jan 3 2009, 12:15 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 3 2009, 12:09 AM)
alamak doh.gif i oledi ordered la.....
anyways, saw on whathifi that philips just launched LED backlight LCD tv with >1k LEDs .. but pricey, 2k quids for 42" tongue.gif
he said the black is blacker than kuro cos LED shutdown to pure black./
dun worry I think the reviewer just exposing all the points to consider.. even kuro have lots of minor complaints so just wanna give all the facts to the owner to read..
when audition, stant 20-30deg sideways if the image still looks good...from your eyes then that should be fine.

ronnt88
post Jan 3 2009, 12:18 AM

2,353 posts

it looked good to me when i saw it at best denki gurney plaza... but i didn't try side views.... n'mind la, i'll make sure the money seat is all mine..... smile.gif anyways, got it for 1/2 the price of kuro krp500a so... can't complain too much i guess tongue.gif
BlueWind
post Jan 3 2009, 12:50 AM

Sianzation
2,901 posts

A85 Samsung kah?
ronnt88
post Jan 3 2009, 12:51 AM

2,353 posts

A85 is Sharp, A850 is Samsung
ar188
post Jan 3 2009, 12:52 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(BlueWind @ Jan 3 2009, 12:50 AM)
A85 Samsung kah?
A85 also loose. need sharp flagship model only can challen..
BassHead2
post Jan 3 2009, 01:47 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(BlueWind @ Jan 2 2009, 02:04 PM)
Just called Assthrow, they said not in the near future of releasing HD signal.. WTF!! doh.gif

Everybody please go flood Astro to pressure them please. Everyone is slowing going into LCD era and yet Astro doing nothing about it.

Anyway, Sharp is quite good in viewing Astro right? This one?
http://www.sharp.com.my/product.php?ProductID=LC32D30M-B
No need to complain to Astro.
Just Bit - Torrent everything in HD and watch in your own convenience thru a Western Digital WDTV
to you brand new LCD HD TV.

callmevil
post Jan 3 2009, 02:08 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

after doing several day check of the new X-series from sony i can conclude that.. in the 40" category, the 300/3500 X is better than the 450/4500 X.. but in the 46-55" category, the 450/4500 X is muchhhh better than the 300/3500 X...

this is due to the new 40" is only given normal LED, while the 46-55" is given RGB LED.. but hah, the PQ is a bit unreal to me..

in terms of design, the 300/3500 X still win for me smile.gif
suprisingly the older X still more expensive than the new X.. when i ask the sales guy he say the previous X was made in japan and has a better build quality..

well good for me though. heheh can still be happy with my X smile.gif

nxt upgrade is still waiting for KL so i can meet up with a certain someone for a certain something.. hahaha
BlueWind
post Jan 3 2009, 12:07 PM

Sianzation
2,901 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 3 2009, 12:51 AM)
A85 is Sharp, A850 is Samsung
I only can buy 32" LCD

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 3 2009, 12:52 AM)
A85 also loose. need sharp flagship model only can challen..
D30 considered flagship or not?

QUOTE(BassHead2 @ Jan 3 2009, 01:47 AM)
No need to complain to Astro.
Just Bit - Torrent everything in HD and watch in your own convenience thru a Western Digital WDTV
to you brand new LCD HD TV.
Then what's the point for subscribing to Astro?
ar188
post Jan 3 2009, 12:27 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(BlueWind @ Jan 3 2009, 12:07 PM)

D30 considered flagship or not?
D30 is like vios .. D92 thats a BMW

XS series is the super car group
htkaki
post Jan 3 2009, 06:06 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Jan 3 2009, 02:08 AM)
after doing several day check of the new X-series from sony i can conclude that.. in the 40" category, the 300/3500 X is better than the 450/4500 X.. but in the 46-55" category, the 450/4500 X is muchhhh better than the 300/3500 X...

this is due to the new 40" is only given normal LED, while the 46-55" is given RGB LED.. but hah, the PQ is a bit unreal to me..

in terms of design, the 300/3500 X still win for me smile.gif
suprisingly the older X still more expensive than the new X.. when i ask the sales guy he say the previous X was made in japan and has a better build quality..

well good for me though. heheh can still be happy with my X smile.gif

nxt upgrade is still waiting for KL so i can meet up with a certain someone for a certain something.. hahaha

hmm.gif something must be going there, eh? tongue.gif

I mjst admit that the Sammy A850 looks sexy indeed wub.gif

BassHead2
post Jan 5 2009, 10:24 PM

26 posts

Noticed from forums, that most people want Panasonic 42PV80H for Astro.

Very few can afford the Pioneer.

This post has been edited by BassHead2: Jan 5 2009, 11:03 PM
overfloe
post Jan 6 2009, 08:37 AM

2,211 posts

QUOTE(BassHead2 @ Jan 5 2009, 11:24 PM)
Noticed from forums, that most people want Panasonic 42PV80H for Astro.

Very few can afford the Pioneer.
coz kuros are very expensive. best picture quality, no doubt. but for the same price of the lowest end model can get a full hd panasonic plasma already.

42PV8/80H - best bang for buck plasma. PQ is really good even for a HD ready only.
arshad
post Jan 6 2009, 10:22 AM

Blessed
1,527 posts

Anyone know about Z series? D:
BassHead2
post Jan 8 2009, 01:19 AM

26 posts

This week new launch of 2009 LCD and Plasma TV in CES ( CONSUMER ELECTRONICS SHOW )
in the states.

Samsung will have USB ports built in for DIVX and XVID playback officially for all 2009 LCD TV.
overfloe
post Jan 8 2009, 08:45 AM

2,211 posts

soon some tv will have integrated dvd players.. then integrated blu-ray.. this.. and that..

dvd/blu-ray player makers must be really furious!
SUSMatrix
post Jan 8 2009, 09:05 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Jan 8 2009, 08:45 AM)
soon some tv will have integrated dvd players.. then integrated blu-ray.. this.. and that..

dvd/blu-ray player makers must be really furious!
No worries lah. Integrated trend cannot last one. Nobody wants to pay extra for crummy players when they can have dedicated players. Like last time TV also got integrated VHS tape recorder and even integrated Nintendo console....all failures.

Stamp
post Jan 8 2009, 09:23 AM

4,864 posts

I noticed hardly nobody discussed about Philips LCD tv. Astro pictures on my 2-yr old 42" Philips 'HD Ready' LCD tv is ok. I used S Video cable.
jerren
post Jan 16 2009, 07:22 PM

888 posts

the difference between Sharp LC32A53M & LC32A33M is that the LC32A53M has the 100Hz,
what/where is this 100Hz good at?

the LCD is mainly for Astro viewing..

spoket
post Feb 23 2009, 10:29 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(jerren @ Jan 16 2009, 08:22 PM)
the difference between Sharp LC32A53M & LC32A33M is that the LC32A53M has the 100Hz,

I just order Toshiba Regza 42RV500E full HD with cash price of RM3750 for my new house...
It's come with 2 years warranty and 1 year free insurance.

so now I'm thinking of Monster THX S-Video Cable to make it better with Astro... moneyflies.gif
highway04
post Feb 25 2009, 08:17 PM

182 posts

wats the best 37 inch lcd tv wif full hd??? budget around 3k+-
but oso need 2 looks decent on astro
im currently considering the sharp lc37a65m but went 2 some shop they preffer the sharp without full hd for better astro viewing...
is it true????

This post has been edited by highway04: Feb 25 2009, 08:17 PM
jerrychoo2004
post Feb 26 2009, 10:10 AM

1,633 posts

guys Courts mammoth is selling Sharp 32' LCD L32D30MBK + Pioneer HTZ170DVD at only RM2300
is this a good buy, this Sharp model ok for Astro?
doczane
post Mar 1 2009, 08:27 PM

114 posts

Hi, juz poking in. Did some window shopping at Senq KK just now, Samsung series 6 size 40" was selling at RM3699, 5ms refresh rate, full HD with integrated USB for jpeg and mp3. Asked them to demo astro and it was sooo disappointing, hideous output though bluray and xbox360 demo was gorgeous. The guy said since analog transmission from astro will cause overlapping pixel or something and it wont be clear on lcd, astro on plasma kuros pioneer was nice though. But astro on CRT beats all high end LCD or plasma hands down. Bottom line for me, to watch astro, stick to CRT, building a mini cinema for blu ray or gaming, go full HD!
yanhui95
post Mar 3 2009, 08:14 PM

Already started
1,441 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Jan 6 2009, 08:37 AM)
coz kuros are very expensive. best picture quality, no doubt. but for the same price of the lowest end model can get a full hd panasonic plasma already.

42PV8/80H - best bang for buck plasma. PQ is really good even for a HD ready only.
but the specs doesnt say it is hd ready
dannyl77
post Mar 12 2009, 01:16 PM

116 posts

Hi , I bought LG's LG30 Series ( Not Full HD ) & watch Astro .... , i think this model almost 1 year already....

& I am quite happy with the PQ on Astro - I think the Best Viewing distance that i tried was 8.5-10 Feet like that la, although some Channel especially SPorts Channel ,the PQ not That Good la...
But i have also tested watching Astro on Samsung , Toshiba , Pana , Sony ( Almopst the Same Range one la , almost same budget one ) .... the result is I like LG the Most , that's why i got it........

* Have Not try using S-Video Cable ( Monster ) .... i heard the Result very Good....
will definetly get one once i am used to the PQ now.... biggrin.gif

Anyone else want to share opinion on this LG30 Series ....

This post has been edited by dannyl77: Mar 12 2009, 01:21 PM
xchris
post Mar 12 2009, 03:59 PM

136 posts

I just bought a S-Video Cable ( Monster ) but PQ not much improvement (Only the color slighty more vibrant) . I heard this cable may improve the PQ but depending on the LCD TV. Anyone in Penang wanna test out this cable? I can test it for FOC and offer to sell it with discount if it help improve the PQ your LCD TV. I might sell it since not too much improvement for my setup.
dannyl77
post Mar 12 2009, 05:17 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(xchris @ Mar 12 2009, 03:59 PM)
I just bought a S-Video Cable ( Monster ) but PQ not much improvement (Only the color slighty more vibrant) . I heard this cable may improve the PQ but depending on the LCD TV. Anyone in Penang wanna test out this cable? I can test it for FOC and offer to sell it with discount if it help improve the PQ your LCD TV.  I might sell it since not too much improvement for my setup.
Oh, Only Slight improvement only ar..... BTW LCD Model / Brand u r using ??... Just curious.... Thanks... biggrin.gif
xchris
post Mar 12 2009, 11:13 PM

136 posts

it's a 42" ECE LCD using LG Philips panel. Full HD. Made by TFT malaysia in Penang.
dannyl77
post Mar 13 2009, 11:23 AM

116 posts

ECE ar...??.... I think this is Not a Common Brand , since i never heard of it .... Sorie Bro ... ??... Is is a Expensive Brand ar ? like Pioneer , etc....
But Wat do u meant LG Philips Panel .... ??... does it mean that LG & Philips are using the Same Panel too....
aiz1j
post Mar 13 2009, 01:02 PM

156 posts

LG & Philips are doing joint-venture for the panel manufacturing. But the graphic engine/software, electronics etc are not shared. So you'll get different performance
xchris
post Mar 13 2009, 09:22 PM

136 posts

No Frills LCD TV ....got it below the market price at RM2100 = 4 years warranty. The specs not the latest but cheap and good for a 42". Full HD summore.smile.gif ...so far watching DVD's no problem only thing is Astro sucks...

This post has been edited by xchris: Mar 13 2009, 09:23 PM
dannyl77
post Mar 17 2009, 12:41 PM

116 posts

Thanks aiz1j for the info , & yes i do get different PQ comparing LG & Philips....

Wow xchris... Very Very Good Price for a 42" Full HD LCD TV, sum more with 4 years Warranty....... biggrin.gif
Ex-Factory is it ??... Dont see any ECE brand LCD TV in Store ??..... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by dannyl77: Mar 17 2009, 12:43 PM
fourzee
post Mar 18 2009, 01:17 PM

388 posts

Astro and LCD dont get along well .. in fact Full HD LCD pic is worst because its amplify the Astro poor picture quality..Plasma is better for Astro viewing
pay3d
post Mar 18 2009, 11:54 PM

79 posts

I would go for Sharp Aquos..its LCD panel originally made in Japan while other brands got their panel made in thailand or china..consider about the quality itself..

LCD tv normally equipped with HD capability, but if would make a sense if u watch a HD movie only, for Astro totally useless as Astro does not provide any HD programme..you just can watch a low quality programme exactly the same produced by CRT TV but mybe with better surround audio system.. sweat.gif

just my 2 cents.. nod.gif
dannyl77
post Mar 19 2009, 12:45 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(fourzee @ Mar 18 2009, 01:17 PM)
Astro and LCD dont get along well .. in fact Full HD LCD pic is worst because its amplify the Astro poor picture quality..Plasma is better for Astro viewing
Yar... I do argree with u FOURZEE.... but just dont quite like the Glare that i Get from Plasma TV..... biggrin.gif

So far i am Quite happy with the Astro PQ on my LG LCD.......ok lar , But have to view @ least 9-10 feet away to get a better Viewing ....... Looking foward to use the S-Video Cable ( Monster ) when i Fed-up with the current PQ , some ppl claim got some slight improvement...... hahaha.... Watching DVD also ok... But will try & upgrade to a Playewr with HDMI ouput , when i am though with Normal DVD quality..... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by dannyl77: Mar 19 2009, 12:47 PM
eaze_j
post Mar 19 2009, 02:05 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(dannyl77 @ Mar 19 2009, 12:45 PM)
Yar... I do argree with u FOURZEE.... but just dont quite like the Glare that i Get from Plasma TV.....  biggrin.gif

So far i am Quite happy with the Astro PQ on my LG LCD.......ok lar , But have to view @ least 9-10 feet away to get a better Viewing ....... Looking foward to use the S-Video Cable ( Monster ) when i Fed-up with the current PQ , some ppl claim got some slight improvement...... hahaha.... Watching DVD also ok... But will try & upgrade to a Playewr with HDMI ouput , when i am though with Normal DVD quality.....  thumbup.gif
hey man
do give us your experience once u do try to connect ur astro decoder to the LCD using the monster s-cable. been wondering if that was ever true smile.gif

-in my opinion, the bigger the LCD tv is, the worst it'll make the astro viewing experience. as the picture would be stretched wider. easier to say, would be a waste to spend lotsa money just to view astro since astro doesnt transmit HD. u'll get something good tho if u're a 1080p movie enthusiast or a 360/ps3 gamer drool.gif

~well, just my 2 cents~ flex.gif
fourzee
post Mar 19 2009, 04:55 PM

388 posts

Plasma best view in darker surrounding .. so no glare. What i like about plasma is the built quality .. more solid especially the screen, glass maa not plastic like lcd, some more i got children n they just cant resist touching the screen esp if lcd because the color will respond to them pressing the screen. I main reason i bought my Hitachi plasma display back in August 2007 becoz i want to watch EPL ... so dam heavy told the dealer to hand on wall...my system Hitachi 42" plasma...Yamaha 663..Pioneer DVD 410k..Epos M12.2 front..Epos M8 centre..B&W LM1 rear...Velodyne CHT12R sub..
xchris
post Mar 22 2009, 12:19 AM

136 posts

no improvement using 'Monster' S-video cable for astro...only the color scheme change a bit red become more red but PQ is the same.
MyDevil
post Mar 22 2009, 10:54 AM

7,480 posts

I'm a bit skeptical on monste s-video cable. Would rather spend the money to buy the new Astro plus which is rumoured to have component output.
HughieRmX
post Mar 22 2009, 01:04 PM

3,394 posts

Greetings,

Does anyone here experienced before with this LCD TV product from SONY.
T Series - KLV-19T400A/B

SONY KLV-19T400A/B

I came across this model selling at Best Denki around the price tag of RM1,299. Worth it ? smile.gif
Hwoarang45
post Mar 29 2009, 02:18 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

just get a plasma tat have 720p support , if your focus is really astro quality, dont go anything about 720p, eg full hd panel, or best yet get a crt for it , best looking imho,

i set up a 32 incher samsung crt for my parents astro though,
kianwee
post Mar 29 2009, 02:19 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Mar 29 2009, 02:18 PM)
just get a plasma tat have 720p support , if your focus is really astro quality, dont go anything about 720p, eg full hd panel, or best yet get a crt for it , best looking imho,

i set up a 32 incher samsung crt for my parents astro though,
Which plasma doesn't have 720p support?
Hwoarang45
post Mar 29 2009, 02:31 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

Plasma brand crt tv in tesco?
kianwee
post Mar 29 2009, 02:32 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Mar 29 2009, 02:31 PM)
Plasma brand crt tv in tesco?
Yeah, can show me a pic? I want one.
Hwoarang45
post Mar 29 2009, 02:34 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

lol yeah got somny brand too
Barricade
post Mar 29 2009, 02:45 PM

4,169 posts

guys any idea how good will samsung 9 series on astro?
Hwoarang45
post Mar 30 2009, 03:56 AM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

ak around in samsung fan thread, but bear in mind connecting SD source on HD display sure wont be as nice as using older crt or any SD display
pesot11
post Apr 1 2009, 11:33 AM

1 shop at kepong inform me astro will be good view with PHILIPS LCD tv cause "astro decoder manufactured by PHILIPS"...
is it FACT or MYTH??? rclxub.gif

Anyone have experience on this...
MyDevil
post Apr 1 2009, 02:24 PM

7,480 posts

No such thing. Later, he will ask u to buy Philiips DVD player also. tongue.gif
99below0
post Apr 1 2009, 02:30 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(pesot11 @ Apr 1 2009, 11:33 AM)
1 shop at kepong inform me astro will be good view with PHILIPS LCD tv cause "astro decoder manufactured by PHILIPS"...

I have a Philips 32" LCD. Astro looks awful on it. Absolutely awful. Astro looks great on my Panasonic 42PV80 though. So, moral of the story: want to watch Astro a lot, buy a plasma. smile.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Apr 1 2009, 02:32 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

I agree. If you wanna play games more, then go for an LCD. Astro will look best on a CRT. EVERY TIME
sunnyK
post Apr 2 2009, 11:39 AM

663 posts

absolutely bulls**t .

the fact is astro will never look good on LCD until they go digital HD

if you subscribe to astro and desperate to watch it on widescreen HDTV , go buy a cheap plasma TV until such time as astro go HD , then you can consider LCD or Plasma

This post has been edited by sunnyK: Apr 2 2009, 11:40 AM
HughieRmX
post Apr 2 2009, 12:32 PM

3,394 posts

Greetings,
Currently I was thinking to work on ASTRO, DVD or Normal TV Channels through a TV Box and output it to a LCD Monitor. 19' doesn't matter widescreen or the normal one.
Any opinion ? unsure.gif
dannyl77
post Apr 3 2009, 11:47 AM

116 posts

hahaha LOL .... biggrin.gif i dont think it's True....

BTW , My advise is to See & compare for urself all the LCD TV Quality for ASTRO , go to SHop who can show ASTRO ..... I did that & compare ... Got Myself a LG30 Series LCD TV .... been watching it for a Month.... I am quite Satisfied with the PQ... for me it is the Best among all that i have seen so far...... i compare to TOSHIBA , SAMSUNG , PANA , SHARP... almost the same Budget one la ... smile.gif

BTW , best viewing Distance is 9-10 Feet away... 11 - 12 feet better but the LCD become smaller... hahahaa.. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by dannyl77: Apr 3 2009, 11:50 AM
AjkR06
post Apr 4 2009, 05:01 PM

that's me
1,561 posts

hye....
I have planned to get PANASONIC TX-32LE8MK 32 INCH LCD TV for my house.., and want to couple it with Astro Max Decoder.., anyone has experince using this LCD TV? I mainly use TV for watch Astro (, if it's raining, will connect the "tulang ikan" antenna for watch TV) and watching DVD,,,
doey
post Apr 8 2009, 11:44 PM

17 posts

Guys,

Does using a good/better quality composite cable (more expensive) will give better PQ compares to standard cable (yellow plug) that comes with astro or any video device? My Sharp (LC-32PX5M) does not have s-video connector. Just composite, component, HDMI and vga (for PC).
htkaki
post Apr 8 2009, 11:51 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Yes, but marginally only.

sequence of connection (poor to best)

RF-Composite-S-video-Component-DVI-HDMI
crusher
post Apr 10 2009, 07:33 PM

1,345 posts

I think CRT tv with Astro is enough, well if u wanna get, my friend using this Phillips 42TA2800, seems ok to me.
latias93
post Apr 13 2009, 02:43 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

Hi all sifus,

I NEED HELP!!!

Thanks to all sifus...
All the TV's in my house are LCD TV's.. on the most part the quality not to say so bad lah, unless you are a pixel-perfect freak. But if you are going to watch local TV stations, watch it on Astro.. the HORROR if you watch TV1 and TV2 on LCD the normal way.

Added on April 13, 2009, 2:45 pm
QUOTE(MyDevil @ Apr 1 2009, 02:24 PM)
No such thing. Later, he will ask u to buy Philiips DVD player also.  tongue.gif
Luckily there is no PhilipStation 3 or XPhilips 360.. or Phil-Ray discs.. or we'll be damn Philip-ized by now (not to mention the money spent!)

This post has been edited by latias93: Apr 13 2009, 02:45 PM
wackojacko
post May 5 2009, 03:49 PM

207 posts

anybody wanna comment on the Philips 5403 42" Full HD LCD? i was quite impressed with it and since it was only going for 3499 now....the colors were quite good compared to Sharp n for Astro it was pretty decent using normal ariel cable....

Any Sifu got experience with this tv?
arremie
post May 5 2009, 03:59 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Astro looks better on my 32" Panny compared to my 40" Sony. Even better when using Monster s-video cable (or any good quality s-video cable).
chulaisn
post May 5 2009, 04:45 PM

17 posts

I noticed that there is a RGB out port from my Astro decoder, can I connect this to the RGB input on my TV?
lordvega08
post May 6 2009, 11:16 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(wackojacko @ May 5 2009, 03:49 PM)
anybody wanna comment on the Philips 5403 42" Full HD LCD? i was quite impressed with it and since it was only going for 3499 now....the colors were quite good compared to Sharp n for Astro it was pretty decent using normal ariel cable....

Any Sifu got experience with this tv?
No experience with that model, but i currently using Philips old model 47PFL7422
Its a 47' full HD. From my opinion, watching astro is quite ok, compared to my friend sharp.
Looking forward to but that monster s-cables, being reading it in this forum and the feedback is quite good.
Will give it a try loh biggrin.gif
giggs_509
post Jun 21 2009, 07:32 PM

1,475 posts

guys, how about sony 32klv400a.. hd ready, archive model.. if watch astro, hd ready better or full hd?
maxon lee
post Jun 22 2009, 01:31 PM

22 posts

SHARP-32A37M - RM 1599.00
PANASONIC-32X10K -RM 1799.00
TOSHIBA-32AV550 - RM 1489.00
LG-32LH20R - RM 1999.00
LG-32LG80FR (FULL HD) - RM 1999.00
PHILIPS-32PFL3409s - RM 1499.00
PANASONIC--42X10K(PALSMA TV ) - RM 2999.00
PANASONIC -50X10K - RM 4799 .00
PANASONIC-BD30(BLUE RAY PALYER ) - RM 1259 .00
PHILIPS DVD RECORDER (PHI-3600 )with hdmi output - RM 470.00
LG-42LG80FR (FULL HD) - RM 3960.00
PHILIPS-42PFL3609s (FULL HD) - RM 2999.00
this the offering price for u in my shop .......call me 016-648 9355...or pm me........we can deliver to ur house n u can settle the balance payment in ur house ........cash price ......all in new set ....dun worry,i work in a very-well-known
chain store electrical shop in selangor area .....ha ha// blush.gif

pgf501
post Jun 22 2009, 06:17 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(giggs_509 @ Jun 21 2009, 07:32 PM)
guys, how about sony 32klv400a.. hd ready, archive model.. if watch astro, hd ready better or full hd?
mine using sony 32Klv200. hd ready.

astro picture quality is 480p. not 720p like the SkyHD. so, there is no big different between hd ready or full hd. correct me if i'm wrong. tq

raidor
post Jun 22 2009, 08:00 PM

sifus, i have been reading about a sony lcd tv having Astro Enhancer mode. Which model is that?

Actually i am interested in buying an lcd tv to watch mainly astro as well. Leaning towards a Sony or Samsung. Saw a Panasonic in Sen Q, but quality doesn't really attract me (dunno whether because they use capalang demo disc or what...). Sony has this feature called MPEG Noise Reduction. Do you guys know whether this will improve Astro quality?
maxon lee
post Jun 22 2009, 10:11 PM

22 posts

i am salesman in electrical shop ......so i know a bit of tatics about sony lcd tv ......actually the astro enhancement
on the sony lcd tv is only a mode tat decrease the sharpness of the lcd tv so tat u won't c too blur when u watching
astro ...,....actually all lcd tv is awful when u watch astro o drool.gif
ANYWAY,ANYONE WANT TO ASK ABOUT PRICE OF LCD TV , PLZ PM ME ......
i will giv u info about me n where is my shop is .....tq
raidor
post Jun 23 2009, 07:33 AM

anyone with experience with sony 32klv400a to share? do you guys think a discontinued v-series is good to buy compared to other brand's newer models?
giggs_509
post Jun 23 2009, 01:48 PM

1,475 posts

QUOTE(raidor @ Jun 23 2009, 07:33 AM)
anyone with experience with sony 32klv400a to share? do you guys think a discontinued v-series is good to buy compared to other brand's newer  models?
i just bought 1. so far only use for 1 day. not sure how to comment. even though its discontinued, i think still ok for a few years.
michael9413
post Jun 30 2009, 09:52 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

Yesterday i went to OnKing...
the sales show me the Sony 32" Full HD LCD with Astro the pics is not that sharp of course...
but bearable lo... not like pixelized... smile.gif
not sure what model is that but the price is RM2999

i'm not sure if it is this model KLV-32V550A/B

This post has been edited by michael9413: Jun 30 2009, 10:16 AM
ssmuhd84
post Jul 6 2009, 04:12 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(dannyl77 @ Apr 3 2009, 11:47 AM)
hahaha LOL ....  biggrin.gif i dont think it's True....

BTW , My advise is to See & compare for urself all the LCD TV Quality for ASTRO , go to SHop who can show ASTRO ..... I did that & compare ... Got Myself a LG30 Series LCD TV .... been watching it for a Month.... I am quite Satisfied with the PQ... for me it is the Best among all that i have seen so far...... i compare to TOSHIBA , SAMSUNG , PANA , SHARP... almost the same Budget one la ...   smile.gif

BTW , best viewing Distance is 9-10 Feet away... 11 - 12 feet better but the LCD become smaller... hahahaa..  laugh.gif
Hi there,
Actualy which LG30 Series that u are using right now?Mybe u can be more specific..=)

Have u try to use the Monster S-Video cable?Is it worth it?

This post has been edited by ssmuhd84: Jul 6 2009, 04:13 PM
pgf501
post Jul 7 2009, 03:03 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(giggs_509 @ Jun 23 2009, 01:48 PM)
i just bought 1. so far only use for 1 day. not sure how to comment. even though its discontinued, i think still ok for a few years.
should be ok. i'm using 32klv200 almost 3 years and still in good condition.

aiming for 200hz next year.... maybe..

richard912
post Jul 7 2009, 08:50 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(pgf501 @ Jul 7 2009, 03:03 AM)
should be ok. i'm using 32klv200 almost 3 years and still in good condition.

aiming for 200hz next year.... maybe..
By then, you'll have to ponder whether just 200Hz is good enough because the LED TV's are going to be more canggih (RGB LED backlit) compared to the one Samsung (White LED backlit only) is promoting now. Then again, I'm sure the pricing will be very canggih too rclxub.gif
post Jul 18 2009, 12:06 AM

4,230 posts

QUOTE(maxon lee @ Jun 22 2009, 01:31 PM)
SHARP-32A37M - RM 1599.00
PANASONIC-32X10K -RM 1799.00
TOSHIBA-32AV550  - RM 1489.00
LG-32LH20R -   RM 1999.00
LG-32LG80FR (FULL HD) - RM 1999.00
PHILIPS-32PFL3409s - RM 1499.00
PANASONIC--42X10K(PALSMA TV ) - RM 2999.00
PANASONIC -50X10K - RM 4799 .00
PANASONIC-BD30(BLUE RAY PALYER ) - RM 1259 .00
PHILIPS DVD RECORDER (PHI-3600 )with hdmi output - RM 470.00
LG-42LG80FR (FULL HD)  - RM 3960.00
PHILIPS-42PFL3609s (FULL HD) - RM 2999.00
this the offering price for u in my shop .......call me 016-648 9355...or pm me........we can deliver to ur house n u can settle the balance payment in ur house ........cash price ......all in new set ....dun worry,i work in a very-well-known
chain store electrical shop in selangor area .....ha ha// blush.gif
Can we visit your shop directly to view the products?

This post has been edited by 1282009: Jul 18 2009, 12:07 AM
elwwmatrix
post Jul 22 2009, 09:31 PM

295 posts

Mine is Panasonic Viera 32 TX700MK. 100hz model and HD ready.almost 1year now.look great with Astro Movies(any fast or action movie is fluid smooth),tv1 tv2(now RTM is digital) better than Tv3(looks horrible). Using S-video cable( bought from PC shop).
arremie
post Jul 22 2009, 11:29 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

I 2nd that. Panny is good with Astro.
elwwmatrix
post Jul 30 2009, 09:24 PM

295 posts

I have watch several fast action movies especially war scenes from The Chronicle Of Narnia,the Mummy returns,fast scene from Die Hard 4 etc2, and i was most impressed with the motion.
andrekua
post Jul 31 2009, 06:50 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Panasonic having booth in PC Fair also... bought a 37" for my desktop... nice...
mynewuser
post Aug 1 2009, 07:21 PM

2,549 posts

Today I notice.

29" CRT TV = 180w Power usage.
42" LCD TV = 184w
42" Plasma TV = 400w +-
Qash-M
post Aug 1 2009, 10:10 PM

#FreePalestine
6,106 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Aug 1 2009, 07:21 PM)
Today I notice.

42" LCD TV = 184w
42" Plasma TV = 400w +-
That's lot of power there... shocking.gif
andrekua
post Aug 2 2009, 01:02 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

You have to understand how Plasma works and why it consume so much power.
the jazzman
post Aug 2 2009, 02:12 AM

284 posts

Today I notice.

42" LCD TV = 184w
42" Plasma TV = 400w +-
good to know.. i tot my 40" LCD is consuming letrik.. coz this month bil go sky rocket to rm250 rclxub.gif 1st time ever to touch rm200 mark... so now got reason to go and tembak TNB mad.gif
yanhui95
post Aug 2 2009, 09:29 AM

Already started
1,441 posts

Today I notice.

42" LCD TV = 184w
42" Plasma TV = 400w +-
not necassary, plasma will consume less power than lcd in dark scenes
WereWolf84
post Aug 2 2009, 10:11 AM

984 posts

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Aug 2 2009, 09:29 AM)
But normally there would be very little dark scenes in most movies & normal tv program hmm.gif

This post has been edited by WereWolf84: Aug 2 2009, 10:12 AM
andrekua
post Aug 2 2009, 02:28 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Aug 2 2009, 09:29 AM)
If watch Vertical Limit, I think will need to on aircond hor...
arremie
post Aug 3 2009, 12:29 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

why? all the white snow scene? tongue.gif
ar188
post Aug 3 2009, 01:31 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Aug 2 2009, 02:28 PM)
If watch Vertical Limit, I think will need to on aircond hor...
isn't vertical limit set in snow.. laugh.gif joking..
WereWolf84
post Aug 3 2009, 08:12 AM

984 posts

As we know, plasma's power consumption is fluctuate up & down and LCD is constant... hmm.gif I'm wondering in overall is it Plasma still consumes much more power than LCD (like 350W vs 190W)? sweat.gif
apexg2
post Aug 3 2009, 08:35 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

aiyo...if u can affort thousand2 of ur money for lacd or plasma, how could u counting the electric bill.....
ronnt88
post Aug 3 2009, 08:56 AM

2,353 posts

agreed... it's absolutley crazy being so concerned over petty electricity bills shakehead.gif
arremie
post Aug 3 2009, 10:04 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

rich man talking tongue.gif
ronnt88
post Aug 3 2009, 10:09 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 3 2009, 10:04 AM)
rich man talking tongue.gif
support tenaga coz i got 1 lot of stock priced at RM9.00... still need to recover tongue.gif

richard912
post Aug 3 2009, 10:24 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ Aug 3 2009, 08:12 AM)
As we know, plasma's power consumption is fluctuate up & down and LCD is constant... hmm.gif I'm wondering in overall is it Plasma still consumes much more power than LCD (like 350W vs 190W)?  sweat.gif
The difference won't burn a hole in your pocket especially for home usage since its not like you keep the unit on 24/7 shocking.gif

This post has been edited by richard912: Aug 3 2009, 10:25 AM
ar188
post Aug 3 2009, 11:05 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ Aug 3 2009, 08:12 AM)
As we know, plasma's power consumption is fluctuate up & down and LCD is constant... hmm.gif I'm wondering in overall is it Plasma still consumes much more power than LCD (like 350W vs 190W)?  sweat.gif
lets see, lets say diff = 150W x 5hours AVG = 0.75KWh

x 30days = 22.5KWH x RM0.22= RM4.95/mth laugh.gif

andrekua
post Aug 3 2009, 11:52 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Buy Buy Buy...

Just buy the right thing for your usage. Astro is quite sien what. I only watch Formula1 nia. From time to time, watch some soccer lor. Otherwise, I only stick to it for some Discovery and NatGeo. Most of the time, we will stick to our pc for sure. Thats why I bought LCD. No regret. You can download drama in HD format and it was so so nice in FHD mode. Even Astro also kalah.
Hagendaz
post Dec 17 2009, 05:07 PM

77 posts

Hi Guys,
Need some help. I have a 32LG30 LCD. My astro picture have wavy horizontal lines. I'm using the coaxial connection.
The LCD picture is good when my DVD or PS3.

MR_alien
post Dec 17 2009, 08:06 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Aug 3 2009, 11:52 AM)
Buy Buy Buy...

Just buy the right thing for your usage. Astro is quite sien what. I only watch Formula1 nia. From time to time, watch some soccer lor. Otherwise, I only stick to it for some Discovery and NatGeo. Most of the time, we will stick to our pc for sure. Thats why I bought LCD. No regret. You can download drama in HD format and it was so so nice in FHD mode. Even Astro also kalah.
nice and worthed if we have fast internet connection
with 1Mbps...it's better to stick with astro
save time and money
unless HSBB launched
sawanishi
post Jan 24 2010, 11:06 AM

94 posts

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

ok from what i browse thru the topic..plasma much better than lcd..

but the fact that cant afford plasma or lcd fully hd (i don know is it worth buying full hd)

may i know what best model for hd ready 32 inch...different shop different story.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

is it panasonic?sharp?sony?or samsung?

kindly assist..thanks..
Chuchutrain
post Jan 29 2010, 09:36 AM

any comment on JVC full hd lcd tv?
satiash04
post Jan 29 2010, 10:00 AM

50 posts

planning to get a full LCD tv 46''/50''. for astro viewing both HD and SD. budget is around 5k. any recomendation of brands. which is the best in the market now?
jitbeng
post Jan 29 2010, 01:00 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(satiash04 @ Jan 29 2010, 10:00 AM)
planning to get a full LCD tv 46''/50''. for astro viewing both HD and SD. budget is around 5k. any recomendation of brands. which is the best in the market now?
Sammy, LG, Sharp - LCD. Understand Sammy makes their own LCD panel & maybe Sharp too.

Panny - Plasma. Understand makes their own Plasma panel & LCD from third party.

The above my 2 cents worth.

iv'N
post Mar 9 2010, 04:40 PM

657 posts

QUOTE(jerren @ Jan 16 2009, 07:22 PM)

I got the LC32A53M for about 2 years now..

however when playing my dvd/ps3 - blu ray.. on its display box it only show 70hz.. any idea why so?

I'm using both dvd and ps3 on hdmi
loon1031
post Aug 31 2010, 11:08 PM

Photography, ICE, Die Cast & Gundam Crazy
1,105 posts

I just buy a new LCD TV and found that while watch normal tv channel a lot of signal noise especially TV 1 & TV2. Normal?
Is that using LCD watch TV condition like that?
awe_donde
post Sep 5 2010, 06:57 AM

QUOTE(sawanishi @ Jan 24 2010, 11:06 AM)
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

ok from what i browse thru the topic..plasma much better than lcd..

but the fact that cant afford plasma or lcd fully hd (i don know is it worth buying full hd)

may i know what best model for hd ready 32 inch...different shop different story.. rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

is it panasonic?sharp?sony?or samsung?

kindly assist..thanks..
Im also planning to get one LCD TV 32 Inch for my living room (850sqft apartment).
In few days...i already survey at few shop....as sawanishi said...different shop....different story... rclxub.gif
So, i would like to get some advice from experience LCD owner.

My budget is below RM1800. Need to view astro channel & watch dvd movie only (currently using cap ayam dvd player & cetak rompak dvd disk.... biggrin.gif )

What is the best brand with best quality picture...? (according to my budget & my need)
gustoburger
post Oct 24 2010, 11:22 PM

59 posts

boys which one better for astro...
Regza 47ZV600E
or
Sharp Aquos Quatron LC-46LE820M

Learjet35
post Oct 25 2010, 05:32 AM

500hp
1,931 posts

QUOTE(gustoburger @ Oct 24 2010, 11:22 PM)
boys which one better for astro...
Regza 47ZV600E
or
Sharp Aquos Quatron LC-46LE820M
is that sharp RGBY ? i read somewhere they said picture look a bit yellowish than original..u should read the review and go to hv pavillion..
gustoburger
post Oct 25 2010, 11:16 PM

59 posts

yea its the RGBY one....ooh is it too yellow?
well all the showroom shows are those demo vids.
i wanted to choose between the Sharp one of the toshiba regza lcd with 200hz

duno which one to take

0.1228sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:55 AM