QUOTE(vex @ Oct 7 2008, 02:50 PM)
any PV80 user here ?? confirm this TV got 100hz refresh rate ???
becos some say got, some say dun have ~ i dunno which to belive.
Confirm got. becos some say got, some say dun have ~ i dunno which to belive.
Best LCD TV for Astro?
Oct 7 2008, 02:51 PM
251 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Puchong |
Oct 8 2008, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(euronymous @ Oct 8 2008, 03:26 PM) please comment on this dealers' popular comment : I believe the appropriate question should be:"panasonic plasma yes... LCD no good... go for other brand..." "What will you be using your flat-panel TV for, sir? Astro, DVD, Blu-Ray, PS3 or PC? And then the answer: Astro, DVD - HD-Ready Plasma Blu-Ray - Full HD Plasma PS3 or PC - Full HD LCD and then proceed to sell you the most expensive TV you can afford. This post has been edited by 99below0: Oct 8 2008, 03:46 PM |
Oct 9 2008, 04:01 PM
QUOTE(arremie @ Oct 9 2008, 03:46 PM) Sony X series very cun with BD. How can watch normal TV and say X series not good. U need HD material to take full advantage. Title of this thread is "Best LCD TV for Astro?" mah... so the TVs discussed here are going to be used for Astro big-time... so sorrylah, man... that cheapo Tosh AV500 is going to look better than the X-Series... with Astro... hahahaThis post has been edited by 99below0: Oct 9 2008, 04:02 PM |
Oct 9 2008, 04:08 PM
I would venture to say... LCD TV too high class for Astro... go find a cheap second-hand 34" CRT for excellent PQ...
Oct 14 2008, 10:00 AM
QUOTE(charng @ Oct 14 2008, 06:19 AM) from my point of view, go for Full HD LCD for astro...and some my friend said astro using analog signal that is the reason lcd using digital signal can't accept well.... Wrong... and wrong. Please double check your facts to avoid confusing other forum members.Astro is regular PAL interlaced signal (576i), so HD Ready sets don't have to upscale so much and will look better. Full HD sets will have to upscaled to 1080p, and you can't just add information that isn't there, therefore you'll get more blocking and colour runs. Poor picture on LCDs have nothing to do with the analog signals. A good analog component 480p signal from a good DVD player can frequently look better than a poor HDMI set. The reason Astro looks bad is because of the amount of compression that Astro applies to its channels in order to cram them all into that limited bandwidth. Because the LCD has to upscale, compression blocks and artifacts look far more obvious, depending on the quality of the upscaler in the LCD TV. |
Oct 14 2008, 12:58 PM
QUOTE(mikapoh @ Oct 14 2008, 12:38 PM) But u have mentioned before, HD Ready tv also upscaled everything to 1080p before downscale to 720p such as Panny Plasma correct ?? That's the Panasonic method. And, you are watching 768p finally, not 1080p, which means the poor quality picture does not have to be stretched so much. You will notice that Astro looks very good on those old 42" EDTV 832x480 plasmas too (like the LG42PC3), cause there's very little interpolation going on. |
Dec 24 2008, 06:25 PM
I believe we're getting china and taiwan oem panels on our branded TVs simply because of the price point. Even the LG lcds are lower spec than their international equivalent. Notice how different our panel performance seems compared to international reviews? Eg Samsung series 4. Excellent reviews internationally. Doesn't look that fantastic in your home. Professional reviewers can't be that far off the mark. Figure it out.
Apr 1 2009, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(pesot11 @ Apr 1 2009, 11:33 AM) 1 shop at kepong inform me astro will be good view with PHILIPS LCD tv cause "astro decoder manufactured by PHILIPS"... I have a Philips 32" LCD. Astro looks awful on it. Absolutely awful. Astro looks great on my Panasonic 42PV80 though. So, moral of the story: want to watch Astro a lot, buy a plasma. is it FACT or MYTH??? Anyone have experience on this... |
| Change to: | 0.0173sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:54 PM |