126 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, Q&A about tips and technique here

TSVincC454
post Jul 18 2007, 09:34 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

now...let me clear out about decal...

shiny silver - normal glue sticker, the most lousy one
green - normal glue sticker
blue - water transfer
white/transparent - dry transfer

so which one do you mean?
the wet one? or the normal green glue one?
applies them slowly and press them from side to side to avoid bubble underneath

Demon_Eyes_Kyo
post Jul 18 2007, 09:39 PM

682 posts

The green ones, always stick already doesnt look even no matter how careful i apply them on. Now I just leave them out, I just put the dry transfer one on.
TSVincC454
post Jul 18 2007, 09:47 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

lol
the green one always the second lousy decal...
try to use mr.setter..it rid those bubble when you applying
zheyuen
post Jul 18 2007, 11:35 PM

206 posts

erm...one question...anyone know how to make the wings of light for 1/100 destiny gundam or the DRAGOON effect for 1/100 legend?
zero1st
post Jul 19 2007, 10:25 PM

QUOTE(Demon_Eyes_Kyo @ Jul 18 2007, 09:39 PM)
The green ones, always stick already doesnt look even no matter how careful i apply them on. Now I just leave them out, I just put the dry transfer one on.
for those stickers b4 u apply them make sure ur surface is flat and clean, then apply them start from the edge first slowly and using a cotton bud to even it....

also spraying a layer of gloss coat b4 apply the sticker then a flat coat also helps

and a bit of advice.... if u really wanna use those sticker only use those which have boxes icon, b4 pealing the sticker out cut the stickers at the edge of the box so when apply on the kit it wont look so sticker-ish ...... hope this helps~~~
leroy87
post Jul 20 2007, 10:51 AM

484 posts

question:

im an amateur, i dont plan to really model my kit to like the ones on display.
i just want to outline the surface with thin pen, and make some effect like fading of the black color pen,
i need a normal gundam pen(maybe the one set gundam markers), and an eraser to make the fade effect? any ideas vinceeeeeee?
z3r0717
post Jul 20 2007, 10:57 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(leroy87 @ Jul 20 2007, 10:51 AM)
question:

i just want to outline the surface with thin pen, and make some effect like fading of the black color pen,
i need a normal gundam pen(maybe the one set gundam markers), and an eraser to make the fade effect? any ideas vinceeeeeee?
hmm... outline the surface = panel lining.. using gundam marker with fine tip which is for panel lining... if u mean fading = shading, this can only be done by AirBrush....
eraser is use to rub off the lines to clean or to make them look thin not thick lines.. smile.gif
duke_hunt
post Jul 20 2007, 11:02 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(leroy87 @ Jul 20 2007, 10:51 AM)
question:

haha bro, u answered part of ur question ownself...
like this, try to find those waterbased gundam markers, the markers that has black case...
that suitable for panel lining...
as for faded effect aka weathering, u can try and find the weathering marker set...
hope this helps..
have fun..

TSVincC454
post Jul 20 2007, 11:04 AM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

i think he means by fading is to make those line not that bright and obvious...

then yes...you answer your question already...
you need fine tip gundam markers and also an eraser

the set one are for coloring..not for lining...
leroy87
post Jul 20 2007, 11:08 AM

484 posts

oh means can le use the thin graphic marker and erase to create shading.. cool cool =)
erm can start modelling d ~ yay~.. but if wana color small parts how ar?
only choice is to brush paint?

any recommendations of paint for beginners? tamiya ke?

This post has been edited by leroy87: Jul 20 2007, 11:19 AM
TSVincC454
post Jul 20 2007, 11:17 AM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

at least go get those square faber castel eraser la...better grip on the eraser
gundam set rm59 one is all for painting purpose, all of them come in thick head.

lining you need those fine tip gundam pen

and for your brush question...any cheapo brush will do..dont care what brand.
if you planning to paint small parts...then get either 00 or 000 size brush...

my tools list thread..some of the list item are gone due to the database corruption yesterday...i will repost them back soon
leroy87
post Jul 20 2007, 11:26 AM

484 posts

ok hope to hear from you, now i js need guide for paint he small part to buy wat kinda paint..

laquer and thinner is js to make the paint shiny isit?
TSVincC454
post Jul 20 2007, 11:41 AM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

thinner doesnt make you paint shiny...thinner thin your paint...as they come in the bottle...they are kindda thick inside..

depends on what paint you wanna use..oil base paint need thinner to thin...
Fallen_D
post Jul 21 2007, 12:05 AM

74 posts

Hei guys,

I am currently using Tamiya's white acrylic paint and i got problem colouring my SD kits white. How i use it?

Ok, first i shake the bottle. Then i use an unused toothpick to dip into the bottle took out a bit of paint and put it on the pallet. I will dip the toothpick in and out until i have the desirable amount of paint in the pallet. After that, i will just add a drop of water and start mixing, then painting.

BUT, when i add water or thinner to it, the paint becomes extremely dilute. The paint doesn't stick on the kit. Its like water on plastics. I even try adding some washing detergent and ended up with bubbles on the kit. If i dun use any thing, the paint becomes extremely difficult to paint.

If i mix the colours, like white and black, white and blue, its fine... almost perfect.

Is something wrong with my process or the paint?

This post has been edited by Fallen_D: Jul 21 2007, 12:10 AM
fyire
post Jul 21 2007, 12:21 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(Fallen_D @ Jul 21 2007, 12:05 AM)
Hei guys,

I am currently using Tamiya's white acrylic paint and i got problem colouring my SD kits white. How i use it?

Ok, first i shake the bottle. Then i use an unused toothpick to dip into the bottle took out a bit of paint and put it on the pallet. I will dip the toothpick in and out until i have the desirable amount of paint in the pallet. After that, i will just add a drop of water and start mixing, then painting.

BUT, when i add water or thinner to it, the paint becomes extremely dilute. The paint doesn't stick on the kit. Its like water on plastics. I even try adding some washing detergent and ended up with bubbles on the kit. If i dun use any thing, the paint becomes extremely difficult to paint.

If i mix the colours, like white and black, white and blue, its fine... almost perfect.

Is something wrong with my process or the paint?
Ok 2 things first:
- Tamiya is crap! smile.gif
- Whites r always a big big challenge.

Now, with that settled, I'll first address your paint issue, then after that look at some tricks at how to handle whites.

It looks like you've added too much water or thinner to your paint. So just reduce the amount of water/thinner that you add. Different colors even from the same brand tends to behave differently, and thus the differing amount of water/thinner needed to thin them down.

Next, the detergent. if it bubbles, then u've added too much. U're only supposed to put a tiny tiny bit in there. If it can form bubbles, then you've added too much already.

Finally, doing whites. Pure whites (and also pure black) is always the toughest to paint, so best practice is, don't bother. Add a tiny drop of black to your white, to bring the shade down to a very very very light gray. In fact, so light gray that you'll still think that its white. This can make a world of difference, as it does 2 things:
- that drop of black in the white helps to strength the paint pigment
- its no longer pure white, so it wont get dirty too easily

Here's something that I've been using with great success for painting whites. I mix Citadel white (Wolf's Game Shop no longer carry Citadel, but according to him, the formula P3 that he now carries r pretty similar to Citadel) with Tamiya white in equal parts. Add in that drop of black as per normal. Dilute with water (so the thickness is about the same as milk). The great thing about this mix is that you don't need to worry about brush marks on the plastic, as it'll magically smooth itself out before the paint dries. Needs a bit of patience though, as the paint's to be applied in rather thin coats, so u may need 3 or even 4 coats of paint, but the result is a very smooth and matt coat of white (and harder to scratch compared to using either Tamiya or Citadel by themselves too)
Demon_Eyes_Kyo
post Jul 21 2007, 10:20 AM

682 posts

Was wondering for new models, can i just spray a topcoat on the white so that it doesnt turn yellow after some time?
Fallen_D
post Jul 21 2007, 10:34 AM

74 posts

Hei fyire...

Thanx for the tips. You have been a great help, man...
TSVincC454
post Jul 21 2007, 11:39 AM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

QUOTE(Demon_Eyes_Kyo @ Jul 21 2007, 10:20 AM)
Was wondering for new models, can i just spray a topcoat on the white so that it doesnt turn yellow after some time?
yes can...topcoat always can be spray on unpaint models...about preventing the yellow in the future...i dunno how long the topcoat can do it...but it definitely slow down the process
leroy87
post Jul 21 2007, 06:29 PM

484 posts

vince, do u have any idea how to paint the one in the red Sandoguken gundam, the "corak" at the head ring and the leg ring, from your models it doenst look liike its from the stickers...

Kyoshiro
post Jul 21 2007, 10:37 PM

372 posts

i have this problem in thinning the paint for airbrushing... Any sifus here can share so tips on how to thin them? n wat is the outcome of using tiger brand thinner from those hardware shops? any suggestion on thinners that wont "melt" the platics?

126 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0164sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:44 AM