126 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, Q&A about tips and technique here

Lurker
post Jul 21 2007, 11:12 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

hmm.. i have a problem with the hobby knife rusting easily
do you guys grease it often to keep off the rust?
fyire
post Jul 22 2007, 12:31 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Jul 21 2007, 11:12 PM)
this' always a problem with these kinda blades. When not in use, I never keep it out in the open. I'll remove the blade, and put it back into the little bottle that it came in (usually comes in packs of 5) to reduce the exposure to air. I guess greasing it a bit after use and before storage helps a lot too.

Added on July 22, 2007, 12:35 am
QUOTE(Kyoshiro @ Jul 21 2007, 10:37 PM)
i have this problem in thinning the paint for airbrushing... Any sifus here can share so tips on how to thin them? n wat is the outcome of using tiger brand thinner from those hardware shops? any suggestion on thinners that wont "melt" the platics?
I've been using those hardware thinners all this time, and while they do melt the plastic, its still alright to use as long as you dont flood the plastic with it.

There's no real formula for the thinning of paints, as even different colors from the same brand of paints may need different amounts of thinner for thinning.

So all I can say is... mix with enough thinner so that it sprays out of the AB smoothly, and the paint is able to pretty much dry almost immediately after hitting the surface you're painting. In other words, never mix then spray onto your plastic immediately. Always spray onto a test surface first every single time you fill up your AB to make sure that the paint coming out is alright.

If the paint runs after hitting the plastic, then that means either you've added too much thinner, or you're holding the AB too close to the surface.

This post has been edited by fyire: Jul 22 2007, 12:35 AM
Kyoshiro
post Jul 22 2007, 03:31 AM

372 posts

alright i got wat u mean bro... thx for the advice.
i was thinking to try it out on those extra plastics runners.
I guess that would be the best way to test the paint.
TSVincC454
post Jul 22 2007, 08:02 AM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

and if the paint spider webbing everywhere when you spray...means you not enough thinner and need to add more..

This post has been edited by VincC454: Jul 23 2007, 09:48 AM
TSVincC454
post Jul 23 2007, 09:48 AM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

QUOTE(leroy87 @ Jul 21 2007, 06:29 PM)
vince, do u have any idea how to paint the one in the red Sandoguken gundam, the "corak" at the head ring and the leg ring, from your models it doenst look liike its from the stickers...
i never use sticker for all my kits..those silver sticker are just too lousy.
if you mean the black pattern on the head ring and the foot ring..then i do draw them myself
leroy87
post Jul 24 2007, 09:36 AM

484 posts

wow u are just too great.. lolz.. can a GM01 pen do the job?
TSVincC454
post Jul 24 2007, 10:06 AM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

can..normal gundam fine marker should do the job good enough
Demon_Eyes_Kyo
post Jul 24 2007, 04:03 PM

682 posts

Hi there, got a question regarding gundam markers. GM01, GM02 and GM100 type markers, what are the difference? is it tip type or tip size? Would like to use them for some SD detailing and colouring and minor touchups for my MGs, but dunno which type to buy. I was looking at the set of 5 or 6 pens in one SEED type colours.

This post has been edited by Demon_Eyes_Kyo: Jul 24 2007, 04:05 PM
Kyoshiro
post Jul 24 2007, 10:40 PM

372 posts

Those codes represents the colour of the markers.
If not mistaken, fine tip markers only come in 3 colours which is black(GM01), grey(GM02) and brown(GM03). There are 3 different tip types but i don think the codes represent them coz GM04 is gold marker with flat tip.
zheyuen
post Jul 24 2007, 11:15 PM

206 posts

kyoshiro...are u the real kyoshiro hu made the custom strike freedom? or u a fan... im a fan...lolX!
Kyoshiro
post Jul 24 2007, 11:32 PM

372 posts

nope... The 1 made it is Keita. BTW i'm working on a strike freedom as well using the similar design. Will post it up when it's done.
ezzydizzy
post Jul 25 2007, 03:49 AM

61 posts

Well......I bought one 1/144 gundam from XL,2 SD Gundam from toys R us.But can only buy line marker,XL midvalley alot of colour also no more.Headache on marker buying.Then that fella say actually no need colours,i open my SD....wah.....where can no colour markers needed.I got airbrush with compressor,should i buy paint instead of markers?
Kyoshiro
post Jul 25 2007, 09:12 AM

372 posts

SD gundams definitely need some colours. If u have airbrush then get some paint with the colours u need for ur SD gundams. Gundam markers are not really worth buying.
post Jul 25 2007, 09:18 AM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Jul 21 2007, 11:12 PM)
my way is paint the knife with ur gundam marker!
eehtsitna
post Jul 25 2007, 04:01 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(300078 @ Jul 25 2007, 10:18 AM)
That is a waste of paint! The blade itself does not really cost that much. Besides, if you are into scribling then u will frequently change your blade.
fyire
post Jul 25 2007, 08:28 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(300078 @ Jul 25 2007, 09:18 AM)
spray the blade with WD40 before storage can already lar.. a lot cheaper, and probly a lot more effective too.
ezzydizzy
post Jul 26 2007, 03:33 AM

61 posts

er....sifus.....we MUST sandpaper our gundams before painting?If yes...what grade?I bought the P120.*@#%!!!scracth my gundam,but lucky can cover with paint.
eehtsitna
post Jul 26 2007, 08:38 AM

356 posts

P120??? Not familiar with that grading. Is that those waterproof type (black surface)? As for me, I use waterproof sandpaper from grade 600 - 1200.
erh_teo
post Jul 26 2007, 09:32 AM

its written clearly at the back of the sandpaper the grade: 600,800,1000 and so on..

normaly jj, tesco or carrefour dun have finer grade one, goto anyhardware shop, said u want no. 600 sandpaper, or 1000, they will find for u one smile.gif
TSVincC454
post Jul 26 2007, 09:13 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

for sandpaper...if you really wanna paint your kits...then sand it with 400 first then go with either 600 or 800 grade paper...

after that of course prime it first then only paint...

126 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:25 AM