RAM Market = Stock Market ?, LOL...
phunkydude
Jun 25 2007, 10:41 PM
QUOTE(jy14 @ Jun 25 2007, 08:01 PM) I've mention b4 that by year end, DDR3 will bcome common in the market, and EOL will be put on DDR2. Therefore, now, DDR2 prices will still be tame. By the time reaches Sept, price will go up like end of last year. Everytime, near end of the year, alot of Europe countries and US upgrade their rams, so, with the influx of demand there, prices will rocket sky high. Although DDR3 isn't as tempting as it seems now due to the loose timing, but it'll be the 'in-thing' for users who r going to play with their new processors, Penryn and also Phenom. So, for those who can afford to upgrade, its best to get it while its still reasonable now. did u mean by year end, ddr3 price will be affordable/acceptable by majority??? that'll sounds pretty nice/good ... if it's true..`` This post has been edited by phunkydude: Jun 25 2007, 10:41 PM
kmarc
Jun 25 2007, 11:02 PM
The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
QUOTE(jy14 @ Jun 25 2007, 08:01 PM) I've mention b4 that by year end, DDR3 will bcome common in the market, and EOL will be put on DDR2. Therefore, now, DDR2 prices will still be tame. By the time reaches Sept, price will go up like end of last year. Everytime, near end of the year, alot of Europe countries and US upgrade their rams, so, with the influx of demand there, prices will rocket sky high. Although DDR3 isn't as tempting as it seems now due to the loose timing, but it'll be the 'in-thing' for users who r going to play with their new processors, Penryn and also Phenom. So, for those who can afford to upgrade, its best to get it while its still reasonable now. As far as I know, DDR3 won't be mainstream untill 2008/2009. Even with that, the prices will still be quite expensive as compared to DDR2. IMO, it is only when many people, if not the majority, adopt DDR3 will the prices start to fall to acceptable/affordable levels. QUOTE(phunkydude @ Jun 25 2007, 10:41 PM) did u mean by year end, ddr3 price will be affordable/acceptable by majority??? that'll sounds pretty nice/good ... if it's true..``  I don't think so. DDR3 is still relatively new......
serez
Jun 26 2007, 12:51 AM
so for now ddr2 still acceptable and having longer life span la? i mean in terms of hardware trend. like today, people seems to use ddr2 rather than ddr1.
clayclws
Jun 26 2007, 01:08 AM
DDR3 will reach official clock speed of 800MHz...that's DDR3-1600 or PC3-12800. But of course, overclocked ones will reach 1000MHz or DDR3-2000 or PC3-16000. Current FSB (Intel) is only 1333. The RAM will only become mainstream when the FSB can support 1:1 timing with the highest official clock speed, in this case it's DDR3-1600. So, there's a long way to go before DDR3 becomes mainstream. Do you want to buy DDR3-1333 when it cannot be used for overclocking on CPU with FSB1600? Guess not... Added on June 26, 2007, 1:21 amHere's the reason why the price of RAM is increasing.This post has been edited by clayclws: Jun 26 2007, 01:21 AM
edwin3210
Jun 26 2007, 08:35 AM
QUOTE(phunkydude @ Jun 25 2007, 10:41 PM) did u mean by year end, ddr3 price will be affordable/acceptable by majority??? that'll sounds pretty nice/good ... if it's true..``   no that is not true. in order for DDR3 to b affordable, the manufacturers have to ramp up the production, and this will not happen this year, or even this year end. u will b seeing DDR3 selling below the price of DDR2 once AMD release its processor with DDR3 memory controller, and that is around next year H2. so, u will b getting cheap DDR3 by 2009 Q1
phunkydude
Jun 26 2007, 10:49 AM
from wat i can conclude aboves as below.., so, afterall... ddr2 won't be EOL anytime this year or next yr... which means ddr2 still remains in production for another 1yr+...` which also means, ddr2 price won't be keep rising as like ddr1 that already EOL..
This post has been edited by phunkydude: Jun 26 2007, 10:50 AM
SlayerXT
Jun 26 2007, 11:01 AM
But if Intel trying hard pushing DDR3, maybe the price will go down.
clayclws
Jun 26 2007, 11:34 AM
QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jun 26 2007, 11:01 AM) But if Intel trying hard pushing DDR3, maybe the price will go down. Yes...and so will other tech stuffs. Just not affordable yet this year.
sanfa
Jun 26 2007, 11:45 AM
if we wanna use ddr3, did we have 2 buy another mobo that support ddr3??? ddr3 is better or ddr2??
edwin3210
Jun 26 2007, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jun 26 2007, 11:01 AM) But if Intel trying hard pushing DDR3, maybe the price will go down.  that wont be lar. u dun get it are u? prices of a product will go down, when manufacturer are making more of that products. if a product is high in demand and its availability is low, then that price will increase.
clayclws
Jun 26 2007, 01:14 PM
QUOTE(sanfa @ Jun 26 2007, 11:45 AM) if we wanna use ddr3, did we have 2 buy another mobo that support ddr3??? ddr3 is better or ddr2?? "If it ain't broken, don't fix it..." Heard that one before? If they are coming out with new models, they are supposedly better...Core 2 Duo is better than Core (1) Duo is better than Pentium 4 is better than Pentium 3 is better than Pentium 2 is better than Pentium (1) is better than 486DX... Theoretically, DDR3 is better. You can't see it now though. Just wait until DDR3 matures. Same case as DDR2 being better than DDR. And yes, you need another motherboard. And yes, you will need to reactivate your windows...if you are using a legit copy that is. This post has been edited by clayclws: Jun 26 2007, 01:15 PM
SlayerXT
Jun 26 2007, 02:25 PM
Time will change everything. For now only Intel applies ddr3, when it comes from amd's am3 then ddr3 will be mainstream.
fcuk90
Jun 26 2007, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(sanfa @ Jun 26 2007, 11:45 AM) if we wanna use ddr3, did we have 2 buy another mobo that support ddr3??? ddr3 is better or ddr2?? ya need to get new motherboard ddr3 sure is better than ddr2 because new technology and the speed of ram also is faster than ddr2 ram speed
edwin3210
Jun 26 2007, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Jun 26 2007, 02:44 PM) ya need to get new motherboard ddr3 sure is better than ddr2 because new technology and the speed of ram also is faster than ddr2 ram speed  plz post more useful post plz. DDR3 faster than DD2, doesnt mean it perform faster than DDR2. the current DDR3 perform on par with DDR2, although is is faster.
BurgerRI
Jun 26 2007, 04:34 PM
DDR3 is faster in terms of clock speed...but the memory timings are alot looser than that of DDR2. As the ram tech matures, you can expect the timings to get tighter as what we all saw with DDR2.
jy14
Jun 26 2007, 04:59 PM
In the industry, DDR3 has already been produced. And bcoz as usual, stock is being produced in low volume, cost is high. Therefore, the price for DDR3 now is too costly. However, the fact is, its priced that high, so that, it won't affect the sales of DDR2. All suppliers need to clear their Inventory of DDR2 b4 they starts to stock up on DDR3. Imagine if DDR3 is priced as RM 500 as opposed to DDR2 at the same price, won't users buy the DDR3 for the Bearlake mobo users ?
Anyway, DDR2 prices will keep going up, mayb a little drop within Aug or early Sept, but after that, when its near the holidays, prices will hike as usual.
DDR2 prices drop to an all time low 3 weeks ago bcoz of production of the DDR2 exceeded the demand. So, manufacturers went to produce the thumbdrive's parts and therefore as u can c, thumbdrives prices r also falling.
As for the DDR2's life, it won't end instantly, coz like DDR, it will continue to survive for at least another 2-3 years. But, the price is the uncertain matter.
Since Intel has launched the P35 that supports DDR3, soon DDR3 will become mainstream once AMD's Phenom is surfacing. Correct me if I'm wrong, I remember i read somewhere it says, Phenom is scheduled for this year end release, not sure if i read correctly or not, mayb it was 2008, but i can't b certain for this.
But, as I've mention about the reason behind the high price of DDR3, once AMD launches Phenom, DDR3 will be pushed to be mainstream, in which, all manufacturer's and suppliers will force the price of DDR2 to increase, so that all buyers buys DDR3 instead.
For example now, in the market price, for 512MB DDR, it is the similar as 1GB DDR2, which would u rather buy ? While 1GB DDR is much like DDR2's 1GB Performance RAM prices.
So, for any1 wishing to stick to ur C2D(1066 FSB) or AM2, lets hope for the little price drop in Aug, if its possible.
jy14
Jun 26 2007, 05:00 PM
QUOTE(KenAragorn @ Jun 26 2007, 04:22 PM) Hmm...if that the case, I think I going to get another 2 sticks of ddr2 ram 1GB this weekend then. Then fully upgrade my rig to 4GB.  U can opt for 2GB X 2 also, similar priced to Performance RAMs. But also depends if ur mobo gonna support it or not.
edwin3210
Jun 26 2007, 05:09 PM
QUOTE(KenAragorn @ Jun 26 2007, 04:22 PM) Hmm...if that the case, I think I going to get another 2 sticks of ddr2 ram 1GB this weekend then. Then fully upgrade my rig to 4GB.  i thought Vista also have problem utilizing all 4G ram?