Chubby Hamsters V5, Fun little furballs

sogoatticus
post Sep 22 2007, 05:17 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(bizen @ Sep 22 2007, 03:09 PM)
You should find more info in the net...  the mum is stressed or something... better dun disturb her... hamsters don't keep their baby in pouch... they juz grab the baby with their mouth if they want to move them... something like cats and dogs... and u must separate the male from the female...
already seprarated them long time ago la..when did i disturb her?the time i saw i was changing to new drink..aiya doh.gif
lolz_5167
post Sep 22 2007, 09:23 PM

Broken Heart Staff
1,085 posts

my hamster seem like to eat sweet things...last time they very like the dragon fruit..then last time my fren feed them with apam balik..i was zzzz..but my hamster like it too...
^MochI^
post Sep 22 2007, 09:41 PM

An Angel Living A Devil's Life
4,565 posts

I beg u.. I beg u.. pls giv me some sunflower seeds...

1 of my ww pic.

This post has been edited by ^MochI^: Sep 22 2007, 09:42 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 22 2007, 09:46 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Becareful, if you are feeding sweet things to RC hamsters, they are prone to get diabetes.... which is quite bad for them.
sogoatticus
post Sep 22 2007, 10:54 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Sep 22 2007, 09:41 PM)
I beg u.. I beg u.. pls giv me some sunflower seeds...

1 of my ww pic.
aiya put the bottle a bit lower la..kesian him have to stand high to drink..lolx
^MochI^
post Sep 22 2007, 11:00 PM

An Angel Living A Devil's Life
4,565 posts

LOL, If i lower the bottle, he will bite the rubber thingie that surround the stount ( ai ya 4gotten how to spell)
dien
post Sep 22 2007, 11:36 PM

:: Newbie ::
3,254 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Sep 23 2007, 12:00 AM)
LOL, If i lower the bottle, he will bite the rubber thingie that surround the stount ( ai ya 4gotten how to spell)
same case with me..
many of my bottle bitten by them..
arren86
post Sep 23 2007, 09:37 AM

189 posts

My hamsters just given birth to 5 baby hammies.... I already separate the male from the cage. So pity, the male now gotta live alone in a 1.5 litre mineral water PET bottle. Anyone wanna help me take care of this male?
sogoatticus
post Sep 23 2007, 04:28 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(arren86 @ Sep 23 2007, 09:37 AM)
My hamsters just given birth to 5 baby hammies.... I already separate the male from the cage. So pity, the male now gotta live alone in a 1.5 litre mineral water PET bottle. Anyone wanna help me take care of this male?
erks..u cant put him in the 1.5 litre bottle..r u nuts?responsible a bit ma..buy cheap cage for him should be enough
Reanne
post Sep 23 2007, 05:32 PM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

You should have thought about it before breeding them, you can't just dump the care for the male on someone else. Go get another cage and care for it as you are the one who decided to get a pair of male and female.
jaswwp
post Sep 23 2007, 05:34 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

QUOTE(arren86 @ Sep 23 2007, 09:37 AM)
Eh come on la, the babies is the outcome of you housing a pair together. If you didnt want more cages why on earth buy a pair in the first place. Get a proper cage for goodness sake.
dien
post Sep 23 2007, 11:09 PM

:: Newbie ::
3,254 posts

QUOTE(arren86 @ Sep 23 2007, 10:37 AM)
OMG.. pity him..
if you dont have any hamster cage, at least place him at the proper comfortable place..
arren86
post Sep 23 2007, 11:54 PM

189 posts

I think the male one is comfortable itself. I cutted off 2 bottle 1.5 litre and combine it together (using me creativity, i managed to do so) so that he can run here and there. It looks like more fun than the cage. He is doing fine.
sogoatticus
post Sep 24 2007, 01:16 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(arren86 @ Sep 23 2007, 11:54 PM)
I think the male one is comfortable itself. I cutted off 2 bottle 1.5 litre and combine it together (using me creativity, i managed to do so) so that he can run here and there. It looks like more fun than the cage. He is doing fine.
i think he needs a wheel to run..
-Abtic-
post Sep 24 2007, 01:27 AM

140 posts

Oh lol, my robos is so small..Do i need to peel the sun flower seed for them to eat?
jy14
post Sep 24 2007, 01:40 AM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

Greetings to all experts and fellow forumers,

I just got a free Male Robovoski from forumer itssg. He was kind enuf to let me give a go at keeping this cute hammy. I was told it has about 1 year left, so hope to let it enjoy its time here. But, will learn more from u guys and gals here. Currently, i wanna ask, do i need to encourage it to drink water ? coz i fitted the bottle there, it did drank some water yesterday and friday, can hear it drinking from the bottle and the sound of the ball bearing. But, today it don't want. So, i took the bottle and put it near its mouth, then it keep on drinking. When i put it back to the holder, i ran there and drink. So, I was wondering, do i need to encourage it to drink ?

THe rest of the stuffs, looks ok for it.

By the way, there's some hammy smell in my room now. haha, will it cause any bacteria build it ? I mean from the odour. I do keep the cage clean every 3 days, today was the 1st cleaning. Other than that, all seems ok.

Also, temps between 20-35 is it ok for it ?

Anyone knows where I can get a small metal stainless steel food bowl like the size of those chili plastic plates ?

Thanks for all the advices and tips in advance. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
-Abtic-
post Sep 24 2007, 01:48 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(jy14 @ Sep 24 2007, 01:40 AM)

I just got a free Male Robovoski from forumer itssg. He was kind enuf to let me give a go at keeping this cute hammy. I was told it has about 1 year left, so hope to let it enjoy its time here. But, will learn more from u guys and gals here. Currently, i wanna ask, do i need to encourage it to drink water ? coz i fitted the bottle there, it did drank some water yesterday and friday, can hear it drinking from the bottle and the sound of the ball bearing. But, today it don't want. So, i took the bottle and put it near its mouth, then it keep on drinking. When i put it back to the holder, i ran there and drink. So, I was wondering, do i need to encourage it to drink ?

By the way, there's some hammy smell in my room now. haha, will it cause any bacteria build it ? I mean from the odour. I do keep the cage clean every 3 days, today was the 1st cleaning. Other than that, all seems ok.

Anyone knows where I can get a small metal stainless steel food bowl like the size of those chili plastic plates ?

Thanks for all the advices and tips in advance.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Hahaha, i think rodents are all smart to look for water source themselves. Even normal house rat remember water source from tangki so they won't die of thirst. When they are thirsty they will instantly run back to the last place they had water. If there's no water they will die at that very spot due to thirst later :/ Correct me if i'm wrong.

So don't worry too much. Make sure there's plenty water around and they will drink. That's wat forumers told me before so I'm telling you the same.

Cheers,
icon_rolleyes.gif
hitsugayat10
post Sep 24 2007, 10:05 AM

407 posts

QUOTE(-Abtic- @ Sep 24 2007, 01:27 AM)
Oh lol, my robos is so small..Do i need to peel the sun flower seed for them to eat?
Haha, actually they can eat on their own but if u wanna spoil them like me, then juz do it la tongue.gif

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 24 2007, 11:34 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(arren86 @ Sep 23 2007, 11:54 PM)
Run here and there is not the meaning of comfortable, it is stressed. Hamsters when stress would not stop running up and down. They will scratch the container and look for ways to come out. It may look fun to you, but not to the hamster. Please, just get a tank or storage box, rm20 is not that bad. And babies, where are you gonna house them? You would need to separate the males and females away from each other or they will breed. They can breed as early as 5 weeks old and inbreeding is really bad.

You need to be responsible, have the money and also knowledge to breed any pet. So if you can't afford another cage or tank, why breed?

QUOTE(-Abtic- @ Sep 24 2007, 01:27 AM)
Hahaha... don't worry lah, they will know how to eat them. Don't pamper your robos, later they will always want you to peel for them.

QUOTE(jy14 @ Sep 24 2007, 01:40 AM)

Thanks for all the advices and tips in advance.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Well, from my experience, it is better not to put hamsters in your bedroom. The dust, ammonia and wood shavings can cause health problems or allergies. I suffer more sinus problems when I had some hamsters in my room.

For smell, you can use a bedding called Healthy Pet, it absorbs smell and pee really really well and you don't need to change every 3 days if you use this bedding. Only can find at Pet Safari, Ikano.

Hamsters will know where to drink. They are desert animals, they will only drink when thirsty. Of course if you offer the bottle in front of it then it would drink.

Stainless Steel bowls or plates are light, a hamster would topple it over and bury it than eat from it. Choose heavy base bowls made or clay or glass or ceramic. I personally like the ceramic bowls for hamsters sold at Pet Safari for they are safe, hygienic and heavy enough to withstand the weight of a hamster if it so happen to climb on it.
jaswwp
post Sep 24 2007, 11:49 AM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

I thught of buying the healthy pet for my other rodents, but seeing the price and the size of the bag..... can't bring myself to buy..hahaha.... but anyway dwarf hamsters so small, guess they wont need that much of the bedding. If fill my 2 feet tank, 1 shot oso habis...

126 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:31 PM