Chubby Hamsters V5, Fun little furballs

missgeek
post Dec 19 2007, 02:17 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Dec 19 2007, 01:51 PM)
Can buy for me too? I want to get 2 Wodent Wheel Jr also if you are getting from SG. Can pay you in full first also tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

The habitrail wheels can be found also in Pet Shack if they have stock. Or order from Junnie87. Or other pet shops which sells habitrail products.

Not sure about silent wheel. The wheel I bought for JackJack is from Pets Lover Center Sunway. It's a japanese brand and its about 8+" in diameter but cost about RM70+.
Can nod.gif but let's wait for the reply... so far no reply yet... tongue.gif I hope i will get one by end this week wor.. me going on the 28th dec to Singapore.
Will definitely let you know what that chipmon guy say la wink.gif

PS: So expensive ah JackJack's wheel tongue.gif but very nice I see from the pic...
jaswwp
post Dec 19 2007, 02:18 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

QUOTE(missgeek @ Dec 19 2007, 01:42 PM)
Thanks blurjoey!
I also came across this reseller in Singapore that sells wodent wheel jr at SGD21. I am going to Singapore end this mth, already emailed that person, dunno they have it or not lor. I know in Singapore also it is not really available locally. And yeah hamsters need jr only, it's 8inch. This is the website I found on that Singapore reseller of wodent wheel:

http://www.chipmon.com/syrians/accessories/

But worst come to worst will check Ikano lor for that wheels u mentioned. I also read about silent wheel... is it available in Malaysia too?
Sorry me a noobs, first time hamster owner, bit jakun biggrin.gif
chipmon no longer has stock for these. You all can buywild sanko 21cm silent wheel from Singapore though.

missgeek
post Dec 19 2007, 02:18 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(dien @ Dec 19 2007, 02:15 PM)
you can clean it by using a wet cloth/ towel..
do not bath him directly..
I will! nod.gif i think it's his skin oil + dust/dirt tongue.gif

Added on December 19, 2007, 2:20 pm
QUOTE(jaswwp @ Dec 19 2007, 02:18 PM)
chipmon no longer has stock for these. You all can buywild sanko 21cm silent wheel from Singapore though.
Ah no ah! Haiyaaaaaaak.
Hmm that silent wheel, is it available in any petshop in singapore? Or do you know any that has it, easier for me go there straight when I'm in Singapore nod.gif

This post has been edited by missgeek: Dec 19 2007, 02:20 PM
jaswwp
post Dec 19 2007, 02:22 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

Serangoon north sells around $ 19, look for que feng or house of chinchillas, pet kiosk or even little pet shop. The price can bargain apparently coz retail is around $25

This post has been edited by jaswwp: Dec 19 2007, 02:23 PM
blurjoey
post Dec 19 2007, 02:25 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Dec 19 2007, 02:18 PM)
I just found out that I bought Sanko Wild 21cm silent wheel for JackJack.

This is the wheel I bought from Pets Lover Center Sunway tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
http://www.sanko-wild.com/animal/c_wheel_s...3%B3%E3%83%8821

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Dec 19 2007, 02:30 PM
missgeek
post Dec 19 2007, 02:27 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Dec 19 2007, 02:22 PM)
Serangoon north sells around $ 19, look for que feng or house of chinchillas, pet kiosk or even little pet shop. The price can bargain apparently coz retail is around $25
Thanks a lot!!!! rclxms.gif

Added on December 19, 2007, 2:28 pm
QUOTE(blurjoey @ Dec 19 2007, 02:25 PM)
I just found out that I bought Sanko Wild silent wheel for JackJack.

This is the wheel I bought from Pets Lover Center Sunway tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
http://www.sanko-wild.com/animal/c_wheel_s...3%B3%E3%83%8821
LOL!!
I will check in singapore first lor like that smile.gif if can get cheaper I'll get it there since I'll be there anyway... if not, there is always Pets Lover Center, heheh.

This post has been edited by missgeek: Dec 19 2007, 02:28 PM
blurjoey
post Dec 19 2007, 02:37 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(missgeek @ Dec 19 2007, 02:27 PM)
Thanks a lot!!!!  rclxms.gif

LOL!!
I will check in singapore first lor like that smile.gif if can get cheaper I'll get it there since I'll be there anyway... if not, there is always Pets Lover Center, heheh.
I saw alot of Sanko Wild products in Pets Lover Center (Sunway and Ikano) but a bit expensive though.
Voxe
post Dec 19 2007, 11:11 PM

Daft Punker
815 posts

Haiz, I have to leave my hamsters again and this time even longer, 5 days. Anything cute will remind me of them.
sOuLx
post Dec 19 2007, 11:55 PM

Ingenieur (Ir.)
1,358 posts

QUOTE(Voxe @ Dec 19 2007, 11:11 PM)
Haiz, I have to leave my hamsters again and this time even longer, 5 days. Anything cute will remind me of them.
who will take care of your hamster then? shocking.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 20 2007, 02:46 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(sOuLx @ Dec 19 2007, 01:45 AM)
i'm in gombak..petshack is at sunway..
very far far far away from me...
but then,i'll try find my way there..  flex.gif
Tsk tsk.... me from Setapak I also go to Pet Shack about twice a month or once a month... no car summore LOL.... public transport.

QUOTE(missgeek @ Dec 19 2007, 11:27 AM)
Good luck looking for your perfect syrian!
last week at petshack only has 5, all cinnamon banded and they are kinda old if you dont mind not getting babies smile.gif
But maybe can ask them if they have new batch you can book lorrrr!

I've read in a lot of forums the exp of ppl getting syrian from petshops, their hamster always biting, scared and not friendly... I think because of the treatment they get and they never being handled, just sold at the petshop like some 'stuff'...

So be careful in choosing smile.gif but based on my experience getting MoFo in petshack, he is sooooo tame. He was cautious of course but it takes 2 days before he can climb on my palm now.  nod.gif

Added on December 19, 2007, 11:34 amI have questions people:

1. Is too much raisins not good? 1 raisin per day is ok?
2. Can I feed MoFo biscuit? The normal cream cracker? (square biscuit)
3. On MoFo head area, fur bit kotor, like he needs a bath biggrin.gif sure he doesn't need it? I so geram want to clean it biggrin.gif
4. Wodent wheel got at Ikano? I like the holes, haha!
5. Is there a wheel with suction that I can just hang on the tank wall instead of a stand one?
Thanks a lot nice people of hamsterlandddddd!
PetShack owner really feed and care for her hamsters very well, that is why tame. She handles them often when they were young. Other petshops buy in bulk supplies, then they never touch the hamsters, just throw food. If they need to move them, they pinch the scruff behind their neck, and if this is done in the wrong way, sure the hamster would feel pain and discomfort. That is why they bite. No human interaction, no proper care and no handling.

1. Raisins.... 1 a day is good.
2. The normal unsweeten and low-sodium cream crackers are ok. If you mean those cheap ones that are not by Jacob, then no.... those are high in salt and oil.
3. Just use a wet cloth to wipe any dirty parts.
4. Ikano carries Silent Wheels and Whisper Wheels and Habitrail Wheels..... I use a Whisper Wheel, 8 inches and it only cost like RM20+.... that was from Pets Wonderland. Now abit hard to find Whisper Wheels.
5. Wheel with suction, only Habitrail wheel got and it is big for Syrian..... erm.... it is the same type of wheel that you find inside the Safari set, Space station set .... just colour may be different.
dien
post Dec 20 2007, 03:07 PM

:: Newbie ::
3,254 posts

QUOTE(Voxe @ Dec 20 2007, 12:11 AM)
just supply an enough food and water for them before you leave.. smile.gif
missgeek
post Dec 20 2007, 03:23 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Dec 20 2007, 02:46 AM)
Tsk tsk.... me from Setapak I also go to Pet Shack about twice a month or once a month... no car summore LOL.... public transport.
PetShack owner really feed and care for her hamsters very well, that is why tame. She handles them often when they were young. Other petshops buy in bulk supplies, then they never touch the hamsters, just throw food. If they need to move them, they pinch the scruff behind their neck, and if this is done in the wrong way, sure the hamster would feel pain and discomfort. That is why they bite. No human interaction, no proper care and no handling.

1. Raisins.... 1 a day is good.
2. The normal unsweeten and low-sodium cream crackers are ok. If you mean those cheap ones that are not by Jacob, then no.... those are high in salt and oil.
3. Just use a wet cloth to wipe any dirty parts.
4. Ikano carries Silent Wheels and Whisper Wheels and Habitrail Wheels..... I use a Whisper Wheel, 8 inches and it only cost like RM20+.... that was from Pets Wonderland. Now abit hard to find Whisper Wheels.
5. Wheel with suction, only Habitrail wheel got and it is big for Syrian..... erm.... it is the same type of wheel that you find inside the Safari set, Space station set .... just colour may be different.
Hi crayzymouse, thanks for the advice smile.gif really helpful!!!!! I gave him the jacob cream craker, hehe.. not much lor.. when i eat i just crack a bit and gave him... and MoFo so clever, it is amusing for a jakun like me... when he didnt finish anything, he put in his food bowl wub.gif

OK another updates! I went to Ikano Pet safari... no good wheels left.. maybe I shud check at sunway one la. The said habitrail safari will discontinued, dunno la true or not cos they keep pushing me to buy ovo tongue.gif I personally dont like Ovo, it looks suffocating sweat.gif

I also bought the yougurt drop tongue.gif read in few forums the hamsters like it, and yes... Mofo loves it... heheh.. and store it at his bowl when he didnt finished, haha.. so cute...

And lasttttttt update.....

I BOUGHT ANOTHER SYRIAN BABY! whistling.gif Pet safari Ikano just received a new batch, and as crazymouse said it is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooo kesian. sad.gif
I nearly cried see them together in a tank like maggots, seriously. So small... some a bit bigger.. some smaller. They dont even know the age but the biggest is the size of an adult RC... how old is that? Maybe less than 2mths sweat.gif And yes, they just throw food only... and very very little beddings... not even cover the whole tank.... geeeeeeeez. I saw they gave this oat looking thingy.. the raw one I assume, it's in flaky form.

If only I can buy a lot and I have the time and the space to take care of them I would...sad.gif and yes they dont touch them.. the person there said some bite.. and I did char them la.. i said of course la bite u need to play with them... vmad.gif then there was this one frail looking nearly bald baby, I said that one look sick, please remove it or the rest of the babies will get sick too!! They give reason like it just arrived that day... all of them are banded, cream, sable, golden, cinnamon... I like 2... nearly bought 2... sigh... maybe later go and get that one also... I soooo kesian i cannot express it... the other one I like is cream harlequin? well I know colors for cats... the whole body is white except very light cream on the head area smile.gif red eyes... so cute, so fragile.

So if anyone has the money, space and time... maybe can go check them out... they are selling them at RM20 per hamster... I know when we buy it's like encouraging those breeders more.. but really I cant just gave those poor babies a blind eye. cry.gif I shud have take the pics of them in the tank but I didnt so stupiddddd!

So here is the latest addition of the family smile.gif a boy! nod.gif Still garang, I am also careful not to get bitten hehe. I leave him alone since last night... he also played the wheel, I think it's the first time he play a wheel also.. sad.gif he also eats like crazy... maybe so happy for once see nice food instead... I think even at the breeder, they are just rats that produce money. mad.gif

Hmm, am not sure what the color, but I fell in love with it in an instant! He stood out in that bunch of babies. i know it's banded... golden or brown? and he also has bit black tick on the hairs?

user posted image user posted image user posted image

For now he's staying in the cage I wanted to sell.. will go and get him a tank later, it's easier for me to handle him and tame him in tank I guess.... Oh, my friend adopted the dwarfs smile.gif she used to have hamsters but not anymore... and since I know she can handle them better than me, I feel it's better for them. Afterall, I'm a jakun syrian girl blush.gif

Last pic is MoFo pigging, heheh... see, he is eating his yougurt drop!

This post has been edited by missgeek: Dec 20 2007, 03:29 PM
sOuLx
post Dec 20 2007, 04:56 PM

Ingenieur (Ir.)
1,358 posts

the petshop you mention is at ikano?
i think i''ll go there after christmas..save the babies
missgeek
post Dec 20 2007, 07:27 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(sOuLx @ Dec 20 2007, 04:56 PM)
the petshop you mention is at ikano?
i think i''ll go there after christmas..save the babies
Yes, Pet Safari Ikano smile.gif I hope they are all still there after Christmas blush.gif I'm going to go there check and take their pics later... maybe buy another one... if he's still there. If only I can buy all... sweat.gif I asked they said all the small animals there the breeder is local... their rabbits and guinea pigs are also cuteeeee... sigh.
dien
post Dec 20 2007, 07:30 PM

:: Newbie ::
3,254 posts

missgeek, i think you have to update your sign..
"I have a hamster, his name is MoFo, unlike other mofos, he is cute"

hehehe.. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by dien: Dec 20 2007, 07:30 PM
sOuLx
post Dec 20 2007, 08:35 PM

Ingenieur (Ir.)
1,358 posts

missgeek,
the new members is how old? your mofo is older rite?
nezumitaro
post Dec 20 2007, 10:28 PM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Dec 19 2007, 01:51 PM)
Can buy for me too? I want to get 2 Wodent Wheel Jr also if you are getting from SG. Can pay you in full first also tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

The habitrail wheels can be found also in Pet Shack if they have stock. Or order from Junnie87. Or other pet shops which sells habitrail products.

Not sure about silent wheel. The wheel I bought for JackJack is from Pets Lover Center Sunway. It's a japanese brand and its about 8+" in diameter but cost about RM70+.
not sure KP still getting in this wheel try to pm her. krynzpeaches

Added on December 20, 2007, 10:30 pm
QUOTE(missgeek @ Dec 19 2007, 02:27 PM)
Thanks a lot!!!!  rclxms.gif

LOL!!
there is an other silent wheel looks like sanko, guess maybe abit cheaper. try to check with petshack. see if possible to order.

This post has been edited by nezumitaro: Dec 20 2007, 10:30 PM
blurjoey
post Dec 20 2007, 11:33 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

After COD the Kaytee Aspen beddings from Foo we went to Sunway Pyramid.

We were at Pets Lover Center and there is a new batch of Syrians in the shop. I saw mostly all Cinnamon banded and a few Cream banded. Very tempted to get but sangels didn't allow sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif Saw a little girl's mom bought her a Syrian. Saw the way the girl holding her Syrian was squeezing the Syrian very tightly. Wanted to tell her not to do that but can't. I wonder how long the Syrian will live with the little girl which is about 3-4 years old. Very sad.

From Pyramid we made our way to Taman Megah, hoping to find the Pet Family. We found it easily and another surprise was we saw another pet shop nearby called Pet's Buddy Station which was upstairs on the shoplots there. We went up and saw RCs about 1.5-2 inches long, fat and cute. Also an all black hamsters which we weren't sure which species it was. There were also gerbils there selling for RM30 and they are about 5+ inches long. Left the place as no one want to attend to us.

We walked over to Pet Family and found that it is a 2 storey shop. Downstairs is mostly fishes and upstairs have stuffs for small animals, dogs, cats and birds. There they have white color Winter White imported from Holland selling for RM30 each, Syrians which I think is about 4 months old cause they are as big as JackJack. Saw a few white color Syrians too. Mice, hedgehogs, guinea pigs and gerbils was for sale there also. Even a fat tail gerbil.

Missgeek - Saw 1 last Habitrail Safari Terrain wheel in Pet Family. Better go there to buy as I couldn't find any Sanko Wild 21cm wheels anywhere. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

Then we went to Pet Safari and saw all the hamsters there and saw a Syrian which the face is cinnamon or golden but the body is grayish black in color. Not sure about which banded it is. There are also winter whites, robos and RC available besides Syrians. Saw a lady bought 5-7 cages and 50% off on the hamsters with the purchase of the cage. Presents maybe? The cages was small, I think more suitable for 1 dwarf hamster only. Toby Pets was happy to make such a big sale.

Felt very sad for the hamsters in all the pet shops seen today. Wish can rescue all of them but couldn't and won't be a good idea as the pet shops will restock. How many can we rescue? sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif

Anyway will support small pet shops like Pet Shack instead of these big pet shops. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Dec 20 2007, 11:47 PM
Reanne
post Dec 20 2007, 11:39 PM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

It's an ugly industry but yes, how many can we rescue? It's better to leave them as they are and educate ppl before they buy them, since we don't have the power to confiscate.
missgeek
post Dec 21 2007, 12:04 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(dien @ Dec 20 2007, 07:30 PM)
missgeek, i think you have to update your sign..
"I have a hamster, his name is MoFo, unlike other mofos, he is cute"

hehehe..  laugh.gif
@dien
yeah yeah, hahahahah... now thinking of name.. dunno what to give...
Anyone know what is the color of the baby?

@soulx
Yup, still baby.. less than 3 months... I dont know, the petshop place just tell me, less than 3 mths. Those who has experience breeding syrian, when they get to size like RC, how old is that?

@nezumitaro
Yeah will go petshack tomorrow I think smile.gif I need to buy other stuffs too...

By the way soulx, the hamsters are left only 8. sweat.gif and... when I asked finished already all? The guy said today public holiday... even the other one I like also gone already. From around 70 pups, left 8 pups in 1 day leh... BUT... I bought another 2 blush.gif just CANNOT leave them there... blush.gif I do hope someone will come and take them away tomorrow, the condition is too bad for them. I think given few more days they will die. Sigh.

So tonight, I leave 2 babies together cos I dont have enough tanks. They are playing the wheels like mad, haha. Will separate them as soon as tomorrow after work nod.gif The rest that left is not as active as these 2... the sick one is still together with the rest. No wonder they dont have better home/tanks for them, cos they would be sold off in few days only... rolleyes.gif

I got a pair... nope, not gonna breed them for sure smile.gif Just happened the most actives one were these 2. They are smalled than the one I got last nite. The girl is cream banded, the male is sable banded (maybe?) He looks brown to me... maybe brown banded, got ah that color?

By the way soulx, if you are really interested in a syrian, I can home and tend to him/her until you're ready to get him/her. I will be training and taming (TRY is the operative word) the babies... smile.gif PM me what do you think? Well, I am still keeping the babies anyhow, so it doesnt matter if you want to get them yourself wink.gif This is just a suggestion, ok? smile.gif

Pics will be coming up soon!

Added on December 21, 2007, 12:11 am@blurjoey
It seemed it is a hamster mill lor... the same batch were also sent to Pet Safari Sunway it seemed. Now I have 4 syrians but MoFo is still my number one... I think it'll be hard work to train the other 3 but well... I will try my best. They are docile natured in actual and I think it will be easy to train them as they are really really small.

I know where that petshop is! Hmmm... dunno got time to go tomorrow or not??? I need to go to petshack for tanks and water bottle. But MoFo is still aright using the static ball/wheel... he can wait until I go singapore, hehe.

come on people, pls suggest namessss hehehe... I got namless - 2 boys and 1 girl now!

This post has been edited by missgeek: Dec 21 2007, 12:11 AM

126 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:07 AM