9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Investment Anyone kena burnt in investment?, Experience and your lesson learnt

TSfairylord
post May 5 2019, 10:19 PM, updated 7y ago

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

Anyone veteran unker auntie experienced kaokao lost in investment before?

How you deal with it emotionally?
How you live after the lost?
How the lost change your lifestyle and mind in term of financial?

Your experience is youngster lesson, if you don't mind to share.

NOTE : Serious thread, no kopitiam (at least don't get transferred), no fighting.

This post has been edited by fairylord: May 5 2019, 10:33 PM
SUSDavid83
post May 5 2019, 10:20 PM

52,874 posts

You experienced burnt in investment?
Under the sea now?
thefryingfox
post May 5 2019, 10:24 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

I kena burn bad investment mostly in share. Wiped out 80 percent of my savings.....I feel very down for months .....but took it in my stride and pick my self up instead of 14th floor. 80 percent of saving was after 14 years of slogging

Oh well..now I recover and am more contented and do my homework and get wisdom before venture out again. So far just small small investment here and there
SUSDavid83
post May 5 2019, 10:27 PM

52,874 posts

If I divert the money for high risk investment, I'll prepare to lose it.

Otherwise, set an attainable goal. Don't be greedy.

Emotional plays an important role in our investment decision and it always cloud your wisdom.

Lastly, depends on investment asset classes, some of them are recoverable over time. You just need to be patient and let it cruise through the test of time.
ANGELNHERO
post May 5 2019, 10:53 PM

My experience is small burnt but all the Money invest become air disappear, not much but have teach me not to be greedy.
The long term investment with steady return just the correct way become successful for rich. Instant rich game , we no enough money to play with them.
Ramjade
post May 6 2019, 12:01 AM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(fairylord @ May 5 2019, 10:19 PM)
Anyone veteran unker auntie experienced kaokao lost in investment before?

How you deal with it emotionally?
How you live after the lost?
How the lost change your lifestyle and mind in term of financial?

Your experience is youngster lesson, if you don't mind to share.
NOTE : Serious thread, no kopitiam (at least don't get transferred), no fighting.
1/ maybank silver account
- learnt that not wise to buy gold and silver from banks as spread too large.

2/ foreign FD with Malaysia bank
-learnt that banks always win in terms of exchange rate.

3/ amanah saham variable price
- learnt that best to keep cost low, avoid agents. 5% commision cut is hefty.
Bjorn1688
post May 6 2019, 02:48 AM

1,924 posts

I invested a lot in British banking and engineering stocks.

Lost a lot of money during the subprime crisis.

I once invested money to set up an Irish pub in Phuket, it had some very healthy returns and I mostly got back my money by the 6th month. Myself a Brit and a Thai who was the local partner. On the 8th month the local partner shit the place down by deregistering the company and then selling the assets and operations to another company he owned and hired another British expat to be the pub manager. The premise and the owner perished during the tsunami.

Well you learn to pick up the pieces and move along while keeping a straight face.
icemanfx
post May 6 2019, 04:12 AM

21,456 posts

Every investor get burned in investment, it is a matter of magnitude. Normally, those greedy would get or nearly wiped out.

If leveraged to invest, failure could be catastrophic.

There is no quick and easy way to make money else there should be a lot more than 4% of adults in this country have over us$100k net worth.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 6 2019, 06:40 AM
Jordy
post May 6 2019, 10:53 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

I invested in this stock back in 2010 just after it went public at the A-region and kept averaging downwards due to my believe that investment in Education is one of the best, and then I finally sold it off between the C- and D-region after realising that this company is going into a sh*thole.

Lesson learnt - never get involved with companies closely tied with Government policy. Any slight change in Government policy could mean the end of the company.

The same can be said with the situation of TM is in right now. See chart below.

wongmunkeong
post May 6 2019, 11:42 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

1. Be unemotional - use pre-planned If-Then-Else (eg. portfolio rebalancing IF.., IF x falls 20% or more.., IF..), numbers/knowned,
NOT based on feel/crystal balls
Do NOT "plan fire escape during fire". That's where fear & greed jumps on me.

2. All financial plans are useless - it's the planning that is useful.
ie. the logic/reasons/whys. Thus, one can always tweak when things happens or goals moved/changed

3. All financial goals are really life goals.
If i dont have a burning reason WHY i NEED to reach the goals... then.. meh.. i won't carry through

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 6 2019, 11:51 AM
Boomwick
post May 6 2019, 11:47 AM

990 posts

I invested in a company called HEXAGON because people are saying this company got robert kuok inside to help.

Although investment is bit big, around few K because already pn17 that time.

But that white knight didnt happen. Hexagon delisted and gone.

Same as trasmile case.

Never invest becuz thinking got prominent investor inside and will rescue it
icemanfx
post May 6 2019, 01:39 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ May 6 2019, 11:47 AM)
I invested in a company called HEXAGON because people are saying this company got robert kuok inside to help.

Although investment is bit big, around few K because already pn17 that time.

But that white knight didnt happen. Hexagon delisted and gone.

Same as trasmile case.

Never invest becuz thinking got prominent investor inside and will rescue it
When tips reached average Joe, is about time to sell.

QUOTE(Jordy @ May 6 2019, 10:53 AM)

I invested in this stock back in 2010 just after it went public at the A-region and kept averaging downwards due to my believe that investment in Education is one of the best, and then I finally sold it off between the C- and D-region after realising that this company is going into a sh*thole.

Lesson learnt - never get involved with companies closely tied with Government policy. Any slight change in Government policy could mean the end of the company.

The same can be said with the situation of TM is in right now. See chart below.
Contract secured through political connection mean the company doesn't has the capability to bid on level playing field. Most will fail with political connection.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 6 2019, 01:43 PM
Krv23490
post May 6 2019, 02:32 PM

2,175 posts

Invested in GoPro , wanted to play earnings, ended up bag holding many years back.

Bought Netflix at 100, sold at 110. Trading at 385 today
veron4best
post May 6 2019, 02:56 PM

1,146 posts

lost more than 50% capital in stock trading due to no real sifu to learn from last time.

kept emotionally aside, set a cut-loss margin. nvr fall in love in any stock.

cherroy
post May 6 2019, 02:57 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ May 6 2019, 10:53 AM)

My pov and experience

Keep on averaging down is not a good practice in investing.

When a stock is keep on going down on long term basic, it is better to review the reason of it.
Good stock that are registering stable and profit growing and keep on rewarding shareholders with generous dividend, generally their stock price won't keep on sliding on long term basic one.

Whenever an invested target poorly perform, it is advisable to patiently monitoring first instead eager to average down, if really that bad, sliding non-stop, cut loss early.
Average down could mean double the loss instead of trying to gain back.
Average down may be = bet more on the losing stock... sweat.gif

Get rid of losing stock, but keep those performing (gain) one should be the motto of investing.
But most people did the other way. Take profit (sell) those gain one (normally gain a little), but keep losing one and average down more.

Average up is better that average down.

There are many, ten or hundreds of many good stocks out there for choosing around.
Don't need to fall in love in one or two.

We are not choosing a single "wife" in investing, we can or should have wife(s) in investing. laugh.gif

Diversification is important to mitigate the risk in investing.

This post has been edited by cherroy: May 6 2019, 02:58 PM
Jordy
post May 6 2019, 06:03 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 6 2019, 02:57 PM)
My pov and experience

Keep on averaging down is not a good practice in investing.

When a stock is keep on going down on long term basic, it is better to review the reason of it.
Good stock that are registering stable and profit growing and keep on rewarding shareholders with generous dividend, generally their stock price won't keep on sliding on long term basic one.

Whenever an invested target poorly perform, it is advisable to patiently monitoring first instead eager to average down, if really that bad, sliding non-stop, cut loss early.
Average down could mean double the loss instead of trying to gain back.
Average down may be = bet more on the losing stock... sweat.gif

Get rid of losing stock, but keep those performing (gain) one should be the motto of investing.
But most people did the other way. Take profit (sell) those gain one (normally gain a little), but keep losing one and average down more.

Average up is better that average down.

There are many, ten or hundreds of many good stocks out there for choosing around.
Don't need to fall in love in one or two.

We are not choosing a single "wife" in investing, we can or should have wife(s) in investing.  laugh.gif

Diversification is important to mitigate the risk in investing.
You are right, and my mistake should serve as a lesson to all other young investors alike.
Well I was young and naive back then with nobody to caution me on such stuffs, I had to learn everything the hard way.
But being burnt is one sure way to keep improving yourself.
MeToo
post May 6 2019, 06:07 PM

9,333 posts

Current MTM I'm down 280,000... havent exit cause... how to take such losses... still hanging on..
MeToo
post May 6 2019, 06:08 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 6 2019, 02:57 PM)

THIS is so true.

I suffer form this as well, fast to book the (tiny) profit, but when lost too stubborn to cut.

Now the hole very deep... cannot even cut cry.gif cry.gif
David_77
post May 6 2019, 06:51 PM

In a hurry to make up for lost time!
2,396 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 6 2019, 04:12 AM)
Every investor get burned in investment, it is a matter of magnitude. Normally, those greedy would get or nearly wiped out.

If leveraged to invest, failure could be catastrophic.

There is no quick and easy way to make money else there should be a lot more than 4% of adults in this country have over us$100k net worth.
Aunty, typo is it? Now 4%?
thesoothsayer
post May 6 2019, 11:37 PM

954 posts

Made tonnes, then started getting overconfident in options. Coupled with a serious lack of sleep due to family reasons, I lost about 170k.

Fortunately, mostly RSU money. If it's savings, probably will be even more heartbreaking.

Learned not to be too greedy and overconfident. biggrin.gif

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:58 AM