21 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

HP iPAQ 510/512/514 Voice Messenger, Cheap Windows Mobile 6.0 phone with WiFi

ante5k
post Jul 24 2007, 09:44 AM

Antediluvian
1,173 posts

I ask about the phone with package at DSS, they told me approximately 7 days for delivery, doubt it howver ...... i want the phone
limyusiong
post Jul 24 2007, 12:34 PM

2,815 posts

haha?7 days ah?i oso wont believe on tat...since u decide to go for tis phone, jus b patient n wait lo...
ante5k
post Jul 25 2007, 09:06 AM

Antediluvian
1,173 posts

gave HP a call yesterday asking about the stock, they told me currently there are stocks available, but 3 working days credit processing, 14 working days for other process.... meaning 1 month lar.......sien
mykomputer
post Jul 26 2007, 11:02 AM

333 posts

Here some more photos of the phone.
Front shot

The left side, where you can see the earpice volume control, microSD slot and the 2.5mm headphone jack.

The right side, the voice commander key.

The bottom of the phone, the mini usb slot.

The back of the phone, showing the 1.3Mp of the camera and the wifi/BT logi.

Now you can see the size of the phone in my hand.

Currently the battery left 50% charge after nearly 2.5days (60hours) of normal usage(wifi/bt/mp3/sms)

This post has been edited by mykomputer: Jul 26 2007, 11:04 AM
iRonTech
post Jul 26 2007, 12:49 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(mykomputer @ Jul 26 2007, 11:02 AM)

Currently the battery left 50% charge after nearly 2.5days (60hours) of normal usage(wifi/bt/mp3/sms)
uh? sound good ya..the battery life on 512 iPAQ thumbup.gif
mydelsol
post Jul 26 2007, 04:35 PM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

Hi All,

I hve been a Ipaq user for a long time from the early 3800 series to the 3417(wifi) and currently
for the past 2 years Ipaq 6365. Have been drool.gif salavating drool.gif on the Ipaq 6828, but now
my attention has turned to the 512 series. Seems like with the feedbacks given here its a good buy,
BUT it looks a bit odd to me that non of the local IT mag's have reviewed it thus far or did I miss
the article? I buy HWM and PC.Com, has anyone else seen any local review, sorry ya... rclxms.gif
mykomputer
post Jul 26 2007, 05:25 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(mydelsol @ Jul 26 2007, 04:35 PM)
Hi All,

I hve been a Ipaq user for a long time from the early 3800 series to the 3417(wifi) and currently
for the past 2 years Ipaq 6365. Have been  drool.gif salavating drool.gif  on the Ipaq 6828, but now
my attention has turned to the 512 series. Seems like with the feedbacks given here its a good buy,
BUT it looks a bit odd to me that non of the local IT mag's have reviewed it thus far or did I miss
the article? I buy HWM and PC.Com, has anyone else seen any local review, sorry ya... rclxms.gif
It is still new(Malaysian market at least). Most of us just received the phone last week after waiting for more than a month for it. Mobile world did have a sales articles on it. You can have a look at the review at other sites. i think the link is somewhere in this thread.
mykomputer
post Jul 26 2007, 05:46 PM

333 posts

Now for some of the UI screenshot smile.gif
The Home screen

The shortcuts assigned.

Some of the icons after clicking the start buttons

File explorer

The connection manager

WIndows media player cool.gif

Different kind of menu using the smartoolkit software. Just like windows XP. brows.gif

This post has been edited by mykomputer: Jul 26 2007, 05:49 PM
mydelsol
post Jul 26 2007, 08:00 PM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

QUOTE(mykomputer @ Jul 26 2007, 05:25 PM)
It is still new(Malaysian market at least). Most of us just received the phone last week after waiting for more than a month for it. Mobile world did have a sales articles on it.  You can have a look at the review at other sites. i think the link is somewhere in this thread.
I hve read the reviews frm the foreign media, what I want to know is the feedback in the local media icon_rolleyes.gif
AFAIK Ipaq 512 was launch in mid June by HP Malaysia, and the only sole article so far I have seen is in
a motorning magazine(Asian Auto July 2007 issue) go figure whistling.gif notworthy.gif

Am really gonna get it since am a Ipaq "lover" just would like to read some local reviews before I do thumbup.gif
btw, excellent UI shoots...thanks
mykomputer
post Jul 26 2007, 09:27 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(mydelsol @ Jul 26 2007, 08:00 PM)
Am really gonna get it since am a Ipaq "lover" just would like to read some local reviews before I do thumbup.gif
btw, excellent UI shoots...thanks
Wouldn't it be like downgrading to you. From touch screen to non touch screen phone? For me, this is my 1st smartphone. Before this i was thinking in getting a N70 or a 2nd hand dopod. But the price for this phone is hard to resist. drool.gif Some even suggested me to buy the 2nd hand dopod 577w or the Dopod C500. 577w is already eol by dopod and my main concern is warranty.

The company i worked for has purchased HP DL380 and blade servers before so i am familiar how their warranty works and i know some of the HP support engineers here brows.gif

I think local reviews would be in a month or two.
mydelsol
post Jul 27 2007, 09:03 AM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

QUOTE(mykomputer @ Jul 26 2007, 09:27 PM)
Wouldn't it be like downgrading to you. From touch screen to non touch screen phone? For me, this is my 1st smartphone. Before this i was thinking in getting a N70 or a 2nd hand dopod. But the price for this phone is hard to resist.  drool.gif  Some even suggested me to buy the 2nd hand dopod 577w or the Dopod C500. 577w is already eol by dopod and my main concern is warranty. 

The company i worked for has purchased HP DL380 and blade servers before so i am familiar how their warranty works and i know some of the HP support engineers here  brows.gif
I think local reviews would be in a month or two.
I dont see it as a downgrade, as currently using Moto V3x for calls and Ipaq6365 for net & appointments/contacts rclxms.gif Reason for me to "upgrade" is actually an excuse saje to my wife,
since my curent Ipaq (have 4 at home whistling.gif ) compared to the 512 is wayyy so much difference... thumbup.gif

Bro, could you post pics of the contacts list? is it the same UI like 6365? thanks

BTW, did anyone check out the Digi promotion in The Star papers yesterday on the Ipaq 512?
comments?

This post has been edited by mydelsol: Jul 27 2007, 09:48 AM
mykomputer
post Jul 27 2007, 03:03 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(mydelsol @ Jul 27 2007, 09:03 AM)
I dont see it as a downgrade, as currently using Moto V3x for calls and Ipaq6365 for net & appointments/contacts rclxms.gif Reason for me to "upgrade" is actually an excuse saje to my wife,
since my curent Ipaq (have 4 at home whistling.gif ) compared to the 512 is wayyy so much difference... thumbup.gif

Bro, could you post pics of the contacts list? is it the same UI like 6365? thanks

BTW, did anyone check out the Digi promotion in The Star papers yesterday on the Ipaq 512?
comments?
I also need to prepare the "justification" whistling.gif to the ministry of finance and spending. Here are the contact screenshots

Contacts

Pressing the menu in contact screen

Adding new item into contact

Editing a contact

mykomputer
post Jul 27 2007, 03:52 PM

333 posts

Photos taken with the ipaq.

mydelsol
post Jul 27 2007, 04:45 PM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

QUOTE(mykomputer @ Jul 27 2007, 03:03 PM)
I also need to prepare the "justification"  whistling.gif to the ministry of finance and spending. Here are the contact screenshots

Contacts

Pressing the menu in contact screen

Adding new item into contact

Editing a contact
gues we are in the same boat when comes to purchases of certain value doh.gif thanks for the pics/shoots
appreciate it rclxms.gif
wsl
post Jul 27 2007, 06:16 PM

487 posts

mycomputer, overall, do u satisfy with this phone? How is its performance when comparing with ur previous phone?
YJ...
post Jul 27 2007, 10:48 PM

129 posts

hows the control and navigation ?
since it does not have a touch screen...is it user frenly?
will it lag when opening applications?
mykomputer
post Jul 27 2007, 10:56 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(wsl @ Jul 27 2007, 06:16 PM)
mycomputer, overall, do u satisfy with this phone? How is its performance when comparing with ur previous phone?
The performance is ok. Lagged a little bit when changing or selecting functions. I think the battery can last more than three days without heavy usage. I got a surprise today. From 34% then dropped to 4% in less than an hour. Something wrong with the sensor i think. Charging is not a problem. I have a lot of usb cables lying around at home, office. Charged it through my laptop, desktop & home PC.

The weight is just nice to me.

It is not easy to find software specially designed for WM6, but the OS still new, gave it a couple of months.

To compare it to my old phone (K700i) is not quite fair sweat.gif The ipaq is way way much better.

Cons.
-No indicator or alert to notify me of unread message or a missed call. (There is a software for this, but designed for WM5. I tried to install and it keep vibrating non-stop)
-No radio. I used to listen to the k700i fm radio while riding my bike to listen for traffic updates. Especially on the Penang bridge. (I could buy the i-tech radio bt headset for this)
-No USB 2.0 connection

Pros.
-Easy to sync up with my outlook calendar with correct time and date for different timezone
-Can view excel, word and powerpoints files. (Can't create them, to create you need WM6 Pro)
-Media player to listen to mp3 and view videos.
-WiFi
-Easy charging

Some people said that the screen is small, but for me it is adequate for my needs. I'm still learning to really maximise the usage. For me this is a good phone for those who want to buy their 1st smartphone. I can give it 8/10. thumbup.gif
edkiasu
post Jul 27 2007, 10:56 PM

ºº 1/2 Retired ºº
970 posts

How much is that? Is the music player good? Expansion card supported up to?
mykomputer
post Jul 27 2007, 11:05 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(YJ... @ Jul 27 2007, 10:48 PM)
hows the control and navigation ?
since it does not have a touch screen...is it user frenly?
will it lag when opening applications?
Control is using the d-pad in the middle. There is a lot of shortcuts key.
Like this screenshot
You can use the pad to navigate or press "1" for IE, "4" for calendar, "6" for contacts. I think you get the idea. I think SE also using this method.

The lag is there but still ok for me.

CODE
How much is that? Is the music player good? Expansion card supported up to?

The music player is Windows Media player for mobile, something like windows media player 10 for desktop. You can use TCPMP is you want. I'm not quite sure on the biggest microSD supported, I use 2Gb for my iPAQ.

This post has been edited by mykomputer: Jul 27 2007, 11:09 PM
mydelsol
post Jul 28 2007, 06:36 PM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

QUOTE(mykomputer @ Jul 27 2007, 10:56 PM)
Cons.
-No indicator or alert to notify me of unread message or a missed call. (There is a software for this, but designed for WM5. I tried to install and it keep vibrating non-stop)
ouch, so how do you know? do you hve to keep looking at the screen? cant it be set to a louder setting?
thanks in advance rclxms.gif

21 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0231sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:20 AM