HP iPAQ 510/512/514 Voice Messenger, Cheap Windows Mobile 6.0 phone with WiFi

mykomputer
post Aug 21 2007, 07:34 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(MyDevil @ Aug 21 2007, 04:57 PM)
Hmm...that would be tricky. What if you encounter some problems and need to be reset. I encoutered problem with O2 Atom and only reseting fixed the problem.
Some problematic software can cause this. I have few cases, installed software meant for WM2003 rclxub.gif
iRonTech
post Aug 24 2007, 10:36 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

rclxub.gif iPAQ 512's bluetooth can't receive/send files??

ah..found the way by enable receive beam...

But then..how come the 'genius' Windows Mobile still can't receive all my contacts sent from SE phones/PC via bluetooth ?? doh.gif

This post has been edited by iRonTech: Aug 24 2007, 11:23 AM
leboch
post Aug 24 2007, 05:30 PM

37 posts

can the browser open web pages with java environment? Can i check my stock prices say web pages like http:\\www.pmlink2u.com
Hope some of you guys can try it out for me , thanks. I really want to buy if it can.
iRonTech
post Aug 24 2007, 09:40 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Aug 24 2007, 10:36 AM)
rclxub.gif  iPAQ 512's bluetooth can't receive/send files??

ah..found the way by enable receive beam...

But then..how come the 'genius' Windows Mobile still can't receive all my contacts sent from SE phones/PC via bluetooth ??  doh.gif
rclxub.gif iPAQ Bluetooth design was so 'genius'...doesn't support Information Synchronization Profile at all, thus it can't accept any contacts sent via bluetooth... sweat.gif

I use 'my way', use Float Mobile Agent sync with my SE contacts, use FMA sync to Outlook 2003, then only Active Sync can get the contacts to iPAQ... blush.gif

another issue is, last first vs first last on contacts bordering me too... laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(leboch @ Aug 24 2007, 05:30 PM)
    can the browser open web pages with java environment? Can i check my stock prices say web pages like http:\\www.pmlink2u.com
Hope some of you guys can try it out for me , thanks. I really want to buy if it can.
it show No web site is configured at this address... sweat.gif

Probably need Netfront browser to access...as it support JV-Lite(tm) 2
mykomputer
post Aug 24 2007, 11:54 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Aug 24 2007, 09:40 PM)
rclxub.gif  iPAQ Bluetooth design was so 'genius'...doesn't support Information Synchronization Profile at all, thus it can't accept any contacts sent via bluetooth...  sweat.gif

I use 'my way', use Float Mobile Agent sync with my SE contacts, use FMA sync to Outlook 2003, then only Active Sync can get the contacts to iPAQ...  blush.gif

another issue is, last first vs first last on contacts bordering me too...  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

For the sorting of contacts. There is no setting in WM6 to sort by first name. My solution was to sync up my contacts with outlook. Set outlook to default "file as" to first name, and then run the outlook plugin "file as sorter" to save as all my contacts to first name.

Delete all my contacts in iPaq, then sync it up with my outlook. Then for every new contact you create in ipaq make sure to file as first name.

You can read about it at http://www.pocketpcfaq.com/raj/FileAs.html

karhoe
post Aug 25 2007, 12:48 AM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(mykomputer @ Jul 26 2007, 11:02 AM)
Here some more photos of the phone.
Front shot
[attachmentid=267072]

The left side, where you can see the earpice volume control, microSD slot and the 2.5mm headphone jack.
[attachmentid=267073]

The right side, the voice commander key.
[attachmentid=267074]

The bottom of the phone, the mini usb slot.
[attachmentid=267075]

The back of the phone, showing the 1.3Mp of the camera and the wifi/BT logi.
[attachmentid=267080]

Now you can see the size of the phone in my hand.
[attachmentid=267077]
[attachmentid=267078]

Currently the battery left 50% charge after nearly 2.5days (60hours) of normal usage(wifi/bt/mp3/sms)
That SIRIM sticker destroy the look

QUOTE(mykomputer @ Jul 27 2007, 10:56 PM)
The performance is ok. Lagged a little bit when changing or selecting functions. I think the battery can last more than three days without heavy usage. I got a surprise today. From 34% then dropped to 4% in less than an hour. Something wrong with the sensor i think. Charging is not a problem. I have a lot of usb cables lying around at home, office. Charged it through my laptop, desktop & home PC.

The weight is just nice to me.

It is not easy to find software specially designed for WM6, but the OS still new, gave it a couple of months.

To compare it to my old phone (K700i) is not quite fair  sweat.gif The ipaq is way way much better.

Cons.
-No indicator or alert to notify me of unread message or a missed call. (There is a software for this, but designed for WM5. I tried to install and it keep vibrating non-stop)
-No radio. I used to listen to the k700i fm radio while riding my bike to listen for traffic updates. Especially on the Penang bridge. (I could buy the i-tech radio bt headset for this)
-No USB 2.0 connection

Pros.
-Easy to sync up with my outlook calendar with correct time and date for different timezone
-Can view excel, word and powerpoints files. (Can't create them, to create you need WM6 Pro)
-Media player to listen to mp3 and view videos.
-WiFi
-Easy charging

Some people said that the screen is small, but for me it is adequate for my needs.  I'm still learning to really maximise the usage. For me this is a good phone for those who want to buy their 1st smartphone. I can give it 8/10.  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(MyDevil @ Aug 21 2007, 04:57 PM)
Hmm...that would be tricky. What if you encounter some problems and need to be reset. I encoutered problem with O2 Atom and only reseting fixed the problem.
You can use AutomaticKeylock to notify you
No point having a USB2.0 connection, the storage card I/O is already slow
iRonTech
post Aug 25 2007, 01:22 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(mykomputer @ Aug 24 2007, 11:54 PM)
For the sorting of contacts. There is no setting in WM6 to sort by first name.  My solution was to sync up my contacts with outlook. Set outlook to default "file as" to first name, and then run the outlook plugin "file as sorter" to save as all my contacts to first name.

Delete all my contacts in iPaq, then sync it up with my outlook. Then for every new contact you create in ipaq make sure to file as first name.

You can read about it at http://www.pocketpcfaq.com/raj/FileAs.html
it wont help..maybe something wrong with my outlook 2003...

I change the First Last setting on FMA, then syn to outlook it works fine smile.gif

QUOTE(karhoe @ Aug 25 2007, 12:48 AM)
That SIRIM sticker destroy the look
You can use AutomaticKeylock to notify you
No point having a USB2.0 connection, the storage card I/O is already slow
nod.gif nod.gif really dun understand y put the sticker at the back... y not inside back cover... doh.gif

taken out the sirim sticker will void warranty?? tongue.gif
leboch
post Aug 26 2007, 11:55 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Aug 24 2007, 09:40 PM)
rclxub.gif  iPAQ Bluetooth design was so 'genius'...doesn't support Information Synchronization Profile at all, thus it can't accept any contacts sent via bluetooth...  sweat.gif

I use 'my way', use Float Mobile Agent sync with my SE contacts, use FMA sync to Outlook 2003, then only Active Sync can get the contacts to iPAQ...  blush.gif

another issue is, last first vs first last on contacts bordering me too...  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Sorry I type the address wrongly. Can you please try again using this instead
http://www.pmlink2u.com Could you see anything say.. the current composite index?
Thanks guys.
iRonTech
post Aug 27 2007, 10:20 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(leboch @ Aug 26 2007, 11:55 AM)
    Sorry I type the address wrongly. Can you please try again using this instead
http://www.pmlink2u.com Could you see anything say.. the current composite index?
Thanks guys.
pmlink2u.com can't, as it require Java on browser.. sweat.gif

KLSE...im trying now... tongue.gif

ya, KLSE can. flex.gif

iPAQ handfree really dumb... like Rm2.0 stock.... laugh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by iRonTech: Aug 27 2007, 10:26 PM
vin_ann
post Aug 27 2007, 11:19 PM

10,912 posts

helo,
is this phone is the FREE phone for Digi promotion??
iRonTech
post Aug 28 2007, 08:39 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 27 2007, 11:19 PM)
helo,
is this phone is the FREE phone for Digi promotion??
nod.gif nod.gif I signed up the DiGi Mobility Fiesta Rm124 monthly package..

see the speed on DiGi Edge blush.gif biggrin.gif

limyusiong
post Aug 28 2007, 08:49 AM

2,815 posts

again.... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
iRonTech
post Aug 28 2007, 09:15 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(limyusiong @ Aug 28 2007, 08:49 AM)
again.... doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
wat wor...its result from http://utilities.globequest.com.ph/ mah... laugh.gif
limyusiong
post Aug 28 2007, 10:03 AM

2,815 posts

haha, try run on jaring bandwidth test la...then share again wif us the result la...thx
giovanni
post Aug 28 2007, 11:35 AM

1,898 posts

if its less than 1k, i bet it sure is a good deal.
iRonTech
post Aug 30 2007, 01:40 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

doh.gif do you guys iPAQ facing the same problem??

I travel from one location (say from home, online no problem) to another (say subang ofis), the iPAQ can't online anymore sweat.gif

Weird thing is, for call, no such problem but only internet access..

until I power cycle the iPAQ, then the internet access no problem.

using DiGi, ipaq boot up firmware 1.09.00 0.76

khun_khun
post Aug 30 2007, 01:46 PM

Past is history, Today is gift, Future is mystery.
1,698 posts

design is quite nice.

but, camera is 1.3mp. =(
iRonTech
post Aug 31 2007, 04:06 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

doh.gif is me noob? or the bug on Speed Dial??

on the Speed dial help said, Start --> Contact --> Select contact --> Menu --> Add to Speed dial... I don't see this option inside Menu...
mykomputer
post Aug 31 2007, 07:10 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Aug 31 2007, 04:06 PM)
doh.gif is me noob? or the bug on Speed Dial??

on the Speed dial help said, Start --> Contact --> Select contact --> Menu --> Add to Speed dial... I don't see this option inside Menu...
You need another step in between...

Start --> Contact --> Select contact (click the contact) Then you will see the contact information such as "last call", "call mobile" etc... Then only click menu --> 7 Add to speed dial.

iRonTech
post Aug 31 2007, 08:02 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(mykomputer @ Aug 31 2007, 07:10 PM)
You need another step in between...

Start --> Contact --> Select contact (click the contact) Then you will see the contact information such as "last call", "call mobile" etc...  Then only click menu --> 7 Add to speed dial.
doh.gif oh i see...need to go in additional one step from the contact... doh.gif tongue.gif notworthy.gif

mykomputer > does ur iPAQ use for online purpose?? if yes..is your iPAQ facing the problem can't access internet after travel from one to another location?

Added on September 1, 2007, 12:36 am
QUOTE(leboch @ Aug 24 2007, 05:30 PM)
leboch,

good news.. i install Mozilla minino web browser, it work for the page www.pmlink2u.com which require java. icon_rolleyes.gif

but then...it seem not fully compatible with non-touch screen smartphone.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by iRonTech: Sep 1 2007, 12:41 AM

21 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:18 AM