post Apr 26 2020, 08:16 AM

126 posts

Hi TS

I am choosing between G3 or G5 from Dell
https://www.dell.com/en-my/shop/cty/pdp/spd.../w5160518pmyw10

https://www.dell.com/en-my/shop/laptop-desk...60151621cpmyw10

both are the same price. all hw seems to be the same apart from :
Difference is just the hdd, 1 is 512 M.2 the other is 128 + 1TB.
either config is ok for me
my question is between the 2 laptops, without worrying about the hdd config, which is better?
I am concern about the overheating on these laptops.
80% of the time, it will be used for watching video on a 4K TV and streaming. It will be connected via Ethernet and I have a NAS at home. and i use it as a Hifi streamer. it reads DSD files from my NAS and pushes it into my DAC via USB audio.
for downloads, if i were using the 512M.2, i would attach a USB HDD to store content.
20% of the time, may play some games, e.g. Tombraider, FFXV... I want something that would be able to run FFVII remake when it comes out.. dont need to run High or ultra settings, if i can get mid settings @1080p smooth i am happy.

I know alot of laptops can do this but my main concern is reliability : Reason for Dell is that I can get 4yrs of on site warranty

Thank you for your time

This post has been edited by gunplakk: Apr 26 2020, 08:19 AM
TSZM Fong
post Apr 26 2020, 11:14 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Unknown69 @ Apr 26 2020, 07:57 AM)
snip
-GS66 might have brighter display too, it all depends on panel lottery
-I can't say QC is good in Vapor 15 Pro, however the model has been stress tested by Intel for quite a long time before its launch
-Vapor 15 Pro also have 115W 2070 with Turbo mode, with some tweaking you can get both decent thermals and performance
QUOTE(gunplakk @ Apr 26 2020, 08:16 AM)
Hi TS

I am choosing between G3 or G5 from Dell
Neither models have good thermals. Go for other models.

This post has been edited by ZM Fong: Apr 26 2020, 11:15 AM
gunplakk
post Apr 26 2020, 11:22 AM

126 posts

Neither models have good thermals. Go for other models.

[/quote]
what would you recommend for about 3.5K with good after sales service , onsite repairs.

thank you
TSZM Fong
post Apr 26 2020, 11:30 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(gunplakk @ Apr 26 2020, 11:22 AM)
what would you recommend for about 3.5K with good after sales service , onsite repairs.

thank you
Legion Y7000SE 81T0001HMJ / 3FMJ / customize (code LENXCIMB)

This post has been edited by ZM Fong: Apr 26 2020, 11:30 AM
gunplakk
post Apr 26 2020, 12:29 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 26 2020, 11:30 AM)
Legion Y7000SE 81T0001HMJ / 3FMJ / customize (code LENXCIMB)
thanks for the recommendation, sorry what is LENXCIMB code? is it a shopee code?
TSZM Fong
post Apr 26 2020, 04:02 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(gunplakk @ Apr 26 2020, 12:29 PM)
thanks for the recommendation, sorry what is LENXCIMB code? is it a shopee code?
coupon/discount code for customize models when checkout (Lenovo website)
mtcc
post Apr 26 2020, 07:59 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(Unknown69 @ Apr 26 2020, 07:57 AM)
You better off go with Vapor 15 Pro. It is good all rounder. With Vapor 15 Pro you get:
i)Good built quality (Even previous generation of GS series have many hinges issue and overall built quality is not study and I won't be surprise if the same would apply for GS66)
ii)Brighter display than GS66
iii)Big battery life: 94 Watt, will last you for 7-8 hours (You don't need USB-C charging capabilities if the laptop have bigger battery unless you planning to use it for more than 7 hours continuously without charging it)
iv)You get better price for overall package compared to overpriced GS66
v)Better Quality Control and After Sales Service
vi)RMA waiting time is less because they can easily gets the parts. With MSI they need to order the parts from Taiwan if it isn't in stock.

Don't buy ASUS gaming laptop even GX502. ASUS don't have good QA and after sales service. GX502 have MAX-P version of 2070. This means the laptop will have hard time to cool down the GPU + those crazy hot 10th Gen i7 even after doing some tweaking. Thin & lightweight gaming laptop not suitable to have MAX-P version of 2070 even 2080 in them (except for 2060 MAX-P & 2070-MAX-Q because of lower watts).

Heard that the refreshed GX502 will get the LM paste (Liquid Metal). This could cool down the laptop a bit but you need reapply it again in the future for consistent cool down if you know how to do it or you need to sent it to the center? (Need some clarification about this) which probably they will sent it to Taiwan to apply it again using a machine from the looks of it.

Another thing for any 10th Gen Intel CPU laptop, you can't undervolt them anymore because of the plundervolt issue (not sure if it is a permanent or they will do BIOS update in the future to enable the undervolting capabilty, which I think they will). If you want to undervolt your laptop, consider this thing before buying.

I'm not trying to hate on MSI or ASUS nor do I want to start a hate war on them. Just giving my opinion after doing quite amount of research. Cheers.
Appreciate your input on this, I do agree the Vapor 15 Pro is a hell of a deal for what it is.

Is that the Type-C charging is the decision here. I'm still deliberating on that point.

I though would love to have the capability to charge my laptop with the Type-C.

Also, Vapor is sorta local warranty as far as I know, which could be a problem as I'm looking to be out of the country.

This post has been edited by mtcc: Apr 26 2020, 08:04 PM
mukhzani
post Apr 27 2020, 08:21 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(mtcc @ Apr 26 2020, 07:59 PM)
Appreciate your input on this, I do agree the Vapor 15 Pro is a hell of a deal for what it is.

Is that the Type-C charging is the decision here. I'm still deliberating on that point.

I though would love to have the capability to charge my laptop with the Type-C.

Also, Vapor is sorta local warranty as far as I know, which could be a problem as I'm looking to be out of the country.
just checked vapor pro review. so many bad comment from user. anyway, i just wait la. no rushing. only itchy hands
mtcc
post Apr 27 2020, 08:48 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(mukhzani @ Apr 27 2020, 08:21 AM)
just checked vapor pro review. so many bad comment from user. anyway, i just wait la. no rushing. only itchy hands
You know what's funny, at first i thought the price of the Vapor 15 and MSI GS66 was going to be a huge difference.

But after Customizing the Specs to somewhat close to each other the difference was only RM11

Basically the Vapor 15 was adjusted to 1TB SSD and Windows 10 Home.

But probably will wait for the GS66, once the MCO is over. Though I saw some retailers doing pre-orders.

What model are you looking at?
mukhzani
post Apr 27 2020, 09:55 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(mtcc @ Apr 27 2020, 08:48 AM)
You know what's funny, at first i thought the price of the Vapor 15 and MSI GS66 was going to be a huge difference.

But after Customizing the Specs to somewhat close to each other the difference was only RM11

Basically the Vapor 15 was adjusted to 1TB SSD and Windows 10 Home.

But probably will wait for the GS66, once the MCO is over. Though I saw some retailers doing pre-orders.

What model are you looking at?
might be gs66 or legion 7i. overloaded info already. too much watching youtube video for laptop review
TSZM Fong
post Apr 27 2020, 11:36 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(mukhzani @ Apr 27 2020, 08:21 AM)
Early versions do have many driver/software related issues but most of them are solved now (I blame Intel instead of Tongfang)
NiteBadger P
post Apr 27 2020, 09:59 PM

Probation

Hi ZM Fong,
is it worth buying the vapor-15 pro now or wait for the next refresh?

I did consider the GS66, but noticed that the network port is placed on the right side of the laptop. :/

I can wait for another 2 months and not looking for a gaming aesthetic laptop.
TSZM Fong
post Apr 27 2020, 10:50 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(NiteBadger @ Apr 27 2020, 09:59 PM)
Hi ZM Fong,
is it worth buying the vapor-15 pro now or wait for the next refresh?

I did consider the GS66, but noticed that the network port is placed on the right side of the laptop. :/

I can wait for another 2 months and not looking for a gaming aesthetic laptop.
It's still a decent choice if you want a thin and light gaming laptop with decent cooling and long battery life, without spending too much money

From the info I know there will not be a Tongfang QC7 (Vapor 15 Pro chassis) refresh this year
NiteBadger P
post Apr 28 2020, 08:57 PM

Probation

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 27 2020, 10:50 PM)
It's still a decent choice if you want a thin and light gaming laptop with decent cooling and long battery life, without spending too much money

From the info I know there will not be a Tongfang QC7 (Vapor 15 Pro chassis) refresh this year
I have just noticed that Aftershock or Level51 will be releasing the vapor 15x
https://www.aftershockpc.com/welcome/Productinner/vapor-15x

Looking forward to your review! rclxm9.gif
TSZM Fong
post Apr 28 2020, 10:16 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(NiteBadger @ Apr 28 2020, 08:57 PM)
I have just noticed that Aftershock or Level51 will be releasing the vapor 15x
https://www.aftershockpc.com/welcome/Productinner/vapor-15x

Looking forward to your review!  rclxm9.gif
Vapor 15x is actually Illegear's Onyx Pro (I have a review on it)
fish@5311
post May 3 2020, 05:06 AM

202 posts

Hi sifus,

Am looking to get a gaming laptop post MCO, am looking to get a 15inch with at least 2070SMQ. Preferable portable as I travel often and game on the go.

Right now aiming for Auros 15G, any comments on this ? Or should I wait out for better alternatives ?

Currently I have an Illegear d9x , hence I want to view other options in the market aside from Illegear . Ps I don’t dislike them, they are good in fact, just itchy to try other brands now 😃.

TSZM Fong
post May 3 2020, 11:12 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(fish@5311 @ May 3 2020, 05:06 AM)
Hi sifus,

Am looking to get a gaming laptop post MCO, am looking to get a 15inch with at least 2070SMQ. Preferable portable as I travel often and game on the go.

Right now aiming for Auros 15G,  any comments on this ? Or should I wait out for better alternatives ?

Currently I have an Illegear d9x , hence I want to view other options in the market aside from Illegear . Ps I don’t dislike them, they are good in fact, just itchy to try other brands now 😃.
Aorus 15G is based on the new Aero 15, it's a decent model but not cheap. There are many similar yet cheaper options
fish@5311
post May 3 2020, 12:13 PM

202 posts

Deleted - duplicate post

This post has been edited by fish@5311: May 3 2020, 12:15 PM
fish@5311
post May 3 2020, 12:15 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 3 2020, 11:12 AM)
Aorus 15G is based on the new Aero 15, it's a decent model but not cheap. There are many similar yet cheaper options
Hi sifu ,

Thank you for your input! Mind to share the better alternatives in the market ?

In terms of weight am looking at something lighter than my current illegear which is almost 4kg , and for budget, I am flexible within rm10k but expandable as I know good gaming machines don't come cheap and light together.

Secondly,

Should I push for 2080 super max q instead ? Is the performance gap worth to spend the extra compared to the 2070 super max q? Am not a creator, but I like my machines to at least play AAA titles with maxed out settings (non 4k) for at least 3 years.

I am not in a rush at the moment to buy and can wait out abit for newer models coming out in Q3 2020.

Thank you for entertaining my long humble questions.
TSZM Fong
post May 3 2020, 12:20 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(fish@5311 @ May 3 2020, 12:15 PM)
Hi sifu ,

Thank you for your input!  Mind to share the better alternatives in the market ?

In terms of weight am looking at something lighter than my current illegear which is almost 4kg , and for budget, I am flexible within rm10k but expandable as I know good gaming machines don't come cheap and light together.

Secondly,

Should I push for 2080 super max q instead ? Is the performance gap worth to spend the extra compared to the 2070 super max q?  Am not a creator, but I like my machines to at least play AAA titles with maxed out settings (non 4k) for at least 3 years.

I am not in a rush at the moment to buy and can wait out abit for newer models coming out in Q3 2020.

Thank you for entertaining my long humble questions.
I assume that you're looking for a thin and light gaming laptop with big battery? If yes, what are the thickness and weight you prefer?

Illegear also got thin and light models with long battery life like Onyx G, Selenite Pro (17 inch)

2080SMQ isn't that worth IMO. 2070SMQ is about a 2070N, still OK but price a little high

Would suggest waiting. There are other models like Legion 7

169 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:15 PM