169 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Gaming laptops approval list, Last update: 9 March 2022

TSZM Fong
post Apr 22 2020, 10:28 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(clanzkiller @ Apr 21 2020, 11:42 PM)
So i guess i go with the R5 3600 with 1660ti then.
Maybe i buy and let u review it? hahahaha

oh ya btw, you mentioned that the forge has only one primary slot of ssd. It still can add another HDD right so become SSD + HDD?
Just take note that the 1660Ti is offered with 120Hz 45% NTSC ~15ms GTG panel, while 2060/2070 has 144Hz 72% NTSC

I can review it myself once it's ready, thanks for the offer anyway

For Forge 15R, there are x2 M.2 slots and x1 2.5 inch bay
QUOTE(x3r0x @ Apr 22 2020, 10:08 AM)
Hi sifus,my laptop screen is 120hz, can i connect to 144hz or higher PC monitor and get that refresh rate or will it just limit to my 120hz?
Yes you can, it will work at 144Hz at external monitor
x3r0x
post Apr 22 2020, 11:11 AM

22 posts

thanks notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by x3r0x: Apr 22 2020, 11:12 AM
ybtan
post Apr 23 2020, 03:55 PM

663 posts

hi all, any comments on these 3 laptops?

Asus G531G-VAZ262T
MSI GS65 9SE-658
AORUS 15-WA

This post has been edited by ybtan: Apr 23 2020, 05:30 PM
TSZM Fong
post Apr 23 2020, 08:24 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(ybtan @ Apr 23 2020, 03:55 PM)

Asus G531G-VAZ262T
MSI GS65 9SE-658
AORUS 15-WA
Open to other options?
myway1985
post Apr 23 2020, 08:53 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(ybtan @ Apr 23 2020, 03:55 PM)

Asus G531G-VAZ262T
MSI GS65 9SE-658
AORUS 15-WA
Quality wise...aorus win..
peterlee.prop
post Apr 24 2020, 10:07 AM

Morning sifus. Am looking at 2 different models which has the same CPU and GPU however cost wise is around Rm1400 difference, could you all help to identify what are the other differences between them and whether worth the money?

Level 51 Forge 15x vs illegear Onyx G
TSZM Fong
post Apr 24 2020, 10:53 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(peterlee.prop @ Apr 24 2020, 10:07 AM)
Morning sifus. Am looking at 2 different models which has the same CPU and GPU however cost wise is around Rm1400 difference, could you all help to identify what are the other differences between them and whether worth the money?

No reviews, can't comment
mtcc
post Apr 24 2020, 11:19 AM

183 posts

I'm deciding either between the:-
GS66 Stealth
Zephyrus S GX502

Is there a big differences in the GPU between the RTX 2060 (MSI) & RTX 2070 (ASUS)

I'm also open to other suggestions on laptops
xxdanialxx
post Apr 24 2020, 12:29 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(peterlee.prop @ Apr 24 2020, 10:07 AM)

Not comparable at all although similar cpu and gpu, one is budget model (forge) with lower battery capacity, plastic body. Another one (Onyx G) with mechanical keyboard, thunderbolt 3, 92wh battery and full metal chassis.

If want cheap price, go for FORGE better value for money bro.
TSZM Fong
post Apr 24 2020, 01:58 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(mtcc @ Apr 24 2020, 11:19 AM)
GS66 Stealth
Zephyrus S GX502

Is there a big differences in the GPU between the RTX 2060 (MSI) & RTX 2070 (ASUS)

Able to wait for 1-2 months? Preferred max weight and min battery life?

2060 and 2070 do have noticeable performance difference (Max-P cards)
mtcc
post Apr 24 2020, 08:41 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 24 2020, 01:58 PM)
Able to wait for 1-2 months? Preferred max weight and min battery life?

2060 and 2070 do have noticeable performance difference (Max-P cards)
Basically, i'm looking for an array of things from a laptop. But I know it's not possible.

I'm looking for a long battery life with good gaming graphics.

I'm not sure if you know what's the battery times for the GS66 Stealth since it's a 99.9 Watt Hour battery.

I wonder how big of a difference it is with the Asus model
TSZM Fong
post Apr 24 2020, 11:29 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(mtcc @ Apr 24 2020, 08:41 PM)
Basically, i'm looking for an array of things from a laptop. But I know it's not possible.

I'm looking for a long battery life with good gaming graphics.

I'm not sure if you know what's the battery times for the GS66 Stealth since it's a 99.9 Watt Hour battery.

I wonder how big of a difference it is with the Asus model
GS66 can around 7-8 hrs despite larger 99Wh battery. Since Zen 2 is more efficient compared to Comet Lake, 8-10 hrs is possible in G14 despite smaller 76Wh battery
mtcc
post Apr 25 2020, 01:05 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 24 2020, 11:29 PM)
GS66 can around 7-8 hrs despite larger 99Wh battery. Since Zen 2 is more efficient compared to Comet Lake, 8-10 hrs is possible in G14 despite smaller 76Wh battery
G14 is the Asus with AMD Chip?

Unfortunately the G14 is only a RTX2060 Max-Q, if it was a full RTX2060 then it would be a sweet spot

How about the Asus Zephyrus S 2019 model, what's the battery life like. I heard is around 5 hours at best?

This post has been edited by mtcc: Apr 25 2020, 01:07 AM
TSZM Fong
post Apr 25 2020, 10:49 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(mtcc @ Apr 25 2020, 01:05 AM)
G14 is the Asus with AMD Chip?

Unfortunately the G14 is only a RTX2060 Max-Q, if it was a full RTX2060 then it would be a sweet spot

How about the Asus Zephyrus S 2019 model, what's the battery life like. I heard is around 5 hours at best?
Oh you mean GX502. Around 5 hrs with Optimus on.

Open to other options?
mukhzani
post Apr 25 2020, 11:25 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(mtcc @ Apr 24 2020, 11:19 AM)
GS66 Stealth
Zephyrus S GX502

im looking into these two models also. but gs66 from youtube video mention about slightly low poor quality build. about asus zep s model 2020, i have no idea when it will be released.

now looking at lenovo legion 7i - but it comes with numpad, i hate it
alienware - but the spec is low on dell website. and dell website really sucks at customising.

this mco making my hand very itchy to buy. otherwise i can wait for other models to come out. im also same as u looking for it to have good gpu and good battery life

This post has been edited by mukhzani: Apr 25 2020, 11:26 AM
mtcc
post Apr 25 2020, 04:09 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 25 2020, 10:49 AM)
Oh you mean GX502. Around 5 hrs with Optimus on.

Open to other options?
Sure, always open to other options.

Few Requirements though
- Minimum of RTX 2060
- Must be able to charge laptop via Type-C
- Decent Battery Life
- International Warranty
mtcc
post Apr 25 2020, 04:11 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(mukhzani @ Apr 25 2020, 11:25 AM)
im looking into these two models also. but gs66 from youtube video mention about slightly low poor quality build. about asus zep s model 2020, i have no idea when it will be released.

now looking at lenovo legion 7i - but it comes with numpad, i hate it
alienware - but the spec is low on dell website. and dell website really sucks at customising.

this mco making my hand very itchy to buy. otherwise i can wait for other models to come out. im also same as u looking for it to have good gpu and good battery life
We both looks like we're in the same boat.

Let me guess you got the poor build quality of the GS66 from Dave2D?

Yes, i do hate the numpad on a laptop as it shifts the typing location

I'm drawn to the Asus GX502 only because of the Full RTX 2070 that comes with it

But for the GS66, if i'm not mistaken they start shipping once MCO ends.

This post has been edited by mtcc: Apr 25 2020, 04:12 PM
myway1985
post Apr 25 2020, 04:20 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(mtcc @ Apr 25 2020, 04:11 PM)
We both looks like we're in the same boat.

Let me guess you got the poor build quality of the GS66 from Dave2D?

Yes, i do hate the numpad on a laptop as it shifts the typing location

I'm drawn to the Asus GX502 only because of the Full RTX 2070 that comes with it

But for the GS66, if i'm not mistaken they start shipping once MCO ends.
Dell g7 with 2070 max Q?
TSZM Fong
post Apr 25 2020, 04:35 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(mtcc @ Apr 25 2020, 04:09 PM)
- Must be able to charge laptop via Type-C
- International Warranty
I guess you'll be stuck with Asus Zephyrus, despite their below average QC and aftersales
mtcc
post Apr 25 2020, 04:46 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 25 2020, 04:35 PM)
I guess you'll be stuck with Asus Zephyrus, despite their below average QC and aftersales
Hence why I've narrowed it down to those 2.

So based on your opinion Asus or MSI?

169 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0220sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:45 PM