39 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

My Movie Review Thread V3, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

Veteran director Martin Scorsese recently criticised review aggregator websites for pushing the idea that "every image is there to be instantly judged and dismissed without giving audiences time to see it." Do reviews online reduce value of cine

Judgement is fast in the social media age and film-makers should get used to it. [ 20 ] ** [27.40%]
Reviewing a movie should be left to experts. [ 7 ] ** [9.59%]
Viewers take their own decisions irrespective of quick reviews. [ 46 ] ** [63.01%]
Total Votes: 73
Guests cannot vote 

xpole
post Apr 29 2024, 09:55 PM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

Zack Snyder glory time is OVER.

I've watched the Rebel Moon 1 and Rebel Moon 2.
Cliche script, mediocre acting. Snoozefest.

I gave 3/10. Netflix said there will be Rebel Moon 3. I'm not going to waste my time watching the 3rd installment.

skylinelover
post May 1 2024, 07:03 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,236 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ Apr 29 2024, 09:55 PM)
Zack Snyder glory time is OVER.

I've watched the Rebel Moon 1 and Rebel Moon 2.
Cliche script, mediocre acting. Snoozefest.

I gave 3/10. Netflix said there will be Rebel Moon 3. I'm not going to waste my time watching the 3rd installment.
Hahahaha

His creative dried up already

laugh.gif rclxub.gif
6so
post May 1 2024, 07:56 PM

135 posts

While Furiosa not out yet, not too keen on Fall Guy. Monkey Man turns out pretty OK. You can see shades of John Wick and surprise to see Dev Patel actually can do good action sequences. More of Gareth Evans hard hitting choreography instead of the over produced Hollywood variety. It's not gonna reinvent the wheel but excited to see if Patel can parlay to something bigger. Give it a try.
skylinelover
post May 2 2024, 11:38 AM

11,236 posts

QUOTE(6so @ May 1 2024, 07:56 PM)

While Furiosa not out yet, not too keen on Fall Guy. Monkey Man turns out pretty OK. You can see shades of John Wick and surprise to see Dev Patel actually can do good action sequences. More of Gareth Evans hard hitting choreography instead of the over produced Hollywood variety. It's not gonna reinvent the wheel but excited to see if Patel can parlay to something bigger. Give it a try.
He got black belt in TKD actually

Also he direct the remaining movie with 1 arm only

He broke 1 during the toilet fights and man that hurt

It already clearly documented in all his interviews and talk show

That is balls of steel wei laugh.gif rclxms.gif
skylinelover
post May 8 2024, 10:24 PM

11,236 posts

RiP summer console.gif console.gif

big pressure for kingdom apes this weekend drool.gif rclxm9.gif
6so
post May 12 2024, 11:33 AM

135 posts

The Ministry of Ungentlemanly Warfare - This is Guy Richie version of Dirty Dozen. Ok watch and just don't expect this is anything new. Just turn off your brain and see some glorified Nazi dying on screen. Bare minimum it's not offensively boring or stupid.
skylinelover
post May 14 2024, 07:35 AM

11,236 posts

QUOTE(6so @ May 12 2024, 11:33 AM)
The Ministry of Ungentlemanly Warfare - This is Guy Richie version of Dirty Dozen. Ok watch and just don't expect this is anything new. Just turn off your brain and see some glorified Nazi dying on screen. Bare minimum it's not offensively boring or stupid.
Haha line up us great with 2 Henrys laugh.gif

Too bad this will only be streaming worthy title just like most originals laugh.gif

Even that spiderman babe movie "challengers" only got 1 slot in my area laugh.gif

A listers dont sell anymore Only the IP sells icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
6so
post May 18 2024, 09:25 AM

135 posts

Twilight of the Warriors: Walked In - I was surprised this HK movie is very watchable. It's an adaptation of a Manhua, so you have exaggerated kungfu action set pieces and larger than life characterisations. Soi Cheang did well without making things too cartoonish and effective world building elements. It does gives you the feeling of reading a Manhua.This is way better than the old Dragon Tiger Gate starring Donnie Yen, another Manhua movie. Also you can see the four protagonist basically new actors, perhaps ushering the next wave of HK action stars. Good watch.

This post has been edited by 6so: May 18 2024, 09:45 AM
skylinelover
post May 21 2024, 09:48 PM

11,236 posts

QUOTE(6so @ May 18 2024, 09:25 AM)

Twilight of the Warriors: Walked In - I was surprised this HK movie is very watchable. It's an adaptation of a Manhua, so you have exaggerated kungfu action set pieces and larger than life characterisations. Soi Cheang did well without making things too cartoonish and effective world building elements. It does gives you the feeling of reading a Manhua.This is way better than the old Dragon Tiger Gate starring Donnie Yen, another Manhua movie. Also you can see the four protagonist basically new actors, perhaps ushering the next wave of HK action stars. Good watch.
Haha yesh

With Sammo here

I think its a sign of passing the action torch i guess laugh.gif laugh.gif
defaultname365
post May 26 2024, 02:12 AM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Kingdom of the Planet of the Apes (2024)

Watched it a week ago. I thought the reboot trilogy ended beautifully and there was no more story to tell. It's a brilliant idea to do a time jump. Overall, I feel they have gotten the formula right with this (supposedly) reboot sequel trilogy.
The CGI still holds up really well (nothing groundbreaking but still stellar), with mo-cap performances that Andy Serkis would be proud of and most importantly a story that is worth telling. Highly recommended if you love the reboot trilogy
and can't get enough of the apes. Some pacing issues but not a big deal as the story holds up beautifully right until the end.

8/10

Furiosa: A Mad Max Saga (2024)

What a lovely day prequel! Anya Taylor-Joy and Chris Hemsworth performances are nothing short of extraordinary. It's a very worthy prequel to Fury Road. The action sequences and stunts were as good as Fury Road. However, I must say,
you might be wondering "why" and "what" if you didn't watch Fury Road. There's way too many references, callbacks and backstory that lays down the trajectory for Fury Road. You will still enjoy it, but you would not be able to truly appreciate it
without seeing Fury Road. Overall, for me, this is one of the best movies of the year I've seen, and I watched it on IMAX (I can't recall when was the last movie I watched on IMAX to be honest... probably pre-pandemic) and it was truly memorable.
It's a revenge story set in the wastelands with non-stop chase sequences and vehicular combat. George Miller has done it again though I will still say that Fury Road gets my vote over which is "better" (this is a prequel so comparing
the two may not be entirely fair to be honest). No noticeable footage was cut for Malaysian audiences, but some artwork being blocked out, no biggie. I think it's worth watching on IMAX, to me it was worth the ticket admission. Do I feel the urge to rewatch it again?
Probably not. Fury Road... I watched 3 times back in 2015; once on IMAX, second time on D-Box, and third on regular, and remains one of the best action movies ever made. cool2.gif

9/10
skylinelover
post May 26 2024, 03:33 PM

11,236 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ May 26 2024, 02:12 AM)
Kingdom of the Planet of the Apes (2024)

Watched it a week ago. I thought the reboot trilogy ended beautifully and there was no more story to tell. It's a brilliant idea to do a time jump. Overall, I feel they have gotten the formula right with this (supposedly) reboot sequel trilogy.
The CGI still holds up really well (nothing groundbreaking but still stellar), with mo-cap performances that Andy Serkis would be proud of and most importantly a story that is worth telling. Highly recommended if you love the reboot trilogy
and can't get enough of the apes. Some pacing issues but not a big deal as the story holds up beautifully right until the end.

8/10
Furiosa: A Mad Max Saga (2024)

What a lovely day prequel! Anya Taylor-Joy and Chris Hemsworth performances are nothing short of extraordinary. It's a very worthy prequel to Fury Road. The action sequences and stunts were as good as Fury Road. However, I must say,
you might be wondering "why" and "what" if you didn't watch Fury Road. There's way too many references, callbacks and backstory that lays down the trajectory for Fury Road. You will still enjoy it, but you would not be able to truly appreciate it
without seeing Fury Road. Overall, for me, this is one of the best movies of the year I've seen, and I watched it on IMAX (I can't recall when was the last movie I watched on IMAX to be honest... probably pre-pandemic) and it was truly memorable.
It's a revenge story set in the wastelands with non-stop chase sequences and vehicular combat. George Miller has done it again though I will still say that Fury Road gets my vote over which is "better" (this is a prequel so comparing
the two may not be entirely fair to be honest). No noticeable footage was cut for Malaysian audiences, but some artwork being blocked out, no biggie. I think it's worth watching on IMAX, to me it was worth the ticket admission. Do I feel the urge to rewatch it again?
Probably not. Fury Road... I watched 3 times back in 2015; once on IMAX, second time on D-Box, and third on regular, and remains one of the best action movies ever made.  cool2.gif

9/10
No to apes

Yay to furiosa

Haha

Also i already catch 2 times laugh.gif rclxms.gif

1 imax 1 4dx
GravityFi3ld
post May 29 2024, 01:12 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ May 26 2024, 03:33 PM)
No to apes

Yay to furiosa

Haha

Also i already catch 2 times laugh.gif rclxms.gif

1 imax 1 4dx
which would you recommend, to go for it in imax or 4dx? notworthy.gif
skylinelover
post May 31 2024, 09:38 AM

11,236 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ May 29 2024, 01:12 PM)
which would you recommend, to go for it in imax or 4dx?  notworthy.gif
4DX roller coaster

IMAX visual feasting your eyes

Pick which type of fun you like then

laugh.gif rclxm9.gif
6so
post Jun 18 2024, 06:38 AM

135 posts

Civil War - Overall I like it a lot but can understand why people not buying into it. Mainly the trailer suggest it's a wall to wall action war movie but with A24 and Alex Garland branding, you aren't seeing that kind of movie. Ultimately it's a mentorship of a fresh war photographer with US civil war as backdrop. Losing of innocence and the psychology trauma to endure when comes to be in the frontline of a horrific war. You don't get why and how the war started and a very subtle messaging on the importance of journalism prevalence.
6so
post Jun 18 2024, 06:57 AM

135 posts

Furiosa - Surprise to see Miller foregoing the frenzy storytelling style of Fury road and went with a more structural narrative. Not saying it's inferior cause the craftsmanship shown here destroyed anything what the rest of Hollywood can put out. Sadly it didn't get the projected blockbuster and unwarranted expectations, it can surpass Fury Road. Still a damn good movie. So if there will be another wasteland movie, I don't mind a continuation of Furiosa.
6so
post Jun 18 2024, 07:09 AM

135 posts

Boy Kills World - Like Monkey Man this is a breakout role for Bill Skarsgard as an unlikely action star. I really like the frantic and wacky premise. Shut off your brain and take in all the blood spatter gore. It's entertaining.
skylinelover
post Jun 18 2024, 08:42 AM

11,236 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Jun 18 2024, 07:09 AM)

Boy Kills World - Like Monkey Man this is a breakout role for Bill Skarsgard as an unlikely action star. I really like the frantic and wacky premise. Shut off your brain and take in all the blood spatter gore. It's entertaining.
Haha watch his training montage

Is more bad ass than he in the movie itself

laugh.gif Good 2 see an unfrench Bill speaking 4 a change laugh.gif

I still cant erase off my head Bill speaking the perfect French accent sweat.gif sweat.gif
skylinelover
post Jul 2 2024, 10:25 AM

11,236 posts

We finally got $1 billion hit for 2024 yo laugh.gif

What the long wait but its worth the long wait rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Jul 2 2024, 10:26 AM
skylinelover
post Jul 19 2024, 09:58 AM

11,236 posts

Twisters or Marvel D vs W anyone? Haha! laugh.gif rclxms.gif Welcome 2 the peak of blockbuster season. laugh.gif rclxms.gif
Mov_freak
post Jul 20 2024, 05:06 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Twister (2024)

Hello kiddies.

How is everyone.

I watched this two days back and here's what I think.

Note the following

OST of Twister 1996

Talula (BT's Tornado Mix) - Tori Amos
Motherless Child - Eric Clapton
Darling Pretty - Mark Knopfler
Twisted - Stevie Nicks and Lindsey Buckingham
Melancholy Mechanics - Red Hot Chili Peppers
She Ain't Coming Back - Joe Diffie
Virtual Reality - Rusted Root
No One Needs to Know - Shania Twain
Child in Time - Deep Purple
Oklahoma - Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II
Long Way Down - Goo Goo Dolls
Miss This - Soul Asylum
Broken - Belly
See the Sky Again - Edwin McCain
Humans Being - Van Halen
How - Lisa Loeb & Nine Stories
Moments Like This - Alison Krauss & Union Station
De Natura Sonoris No. 1 - Krzysztof Penderecki
Love Affair - K.D. Lang
Respect The Wind - Edward Van Halen (as Edward) and Alex Van Halen

OST of Twisters 2024

Salio el sol - Don Omar
Never Left Me - Megan Moroney
Death Wish Love - Benson Boone
Ain't No Love in Oklahoma - Luke Combs
Chasing The Wind - Lanie Gardner
Arkansas - Chris Stapleton
(Ghost) Riders in the Sky - Charley Crockett
Wall of Death - Wilderado, Ken Pomeroy & James McAlister
Song While You're Away - Tyler Childers
Hell or High Water - Bailey Zimmerman
Too Easy - Tanner Adell
Dead End Road - Jelly Roll
Feelin' Country - Thomas Rhett
The Cards I've Been Dealt - Warren Zeiders
Boots Don't - Shania Twain & Breland
Country Classic - Kane Brown
Out of Oklahoma - Lainey Wilson
Chrome Cowgirl - Leon Bridges
Steal My Thunder - Conner Smith
Already Had It - Tucker Wetmore
Tear Us Apart - Sam Barber
Run Horse Run - Charley Crockett
Ain't in Kansas Anymore - Miranda Lambert
Leave the Light On - Jelly Roll feat. Alexandra Kay

Do you see it?

The original Twister was targeted at everyone.

This new one seems to be more narrow in terms of it's target audience...

One surprise was to see David Corenswet (that's right, the next Superman). I have to say he probably was getting ready for the said role while he was filming this and have to say he does look jacked. I think it is a risk for him to be in this because he does not play a nice guy...

With all the special effects what this movie really forgot is, how to make the movie fun.

I had the opportunity to watch the original recently and that movie was fun.

Overall the new one can be entertaining.

Definitely outside of Dune 2 this is one of the better movie this year.

My Two Sen.

39 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0503sec    0.26    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:28 AM