My Movie Review Thread V3, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

Veteran director Martin Scorsese recently criticised review aggregator websites for pushing the idea that "every image is there to be instantly judged and dismissed without giving audiences time to see it." Do reviews online reduce value of cine

Judgement is fast in the social media age and film-makers should get used to it. [ 20 ] ** [27.40%]
Reviewing a movie should be left to experts. [ 7 ] ** [9.59%]
Viewers take their own decisions irrespective of quick reviews. [ 46 ] ** [63.01%]
Total Votes: 73
Guests cannot vote 

GravityFi3ld
post Jun 30 2019, 11:01 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

Toy Story 4.0 - Ini Kali La!

Loved it! And definitely better than I anticipated smile.gif

If you haven’t watched, and don’t want to be spoiled- read no further ok? laugh.gif

GravityFi3ld
post Nov 21 2019, 08:37 AM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

KLAUS (Netflix, 2019)
5/5☆s

To be honest, i went into this film not knowing what it was about at all - other than that Klaus is "Claus".

Everything seems to hit the right note (for me at least). Beautifully animated and accompanied with a lovely score to carry the story from start to finish.
Voice actors for the Characters were perfect smile.gif

I highly suggest you guys not read about the plot or summary, and just dive into it as clueless as i was. laugh.gif
GravityFi3ld
post Oct 26 2020, 03:03 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

Over The Moon (2020)[Netplix]
Honestly just jumped into it as it caught my 3y.o's eye(attention) as we were scrolling thru for something to watch (Kids profile la XD)
The animation is nice and very very colorful, a wonderful depiction of Mid-Autumn and it's story/origin of Mooncakes - but the theme i suppose is Death and how the living carry on their lives.
If you are a fan of those old-school Disney films where they can just pop a song into every scene - this is for you !
Story is a little too complex for my 3y.o (too many why why why T_T ), she even fell asleep halfway through - ha! laugh.gif

I'd give it 03/05, probably won't be watching again any time soon (unlike Klaus, which we have watched numerous times) - maybe next year's Mid-Autumn laugh.gif
Things I enjoyed
☆ The score composed by Steven Price
☆ The animation/graphics, that rabbit of hers is so adobs!

Things I did not enjoy
☆ Too much singing, some of the songs don't even make sense cry.gif
☆ Draggy plot/storyline (idk, maybe suits the kids more? eh..)
GravityFi3ld
post Apr 2 2021, 06:36 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

Setahun, hanya sekali..jeng jeng jeng, Selamaaat Hariii...Rayaaaaa & the Last Naga (sorry, I couldn't resist) laugh.gif
James Newton Howard. Remember his name.
This composer has gotta get more cred for his amazing works (he did the score for the Dark Knight too FYI, common folk only recognize Hans as the composer laugh.gif ) - haven't had my heart tugged by Howard's tunes since 2006's Blood Diamond cry.gif his score for this animation is outstanding (go feed your ears on Spotify!)
As for the animation, story was pretty nice - did think they tried to cram-in too many SEA cultures tho .. Decently paced, my kid and i enjoyed it thumbsup.gif
One particular 1 aspect of the show that really stuck out (at least to me) - FOOD. It brings us all together. (jom makan!)

If you haven't watched, MAYBE, don't click the spoiler XD

GravityFi3ld
post Feb 25 2022, 03:43 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Feb 24 2022, 07:52 PM)
Haha The Big Hit is like how NKOTB took over last half of the 80s with Donnie Wahlberg laugh.gif rclxms.gif
I can only ever remember him from his role as Carwood Lipton, from the HBO series Band of Brothers laugh.gif
GravityFi3ld
post Apr 21 2022, 05:59 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

The Keluangman Batman (2022)

The first time I watched a Bat-film and snoozed away mid-show was Nolan's Batman Beningnings Begins.

Same thing happened here, eyes on the screen , mind wandered off, sleep mode activated - last scene I recall was the wake/funeral scene, so much talking confused.gif and dozed off, woke up to see KL Gotham Banjir laugh.gif

Will need to find time to re-watch the whole thing rolleyes.gif

I rate my nap 5/5 thumbup.gif hope i didn't snore (too loudly?) doh.gif
GravityFi3ld
post May 9 2022, 12:48 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Apr 17 2022, 04:40 PM)

My brain cells dying every minute the movie plays. Good news…it's not as annoying as his last few movies. Bad news...it's still a STUPID Michael Bay movie with zero redeeming quality. The only good thing to say is Eiza Gonzalez looks hot. Thank god the MBO management belanja me otherwise won't even travel to cinema for it.
It wasn't THAT bad, it is much worse! laugh.gif
You just don't feel it - at all. Didn't feel any thrills during their car chases, even the heist scenes was so meh.

Additional: Some scenes were out of sync too, as in, not in proper order - perhaps uncle bay unintentionally tried to mimic uncle nolan laugh.gif

This post has been edited by GravityFi3ld: May 9 2022, 04:45 PM
GravityFi3ld
post Dec 22 2022, 04:18 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

Emancipation (2022)
Went into to this film without any prior hint of what it is about.

I think Will Smith's stunt at the Oscars left a bad taste in my subconscious. Had a less than positive feel of the film when he appeared sweat.gif

The film overall, while shares the same "Slavery" theme as 12 Years (A Slave) - is very much its own thing.
I did enjoy that the film was in Black n White.
Plot/Story-wise - some scenes were well executed and others dragged out a tad too much.

I'd say in short, it's a mix of 12 Years (2013) + Revenant (2015) laugh.gif But 100% do not feel it is Oscar worthy, at all. #SemuaSalahSmithSlap
GravityFi3ld
post Feb 15 2023, 03:29 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

Black Panther: Waka-Waka Forever.

Yes. Waka-waka. What a way to so say "pay tribute" to Boseman - probably made poor soul turn in his grave.

Poor story-telling. Even the dialogues were cringeyyyy!! puke.gif
Poor character building - failed to juggle all the cast big time! rolleyes.gif
And holy poop nuts, shite world building - R.I.P Talokan, what a bloody far cry from James Wan's Atlantis in Aquaman. Even Avatar : WotW had better, superior, under water scenes. shakehead.gif

Harlo Marvel, please change it to Talokan: A Black Panther Story. And leave good ol' Boseman's name out of it. ranting.gif
GravityFi3ld
post Feb 21 2023, 10:08 AM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania (2023)

Another marvel film with a ridiculously lazy title. Put lah, Quantum Realm - An Ant-Man Story/Adventure (seriously, DONT NEED INCLUDE "THE WASP" la weyh rolleyes.gif ).

This film is quite the parallel to Rise Of Skywalker BUT BETTER! So much better! I miss Luis and his crew (but hey, glad Dastmalchian still had a role - filled with holes! iykyk laugh.gif )

Decent enough plot, pace was good until the last quarter/last third of it? everything just rushed.. like TVB drama last episode, cincai buat je just to conclude the show laugh.gif

Villains were.. meh. IDK why Disney and/or Marvel keep putting them down like that sad.gif No doubt tho, Kang exudes far better charisma than that kul'kukhun namor from Talokan.

holy sh*t (why our film censorship board even bother to censor this word in the film is beyond me..) But this. This is what Star Wars USED to be and SHOULD have become. Vibrant world (or in this case, "realm") brought to the big screen.

GravityFi3ld
post Apr 28 2023, 10:53 AM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

GHOSTED (2023)
Good fun. Good laugh.

Both leads, De Armas and Evans, are also the Producers for this film.

Definitely enjoyed laugh.gif this film -
GravityFi3ld
post Aug 18 2023, 02:20 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

Heart of Stone (2023) [Meh-flix]
Not even the allure of Gal Gadot can save this film.

Plot-wise, really straightforward stuff.. if there was a supposedly "PLOT TWIST" - I saw it from a mile away.
In fact, it is one of those shows that you clearly know who the main antagonist is right off the bat.
The action sequences were.. not very exciting. At all. <- almost as bad as Extraction 2 laugh.gif

There is just nothing special or noteworthy about it.
GravityFi3ld
post Sep 21 2023, 03:04 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Sep 21 2023, 01:52 PM)
Movie season drying up soon with the strike continues laugh.gif rclxub.gif

I think expend4bles will be the last high profile release of the year surely laugh.gif rclxub.gif
ooi, how dare you miss out on one of the most anticipated films of the month - Paw Patrol's Mighty Movie! The first one was not bad - had a few good laughs, me and kiddo looking forward to the second one next week! laugh.gif
GravityFi3ld
post Sep 29 2023, 09:52 AM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

Paw Patrol's Mighty Movie!

Mana? GSC's PlayPlus Hall @ Tropicana Gardens.

Tsunami Tearnami Warning. This movie made A LOT of kids cry (at least that is what happened in our hall) - parents too! laugh.gif

Just like the first one, the film will focus on a particular pup's struggles.

There's good laughs, easy plot to follow (for the kids kan) and pretty vibrant animation - which brings it to an all-round good fam film, especially if your kid is a Paw Patrol fan! thumbsup.gif
GravityFi3ld
post Feb 21 2024, 06:13 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

Ini festive period boleh la catch up on some movies

The Beekeeper
If you are into Statham's earlier gigs as Mechanic/Transporter, this film has those vibes.
Good enough to while away the time, not much to shout about tho once you see the same action/moves repeated again and again just in different setting sweat.gif
And am pretty sure Jeremy Irons is in it just for a quick buck/easy paycheck laugh.gif

Bursting Point
I have seen my fair share of HK triad-police spy action thrillers, this has to be one of the WORST.
No head, no tail - the plot just makes no sense (for me sweat.gif ).
Then there's the choreography of the fight scenes, so horribly done rclxub.gif

Palm Springs (2020)
Yeap, it's been out for quite a while - but managed to catch it.
Well, in short - TENET. But a funny/lighter rom-com version of it laugh.gif
Very much like the video game, Deathloop laugh.gif
GravityFi3ld
post May 29 2024, 01:12 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ May 26 2024, 03:33 PM)
No to apes

Yay to furiosa

Haha

Also i already catch 2 times laugh.gif rclxms.gif

1 imax 1 4dx
which would you recommend, to go for it in imax or 4dx? notworthy.gif
GravityFi3ld
post Aug 5 2024, 12:09 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

Avengers&Winnie the Pooh.. eh, bukan .. Disney&WarnerBros? .. eh silap lagi, ish..
Deadpool & Wolverine

Anyone else, like legit serious, from start to finish - felt the Stranger Things vibes going on in the bgms and songs?
Cause, surprise! They roped in Rob Simonson for the film's music, and he put his magic to Madonna's Like A Prayer just like he did to Kate Bush's Running Up That Hill in Stranger Things Season 4.
This filmed pulled all sorts of scores from previous Marvel/Fox films - can't help but feel the he leaned a little too much into Days of Future Past' Hope and First Class's Rage & Serenity/Sub Lift - but hej, that's just me laugh.gif cool.gif

Trivia:

This film is very much of you doing this:
And not just in terms of Marvel/Comic references, but memes, and much more! So if you've been under your lotus petal for a while, some of it might just fly through your hair laugh.gif

If you're down for a good laugh, and a touch of nostalgia - with lot's of vulgarity and over-the-top Disney-violence, then yes, LFG!

But bring your under 18s at your own risk! Don't blame Mickey if your kid becomes a meresian with mouth after watching this film! rclxs0.gif

This post has been edited by GravityFi3ld: Aug 22 2024, 02:26 PM
GravityFi3ld
post Nov 19 2024, 10:59 AM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

Si Robot Liar / The Wild Wild West Robot
If you loved HTTYD, then this is something similar with a refreshing perspective.
Very beautifully animated film accompanied with a very interesting and heartfelt score thumbsup.gif

GravityFi3ld
post Jan 6 2025, 11:35 AM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

HERETIC
This show, very many yik yik yak yak talk talk talk, very angmoh gwailou style suspense - so if you looking for action and adventure, marvel DC pew pew pew, or some tears inducing drama then it is 100% not your cup of tea. Ini wayang, mau kasi guna itu brain pikir pikir - if you are sensitive strawberry penunggang agama (tak kisah la agama mana ya satu) - you might be very triggered.

ok - with that aside - this film for me, is an absolutely marvelous piece of cinema thumbsup.gif
It is a well balanced suspenseful film which dabbles with beliefs that might just make you ask yourself... WHAT IF?
Very good performances by the main trio - Hugh Grant, Sophie Thatcher and Chloe East. The music is just about right to keep you on the edge of your seat, one of the more interesting films in recent times.

KRAVEN The Cookie Monster Hunter
this one, one word.

You'd think sony would stop webbing around after the mess that is Morbius, Madame Web and quite recently Venom 3.0 - but hot diggitydang, Quicksilver Tarzan versi si spiderman dia pun tak lepas.
At least Madame Web got eye candy ha, this one batang berjuntai sape mau tengok sweat.gif
Ok - rantosaurus done ranting - i do believe if this came out during the early days of Raimi's spiderman days or Singer's X-men (early 2000s) - it would make some dough, but in today's "superhero" standards - falls quite flat. IDK about you, and I am certainly no rusky myself, but the accents felt so horribly forced, even Maximus Decimus Meridius(yes, THE Gladiator himself) couldn't pull it off - and don't even get started on the CGI, very shoddy work sweat.gif Not me cuppa tea, but if you can find the joy in Venom/Madame Web, then hey - might be worth your time, otherwise, you'd miss absolutely nothing of note in the vast universe of the MCU.
GravityFi3ld
post Feb 21 2025, 12:28 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

Den of Thieves 2 : Pantyhose eh silap, Pantera!
Been quite a while since last saw King Leonidas in a film lol.gif
righty'o then, the opening sequence was quite interesting, from there onwards everything else is pretty much done and dusted heist recipe - nothing new, plot pun meh only yawn.gif
decent showing from Ice Cube's kid, first time weh, steady bompipi la despite abit kayu facial expressions - and yay for that teeny weeny bit of screen time for Kelly Fonseca rclxm9.gif
so yeah, nothing to shout about whistling.gif

Hotpot Artist
ni memang rare ah, tgk filem btul btul cina punya, bukan yg jenis hong kong si andy lau or donnie darko yen laugh.gif
this comedy is like a short version of what could have been a mini/short-tv series, found it pretty relevant to todays life/work expectations (at least to me) regardless of your bangsa/agama, life lessons are meant for all notworthy.gif
not Stephen Chow level kind of gags but definitely had some good laughs lol.gif

0.0710sec    0.39    9 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:03 PM