79 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Bottom

LYN Dashcam Discussion V2 | Dashcam Talk Malaysia, Everything related to dashcam!

TSblurjoey
post Aug 13 2022, 08:10 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Aug 13 2022, 07:54 PM)
Hi, just got a Z40 and hardwire kit. Planning to do fuse bypass, any advise on which fuse to bypass? Just choose the lowest Amp one? Cos I see the max draw is 2A, and the smallest fuse is 10A (new Alza).
You need to check your manual on which fuse is for ACC and BATT.

Use fusetaps with it's own fuse so no need to cut any wires.
TSblurjoey
post Aug 13 2022, 08:15 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Aug 13 2022, 07:54 PM)
Hi, just got a Z40 and hardwire kit. Planning to do fuse bypass, any advise on which fuse to bypass? Just choose the lowest Amp one? Cos I see the max draw is 2A, and the smallest fuse is 10A (new Alza).
All reviewers just got their Z50 last week only.

I'm actually in quarantine due to my daughter for covid19 since Thursday.

Anyway here is some details for the Z50 Dual.

Front - 3840x2160 25fps with an overall bit rate of 26.4 Mb/s. 1 min file 189MB.
Rear - 1920x1080 25fps with an overall bit rate of 6,356 kb/s. 1 min file 45.4MB.
TSblurjoey
post Aug 15 2022, 11:14 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Aug 15 2022, 09:57 AM)

Was researching a good dashcam. Never thought of VIOFO to be on my list.
LOL... He didn't test 70mai and DDPAI laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

So which is your finalist dashcams?
TSblurjoey
post Aug 15 2022, 02:33 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Aug 15 2022, 12:50 PM)
North American market is quite different from here IMO. We are getting some brands that they are not getting and vice versa. So yeah, in the end the video is not actually that useful here
I know as they can only get certain brands of dashcams there.

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Aug 15 2022, 01:14 PM)
The most interesting part of the video is at the end when he conclude that only a few SOC is being used. But what is not useful is that sigmastar (the DDPai Z40 SOC) isn't listed there, probably because their product don't go to N.America.
HiSilicon and Sigmaster is a nono in USA laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
TSblurjoey
post Aug 16 2022, 09:08 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Aug 16 2022, 08:57 AM)
Thanks, will read more from manual (none of the fuse is ACC or BATT, maybe the acronym mean different thing, will research).

General safety is to make sure car off for 30 seconds according to manual, anything else I need to observe? Grounding (like for PC electronics) is less of an issue for these systems right (since its all rated for relatively higher amp)?
Get a multimeter or a fuse tester.

Fuse with power when engine is off is BATT. Fuse with power when engine is on is ACC.

TSblurjoey
post Aug 16 2022, 09:16 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ Aug 16 2022, 09:12 AM)
Usually yes, but there are those on batteries which still working today I am also surprised.

Anyway my G1W from ancient times is still able to to power up, but due to age I no longer use it, but kept in drawer lol

But dont think the failure point is just the method it is powered, other components can also fail prematurely or by manufacturing defects.
Also need to depend on luck also. There are chances of the supercapacitor failing too.
TSblurjoey
post Aug 17 2022, 11:00 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Keatsan @ Aug 10 2022, 03:33 PM)
Gotta start saving money to upgrade to Thinkware already. No choice ..... sighhhhhh
You can consider back Viofo. Seems like their newer models have back the buffered paring mode.

I saw a lot of improvements on the parking mode. Just need to confirm if still have the overheat issue or not.
TSblurjoey
post Aug 17 2022, 06:27 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(tifosi @ Aug 17 2022, 06:03 PM)
blurjoey sifu, any idea on this? I read somewhere that it could be the heat and dislodge the lens thus causing it unable to focus.

Probably I'll try tinkering with it during the weekends
I think it could be due to heat and aging.

Think the whole lens unit needs to be replaced.

Where did you buy the V2 from?

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Aug 17 2022, 06:28 PM
TSblurjoey
post Aug 17 2022, 08:30 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 17 2022, 07:41 PM)
Any other supercaps dashcam cheaper than ddpai z40?

DDPAI Mola?
TSblurjoey
post Aug 18 2022, 01:36 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(thales.of.miletus @ Aug 18 2022, 04:18 AM)
My A800s now stuck on adas calibration screen and the buttons are nonresponsive. Checked online, saying possible firmware issues.

Any idea how to deal with it?

Checked YouTube to update the firmware by pressing power & rightmost button, but doesn't work.

Barely passed the warranty period sometime last month, else I'd return it.
Maybe can try asking in here?

https://bbs-cdn.70mai.com/?forum-19.htm
TSblurjoey
post Aug 18 2022, 10:45 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Keatsan @ Aug 18 2022, 10:42 PM)
A329 perhaps? lol
A229 and A119 Mini la laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
TSblurjoey
post Aug 19 2022, 12:32 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(TheBladeRunner @ Aug 19 2022, 11:36 AM)
Looking for good dashcam. 70mai is good brand? Is it good idea just to get camera without the mini screen since it will be cheaper?
The screen is a personal preference.

70mai using lithium ion battery so not good when used in hot weather.

Look at DDPAI and Viofo instead as they are using supercapacitor.
TSblurjoey
post Aug 22 2022, 12:36 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Kr0ll3R @ Aug 22 2022, 11:23 AM)
After going through the posts here, reading review and watching YouTube, I've made my first dual-channel dashcam purchase.
Thanks to the member sharing on the high-endurance card, got the info here and order immediately.

I was planning to get the Korean brand mainly because its buffered parking mode, supercapacitor and solid build but the one that within my budget are F200 Pro or X5.
And I'm not impressed with their video recording performance.

Next would be the China brand, 70Mai performance looks pretty solid but as my car is park under the hot sun most of the time, it's a no for me.
So, the next closest choice would be . . .

Look at FineVu GX300 also
TSblurjoey
post Aug 22 2022, 03:20 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Kr0ll3R @ Aug 22 2022, 02:35 PM)
Ah yes, that too. It's in my list but sadly my local shop here doesn't carry it. (Yes, can buy online, reason as in my previous post sweat.gif )

How's ur Z50 review unit?
Does the unit gets hot after a period of driving?
Sicurez is carrying it.

All dashcams will get hot when in use laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif As long as it doesn't auto shutdown from overheating, I am ok with it.
TSblurjoey
post Aug 23 2022, 10:52 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(diversity @ Aug 23 2022, 09:41 AM)
Just bought and installed ddpai z40. Not sure why mine isn't showing the speed of other vehicles on the road despite turning on SR? Mine is gps version
Is your Z40 able to connect to GPS or not?

QUOTE(isr25 @ Aug 23 2022, 10:16 AM)
blurjoey any thoughts on the Thinkware 5 channel multiplexer? Biggest downside is it's 480p recording for the 4 (side, rear, internal). Even rear 1080p is hard to read number plates...
I saw EA Auto boss is using F790 4-channels. Looks clear as the side cams are 1080p.

Link here

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Aug 23 2022, 10:57 AM
TSblurjoey
post Aug 23 2022, 11:02 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(diversity @ Aug 23 2022, 10:59 AM)
Sorry but how do you connect to GPS?

I'm a noob and dash cam is with my gfs car

Thanks in advance
The Z40 will auto connect to GPS when turn on.

But have to make sure there is clear sight of the sky. Also have to see if your tint got block the GPS signal or not.

SR uses GPS to detect the speed and all.
TSblurjoey
post Aug 23 2022, 11:35 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(diversity @ Aug 23 2022, 11:28 AM)
OK then seems to be some issue with connecting to GPS then

Already said mine is gps unit. It shows my speed but not other vehicles. Maps not loading also.  In b4 no read properly
Wait. If it shows your speed then the GPS is working properly.

Try other videos and see if the SR can detect properly or not in the DDPAI app.
TSblurjoey
post Aug 23 2022, 12:13 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(TheBladeRunner @ Aug 23 2022, 11:56 AM)
Can recommend me which seller at Lazada carries DDPAI officially? Don't want to end up buying clones or overpriced.
The store name is ddpai malaysia
TSblurjoey
post Aug 24 2022, 02:00 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(yang90 @ Aug 24 2022, 01:41 PM)
I found my 70mai A800s dashcam parking surveillance timelapse mode only last 12hr+ and need to turn on the timelapse mode after start up everytime...is it normal? any idea how to improve?
It's your car battery which can only power to 12+ hours as the voltage cutoff kicks in. If not wrong, 70mai voltage cutoff is at 11.8v. You can consider getting an external battery pack for dashcam which can roughly power the parking mode for about 24hours+-. You can also daisy chain a few battery packs together for long duration.

Not sure about the 2nd part.

TSblurjoey
post Aug 25 2022, 10:55 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(TheBladeRunner @ Aug 25 2022, 10:47 AM)
Planning to go for DDPAI Z40 with read camera. To save cost, I plan to get non GPS version. Should be okay right?
If you don't use the Speed and route, SR, ADAS (not sure DDPAI put this back for Z40 or not) then should be ok without the GPS.

79 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.1518sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:30 PM