23 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

lee82gx
post Nov 30 2021, 01:40 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 30 2021, 12:32 PM)
hmm.gif will or did investing books tells how should one react to the feeling when encountered losses???
i think most will just tell you to top up more to lower the purchase prices.....
hmm.gif
Peter Lynch never says to average down.
Jack Bogle, also never really did say so. He say you can if it makes you feel better.
Malkiel also never says to buy average down.
David Gardner also never says to only buy the dips.

In fact many sifu I follow says to buy up.

All of them tell you markets are unpredictable in short term, be prepared for -40% drops on individual stocks annually and buy well, and accept it.
lee82gx
post Nov 30 2021, 04:00 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 30 2021, 03:13 PM)
googled and found this...
could it be their meaning of buy low to average down??
I suppose maybe i need to counter a bit. Just for fun....Don't shoot me I too love a discount.
1 Peter Lynch says selling winners and buying more losers (avg down) is like water weeds and cutting flowers.
1.1 Peter Lynch has said that more money has been lost, investors have lost more money waiting for the next downturn than every downturn combined has ever cost.

1.2 Warren Buffett: has talked about one of his biggest investing mistakes was not buying Walmart in the late 1980s over three-eighths of a percent in price.
2. If there is a general dip in the market - I suppose yes, its time to buy.
3. To ONLY buy during dips is a poor poor strategy.
https://www.marketwatch.com/story/buy-the-d...-it-11632245567

Sorry I feel like contrarian today.

lee82gx
post Nov 30 2021, 04:28 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 30 2021, 04:03 PM)
hmm.gif contradictory??
or the losers are actually meant prices dropped due to none performing stocks and not when the prices dropped due to whole markets are down (even good stocks will drops too when market falls)?
If only the stock market is so straight forward that when you see it something down you straightaway know what to do, and if its up you also feel the same.
I have not had a day when everything I do has no doubt. If I don't have any doubt that is the day I ask my wife to check my thought process hahaha.
lee82gx
post Nov 30 2021, 09:20 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Nov 30 2021, 08:50 PM)
We now have easy access to buy ETF on our own. Those who want to buy S&p 500 can just sign up MIDF and buy. But bare in mind, the fees ain't cheap if u planning to DCA, and u must buy 1 share minimum. Suggest u can start to invest with around rm3k.

A lot of opportunities out there besides SA, u don't have to stuck with it.

VOO: 427.24 USD +41.41 (10.73%)past 6 months
KWEB: 44.92 USD -28.31 (-38.66%)past 6 months
Why use such an inefficient broker?

IBKR, moomoo, TDAmeritrade, Tiger all can do this and you can trade at much cheaper fees.

Is MIDF even real time?

A cheaper copycat of SPY is VTI. It has even less management fees.

With IBKR you can even buy fraction of a VTI.
lee82gx
post Nov 30 2021, 11:01 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Nov 30 2021, 09:52 PM)
Not the best but it's under SC, of course if one doesn't mind then can go for others.

Not real time but unless one is doing day trading I doubt one needs it. And we are on the topic of ETF, do you need real time to buy ETF? Even when buying ETF on SA is not real time

Yes, midf can't buy fraction share, which is a cons
does SC actually provide you any safety if you own foreign securities?

Not real time, then you could be missing +/-2% of daily swings sometimes (like recently a few days ago).

Edit - sorry i didnt mean to scare or laugh at anyone .

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Nov 30 2021, 11:09 PM
lee82gx
post Dec 1 2021, 11:29 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

investing is always an exercise in contradictions, careful when others are greedy, greedy when others are careful.
Yin yang
defensive vs offensive
Growth vs value
TA vs FA
Key is your own gut and stomach.
lee82gx
post Dec 1 2021, 08:51 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Hi, since I'm the bugger who ask you to do this, let me try to answer.
QUOTE(sgh @ Dec 1 2021, 07:36 PM)
Hi understand this is a Msia online forum. I am from Spore. I came here based on some suggestion in the FundSupermart thread. I understand StashAway focus on ETF exclusively. So for a start can anyone help me with my simple questions?

Qn 1
StashAway based on your risk preferences will suggest the basket of ETF for your portfolio. You cannot dictate which specific ETF to be in your portfolio correct?

Yes. It is a fixed set meal. You only choose the risk index (a fancy name for a set basket of funds). The magic here whether you like it or not, is from time to time (2-3 times in the last 2-3 years) they will "reoptimize", meaning they will sell most of your holdings, and choose another set of ETF's of their liking. You can opt out you will be left out, wondering did you do the right thing.

Qn 2
Once you have the portfolio up and running, what is reflected? Is it units? And this unit has a price attached to it? That is if we want to sell we look at the unit price and then enter the units to sell ? (Sorry I am from FSM background mutual trust fund with their concept of units)

Thanks in advance.
Yes, you will see your holdings in fractional units of each of the components of the whole portfolio, like 0.1 of XLE, 0.2 of XLP etc. You will know the price you bought, for each lot if you want to, and the total holdings of each particular ticker.
You do not get to choose which particular fund you want to liquidate if you want to sell or the quantity, you can only instruct Stashaway to sell a certain amount in MYR or USD. It will then try to decide which particular fund or usually an even ratio of funds to sell. THe key is they will want to maintain the portfolio target balance / ratio with both your buys and sells.

Qn 3
Since it is a robo-advisor feature, StashAway will periodically buy/sell your ETF to re-balance your portfolio correct?

If you regularly buy as in add fresh cash, this action alone will help Stashaway to maintain balance by just buying the particular fund that is low in balance. But randomly from time to time they WILL SELL your components that are gaining too much, above a certain undetermined threshold.

Qn 4
One painful part of ETF is fractional lot selling. It seems StashAway help to manage that on our behalf. However I read below post
seedly.sg/posts/can-stashaway-sell-your-units-without-your-authorization

CODE

last week I noticed that while my money was injected to buy new units, there was also a small sell order for 2 ETFs that I did not authorize for. Upon calling them to enquire, they told me this is normal and part of the process of buying fractional shares where sometimes in order to fulfil a withdrawal order, they randomly pick users to sell small units to fulfil

CODE

Upon checking with our ops team, it was a forced sell order i.e we had to fill up partial units to make a whole unit “sellable”- this is an unavoidable feature of offering fractional shares to clients. It's not part of re-balancing.

That means in order to fulfill a full lot they can randomly pick users ETF to sell some small shares off to make it a full lot for selling. This is their strategy to offer us fractional lot selling. Not saying this is wrong or unethical but have any of you encounter such issues before?

Thanks in advance.
This may have happened but I am not aware it is enough to cause us to realize.

What I can say is that most of the time everything remains in pretty good balance, say 10%,15%,5% etc with many only 1-2% out of target some times. There was a time KWEB overshoot like hell due to rally and it did get more aggresively sold even when we ADD fresh money.
lee82gx
post Dec 1 2021, 09:19 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(jonoave @ Dec 1 2021, 09:05 PM)
Wasn't there an update like half a year ago where they say you can no longer opt of reoptimization. Due to the way it works , having some people re-opt and some people don't was causing issues with their balancing.
Is it? I must have missed out this. Thanks!
lee82gx
post Dec 2 2021, 10:03 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(langstrasse @ Dec 2 2021, 08:33 AM)
Wouldn’t that be basically locking in the losses?
I thought the whole point here was long term play.
When the platform is on fire you can jump ship or stay the course and put it out.
The whole point is always look for long term, but what is the long term outlook?

Everyone has to make their own choices. In the end live with it.
lee82gx
post Dec 2 2021, 01:48 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

I am a firm DCANoScope person. Randomly (mostly) badly timed buys.

There is a term for this, market timers are the worst people on earth haha.
lee82gx
post Dec 2 2021, 03:06 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

wrong thread.

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Dec 2 2021, 03:06 PM
lee82gx
post Dec 2 2021, 09:31 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Dec 2 2021, 06:00 PM)
Stashaway sucks, cannot see market downturns coming. ERRA is supposed to be like Palantir, predict the future, and get us the best return.
Can palantir predict its own demise and prevent it? Will it destroy the time-space continuum?
lee82gx
post Dec 2 2021, 10:21 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Freddy did say ERAA is AI based.
lee82gx
post Dec 2 2021, 10:30 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Dec 2 2021, 10:24 PM)
Ah, I see. Thanks for the clarification.
maybe i paraphrase too much - Freddy says he just executes the AI results - which I presume is the ERAA.
But AI is very broad. Any algorithm can be "AI", I could write a few lines of code to process some decision based on input parameters, but not every algorithm is as advanced as Palantir.
lee82gx
post Dec 2 2021, 10:59 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 2 2021, 10:37 PM)
According to SA,
ERAA® was built with decades of academic research and the experience of many high-profile practitioners who have managed tens of billions of dollars in their portfolios. ERAA®’s systematic approach avoids human biases, and enables the use of thousands of historical data points in each portfolio construction decision.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.stashaway....ation-framework
the soalan cepu emas is: AI or not?
lee82gx
post Dec 2 2021, 11:55 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 2 2021, 11:19 PM)
To me AI is just a name, a modern name makes it looks sophisticated n advance... In simple term it is just a program programmed using past data parameters that are selected by human, to suits the predetermined need of what should be used.

Just like an excel file,... That can be predetermined by the user to display results in such away that suits his needs from the keyed in data
just like what i said a few posts above haha...i don't really give a damn is it AI or not, I've worked with technology long enough to know its nothing special right now.

We are not in WestWorld.
lee82gx
post Dec 3 2021, 09:57 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Dec 3 2021, 09:22 AM)
for the benefit of the doubt, setting allocation like KWEB 20%, Bond 10% could be done by AI (since they never disclose). but the rebalancing is pretty straightforward and no IT ppl will suspect it's AI
Actually I beg to differ. If anything AI is just a fancy name for automation / robotic process. It is perfect for rebalancing, micro transactions, high frequency trading, that sort of thing. And I am partially in IT. It would be my first assignment to the machine, do all the menial calculations of balancing, decide on who’s having highest deviation, compile them into whole units, sell or buy and redistribute.

But I don’t run this joint and in the end, I also just speculate.
lee82gx
post Dec 3 2021, 10:02 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Lyn alden got suggest kweb? I actually have her paid subscription but never did see KWEB pop up. Maybe Baba, or Tencent, but I’d like to see how she mentions China as a whole or individual company.
lee82gx
post Dec 4 2021, 09:44 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

I remember it was 20% for quite the longest time, in 36% RI.

No point to curse and swear. Losing money is part of the investment process. The lowest a stock can go is zero. If KWEB has to endure a major delisting in NYSE, it will no doubt have to undergo so much pain before HKSE can take it back up.

If it makes you feel any better my own portfolio without KWEB also lose about the same as StashAway with KWEB.

The important thing is to know your course and be confident in it. It will be YOUR effing choice from now on.

lee82gx
post Dec 4 2021, 07:44 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(CoolStoryWriter @ Dec 4 2021, 01:35 PM)
Customers don't care the other side of the story la.

Results results results!

Of course given benefit of the doubts can support Freddy no matter how u spin -- long term horizon la, china's fundamental value la, ERAA la but at the end is the result that matter!

I understand the other side of the story of course investing is a long journey and down by 3 months is not reflective of Freddy's entire 20 year career. I get it. I can get quite emotional during these trying times.

Sekian. I still have hope for Freddy but of course not at this juncture. And I have the right to rant if performance are down brows.gif

Is part and parcel of investing. Money is a very sensitive topic especially managing other people's finances. There are high expectations for Freddy. He did some things wrong in the short run, but he has potential.

K I rest my case.
Dude, you paid StashAway to invest or buy the etf for you according to the ratio you agreed for, at the rates of daily pricing you more or less know.

If you wanna rant you might as well complain to Emperor Xi why he upend the boat. But I suspect, both will not get you anywhere.

I’m really really interested to hear if you got better idea for return or not. Let’s hear it and we consider it for take action. No point barking, we all know you have a keyboard and monitor bro.

23 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.1168sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:54 AM