23 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 >Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

lee82gx
post Dec 4 2021, 10:37 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

You know about the one where a great lady once said:
Great minds discuss ideas,
Average minds discuss events,
Small minds discuss people.

And thanks for reporting my posts which I presume will make some very important internet people pay attention to me I guess.

And then I think I will become someone important too?
lee82gx
post Dec 5 2021, 09:38 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Dec 4 2021, 10:50 PM)
First off I get to know SA from another thread. Once I get to know how SA works and it is not my cup of tea I did not invest. For those who are existing SA customer you invest based on knowing how SA works.

Criticize them when they fail to make monies for you is normal only human emotion. You also have the right not to patronise SA and leave. Instead of criticize SA non-stop why not channel that energy to find alternative investment platform to try to recoup monies you lost in SA?

Speaking from my experience I hit such case many years ago. Criticize that platform is not going to get my lost monies back unless the platform is a fraud or provide deceiving advice which maybe you can lodge a report with the relevant govt authority? This route is time consuming and maybe cannot even get any monies back.

So what I did is source other investment platform and channel my energy in this task instead. Finally I found about 2 platform which suit my strategy.

My humble opinion.
Nice. You skipped step 1 and straight step 2, by the way I said this is more for starters and therefore for experienced investors (in control of their emotions lol), I will always suggest DIY instead.

QUOTE(pendekartauhu @ Dec 5 2021, 12:08 AM)
this is why people said investing is for the rich. If you are poor, you need to increase your earning power, not relying investment to get you rich.
I humbly beg to differ. Nothing ventured nothing gained. No pain no gain etc etc etc.
For the not yet rich enough, all the more you have to invest. Without this disciplined saving, you will NEVER break out of rat race. Don’t believe for now that in Malaysia any amount of “earning power” salaryship can truly lead you to financial freedom.

My own experience tells me so and I’ve seen too many of my peers on the losing side ie depend on salary. The times when I ikat perut eat kembung, the times when I holiday in my kampung, buy rm800 androids, still driving rm30k clunker fixer upper but have my own financial destiny mapped out. Now these same peers of mine, asking me how to invest. So then how would I advise them :-

The other day I was saying the most important thing in investing is your own stomach and gut, now the most important friend you must have is TIME. If you make him your friend, time will bring you wonderful returns. If you don’t make him your friend then eventually he is your enemy. Fight against time and you will rely on luck, make mistakes, take unnecessary risks.

So for those impatient ones, what is a year or two? What have you really lost, in the bigger picture?

Then, if you know what better to do, why not do it?

Perhaps let me venture first and humbly lay my equity portfolio:
I have 30% in the company I work.
30% in growth stocks that will scare the bejesus out of any regular folk, like adobe nvda and tsla, aapl, and smaller names like docusign (ouchhhh!!!)
30% in ETFs that mimic StashAway minus kweb. I had a lot at some point and i mentioned in July I sold it all.
10% or so in cash. (This is why I kepoh here)

I’m looking at moving a portion to reits and value stocks but I’m still formulating that.

I have every bit of interest in the success of passive indexing which I think StashAway is the prime example for Malaysians.

Do know that if you start selling the whole deck of cards come tumbling down, OR someone else buys your stock at lower price. This basic understanding is very powerful. You need to know your price and value of the thing in your hands. Simply sell and it will be other’s treasure.

Edit : SEE YOU AT END GAME

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Dec 5 2021, 09:44 AM
lee82gx
post Dec 5 2021, 12:45 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Dec 5 2021, 12:15 PM)
For me I invested in two small businesses as well. Though not sure when I can get my capital back laugh.gif
Yea I wholly agree, business is the proper way to break out of rat race.

But it the same mindset whether you start your own business or if you buy shares in a public listed company…

You are participating in business. Who knows when will you get your capital back? There are literally millions of individuals speculating on this one particular detail haha.
lee82gx
post Dec 7 2021, 04:38 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Put it this way. My income will likely stay oversea until the day I die. I feel I rather spend and die there.
lee82gx
post Dec 10 2021, 09:29 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Dec 10 2021, 08:47 AM)
Sad, but betting with healthcare and tech enablers but just a small percentage in my portfolio.

Hehe.

Tech and healthcare will be inseparable to human 🤤👀
Yeah, but its not like you don't have XLV and or any technology in XLE/XLP/XLK etc....EVERY single company that goes up these days utilize and innovate technology in some ways. Even Kellogs.

lee82gx
post Dec 16 2021, 11:42 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Dec 16 2021, 11:29 AM)
if paper loss in Stashaway best not to sell, else loss will become actual loss.
Leave it till the stocks/ETFs bounce back. If you can wait 3-5 years for them to grow then no worry.
If an ETF keeps red i'm sure Stashaway will do some reoptimization to prevent further loss.
Agree on 1. and 2.
Not sure about 3.

Don't rely on Stashaway about who's to win and who's to lose if you can think for yourself.
lee82gx
post Dec 21 2021, 08:41 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

All benchmark also drop, no escape
lee82gx
post Dec 21 2021, 03:39 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Personally I think KWEB is a minefield, and buying them all = stepping on all of them at once.

For a particular stock to rise, take Tencent for example, what it needs to do is produce a great quarter (or 2), negate the ADR / Pink slip issue somehow and placate Winnie the Pooh / CCCP, provide more donation, remove Pony Ma (if he is still there), produce evidence that their games are healthy for kids / general population (they are not), and avoid wealth concentration / unfair business practice.

If you think one ticker can magically conjure 80% of the requirements above, then you need 80% of other tickers (PDD/JD/Baba etc) all to do it at once to properly rally KWEB to 50 or 60....

Suffice to say I'm a bear.
lee82gx
post Dec 21 2021, 07:29 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Dec 21 2021, 06:31 PM)
Sort of the problem of most Chinese tech stocks right now innit? 😅 personally speaking for me it's a known risk, given some insight into PRC politics and culture. Big potential for growth but also unfortunately subject to the whims of CCP which has nearly authoritarian control on everything in China. Many smaller tech companies have started to move base and make headquarters elsewhere.

Whether it'll recover to the ATH is a big question mark, my amateur opinion being that it'll take a good number of years to see the results.
There is no right or wrong here, just profit or loss. Who dares wins. I’m still cheering for China, but just the capitalist one, not the communist one.

If I have to invest in Chinese stocks for now it’d be limited individual stocks rather than index or basket.
lee82gx
post Dec 22 2021, 09:05 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(JJ93 @ Dec 22 2021, 07:49 PM)

Don't rule out SA going in more into China market 😆
Maybe he needs to give example.
lee82gx
post Dec 23 2021, 08:15 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(huhulala @ Dec 22 2021, 11:16 PM)
The inflow of Chinese tech stocks are all retail investors, and the outflows are all institutions. 90% of investors lose money, do you think can you outsmart the institutions?
90% of active traders kua? This don’t care whether you are retail or institutional.
lee82gx
post Dec 23 2021, 12:00 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Dec 23 2021, 11:52 AM)
It is REIT. It is an dividend type of stocks most of the time than growth.

Unless etf has a different view with REIT.
VNQ much better.
lee82gx
post Dec 23 2021, 04:15 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Dec 23 2021, 01:05 PM)
I mean in general REIT is always dividend type investment rather than growth.

Not which is better haha 😆
Yes, but to say reits etf don’t grow in value because it is always a dividend only perhaps is not accurate.

Yet another weird example of weird choice by StashAway. I mean so many reits in the world and they choose one with lower dividend yield and no capital appreciation.
lee82gx
post Dec 23 2021, 07:32 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Dec 23 2021, 06:05 PM)
yea it was within an hour after I changed.
problem is the differences in 36% vs 30%.. I prefer the investments to be more on the equities side and more focus on US. If 30% will make US related dropped to no. 2 for general investing portfolio. So will hang on to 36% and hopeful later VNQI will recover.

agree so many ETFs to choose from why pick VNQI.. really hope they remove this next time.
Is about ease of depositing money and SC approved, especially if auto DCA monthly.
If Syfe can't FPX direct via Msia banks, need convert money transfer to SG etc before can deposit into Syfe. Additional fees involved.
Also, I later learn to buy ETFs and stocks direct via IBKR.. planning to build my main portfolio there in future instead of relying on SA.

Then we already dip our toe into Stashaway.. continue first la until earn more.
My main reason in joining Stashaway is to have some diversification earlier, also to test water see how good it is after a year or two.
If you have that many opinions (like me) better DIY.

lee82gx
post Dec 29 2021, 12:51 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Dec 29 2021, 12:37 PM)
would probably move out of SA due to how the chinese govt handle the software vulnerability. "report to us first" means "let us exploit the bug first". was china's values incompatibility obvious from the start? perhaps... but this one is so in-your-face esp in my line of work

only way to make me regret is if suddenly KWEB outperform (e.g., annual gain 30-100% vs normal stock ETF of 10%)

https://www.wsj.com/articles/china-halts-al...ays-11640184511

dude, pick a side.
lee82gx
post Dec 29 2021, 01:00 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Dec 29 2021, 12:55 PM)
yup i have. if suddenly KWEB goes back to $70, i'll come back here and post i regret
Nice. You only regret if your money sit in savings account doing no work.

So put it to work and see if you can outperform it.
lee82gx
post Dec 30 2021, 03:19 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Dec 30 2021, 02:11 PM)
When that Seeking Alpha writeup was published early Dec, KWEB was $38.85. Now it's $34.06. Down another 12%.
The RSI looks ripe for a quickie.

AS for the MACD, there is still room for further downside. Falling knife still?  laugh.gif
I’ve always been curious as to whether technicals are applicable to ETFs.
lee82gx
post Jan 5 2022, 12:03 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 5 2022, 09:04 AM)
science with no real world evidence.

that is a very big 'could'. genetic medicine will always be super expensive and only handful of helangs can afford it. not very scaleable.
The fact is many of these stocks are varied in the technology, IP, and application. Each has its own potential merits, but the risks are all not related..

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 5 2022, 10:24 AM)
genomics is always about personalised and highly specific medicine. prices are only going to go up and not down. COVID vaccines are an outlier due to the pandemic. on a regular day nobody will buy mRNA stuff at such a global scale.

your example of cancer therapy is a good example. more and more targeted therapies are being discovered but the prices only keep flying up.

when your portfolio is 40% of these companies it's a huge gamble. high risk high reward lor i guess if they can somehow scale their products
The question with investing in bio-genetic-genomic-pharmaceutical-therapeutic-xyz is that each particular company has their specialized proprietary IP, and as you say only trully flies when one manages to scale.

There are so many hurdles and technical pitfalls here. No correlation between A and B in the same ETF.

My questions:
1. Why invest in a random basket if only a small portion can actually be successful?
1.1 How will an entire basket grow? It must only be from the buying support from other fools no? It comes tumbling down when it goes out of fashion....
1.2 How can we mix Pfizer (a vaccine and drug mainly producing IP treatment) with Teladoc (So called disruptive telemedicine) in one ETF and expect both to grow together? The only similarity they have is human body no? Its like buying a plantation when meat price goes up. I don't say both are not investible, I say they grow at differently rates and outlooks. If one grows and one shrinks, you can't sell one and buy the other in an ETF. And you are stuck with no growth.
1.2.1 As an opposite example you CAN buy WFC,BAC,MS,JPM in one ETF, or Chevron,exxon,slb in another etf and expect them to grow together.
1.3 When was the last time you saw a bio-pharma-genetic-genomic-therapeutic company achieve value stock status? Perhaps once in a generation....I think, doing your homework and due diligence and pick 10 non correlated bio stocks. If one of them multibags then you will achieve alpha.

My own take, is that bio tech has been here for decades.....even in the 50's,60's, and 70's you have all sorts of therapeutic companies coming out with then state of the art technology etc. and they are not new to seasoned investors. 80's and 90's also, even Peter Lynch talks about them and gives an unkind review of them as GENERAL.

I personally think a lot of these tech are here for the investing purpose of speculation and goreng. Much like my view of ARKK (I was an investor once).

Having said that, I have novocure, teladoc, and several more pain inducing stocks, together with ABBV and BMY (the oldies). But I won't buy an ETF with all of them even if you point a gun to my head.

lee82gx
post Jan 30 2022, 05:59 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

All I can say is the market is not treating anyone good right now. Whether you are in StashAway or DIY. But if we rewind back to 2018, the only thing I’d say to myself again is to buy and hold.
lee82gx
post Jan 30 2022, 08:49 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Always have a 3-5 year outlook with your monies invested. Even longer is better. Any less then don’t do equities or equities related…. There’s a very high possibility (duh!) that a correction or drawdown occurs as we’ve seen today…

23 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 >Top

0.4891sec    1.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:18 PM