19 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

DragonReine
post Jun 27 2021, 12:42 PM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

QUOTE(Murasaki322 @ Jun 26 2021, 11:00 PM)
Mind sharing where you read the T&C, or the T&C itself?
https://www.facebook.com/story.php?story_fb...100044201511171

"new funds" aka fresh funds

for most banking/investment promos what I said is what fresh funds mean, like banks offering special FD rates, if they say "fresh funds" usually their T&C means "money not held within the bank", or in investment promos means "money you haven't invested yet'

but the way it's said it's very confusing πŸ˜‚ so dunno if it means "inject new funds and ALL current investment is fee free" or "inject new funds and new funds will be fee free", so I could be wrong.

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Jun 27 2021, 12:44 PM
DragonReine
post Jun 27 2021, 01:32 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jun 27 2021, 01:17 PM)
And the stashaway website just say "DRJASON - 100% management fees for 3 months". Were they using the same copy for CNY fresh funds campaigns?
They need better English copywriting πŸ˜‚ it's so ambiguous and there's no T&C attached.
DragonReine
post Jun 28 2021, 12:16 PM

2,610 posts

SA having a larger monopoly locally makes it difficult for them to have incentive to lower fees.

Overseas robo advisors exist everywhere, so charging high fees = quickly die.

Even so, in Malaysia it's actually one of the lower but only for whales only (0.2% for >3million ringgit). Wahed, MYTHEO charge higher annual management fees. For less than RM100k investment, Akru charges lesser.

But I'll also caution about being penny wise, pound foolish if you're an investing beginner with low capital and you're only intending/able to use locally available robo advisor. Check performance and user experience, consider that heavily into your consideration for your choice of platform.
DragonReine
post Jun 29 2021, 01:23 AM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(ken431256 @ Jun 28 2021, 04:35 PM)
Guys, investing incrementally daily or lump sum monthly can get better return with stashaway?
Why over complicate? The point of StashAway's philosophy is that you deposit on set time and forget about it. Don't try to big brain so much deposit daily unless you've got several hundred to deposit daily. StashAway's investment process takes at least 2 to 3 days to complete anyway so trying to do daily DCA is pointless.

Returns aren't guaranteed. The only thing guaranteed is, in long run, the longer time you leave money in investments, the more likely it'll give returns, and deposit lump sum is 70% more likely to give better returns in the very long run than DCA, but only if you're willing to stomach the volatility and having so much money going straight into investment.

If you want that kind of "small change" investing, use something like Raiz.
DragonReine
post Jul 1 2021, 12:53 AM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(tbgreen @ Jun 30 2021, 08:06 PM)
SAMY allocated my current weekly investment 36% as follow:
      GLD 33%
      IJR 20%
      KWEB Zero
Is that bumby road ahead?
Probably overweight on KWEB and underweight on the other two.

SA simply distribute yout money based on allocated weight. Bumpy or not bumpy ahead is irrelevant because they allocate based on current unit price not future price.
DragonReine
post Jul 2 2021, 10:58 AM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(ganesh1696 @ Jul 2 2021, 07:16 AM)
Hi.
Any idea for weekly direct debit options in stashaway?
I'm lazy of weekly dca "manually"?
Is there any options to do so?
Direct debit no, but you can get around this using the Monthly Deposit function in Manual Deposit.

1) Create a "Monthly Deposit" entry in Manual Deposit with the amount you intend to deposit weekly (example if you want to deposit RM300 a week, put RM300 "monthly" deposit)

edit to add: But if you only one portfolio then any amount will do, since anything you deposit no matter what amount will go to your one and only portfolio.

2) Use your online banking site's "recurring Jompay bill payment/standing instruction to Jompay" function and set a recurring transfer weekly, with the same amount as you put in (1), don't put more don't put less.

This way it tricks SA to approving the deposit the money as per your allocation set in the "monthly deposit", even though you deposit multiple times within that month.

The other workaround is as MUM said above, set 5x direct debit for different dates within a month, example 1st/7th/14th/21st/28th of the month (roughly every 7 days), just not as "clean" as using the Jompay recurring deposit method because of differing month lengths πŸ˜‚.

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Jul 2 2021, 12:05 PM
DragonReine
post Jul 2 2021, 12:04 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jul 2 2021, 11:22 AM)
(1) usually I set RM 1. Any amount will do, it doesnt need to match at all.
I couldn't πŸ˜‚ because multiple portfolio
DragonReine
post Jul 3 2021, 11:19 AM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(buddy @ Jul 3 2021, 11:07 AM)
If i adjust my risk now..will i lose any money?
SAMY when you change risk will adjust your portfolio's units weight to target their new allocated weight

which means if you sell overweight sectors when it's low, there's some loss

If you don't want to sell at loss, better to open a new portfolio at your new intended risk index and start to deposit there, just ignore your old portfolio and let it have time to go back positive, then withdraw the old portfolio in full

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Jul 3 2021, 11:21 AM
DragonReine
post Jul 8 2021, 11:24 AM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(tsutsugami86 @ Jul 7 2021, 09:30 PM)
Simple had changed to AmIncome fund 2 weeks ago, but can't see any interest earn during this 2 weeks.
They update balance monthly, so most likely end of July/early August then will only update the balance.
DragonReine
post Jul 10 2021, 02:11 AM

2,610 posts

If you have the capability and the minimum funds enough to DIY, SAMY definitely not really suitable, since it's functionally paying other people to build and manage your ETF portfolio. If you have the capability to invest directly thought IBKR etc. it may be better, but as above lee82gx mentioned to buy that many ETFs and/or regular DCA might be painful fees wise unless you're already swimming in money.

Ultimately consider your capital, your ability to spend time tracking n whether you trust your own judgement over SAMY.

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Jul 10 2021, 02:11 AM
DragonReine
post Jul 11 2021, 01:33 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Jul 11 2021, 02:01 AM)
Sometimes I wonder all these reoptimization making the growth worse.

If I'm not wrong, is basically SA trying to sell some and buy some other etf according to their algo.

Isn't the first rule of long term investing is to hold long term and continue dca regardless?
No, there's another rule which is to monitor your holdings. Not blindly dump money in and hope for the best.

Remember that things change, economy and politics change, greats can fall and new ones rise in its wake. Back then people advocate for buying oil, tobacco companies for "long term". Now such companies are seen as lesser growth, although for the moment still stable, and now people will focus on technology and AI and ESG.

Being a smart investor/fund manager means yes, to an extent you must keep an eye on what's happening with your investments and why. Even for this case as consumers of SAMY, you should monitor the direction of SA and their approach to choosing ETFs, as well as their strength as a company in terms of longevity.
DragonReine
post Jul 12 2021, 02:03 AM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Jul 11 2021, 01:40 PM)
Which begs the questions. When they do the portfolio reoptimization, what they based on?
Risk minimisation in times of economic uncertainty.

That's it.

If you want big growth, StashAway is really not the best platform for it. It's why SA can promote things like "a portfolio for vacation in a few years" etc. It's also not the best for people who have good market knowledge and have large capital, as it'll be almost always better potentially in the long run to invest DIY in without this much mix of ETFs.

(potentially ah, not guaranteed ah, pls do due diligence and remember that there's no such thing as guaranteed profit in investment)

The diversified nature of SA means it helps prevent you from dipping too low when economy goes bad. To my knowledge based seeing other people's several year old investment in SA, even when 2020 downturn it wasn't a complete wipe out and recovered shortly after when stonks shoot back up again.

SA is better for those who want better than or equal to EPF returns without the lock-up nature of EPF, has low capital, and aren't keen on paying the high sales fees/management fees/misc fees of investing in local mutual funds.

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Jul 12 2021, 02:04 AM
DragonReine
post Jul 12 2021, 11:20 AM

2,610 posts

I agree with you πŸ˜‚ especially on looking at the big picture and trusting in the growth of Chinese/Asian technology.

I would like to clarify that the reason I bring up EPF is due to the "locked up" nature of EPF where majority of it cannot be withdrawn before age 55, which is a big "negative" for people who want money for luxuries and/or those who are into FIRE movement, or those where liquidity is much more important to them.

Risk Free? Yes. Liquid? Not at all.

And the unfortunate fact is that majority of local mutual funds offerings (the dubiously closest equivalent to SAMY available to ikan bilis investors without needing to open foreign account or deal with foreign brokers) actually do not perform as well as EPF in terms of annualised return. IMO that's the trade-off of a diversified portfolio that's liquid.

I would also like to remind newbies reading this that if you started StashAway and/or investing from 2020, it's only been a year (and a very rollercoaster one at that), which is not the best time or place economy-wise to gauge the performance of an investment. Give it another couple of years before you can judge if it matches your expectations, at the same remember to be realistic.

Speaking of investing since last year, here's the current results of my "medium term" portfolio since 1st opening in September 2020, for y'all to judge tongue.gif Started from 12% SRI then bumped up to 16% right around the big deposit spike in February 2021 (which is not exactly great timing, but I'm more of a lump sum type than DCA). For additional reference, TWR is +5.63%

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Jul 12 2021, 07:29 PM
DragonReine
post Jul 13 2021, 10:21 AM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jul 13 2021, 09:17 AM)
What made you pump in a big lump sum in FEb 2021?
Unexpected large bonus and I don't like to sit on extra money laugh.gif this portfolio isn't meant to be long term and it's "extra" funds for a minor renovation I'm planning to do, so a nett gain of more than 3.5% annually is more than good enough for me which is why I didn't particularly care if things were ATH or not. Not the smartest maybe Β―\_(ツ)_/Β― but it's money that I don't mind "gambling" on lol
DragonReine
post Jul 21 2021, 02:16 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(cr7jyej @ Jul 21 2021, 01:44 PM)
Was thinking of increasing my risk from 22 to 36 when there's reoptimisation, after reading it, guess I'll be staying at 22% as I'm more comfortable with it thumbup.gif

I guess the ESG etf wont be joining this round's reoptimisation? πŸ€”
Not likely until further regulation on ESG compliance can (mostly) guarantee that performance will meet SAs needs

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Jul 21 2021, 02:16 PM
DragonReine
post Jul 21 2021, 03:00 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(encikbuta @ Jul 21 2021, 02:16 PM)
just like the last portfolio reallocation in Mid 2020, did u guys receive any email or web article where they explain the reallocation? if yes, can send over?

i mean we did all agree to the new T&C and will allow StashAway to reallocate our portfolio as they wish, but would be nice get some justification. am particularly interested to hear about EWA, haha.
https://www.stashaway.my/r/economy-inflatio...ationary-growth
DragonReine
post Jul 21 2021, 04:31 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(matty @ Jul 21 2021, 03:08 PM)
Hi guys.. I'm planning to start investing using stashAway but me noob at investing. how can I go about it at the StashAway app? should I just let them auto manage or learn how to manage it by myself like a lot of the sifu here?
Set your risk tolerance, deposit money regularly, don't touch until reach goal.

Nothing else. Even sifus do this. You try and itchy fingers adjust risk index every few weeks to "trade" you end up losing money because you will most likely end up buy high sell low and lose money in fees.

Sifus here talk a lot isn't related to "managing" our accounts, it's only to share thoughts and opinions on StashAway's investment strategy and performance.

The ETFs cannot pick and choose one, only can adjust risk so you get preferred exposure % to certain ETFs.

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Jul 21 2021, 04:32 PM
DragonReine
post Aug 4 2021, 11:19 AM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(PortgasDerekAce @ Aug 3 2021, 11:56 AM)
we are here partly because we are lazy or unwilling to spend time to study investing, right? (and effortless access to international markets)
This is dangerous.

To say that investing in SAMY = no need to study investing is blind confidence, which is about as intelligent and sensible as playing 4D to win big.

You must and should read about SA's approach and their underlying funds for portfolios, and invest in SA if you believe that SA's approach to investments align with your needs and preferences, not just main tikam think past performance = future performance.

if you want genuinely mindless investment might as well park in EPF/SSPN, sure guaranteed dividend (whether high or low dividend is another problem lol)
DragonReine
post Aug 4 2021, 08:12 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Aug 4 2021, 04:07 PM)
Ironically, the ideal use case for stashaway is for those who do not want to study investing.

EPF/ASNB has currency risk. MYR depreciates you entire net worth tanks. Stashaway can mitigate that.
This is where it becomes a dividing point between what is "mindless" investing. Making the assumption here that it's investing for long term/retirement instead of medium term of course. EPF/ASNB/SSPN etc. easy enough for the average Malaysian, returns decent enough to live modestly (not luxuriously).

I would advise SA to people who can stomach the risk AND believes SA can do well. For people who are afraid of volatility, not confident of China market, want shariah compliance etc., SA might not be best choice. It's also a question of trust in SA's portfolio composition, like some didn't like gold exposure etc.

Ultimately still need to do due diligence, and do some continuous observation over time. Cannot be butaΒ² dump money in expecting to do okay je.
DragonReine
post Aug 5 2021, 10:54 AM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(Merubin @ Aug 5 2021, 08:47 AM)
guys...out of curiosity, since stashaway have the function to view out earning from two type of currency , how do know,how much exactly did we make profit? as sometimes i notice the variation % of profit shows quite a different in both currency
Only MYR matters because that's what you paid with and goes into your bank account.

But bear in mind that MYR positive while USD negative is NOT a good thing; that means MYR currency has weakened considerably and your true net worth is likely to be impacted.

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Aug 5 2021, 10:57 AM

19 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.3467sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:12 PM