6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

pinksapphire
post Mar 6 2021, 11:06 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Mar 6 2021, 04:56 PM)
A bit too complicated. Don't forget while 18-36% can seem to tank hard during bad times, they themselves are somewhat diversified, so maybe they will sell off the protective bonds when you draw down during bad times, and it performs just as well as your manual 8% + 36% mix.
Ah, thanks for the reminder on the side of activities SA will perform during bad times...the latter may be possible too.

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 6 2021, 07:46 PM)
Personally I only want to have one 36% port since I aim for higher growth while willing to deal with the risk.

I don't have enough capital to sustain too many ports.

Remember the flip side of diversification : dilution.
Your profits get diluted too.
Thanks for this perspective. I didn't see it from the angle of dilution as well.

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Mar 6 2021, 08:32 PM)
Hahaha, for me, I try to keep it simple... a single portfolio at 36%.
IMO, even at 36% risk, its already far and beyond safe compared to me going to bursa and pick stocks. No reason to be too safe during growth. If you have a 8% and 16%, you are going to bite your lips when your 36% is on a massive bull and be tempted to fiddle with your portfolios.
Plus, at 36%, there is more chance for big discount topups excitements on top of regular fixed interval deposit. (i am not gonna used that cursed, perverted term in this thread biggrin.gif)

( Well, technically, I do have another 36% portfolio. It's a RM500 one time deposit portfolio, never going to add any more to it, using it for benchmark/tracking purpose )
Lol, lately felt like need to be safe cuz of market volatility, that's why eventhough SA quite acceptable for me, I also feel like I need to diversify within SA, thus, was having the thought of having different RIs.

Btw, I was scratching head thinking what's that perverted term, and then realized you meant that tongue.gif

Thanks everyone whom have shared so much on their views so far, I've learnt and seen alot more than I could from elsewhere. Feels good to have you all in this supportive community.

This post has been edited by pinksapphire: Mar 6 2021, 11:07 PM
pinksapphire
post Mar 6 2021, 11:37 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(neo_lam @ Mar 6 2021, 11:14 PM)
lol may i know which perverted term is that? I am too new in investment area
QUOTE(neo_lam @ Mar 6 2021, 11:32 PM)
for SA...how do we benefit from buying the dip? Because we just DCA as usual...right? We will buy more ETF if we buy the dip?
You just mentioned the term you've asked, DCA, lol...I hope I'm not wrong tongue.gif
pinksapphire
post Mar 6 2021, 11:38 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Mar 6 2021, 11:25 PM)
Ideally, we should buy the dip, buy the dip, buy the dip.

If you are already on high risk, lost money last few weeks, and reduce risk - that's realising losses. But if you believe things will get better, now is a good time to invest more.

Don't bother diversifying more within SA, just use their goals and suggested deposit plan + risk index as they intended you to. If you feeling naughty, use other brokers to pick your own ETFs.
Thanks, probably I should not...will give it a deep thought over this weekend
pinksapphire
post Mar 7 2021, 02:50 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Mar 7 2021, 02:33 AM)
You've got it biggrin.gif

As for "buying the dip" - it just mean that when the market is down, or when USD is weak against MYR, you are getting more underlying ETF shares per MYR you put in = more gains when the market rises again.

As for "why are you trying to time the market when you are already on a platform whose driving principle is set fixed deposit interval, don't look at it for the next 30 years, never time the market" - for me personally, I already have a fixed (daily  tongue.gif ) deposit interval, but I also have some cash on hand that I don't mind putting extra into when SA's is having a sale (the money would have went to some useless garbage I saw on shopee because it had free shipping anyway). I don't need to buy at the lowest of lows to get some additional value, and mentally it makes seeing a sea of red a pleasant evening, instead of driving me to panic selling.

And for long time investment, IMO, anything that can convince myself to not sell/tinker with is probably a good thing.
Wah, daily...got difference than doing weekly ka? Interesting approach smile.gif
What's your min recurring deposit, if you don't mind me asking?

Another late bird who sleeps super late, lol

pinksapphire
post Mar 7 2021, 01:37 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Mar 7 2021, 03:43 AM)
Just to clarify, daily deposit is a meme and there is seriously 0 good reason to do it LOL
I was just being a monkey because I wanted to tap things.
Lol, okay, I get it now, haha... interesting experiment nonetheless!
pinksapphire
post Mar 8 2021, 12:29 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(neo_lam @ Mar 8 2021, 11:33 AM)
ah thanks...should dig the FAQ first....
anyway basically our money are safe....
Safe, is a dangerous word, lol...

I know SA is backed up by these trustees and ideally, our money are in good hands (I think). What happens in real life when one day, say SA just go poof...they're gone for whatever reason, how will our money be safeguarded? They're gonna be returned to us according to the bookkeeping?
pinksapphire
post Mar 8 2021, 12:39 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Mar 8 2021, 12:37 PM)
Speaking from 100% assumption, take it with a massive grain of salt. I'd assume for regulated ones, unless they wanted to get sued up their ass, likely they won't poof overnight. There would be soft indicators like stopped receiving deposits etc then official notice and wind down period as they notify regulators and users, then sell off the assets held in custodian accounts and refund to your bank etc.
Very hard for them to songlap your investment without the world knowing, since the money not held under their name...

I think can refer to how Smartly handled it, the most recent big profile roboadvisor shutdown?
Thanks for explanation and further the reference, I'll read it up.
I hope SA won't kantoi cuz I do think they have potential to last for a long time with continuous innovation.
pinksapphire
post Mar 8 2021, 01:41 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Mar 8 2021, 12:41 PM)
Their AUM growth is quite good... I believe in them, if they get listed I'd buy them, for starters.
If anything... based on my personal anecdotes on other Malaysia alternatives, MyTheo, Wahed, Akru, SA was the only one that convinced me to put in more than RM500. One of those robo couldn't even get my account activated to receive my Rm500 until today.

As for risk wise, I trust Stashaway enough to put money into it, but I don't trust them enough to put 100% of my invesment into them. Stashaway is just my vehicle to get started, as the number grow, I'd likely to partial withdraw early and invest in other places. maybe 40% Robo 40% DIY ETFs 10% KLSE stock picking memes 10% cryptocurrencies?

I think diversifying platform is quite important too when there are so many brokers and robos nowadays.
Good insight on this. SA is growing quite steadily and being a strong community we have here, I think we'll see active monitoring of their performance that can help us make decisions in future, in terms of staying invested and also how much % it should take up in our portfolios.

Yeah, the world's advancing so fast, I believe in the next few years, we'll be too distracted with many more robos and yet-to-be-heard investment platforms.
pinksapphire
post Mar 12 2021, 01:28 PM

1,264 posts

Sorry, can I ask, I kept hearing that tech correction is over? Meaning buying spree is done with and now should be expecting the rise? Is this correct?

Just for knowledge, nothing else.
pinksapphire
post Mar 12 2021, 01:46 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Mar 12 2021, 01:32 PM)

Nobody knows.

Nobody sees stock market bouncing back so hard after March 2020 crash.

Nobody sees Tesla to shoot to $900 apart from Cathie Wood who has vested interest in it.

If I am certain where it will go, I won't bother with stashaway and will just YOLO call/put options on Tiger.

This is not even remotely close to "knowledge", it's random walk, your best bet is to dollar cost average - deposit the same amount every week.
Lol, thanks for this. Cuz wanted to validate what I heard Vs the valuation done earlier saying that the next few months will still be in the reds. I haven't been following cuz was so tied up. I'll have to set recurring deposit soon, don't wanna be too bugged with entering when I have the time cuz time never seem to be there for me, lol
pinksapphire
post Mar 16 2021, 11:56 PM

1,264 posts

I'll get reprimanded for asking this, but I browsed information on recurring deposit and the posts here mentioned about monthly settings, which I can also see from SA app. How do you guys do it for weekly? Or some people even do it daily. I'm not familiar with Jompay, which I've seen been mentioned some times here, if that's the solution, I appreciate your patience in explaining to me. Thanks.
pinksapphire
post Mar 17 2021, 12:07 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 17 2021, 12:05 AM)
try do reoccuring on different dates?
Was thinking the same, lol...wondering if that works, but I didn't go ahead with that testing cuz worry I may mess something up. Thought of asking here first.
pinksapphire
post Mar 17 2021, 02:08 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(cucumber @ Mar 17 2021, 12:15 AM)
I'm doing weekly DCA, I first dump a bunch of money into SA Simple, then from Simple, just create 2 separate 'every 2 weeks' transfer, set different start date (one week apart).
Ohh...that's one way too. Although I heard it takes longer using this way to have the funds transferred, I think it's okay since it's DCA regardless of timing...thanks!
pinksapphire
post Mar 17 2021, 09:17 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Mar 17 2021, 08:29 AM)
You can do recurring on different dates, certain banks allow you to schedule/do standing instruction to do weekly for Jompay (however you'd need to create manual deposit amount in SA every time before the scheduled payment executes)
Oh my, have to set up manual deposit. That's not very 'auto' friendly then.
pinksapphire
post Mar 19 2021, 12:54 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 18 2021, 09:20 PM)
Thats much lower than my trading fee per trade.  laugh.gif
Lol, crazy...I'm queuing to call you dad, haha
pinksapphire
post Mar 19 2021, 09:31 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 19 2021, 08:06 AM)
i am starting to feel olde...... icon_question.gif
I'm sure despite all you've said, you're only in your 40s, lol

On a serious note, with your fortnightly deposit of 2k...may I ask what's your goal for SA in long term? As in, how's your strategy like, to just do this continuously till whenever you feel like it or you have a total sum in mind? Eg. 500k by xx year. Thanks for sharing your approach.
pinksapphire
post Mar 20 2021, 11:00 AM

1,264 posts

So in short, which one is the more important or accurate one, MWR or TWR, lol
pinksapphire
post Mar 21 2021, 11:21 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 21 2021, 10:11 AM)

What is wrong with a 100% withdrawal?  smile.gif
QUOTE(xander83 @ Mar 21 2021, 10:14 AM)
100% withdrawal will close your portfolio and your history of your portfolio is gone that’s it nothing with 100% withdrawal if you just wanna secure your gains  rclxms.gif
Thanks, I didn't know this.
pinksapphire
post Mar 21 2021, 11:28 AM

1,264 posts

After reading so many posts on TWR and MWR, suffice to say I shall ignore the % in my portfolios since they don't have meaningful representation of my returns, lol

I think I'll stick to simple returns per year for now until I can grasp my actual performance from DCA which has different deposit times.
pinksapphire
post Mar 21 2021, 11:40 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 21 2021, 11:33 AM)
do you do the tracking of simple returns on your own?
as the forummer has asked this too earlier.
I just started, and don't really track since still new in this.
Also, I plan to stick to this for some years (unless they suck so badly), so don't want to actively track as long as they don't go deep under. I take it as a passive aggressive investment on the side.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.4751sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:00 PM