5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

abcn1n
post Mar 5 2020, 01:53 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Mar 5 2020, 11:03 AM)
guys, hope you can share your 2cents. is there a plus point to have two portfolios? One high risk like 30% and the other like 14%?

currently, i have one only at 18%
Yes. For monitoring purpose. I created 2 portfolios--1 higher risk and 1 lower risk to see which is doing better. Unfortunately, until now no $ deducted from my bank account to invest although they were supposed to have deducted it based on schedule I set.
abcn1n
post Mar 5 2020, 02:56 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Mar 5 2020, 02:13 PM)
You need to relook into your auto-debit instructions. Mine no issues so far.

Do you mind sharing your risk level for both portfolio? so currently i think the lower risk one is better?
My account is linked. Put in 1 lump sum first time. Guess will have to write to them.

My pf is 8.5% and 30% risk. If you think the market will go down further, then the lower risk one is generally better.
abcn1n
post Mar 5 2020, 03:34 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 5 2020, 03:28 PM)
hmm.. i thought folks that want hands-off or big picture approach will use StashAway but it seems some traders or maximizers still want to use StashAway and yet worry this/that "not controlled".

i thought maximizers or traders will go hands-on with direct stocks, options or futures, where their decision impact is higher - especially with leverage.

personally, i use StashAway as a zzz.. wakeup to see see.. zzzz.. (time/effort optimizer)
Actually I prefer to manage my own. USA stocks etc are not cheap--due to market going up so much and the MYR declining, so SA offers some of us diversification with small $ amounts invested each time. But because its robo managed, the amount that I invest here will be minimal.

abcn1n
post Mar 5 2020, 08:00 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 5 2020, 03:47 PM)
yup - thus U are using StashAway as the right tool for zzz portion of your portfolio, right?
not maximizing or trading heheh.

same here - just trying to hint to fellow forumers - right tool for the right job, not hammer to screw in a hook (ooo 3 ill-logic i did there). laugh.gif
Yeah
abcn1n
post Mar 8 2020, 12:53 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Mar 8 2020, 12:01 AM)
you went gung-ho with your 20k, and you mentioned that you are a noob in investing? quite big sum you dumped, so i guess you are not risk averse? if indeed this is the case, chill la, oni RM150 drop aje
Maybe $20k to him is just small change. If I have a few millions, then $20k is no biggie
abcn1n
post Mar 8 2020, 11:28 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 8 2020, 08:07 PM)
from their website...
Can I change the portfolio composition or the asset allocation within my portfolio?
Inside a portfolio, you can only adjust the composition of your portfolio for a goal by adjusting the recommended risk/return target level.
You cannot change the individual ETFs inside a portfolio because our algorithms select them and design the portfolio allocation based on your risk preferences.
https://www.stashaway.my/faq/115001416793-c...n-my-portfolio/
again from their website...

Where can I see all my investment activities?
https://www.stashaway.my/faq/115001417113-w...ent-activities/
What happens to my money if StashAway gets acquired, goes public, or closes?
https://www.stashaway.my/faq/360013493654-w...blic-or-closes/

Your money is held by our trustee (Pacific Trustees) and remains untouched and safe
Even in a bankruptcy event, funds held in a trust or custodian account cannot be touched, as they belong to the customer – not to StashAway.
https://www.stashaway.my/security
Thanks for info

QUOTE(bourse @ Mar 8 2020, 08:47 PM)
Last Friday bank in using IBG.  according to IBG transfer schedule, bank in before 5am, the fund will reach SAMY by 11am.

1. Transfer to SAMY around 5:05am.  initially thought tak jadi on the same day.
2. SAMY update the transaction by 1pm
3. Conversion and order placed by 4pm
4. Saturday already update the buy order in my portfolio.

However, it is a bit tiring to wake up so early to do the trf.

what is the deposit timing for your JomPay?
How does my money get invested from the moment I make a deposit?
https://www.stashaway.my/faq/360009405233-h...make-a-deposit/

Is your bank account linked to SAMY. If linked, then can put date you want to transfer--although I have no idea at what time they will withdraw the $ from your bank account
abcn1n
post Mar 9 2020, 09:51 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(bourse @ Mar 8 2020, 11:36 PM)
try setting future IBG, it does not work.  only got a msg from bank said this IBG unsuccessful a days later.  Maybe will try do the setting again once the market more stable.
I only did once for next day withdrawal. SA took a few days before they invested my money though. Not sure is it because I should give them more days. I may do another deposit--depends on market. Let's update each other here when we do to see how good their IBG is.
abcn1n
post Mar 9 2020, 11:47 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 9 2020, 11:19 PM)
Why US stock trading took a 15-minute break this morning

It's basically an automatic breather to try and calm market.
There are three levels:
Level 1, when there's a 7% decrease – 15 minute halt
Level 2, when there's a 13% decrease – 15 minute halt
Level 3, when there's a 20% decrease – the market closes for the day

https://edition.cnn.com/asia/live-news/coro...-hnk/index.html

9:34 a.m. ET: Stocks trigger circuit breaker, trading to close for 15 minutes
9:49 a.m. ET: Stocks resume trading, S&P, Dow plunge anew
The S&P 500 and Dow extended losses after reopening following a 15 minute halt for trading.
https://finance.yahoo.com/news/stock-market...-224253935.html

To time the market is difficult. That's why I went in albeit with a small $ amount even though I suspect market will drop further (and that was even before the oil price crash). US market has been rising so much and so high for so long. Its the longest bull market in US history. So this is a chance for people that are sitting on good profits to cash out and buy at a lower price. But because market may have some quick ups and later go down, to eliminate all this stress/miss the boat stuff, I decided to just buy a bit here and there.
abcn1n
post Mar 10 2020, 09:59 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Mar 10 2020, 08:26 PM)
30% went from +8% to -12.45%. Will DCA again.
My 30% risk index is -6.49% for USD.
abcn1n
post Mar 11 2020, 12:17 AM

2,379 posts

Is SAMY real time and if not, how delayed is it?
abcn1n
post Mar 11 2020, 03:03 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 11 2020, 07:32 AM)
the value held in my account seems to be updated about 12pm-1pm, ie. after the day ends in US.
makes sense since day's close for US is after MY's time of 12pm-1pm, depending on daylight savings time or not.

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Mar 11 2020, 12:46 PM)
delayed. reflect after 1pm based on my observation-daily
abcn1n
post Mar 12 2020, 12:01 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(chiwawa10 @ Mar 12 2020, 10:30 AM)
In my experience, IBG is taking about 3/4 (sometimes 5) working days to clear. Then another 1/2 days for SA to invest. It's like almost one week lead time.
Wow, that's long

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 12 2020, 10:41 AM)
U.S. Stock Bear Markets and Their Subsequent Recoveries

Bear markets are defined as periods when the stock market declines by 20% or more from the highest point to its subsequent lowest point.
From 1900–2014, there were 32 bear markets. Statistically, they occur about once every 3.5 years and last an average of 367 days.

Despite the occurrences of bear markets, markets typically have been up more than they have been down throughout history.
From 1950 through 2018, for example, the S&P 500 was on 53.7% of days and down 46.3% of days, and the number of up days exceeded the number of down days in every decade.

https://www.thebalance.com/u-s-stock-bear-m...overies-2388520
abcn1n
post Mar 13 2020, 01:11 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Mar 12 2020, 05:51 PM)
That's the scary part ... I don't know it's a MLM thingy or scam.
I tried to find the correlation in the past weeks but being shot blatantly in that thread for doing such efforts.
I couldn't see any correlation to the US market and USD-MYR forex at all.
QUOTE(seiluen @ Mar 12 2020, 06:13 PM)
was thinking the same thing too. wondering why still earning 5%+  rclxub.gif
QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Mar 12 2020, 06:16 PM)
Despite 2 top ups, my portfolio gain is still earning 10%+
But yesterday US market dropped > 4%
OT a bit
I'm wondering is it because due to very few transactions and the price is the last transacted price, so the price does not reflect the actual situation (so the price will be much higher than the NAV). Or could it be also, they do not do real time update but update days later? Not too sure how Wahed operates on showing the value, that's why cannot explain.

If we know how Wahed calculates the value/price, then will be able to explain.

QUOTE(seiluen @ Mar 12 2020, 11:30 PM)
how many of you withdraw out already?  hmm.gif
Still holding mine. I'm already prepared when I put in my money to stomach the rollercoaster/dive.
abcn1n
post Mar 22 2020, 09:28 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Mar 22 2020, 08:57 PM)
transferred 1/3 from lowest risk portfolio to highest risk portfolio
Why you do that? Don't think now is the right time

This post has been edited by abcn1n: Mar 22 2020, 09:28 PM
abcn1n
post Mar 23 2020, 02:27 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Mar 22 2020, 11:35 PM)
SP500 almost at a 5 year low.
Once in a lifetime opportunity
Thanks. Still think it will go lower.

QUOTE(ProxMatoR @ Mar 23 2020, 12:03 AM)
Ahhh...time to look into these threads

abcn1n
post Mar 24 2020, 04:23 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Mar 24 2020, 01:04 PM)
The problem now is that investors are suffering from information overload because of the internet. Investors are now reacting by the minute instead of days when we have the good old newspaper.

With a click of a finger, we can buy and sell our unit trusts, shares, etc. No need to fill up forms and queue up at the banks anymore like the old days. This gives less time for rational thinking to kick in.

Has the market bottomed out now? Nobody knows. I only know to stay invested and to manage my risk.

This too shall pass although it may take time.
I think one of the main problem is that some don't have any idea what they are doing/have no strategy--that's why when market start to plunge, they panic.

abcn1n
post Mar 25 2020, 09:56 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Mar 24 2020, 06:47 PM)
I don’t blame them. It is normal human behavior to panic when we are confronted with the unknown. Here it applies especially for new investors who have never seen a global financial meltdown before.

It doesn’t help as well when we have doomsayers in the finance forum who keep saying that the sky is falling. But that is also normal human behavior. 😃

Even seasoned investors may be a bit rattled. But they have seen the show a few times before, perhaps since 1997 if they are ‘lucky’ enough. The only extra ingredient is Covid-19 which is new. Therefore, the veterans know that most likely there will be light at the end of the tunnel.
Yeah smile.gif
abcn1n
post Apr 6 2020, 11:36 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Assassin's @ Apr 6 2020, 12:49 PM)
There's also an issue with the fund manager closing down. Both of Wahed ETF is managed by i-VCAP which is under ValueCap, which will cease operation on Sept 2020.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/valu...gement-business
Thanks for info. This is not good
abcn1n
post Apr 10 2020, 06:37 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(stormseeker92 @ Apr 8 2020, 03:54 PM)
This only follows real time ETFs prices. Any reoptimization or buy/sell orders done by SAMY have to manually key-in here to show accurate data.

Yes I opted for auto-reoptimizing but now I am wondering if that is good.

Any downsides to opting out?
SA will encourage auto-reoptimizing so as to avoid too overweight on 1/more sectors when that sector is doing well (so as to contain risk just in case, that sector that is doing well suddenly tanked). However, the flip side is that you have less of the stocks/sector that keep rising in price because they are being sold to buy the underperforming sector. Now, if the underperforming stock/sector never improve, then you are stuck and have more of that lousy sector.

Its rather hard to say which one is better because SA is investing in several different sectors and we do not know when they plan to do reoptimizing and which sectors are going to improve and when etc.

ATM, I prefer to opt out because I do not like Italy or small cap stocks currently and do not know how much they will ultimately rise as compared to stronger USA stocks which I forsee will rise in the long run. The bad thing about SA is that you can't choose to opt out of this portfolio (eg: 30% risk) while opt in for another portfoliio (eg: 8% risk) which is what I would prefer. By opting out, I have to monitor gold more carefully due to the price rising up so much.
abcn1n
post Apr 10 2020, 09:07 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(mister 288 @ Apr 10 2020, 08:59 PM)
you mean you cannot directly transfer funds between 2 different investment portfolios ? you can only withdraw from portfolio 1 into your bank account, then transfer from your bank account into portfolio 2 ?
I am talking about opt in for reoptimisation. Not talking about transfer between funds

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.6395sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:49 PM