18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

Hoshiyuu
post Feb 17 2021, 07:15 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

J.L. Collins has some good insight here at the linked timestamp below about DCA if anyone has interest to just listen to a discussion on the definition and why he doesn't like it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MJ28_ilqJ8g&t=2220s
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 19 2021, 08:06 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(skyvisionz @ Feb 19 2021, 06:06 PM)
Do the transfer duration from simple to risk portfolio same as direct deposit from bank to risk portfolio?
Simple to Risk portfolio is likely the slowest possible method considering they need to sell Simple's investment before transferring.
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 1 2021, 10:35 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

Or be like me, auto recurring debit RM20 everyday, the gila way. biggrin.gif
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 2 2021, 01:22 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

My best buy order (days where shares are purchased) chain so far is (Feb) 17th, 19th, 22nd, 23rd, 24th, 26th, (Mar) 1st.

So its not too bad actually. If someone is serious about it, every other day (1,3,5 / 2,4) is good enough, maybe?

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Mar 2 2021, 01:24 AM
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 2 2021, 02:11 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Mar 2 2021, 02:07 AM)
How is SA actually managing this small of an amount though?
Take manual investing for instance, RM20 (approx 5 USD) is too small to effectively buy anything except fractional shares, and that's still gonna incur hefty commission fees...

Do you mind sharing a snippet of how the transactions look like? Thank you!
Sure thing!

Hoshiyuu
post Mar 2 2021, 02:23 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Mar 2 2021, 02:19 PM)
Ah actually I also wanted to know if the buy orders are actually daily, and if yes, that means it was a true daily-basis DCA. I'm just a bit confused because someone mentioned their RM100 was just sitting in their portfolio for weeks(?) and someone said it was probably because the amount was too small, but I didn't keep track of that conversation...
Oh that explains it.... but surely there will be a difference daily, which they'll have to then trade externally, which translates to fees. Wondering if that frequency depends on reaching a certain threshold (hence holding off a day or two until they reach a certain amount needed to trade externally) or 100% daily without fail...
Oh, as I posted earlier, I've had the buy order execution pattern of (Feb) 17th, 19th, 22nd, 23rd, 24th, 26th, (Mar) 1st. which is almost "every other day". But from reading other posts, I'd assume there isn't really a consistent buy order schedule, and it might be buying/selling at certain trigger price.

I don't really mind regardless, SA is not a stock broker, I don't intend to treat it as such. Money goes in but none of it is coming out any time soon for me.

(SA staff, I am sorry if manual labor is ever involved in handling a deposit and buy order)

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Mar 2 2021, 02:32 PM
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 2 2021, 04:52 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(JJ93 @ Mar 2 2021, 04:42 PM)
Usually need USD5 to trigger a buy order. Maybe you can try RM25 daily for a week?
Interesting theory, I'll keep it in mind the next time I'm making a deposit. This time sales was shorter than I expected.

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Mar 2 2021, 04:52 PM
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 3 2021, 10:31 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(stormseeker92 @ Mar 3 2021, 10:04 AM)
Promo from SAMY-

"We'd love to know what you think about your experience with the app, our client engagement team, and our financial education material, such as Academy, our podcast, and articles.

If you leave a review on Seedly, Google Play, or Apple App Store before Friday, you get RM10,000 managed for free for 3 months.
(if you leave reviews on more than one platform, you get RM10,000 managed for free for 6 months)."
Any links? I don't see it mentioned anywhere.
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 3 2021, 11:04 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(stormseeker92 @ Mar 3 2021, 11:03 AM)
I got an email. Perhaps can check?
Hmm nothing yet. Looking forward to it I guess!
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 4 2021, 11:03 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

I'd kill for 36% return p.a. biggrin.gif
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 4 2021, 01:30 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Mar 4 2021, 01:25 PM)
You don't have to kill, just go to the right subforum. 36% p.a. is possible with some extreme volatility.
I wouldn't be here going almost all in on Stashaway if I was a person who could sell my car, house & kidneys, max out all loans and put it all on a supermax 🚀🚀🚀 warrant now, won't i? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Mar 4 2021, 01:31 PM
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 4 2021, 01:48 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

Finally setup my discount sign like all the sifus here tongue.gif

(Not discounted enough, still got 1 green!)

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Mar 4 2021, 01:49 PM
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 4 2021, 02:27 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(stormseeker92 @ Mar 4 2021, 01:57 PM)
White theme sakit mata ooo
Forgot that I disabled dark reader doh.gif good reminder

Hoshiyuu
post Mar 4 2021, 02:30 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(psyconutss @ Mar 4 2021, 02:27 PM)
Hi all,

May I know if StashAway is beginner friendly? Thanks
Pretty much as beginner friendly as it gets, but its a good idea to read and ask questions.

Because of the freedom it provide, its possible to lose money for over-fiddling it. (Changing risk every other day, panic deposit panic withdraw etc).

But if you can trust it, set up auto deposit and never look at the balance again until 5 years later, it'd probably work and is the easiest.
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 5 2021, 11:07 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(stormseeker92 @ Mar 5 2021, 10:38 AM)
Buy when it's red. Dunno when is the last day. Hindsight is 20/20
And the buy order is executed on the only day where the graph bounce upwards for exactly 8 hours just to remind us all not to time the market, especially not on a 2-5 day execution delay tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Mar 5 2021, 11:10 AM
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 5 2021, 11:52 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

Turned my joke from a few days ago into reality due to a combination of boredom and insanity. I have so many questions, can't wait to check in next month and see how deposits on 31st rollover and what is the buy order execution pattern. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Mar 5 2021, 11:53 AM
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 5 2021, 12:47 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Mar 5 2021, 12:35 PM)
Better off doing weekly because Friday and weekend deposits doesn’t get process until Monday after 12pm hence waste of time doing silly experiment

Better off doing Mon to Wed with at least RM50 daily with RM150 per week because buy order will only execute once the cash portfolio exceed certain percentage and weightage on ones portfolio  doh.gif
Haha this was one of the reason I did it this way, I want to verify the known conditions in this thread against their buy policy document, and what do they mean by "never waiting" & "once a day"
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 5 2021, 01:45 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Mar 5 2021, 01:05 PM)
Rm10 is too small, they won't exucute buy order.
I think they will accumulate at least 20 to execute the buy order for etf.
U can try 😁
The ongoing theory of buy order requirement is 5 USD if i recall correctly, so I plan to try RM5 for a while then RM10, then RM25 (tested RM20), if the theory holds true, then RM25 should be the only situation where it'll execute buy order everyday.

I am against that theory because it doesn't make sense to me that the buy order is executed on a per client basis, for sure they are lumping all client and executing per day, then my individual amount shouldn't matter as long it reach minimum fractional share.
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 5 2021, 07:00 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(NIckLJF @ Mar 5 2021, 04:52 PM)
I have tried everything and burnt my hand more than once haha.

Just sharing cause I dont recall seeing a -2+% dip on SAMY - been using for a year plus.
It's alright, I went in at a terrible time too tongue.gif

Hoshiyuu
post Mar 5 2021, 10:16 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(anggaPra @ Mar 5 2021, 10:13 PM)
ive deposited my money on 28th feb.. but the status is still processing until now.. i thought it only takes 1-3 business days.. anyone experienced the same thing?
No, its been very speedy for me... Which part of processing? Deposit'd? or "Processing X amount of RM" under the total AUM on frontpage?

Need to check if its money reached stashaway but waiting buy order, or money haven't reached stashaway.

Usually if its first time direct debit, money will take a while to clear and reach stashaway

18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.5054sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:25 AM