HYPER TX > diy > WATER TX (haha), Hyper TX transformed into a waterblock.

Polar_012
post Jul 1 2007, 05:22 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(Auraguy @ Jul 1 2007, 05:19 PM)
so if i change all cooper to aluminium would it continue to corrode?
it means the WC is all aluminium without any cooper but with coolant.would it continue?
Galvanic corrosion won't happen then.
lohwenli
post Jul 1 2007, 08:21 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(Auraguy @ Jul 1 2007, 05:19 PM)
so if i change all cooper to aluminium would it continue to corrode?
it means the WC is all aluminium without any cooper but with coolant.would it continue?
If its all copper or all alumiunium it won't corrode, even without coolant mix. Important thing is that it must all be the same metal or highly similar metals (eg brass is a mix of copper and tin, so its somewhat compatible with copper).

Another way is to use a non-conductive coolant, as galvanic corrosion requires a conductive liquid to happen. However, I haven't had time to experiment around for one, and its hard to find a liquid which can match the high conductivity and heat capacity of water.

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Jul 1 2007, 08:56 PM
TSAuraguy
post Jul 1 2007, 09:50 PM

297 posts

oh my god , wat kind of godly weapon is that....
1 small piece of card board make such result!!!!!
how much would it be for 1 piece?
and wats the advantage/disadvantage?
where to buy? How it works?
lohwenli
post Jul 1 2007, 11:47 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Its not cardboard, its stacks of semiconductors (up to about 100). What it does is it forces heat from one side to another, causing one side to lose heat rapidly and build up on the other side. If you can remove heat from the hot side fast enough, the cold side will get colder and colder, and below room temperature is possible.

Advantage
-can easily cool to well below room temperature, even freezing temperature is possible

Disadvantage
-takes up quite a bit of power
-if temperature drops to below room temperature, condensation will form (the water droplets like on teh ais). The processor area will need to be waterproofed using sealants. Read http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/135886 for details.

There are a few forumers selling, generally processors will only benefit from 130W models and above, lower models are only good for cooling graphics or motherboard chipsets. They're also good for cooling drinks without ice laugh.gif

Forumers selling peltiers
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/481613
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/433683
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/447572
MetalZone
post Jul 2 2007, 12:19 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Jul 1 2007, 08:21 PM)
(eg brass is a mix of copper and tin, so its somewhat compatible with copper).
Eh correction, its copper+zinc. and yeah its compatible with copper.
Copper radiators are actually brass tubes and plenumb chambers + copper fins.
TSAuraguy
post Jul 2 2007, 04:34 PM

297 posts

may i know wat is a postage?
and if i using C2D E6300 , wat wattage of peltier should i choose?
and for 7900gs GPU should take wat wattage of peltier?
lohwenli
post Jul 2 2007, 08:43 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Jul 2 2007, 12:19 PM)
Eh correction, its copper+zinc. and yeah its compatible with copper.
Copper radiators are actually brass tubes and plenumb chambers + copper fins.
Oops, my mistake. Copper + tin is bronze..thanks for correcting me.

But anyway, for those interested to know about metals which are compatible, this is the reactivity list (I've only put metals which might be found in a PC, the rest I've left out)

Aluminium
Zinc
Chrome
Iron
Nickel
Tin
Lead
Copper
Silver
Gold

Metals next to each other will react slowly, while metals far apart will react quickly. I could explain in full how it works, but I'm not here to give a chemistry lesson (Btw, this is taught in Form 4 & 5 Chemistry, unless you didn't take the subject or wasn't paying attention you should already know this). Alloys will generally have slower reaction than either of its component metals, though it varies from case to case.

QUOTE(Auraguy @ Jul 2 2007, 04:34 PM)
may i know wat is a postage?
and if i using C2D E6300 , wat wattage of peltier should i choose?
and for 7900gs GPU should take wat wattage of peltier?
Bro, before you happily go buy a peltier, better read this first to know what you're doing
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/135886

Though a peltier+watercooling setup is easier to set up than phase change, you still must be careful-condensation is still a big problem you must overcome. About your questions, you'll need a peltier of 150W or more for a C2D, and about 60-100W for a 7900GS. You can always get a higher watt one and run it on a lower voltage, don't have to get the exact wattage.

PS: Postage is cost to send an item to you through Pos Malaysia or courier service.

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Jul 2 2007, 08:44 PM
TSAuraguy
post Jul 3 2007, 04:18 PM

297 posts

Though a peltier+watercooling setup is easier to set up than phase change, you still must be careful-condensation is still a big problem you must overcome.

Yea, i`m ready to take care of it, i`ill think out something to prevent this, but need sometime first, becos next week i got exam and OCT still got PMR exam, need to prepare first rclxub.gif especially sejarah , chinese , and bahasa malaysia cry.gif
lohwenli
post Jul 3 2007, 04:41 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(Auraguy @ Jul 3 2007, 04:18 PM)
Yea, i`m ready to take care of it, i`ill think out something to prevent this, but need sometime first, becos next week i got exam and OCT still got PMR exam, need to prepare first rclxub.gif  especially sejarah , chinese , and bahasa malaysia cry.gif
Good luck then, with your modding and exams. Respect your enthusiasm bro..very creative notworthy.gif Most overclockers chicken out before even reaching up to your level of interest. Me, I'm taking it slow, still working on my WC and 1st major case mod; you can have a look at it when I'm done.
ALeUNe
post Jul 3 2007, 05:52 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(Auraguy @ Jun 28 2007, 04:57 PM)
Hey there , long time no see , today i hav another mods for my graphic card(7300gt)
Here`s how i start:
by bending the fin of a Ati graphic card heat sink for pipe fitting

Here`s the cover maded by aluminium plate
the cover made to fit exactly nicely into the hsf

Here`s show the cover been drilled 2 holes for pipe

Here`s show the pipe been sealed with silicon and attached to hsf using silicon too

Here`s show the waterblock been locked onto my GPU using the original socket

And here`s the result
GPU Idle  : 48C (left for 10minit)
GPU Load : 53C~55C (playing Need For Speed Carbon non-stop for 30minit)
GPU clock: 500mhz
MEM clock:700mhz
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
What a dissapointed result...... shakehead.gif
I think it's too restrictive.
HOT water is trapped in the waterblock.

IMO, it doesn't worth the effort.
I think forum member/ngbh is selling better water cooling set than this.

Try using larger waterblock + 1/2" barbs.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Jul 3 2007, 05:56 PM
sHawTY
post Jul 3 2007, 06:43 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Jul 1 2007, 11:47 PM)
generally processors will only benefit from 130W models and above, lower models are only good for cooling graphics or motherboard chipsets.
If i were to use a 75w peltier, it won't do any good to my system?
Can it cool my e6600 below room temperature like 20-25 degrees? blink.gif
HaHaNoCluE
post Jul 3 2007, 07:44 PM

628 posts

wah so fast wanna try peltier oredi ar... i failed last time i tried... but some of the materials r really hard to get...
lohwenli
post Jul 3 2007, 11:03 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jul 3 2007, 06:43 PM)
If i were to use a 75w peltier, it won't do any good to my system?
Can it cool my e6600 below room temperature like 20-25 degrees? blink.gif
It won't work. In fact, it will actually be hotter because the peltier will produce heat of its own, which adds to the total on the hot side, and some leaks over to the cold side. A C2D typically has power output of 70W WITHOUT overclocking, so thats a total of about 75+70W=145W on the hot side, and if some leaks over to the cold side it means less than 75W will be removed from the processor (probably 60-70W only).

I tried a peltier at 70-80W on my AM2 X2, and even though the processor was only putting out 65-75W at most, the temp i got was within 1 degree of the usual temp. However, when it went on idle (approx 10W estimated), the temp dropped faster than you can sneeze. From 55C to 25C in less than 5 sec. Had to pull the plug a few seconds later because of condensation (I wasn't expecting temps to drop so fast so i didn't waterproof). No damage because the water didn't have time to ionise and become conductive (pure water from condensation is a pretty bad conductor, until it leaches ions from metals).
TSAuraguy
post Jul 3 2007, 11:56 PM

297 posts

I think it's too restrictive.
HOT water is trapped in the waterblock.

IMO, it doesn't worth the effort.
I think forum member/ngbh is selling better water cooling set than this.

Try using larger waterblock + 1/2" barbs.

yea, it sure doesn`t work great, but think of it, u buy a market water block cost about Rm150 , this thing just cost about rm25, because of i dint work yet(no income) , so i`ill need to do it my self icon_rolleyes.gif but ofcourse the HYPER TX i bought it using my ang pao money.

why rm25?
the aluminium HSF cost about rm 15 (i bought at rm9.90 , not sure where izzit, i think is somekind of hypermarket with store)
the aluminium plate wont cost a lot (i get it in store room)
silicon cost about rm2.50~rm5 (not sure is around this price, silicon also get in store room)
almost everything of my WC is get from ppl , so this thing doesnt cost me more than rm 50 sweat.gif

wah so fast wanna try peltier oredi ar... i failed last time i tried... but some of the materials r really hard to get...

wat materials hard to get?

It won't work. In fact, it will actually be hotter because the peltier will produce heat of its own, which adds to the total on the hot side, and some leaks over to the cold side. A C2D typically has power output of 70W WITHOUT overclocking, so thats a total of about 75+70W=145W on the hot side, and if some leaks over to the cold side it means less than 75W will be removed from the processor (probably 60-70W only).

I tried a peltier at 70-80W on my AM2 X2, and even though the processor was only putting out 65-75W at most, the temp i got was within 1 degree of the usual temp. However, when it went on idle (approx 10W estimated), the temp dropped faster than you can sneeze. From 55C to 25C in less than 5 sec. Had to pull the plug a few seconds later because of condensation (I wasn't expecting temps to drop so fast so i didn't waterproof). No damage because the water didn't have time to ionise and become conductive (pure water from condensation is a pretty bad conductor, until it leaches ions from metals).

so if i take a 130W peltier for e6300 and a 70W for galaxy 8600gt?
(change mind ad , plan to buy 8600gt laugh.gif )

Good luck then, with your modding and exams. Respect your enthusiasm bro..very creative notworthy.gif Most overclockers chicken out before even reaching up to your level of interest. Me, I'm taking it slow, still working on my WC and 1st major case mod; you can have a look at it when I'm done.

okie, i`ill wait for your share, drool.gif cant wait to see rclxm9.gif
but u do it hardcore or softcore?
hardcore = use a lot of tools and stuff with systematic idea
softcore = use a bit tools and stuff with simple idea
lohwenli
post Jul 4 2007, 01:24 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(Auraguy @ Jul 3 2007, 11:56 PM)
wat materials hard to get?
I don't know what he's talking about..maybe the stuff for waterproofing?

Forgot that you're still in school..for someone your age this is incredible man..
And your mod is unbelieveably cheap..even though it suffers from the problem of galvanic corrosion

so if i take a 130W peltier for e6300 and a 70W for galaxy 8600gt?
(change mind ad , plan to buy 8600gt laugh.gif )
okie, i`ill wait for your share,  drool.gif  cant wait to see rclxm9.gif
but u do it hardcore or softcore?
hardcore = use a lot of tools and stuff with systematic idea
softcore = use a bit tools and stuff with simple idea
If you're running a 8600GT, you'll need something more than 100W for the GPU to have any appreciable difference, and for the C2D around 150-200W is advisable because the heat will rapidly go up when its overclocked (with the temp you'll get from using a peltier, its a crime not to be overclocking brows.gif ). You'll also need to use a proper WC system, as the heat load will be enormous; impossible for your current setup to cope. A seperate PSU will also be required to power the peltiers, as peltiers will require an equal amount of power (actually more) as the amount of heat it is removing.

Off topic,
I'm somewhere between casual (is there such a word as softcore?) and hardcore, slowly being poisoned by all the sifus here rolleyes.gif . The current casemod I'm working on is fairly simple, though it does involve some case cutting and solder modding. For a project in the distant future, I have a small collection of peltiers from allngap and ff7yta which I'm currently experimenting on, going to do an extremely radical approach, I might bring it up for discussion sometime-a case built from scratch with WC as part of the case, with peltiers. This year itself I have enough to keep me busy, have a laptop case, a ancient style case for an equally ancient system, and an ultracompact HTPC case sometime around the year end or early next year. The laptop case and my PC cooling+overclocking experiments will keep me busy for at least the next few months as it is; and still have my USM physics course to do..its a busy life sweat.gif

Read this, peltier+water cooling will achieve something similar to this (peltiers will not be this extreme, but sub-zero temp is still possible)
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/481088
HaHaNoCluE
post Jul 4 2007, 02:12 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Jul 4 2007, 01:24 AM)
I don't know what he's talking about..maybe the stuff for waterproofing?
yupe that 'waterproofing' part... i tried it on an old 775 mobo (abit aa-8xe) with 631 (p4 3.0) n 130w peltier... but maybe i didn't have nuf preparation for whole process... but it's always a wonder to see this kid (TS) doing all his diy... will try the peltier again once i have enuf time to install my wc...

hoooray for ts... ehhh, better do ur exam 1st... hehehe tongue.gif
TSAuraguy
post Jul 4 2007, 11:49 PM

297 posts

Read this, peltier+water cooling will achieve something similar to this (peltiers will not be this extreme, but sub-zero temp is still possible)
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/481088

wat is the big big thing that stick on cpu? inside is dry ice or normal ice?
and wat is DI mention in that thread?
wat is the big steel tin that they pouring to cup and freeze???
wat is the red colour thing that stick on mobo around the cpu socket?
is sure look too extream..... sweat.gif i dont think i`ill go for that, thats too big....

yupe that 'waterproofing' part... i tried it on an old 775 mobo (abit aa-8xe) with 631 (p4 3.0) n 130w peltier... but maybe i didn't have nuf preparation for whole process... but it's always a wonder to see this kid (TS) doing all his diy... will try the peltier again once i have enuf time to install my wc...

hoooray for ts... ehhh, better do ur exam 1st... hehehe tongue.gif

later i`ill think out something, starting from this saturday i gonno focus on exam 1st, so i wont reply for the next week.

If you're running a 8600GT, you'll need something more than 100W for the GPU to have any appreciable difference

need until the high wattage ar?? blink.gif

You'll also need to use a proper WC system, as the heat load will be enormous; impossible for your current setup to cope.

okie, i`ill change this setup later.

The current casemod I'm working on is fairly simple, though it does involve some case cutting and solder modding.

later teach me some skill on how to mod case,now i using CM Elite 331
lohwenli
post Jul 5 2007, 02:53 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(Auraguy @ Jul 4 2007, 11:49 PM)
wat is the big big thing that stick on cpu? inside is dry ice or normal ice?
and wat is DI mention in that thread?
wat is the big steel tin that they pouring to cup and freeze???
wat is the red colour thing that stick on mobo around the cpu socket?
is sure look too extream..... sweat.gif  i dont think i`ill go for that, thats too big....

later teach me some skill on how to mod case,now i using CM Elite 331
That thing on the CPU is a pot used to contain extreme cooling substances like liquid nitrogen (LN2) or dry ice (DI)-that setup is only used for short periods to set record overclocks, as the coolants are too expensive to use for long term. The red stuff is liquid electrical tape-its like the tape you use to cover wire joins, but you can spread it like glue and it doesn't conduct electricity just like the usual black tape. I don't expext you to follow like them, but the same type of insulation might be necessary if you're using peltiers.

Skill in mod case? You should ask the real sifus around here-ianho, allngap just to name a few. Typing out my worklog now, will probably only post it up in the morning.
hehee:)
post Aug 3 2007, 09:00 AM

238 posts

peltier is not a good solution for long run and daily usage.maybe it's only good for one time benchmarking .
i've very agree with bro lohwenli anything below 150w is helpless.
i've got one before for myself.actually quite disappointed with the performance ....
for the best cooling sulotion vs trouble vs power consumption for daily gaming and app i'll recommend to go with highend air cool or wc....myself using wc

Bigblock
post Aug 10 2007, 06:58 PM

|| F(R)έǎжy ||
2,275 posts

QUOTE(hehee:) @ Aug 3 2007, 09:00 AM)
peltier is not a good solution for long run and daily usage.maybe it's only good for one time benchmarking .
i've very agree with bro lohwenli anything below 150w is helpless.
i've got one before for myself.actually quite disappointed with the performance ....
for the best cooling sulotion vs trouble vs power consumption for daily gaming and app i'll recommend to go with highend air cool or wc....myself using wc
I agree with that also less stress and maintainance hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Bigblock: Aug 10 2007, 06:59 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0279sec    1.06    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:53 PM