[DIY] S&P 500 Index w/ 0.07% Annual Fee, Buy the best companies in the world
Ramjade
Feb 7 2020, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(Agent 592 @ Feb 6 2020, 04:44 PM) If that is the case what would be the best/cheapest way to transfer money back? Have gone through the forum, mostly just touching on transfering money TO US, not FROM US. If you already have interactive broker, then best choice is singapore bank account. Interactive broker is real time exchange rate. Once you get back sgd, use transferwise or cimb sg (cheaper) to bring money back. If you have access to instarem sg, use that. Their rates can be cheaper than cimb sg sometimes.
catchmeifyoucan
Feb 9 2020, 05:40 PM

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 1 2020, 07:48 PM) Can. But very expensive. Multiple layers of fees from US -> intermediate bank-> Malaysia banks. Sometimes intermediate banks have 2 banks. So as you can see the each bank mark up the fees, you do the maths. So what's the best way to withdraw our investment in the future?
dwRK
Feb 9 2020, 07:22 PM
tbh... let's get so rich that fees are nothing...  don't sweat the small stuff
Ramjade
Feb 9 2020, 07:26 PM
QUOTE(catchmeifyoucan @ Feb 9 2020, 05:40 PM) So what's the best way to withdraw our investment in the future? Aim super long term. Only bring back money when you are ready to being back. Not at your own convenience. Think of it as one way ticket once youroney overseas. How I intend to bring back money to Malaysia (which I don't intend to do at all). Interactive broker -> Cimb sg -> Malaysia
kart
Feb 9 2020, 10:56 PM
I have some questions about opening a trading account in TradeStation Global. 1) Referring to https://www.tradestation-international.com/...unt-new-client/, TradeStation Global requires the following supporting documents, for account application. a. ID card or passport b. Proof of address: Utility bill, bank statement or similar I do realize that https://www.tradestation-international.com/...6-555d25f7-3fe6 does list some examples of supporting documents, but the examples may not be suitable in Malaysian context. Normally, for us Malaysians, can we submit our scanned image of our MyKad (crossed with 'for TradeStation Global only'), first page of our handphone bill (showing our address) or the statement of our savings account (showing our address)? 2) Did you insert Offer Code in the online application form in TradeStation Global? Thank you for your clarification. This post has been edited by kart: Feb 9 2020, 10:57 PM
Ramjade
Feb 9 2020, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(kart @ Feb 9 2020, 10:56 PM) I have some questions about opening a trading account in TradeStation Global. 1) Referring to https://www.tradestation-international.com/...unt-new-client/, TradeStation Global requires the following supporting documents, for account application. a. ID card or passport b. Proof of address: Utility bill, bank statement or similar I do realize that https://www.tradestation-international.com/...6-555d25f7-3fe6 does list some examples of supporting documents, but the examples may not be suitable in Malaysian context. Normally, for us Malaysians, can we submit our scanned image of our MyKad (crossed with 'for TradeStation Global only'), first page of our handphone bill (showing our address) or the statement of our savings account (showing our address)? 2) Did you insert Offer Code in the online application form in TradeStation Global? Thank you for your clarification.  1. That's what I did. I think there is a rumour here that they don't accept Malaysian IC anymore. Cause something about our IC got signature which they thought was outs but actually belongs to Ketua JKN or something. I just give them my IC, bank statement, a picture of my signature, income tax statement. All cross out with application of trade station global except income tax as it's in PDF. Just make your the address match your IC. 2. Can forget about referral code. It's practically useless.
kart
Feb 11 2020, 10:12 PM
Ramjade
Thanks for your reply.
So, your IC and bank statement are in the form of image file, right?
Why did you submit your income tax statement?
moosset
Feb 11 2020, 11:58 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 9 2020, 11:40 PM) 1. That's what I did. I think there is a rumour here that they don't accept Malaysian IC anymore. Cause something about our IC got signature which they thought was outs but actually belongs to Ketua JKN or something. I just give them my IC, bank statement, a picture of my signature, income tax statement. All cross out with application of trade station global except income tax as it's in PDF. Just make your the address match your IC. 2. Can forget about referral code. It's practically useless. QUOTE(kart @ Feb 11 2020, 10:12 PM) RamjadeThanks for your reply. So, your IC and bank statement are in the form of image file, right? Why did you submit your income tax statement? Wow! I didn't know can use IC. I only used passport.
SUSMNet
Feb 13 2020, 10:25 PM
From the transferwise, I not able to transfer the fund to my IB. When I emailed to transferwise support, they say unable to use it to fund broker account. Is it true?
Ramjade
Feb 14 2020, 07:16 AM
QUOTE(MNet @ Feb 13 2020, 10:25 PM) From the transferwise, I not able to transfer the fund to my IB. When I emailed to transferwise support, they say unable to use it to fund broker account. Is it true? For USD confirm it's true. Other currency don't know and don't care.
SUSMNet
Feb 14 2020, 09:20 PM
I remember last time got somebody at etf thread mentioned its doabale for usd
moosset
Feb 14 2020, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(MNet @ Feb 14 2020, 09:20 PM) I remember last time got somebody at etf thread mentioned its doabale for usd USD definitely not. You can check my post #312. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4843925/+300
KLthinker91
Feb 15 2020, 04:16 AM

Lazy to read 38 pages for now
What SP500 funds are available to Malaysians and Singaporeans?
TSalexkos
Feb 15 2020, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ Feb 15 2020, 04:16 AM) Lazy to read 38 pages for now What SP500 funds are available to Malaysians and Singaporeans? Sxr8 via instarem TradeStation global ok.
dwRK
Feb 15 2020, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(alexkos @ Feb 15 2020, 10:03 AM) Sxr8 via instarem TradeStation global ok. he so lazy to read... you so hardworking to reply...  but good lah you This post has been edited by dwRK: Feb 15 2020, 02:08 PM
TSalexkos
Feb 15 2020, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 15 2020, 02:07 PM) he so lazy to read... you so hardworking to reply...  but good lah you :thumbsup: No choice la. These days customer is king. Ayam no receive commission open and maintain this tered also
KLthinker91
Feb 15 2020, 08:11 PM

QUOTE(alexkos @ Feb 15 2020, 10:03 AM) Sxr8 via instarem TradeStation global ok. Possible via Ameritrade? Fidelity? I heard these online brokerages are very competitive in fee pricing Have not personally entered SP500 before. Checking routes now. QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 15 2020, 02:07 PM) he so lazy to read... you so hardworking to reply...  but good lah you :thumbsup: Macha kasi chan la
dwRK
Feb 15 2020, 09:07 PM
QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ Feb 15 2020, 08:11 PM) Possible via Ameritrade? Fidelity? nope not for sxr8 This post has been edited by dwRK: Feb 15 2020, 09:08 PM
TSalexkos
Feb 16 2020, 10:10 AM
Now all time high. Next quarter April how?
TSalexkos
Feb 16 2020, 10:14 AM
 Example of transaction. Tradestation global eat 0.125% per way. I sold because of personal circumstance. Will be back sp500 once settle