12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Done car detailing today with picture at post #1, Lets Talk About Car Detailing

TSgkl83
post Jun 15 2007, 11:34 AM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(Revamperz @ Jun 15 2007, 11:15 AM)
rm500?! i think that price range for detailing edy.. i've done it ar CARs for polish+wax rm180 for non member.

such as those car washer under the shopping center car park basement?

yup... that price for detailing but warranty up to 2 yr for glossy...
lonewolf
post Jun 15 2007, 12:16 PM

3,945 posts

there is no such thing as polish once and last for 2 years. u need maintenance. For RM500 you can better job from somewhere else.

those are their marketing gimmicks. what Glare uses for their cars are flop technologies from US.

CARs workmanship is one of the worst. Under the fluro light, your car may look nice. Once is under the hot sunny sun, you will notice the scuff all around the paint.

if you are interested, i can recommend you a guy in SS2. The place might look cikai, but the price and job detail was well paid. PM me.

This post has been edited by lonewolf: Jun 15 2007, 12:19 PM
phoenix
post Jun 15 2007, 12:21 PM

Life is all about running...
2,529 posts

AutoDetailer at Jalan Bersatu, Seksyen 13. You be amazed with the results and it ain't that expensive. Interested, just PM me and I will give you their contact.
lonewolf
post Jun 15 2007, 12:24 PM

3,945 posts

AutoDetailer at Jalan Bersatu
Swissol at Seri Hartamas, opposite projet
HarryBright at Taman Mayang
Carbauna Autospa, at Glenmarie if not wrong
phoenix
post Jun 15 2007, 12:25 PM

Life is all about running...
2,529 posts

Carnauba Autospa at Glenmarie is a NO NO for me. I sent my car once and I'm not going back there anymore!
TSgkl83
post Jun 15 2007, 12:27 PM

8,377 posts

huh? hiding polish shop contact number? tongue.gif
kev da man
post Jun 15 2007, 01:52 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 14 2007, 09:43 PM)
You have to wash the car first and then apply this soft99 wax right?

How about old stains? Can remove as well?
yeah, old stains no problem. my car is going to be a year old now and i only use the soft99 wax every 4 months or so wink.gif

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jun 14 2007, 09:48 PM)
washed and polished... used various type of polish... still have watermark...
i think the only choices was send to detailing shop to do polish only i think...

my car just 4 months old, dont have much old stains loh... tongue.gif
not really, it depends on the polish itself. some waxes/polishers are designated as cleaner waxes/polishes and unless its a paint chip, you'll lose those watermarks. However, you'll have to be careful as they have a tendency to create swirl marks instead, so over that, add a polymer sealant or your regular polish.

agree with lonewolf - for our weather you'll need to rewax the car at least every 2 months, and clay/polish every quarter if you want that brand new look. wash with plain tap water every week, too. for those who want showcar look, detail every week lo.
sleepwalker
post Jun 15 2007, 02:20 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(phoenix @ Jun 15 2007, 12:25 PM)
Carnauba Autospa at Glenmarie is a NO NO for me. I sent my car once and I'm not going back there anymore!
I had no issue with Autospa at Glenmarie. On average I spend around RM200 there every month and it's been a year now, no problems. Now that you've mentioned it, it's time to go back to do my full detailing again.
TSgkl83
post Jun 16 2007, 11:29 PM

8,377 posts

Done car detailing at SS2 today... updated post #1 with picture... smile.gif
but the bird poo cant 100% be remove... sigh... sad.gif
at least the stain look smoother and unnoticeable right now...
sleepwalker
post Jun 17 2007, 12:15 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jun 16 2007, 11:29 PM)
Done car detailing at SS2 today... updated post #1 with picture...  smile.gif
but the bird poo cant 100% be remove... sigh...  sad.gif
at least the stain look smoother and unnoticeable right now...
If you are paying for a full detailing and they can't get rid of the bird poo, I would not have paid them. What's the point of having a detailing that cost over RM500 and can't get the bird poo out.

Did you just go for a polish or was it a full detailing? I did my full detailing at Autospa and took them 6 hours of removing every single stain/mark/scratch on both inside and outside of the car, down to the rims and engine.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Jun 17 2007, 12:17 PM
Chyan
post Jun 17 2007, 12:33 PM

4,224 posts

a simple snowwash and flowjet will do the trick......not forget polish and waxing.

also optional is sanding the impurities.....
TSgkl83
post Jun 17 2007, 05:00 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jun 17 2007, 12:15 PM)
If you are paying for a full detailing and they can't get rid of the bird poo, I would not have paid them. What's the point of having a detailing that cost over RM500 and can't get the bird poo out.

Did you just go for a polish or was it a full detailing? I did my full detailing at Autospa and took them 6 hours of removing every single stain/mark/scratch on both inside and outside of the car, down to the rims and engine.

RM2xx for full detailing with meguairs and klasse SG, wont expect the best result will be giving by them... just around 3 hrs on exterior only...

according to the boss and the SOURCE he found, the bird poo mostly caused by crow, he tried with polisher machines which he not recommended for new paint, it may take out the clear coat and harmed the paint... but at least "smoother" the stain now...

if want to get the best result, he recommended to optimize it during next 3 months... coat a layer for each months to get the maximum result...

This post has been edited by gkl83: Jun 17 2007, 05:15 PM
Chyan
post Jun 17 2007, 05:04 PM

4,224 posts

do you all know birds like white cars......
TSgkl83
post Jun 17 2007, 05:14 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(Chyan @ Jun 17 2007, 05:04 PM)
do you all know birds like white cars......

that we unsure, but for sure the cars bombed by bird poo, 90% is caused by park under trees...

This post has been edited by gkl83: Jun 17 2007, 05:15 PM
nVidiaFX
post Jun 17 2007, 06:35 PM

you can't handle the truth.
4,880 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jun 15 2007, 02:20 PM)
I had no issue with Autospa at Glenmarie. On average I spend around RM200 there every month and it's been a year now, no problems. Now that you've mentioned it, it's time to go back to do my full detailing again.
Same here, for me the only place i will be happy for them to get their hands on, on my car would be carnuba. @glenmarie.
TSgkl83
post Jun 17 2007, 06:56 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(nVidiaFX @ Jun 17 2007, 06:35 PM)
Same here, for me the only place i will be happy for them to get their hands on, on my car would be carnuba. @glenmarie.

what is the autospa price if do the exterior detailing only?
sleepwalker
post Jun 17 2007, 07:26 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jun 17 2007, 06:56 PM)
what is the autospa price if do the exterior detailing only?
You mean polish and wax? There is no exterior detailing. When you do detailing you do full interior/exterior treatment of the car, not just the outside. They don't have exterior detailing packages. For that you have to combine certain polish and wax services that they offer to make it look like an exterior 'detailing'.

You'd have to check with Autospa whether they can fix the problem or not. Tell them that you are not going to pay if they can't remove it. Hhahahaa.. Just don't tell them that I sent you there.

If you want to talk about reflection, the reflection on my car in my siggie is still there after 9 months of detailing (and monthly wax) and the car is 4.5 years old. That's what autospa has done to it and I'd rather not wash my car if I have to go somewhere else.
Chyan
post Jun 17 2007, 09:32 PM

4,224 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jun 17 2007, 05:14 PM)
that we unsure, but for sure the cars bombed by bird poo, 90% is caused by park under trees...
i found this out by watchin' do you know that?' @ nat geo cnl 52.... biggrin.gif opps sorry not white but black.....more poo on it... doh.gif
TSgkl83
post Jun 17 2007, 10:38 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jun 17 2007, 07:26 PM)
You mean polish and wax? There is no exterior detailing. When you do detailing you do full interior/exterior treatment of the car, not just the outside. They don't have exterior detailing packages. For that you have to combine certain polish and wax services that they offer to make it look like an exterior 'detailing'.

You'd have to check with Autospa whether they can fix the problem or not. Tell them that you are not going to pay if they can't remove it. Hhahahaa.. Just don't tell them that I sent you there.

If you want to talk about reflection, the reflection on my car in my siggie is still there after 9 months of detailing (and monthly wax) and the car is 4.5 years old. That's what autospa has done to it and I'd rather not wash my car if I have to go somewhere else.

yeah... just polish and wax the exteriorl only...
not necessary to detailing the interior since all the interior parts wont effected by external environment except the sunshine...just the exterior is the most concern, rain lah, dust lah, stone lah, bird poo lah, mango juice lah, scratch lah, etc rclxub.gif so try to save the interior for exterior only...

if about the reflection, possible tat car detailing will make the car paint 99% same like mirror? i feel tat the original paint/coat made car paint reflection "uneven" bit like a tiny wave (the reflection should be a straight line)...

out of topic: is it ur car plate number was W?? 80? tongue.gif

QUOTE(Chyan @ Jun 17 2007, 09:32 PM)
i found this out by watchin' do you know that?' @ nat geo cnl 52.... biggrin.gif opps sorry not white but black.....more poo on it... doh.gif

maybe is bcos the crow was black and they thought all of the black stuffs were their friends, try to go nearer with it... tongue.gif

Added on June 18, 2007, 7:36 ami found a small bird poo again this morning, suspect bombed yesterday evening/night, allowed the bird poo overnight on my car... shocking.gif
i try with cotton clothes and water, surprise that it can clean easily... not need to use polisher or wipe it hardly which may scratch the car paint... feel like the bird poo floting on "oil surface"... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gkl83: Jun 18 2007, 07:44 AM
sleepwalker
post Jun 18 2007, 08:38 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jun 17 2007, 10:38 PM)
yeah... just polish and wax the exteriorl only...
not necessary to detailing the interior since all the interior parts wont effected by external environment except the sunshine...just the exterior is the most concern, rain lah, dust lah, stone lah, bird poo lah, mango juice lah, scratch lah, etc rclxub.gif so try to save the interior for exterior only...

if about the reflection, possible tat car detailing will make the car paint 99% same like mirror? i feel tat the original paint/coat made car paint reflection "uneven" bit like a tiny wave (the reflection should be a straight line)...

out of topic: is it ur car plate number was W?? 80?  tongue.gif
maybe is bcos the crow was black and they thought all of the black stuffs were their friends, try to go nearer with it...  tongue.gif

Added on June 18, 2007, 7:36 ami found a small bird poo again this morning, suspect bombed yesterday evening/night, allowed the bird poo overnight on my car... shocking.gif
i try with cotton clothes and water, surprise that it can clean easily... not need to use polisher or wipe it hardly which may scratch the car paint... feel like the bird poo floting on "oil surface"... tongue.gif
There's actually another Subaru with my colour and number plate very close to mine. Even my friends sometimes confuse themselves. Mine does not have '8' in the number plate.

As for the reflection, new car paint actually has the worse reflection, esp straight from factory. We always think that continental paints look so good when new, that's because they send it to detailing shops like Autospa to get a full detailing before selling to customers, even when the paint is new. I always see brand new BMW and Minis at Autospa getting a full detailing before they send the new car to customers.

In your case, if you want the mirror finish, you'd need to do a full polish and wax, even if your car is new.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Jun 18 2007, 08:49 AM

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:15 PM