the locals there seems to "fully utilizing" the whole hill~ sweat.gif

Day2 Continue~

On the way to Kaliurang and going down the hill~
Suddenly lots of mist appear~

On the road half way, suddenly driver pull over~
Driver said he hungry and wanna have dinner~ sweat.gif
My driver so cool~ haha~ tongue.gif
To be honest its really almost dinner time, the last we eat is the Me ongklok~ tongue.gif

So we choose one of the 2 stall available beside the road to eat~

The Menu~ Hmmm~

This is what i order~ I think its Nasi Goreng Telur~ A bit Spicy~ i cant tahan spicy~ sweat.gif

My friend order this~ Dono which ayam dish she order dy~
She said its good because of the sauce but its very spicy haha~ tongue.gif

After dinner we continue our journey to Kaliurang~
Its advisable not to travel at night since its quite dangerous due to the narrow downhill road and its dark~
A lorry even breakdown due to the road condition and we have to wait awhile till it move aside~

We reach Kaliurang after some time~
Since its at night, driver had a bit difficulty finding the hostel~
But we finally made it there safely~

Mr Christian Awuy, the hostel owner @ tour guide have to wake up and greet us~ blush.gif
He asked us to rest early since we have to wake up in the wee hours for the trekking~
We quickly check in and rush to our room~

Here's how the room look like~

So, thats all for Day2 of my trip~

To be Continued - Day3

This post has been edited by littleprawn: Oct 9 2011, 11:53 PM
littleprawn
post Oct 10 2011, 12:26 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 10 2011, 12:30 AM)
Mee Ongklok is Chinese Lam mee haha..I suspected this till the owner of Dieng Restaurant confirmed wth me that it is lam mee.
yes, its like Chinese Lam Mee but i prefer Mie Ongklok~ More delicious~ Yum Yum~ drool.gif
littleprawn
post Oct 12 2011, 08:50 AM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(llsx @ Oct 11 2011, 02:38 AM)
never been to the underground mosque although i lived in yogyakarta for over 4 years now
Are you a student over there?
During my trip there was about to meet a cari forumer there but finally cancel ~

This post has been edited by littleprawn: Oct 17 2011, 11:47 PM
littleprawn
post Oct 18 2011, 12:01 AM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

DAY3~

We wake up in the wee hours again for another sunrise tour~
This time we will go for jungle trekking to see sunrise with Mount Merapi view~
Before briefing, Mr Christian asked whether we would like something light before the trekking~
We reply yes and he went and prepared some coffee and bread for us~

There's only 2 of us for that day~
The day before are a few peoples tourist from France or German i think~
After our light breakfast, Mr Christian start his briefing on Mount Merapi and the trekking~

After the briefing, we started our journey to the hill walking through the housing area~
The sky is still dark and climb for a few metres till we reach a spot where they have benches for us to wait for the sunrise~
The mountain behind is the active volcano Mount Merapi~
And thats our official tour guide, Mr Christian Awuy~
He's a very nice and great guy that likes to take photos~ He helped me to take a lot of me and my friends pics~ thumbup.gif

Here's the pic of the sunrise~ Beautiful~

After watching the sunrise, we continue our journey towards Mounts Merapi and the journey is like Lord of the Rings~
We have Gandalf the Wizard and 2 ring bearer in a mission to destroy the evil ring in the volcano~ tongue.gif
Full of challenge and exciting~

Be careful at this point, if not you'll roll down the hill~ tongue.gif

Finally i made i to the last viewing point~
The nearest spot to view the world's most active volcano, Mount Merapi~

littleprawn
post Oct 19 2011, 10:31 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

Stay at the spot enjoy the scenery for a few minutes~
Sun is getting stronger and we decide to leave the place
Now we are going downhill for breakfast using another route
If you see from the pics, there are many dead tree
This is due to the previous Mount Merapi eruption during year 2010

The playground is also destroy by the eruption~

Mr Christian bought us to a place for breakfast and he order some of the local delicacies for us~

Goreng Pisang with Cili Padi shocking.gif

After breakfast, we walk back to the hostel~
As you can see, the whole road is covered with volcano ashes and the drain all dry up~
Even the nearby lake dry up due to the eruption

Finally we have reach our hostel~ smile.gif

This post has been edited by littleprawn: Oct 28 2011, 11:54 PM
littleprawn
post Oct 28 2011, 11:54 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

Managed to capture the hostel surrounding coz last night reach hostel late in the night and no picture taken~
This is how the hostel looks like~

Outside the main entrance~

Mr Christian Awuy at work~

Surrounding~
This is actually we planned to stay but we switch to another room~

This is where we stay~

After the trekking, we went back our room to rest and bath while waiting for Mr Christian prepare for another breakfast~
This is the 3rd breakfast we are having for that day~
Our driver will come and pick us up from the hotel and we will continue our journey towards the south heading to Parangtritis Beach~

Before that we will stop by at Kaliadem, a village area where it has been destroyed by the previous eruption~
It is still believed that some of the villagers are still buried and lost under the thick ashes covering the area~

Our driver came and pick us up on time and we will really miss Mr Christian as he is a really nice and friendly guy~

On our way to Kaliadem, we saw many houses are destroyed~

When we reach our destination, there's really a sense of sadness and sorrow in ourself~

Stall by the roadside~ If the clouds are not there u can see Mount Merapi in the background~

The whole area is destroyed and covered with ashes~

The trip at there was short as my friend felt nothing much to capture in a sad sorrow place~
Then we continue our journey and head off to the famous Ayam Goreng Suharti~

To be Continued~
littleprawn
post Nov 3 2011, 11:32 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(spiderwick @ Nov 3 2011, 10:48 AM)
hi guys, need some advices here. i m going for 5d4n to jogjakarta in early dec. My rough itinerary will be as follow;

Day 1: reach morning, check in hotel, shop around malioboro/ soroswijaya looking for tours. Go Prambanan for sunset, followed by ramayana show and dinner. back hotel. Is it possible to book Ramayana show on spot?
Day 2: Dieng Plateau day trip, by the time back hotel should be late. have dinner somewhere near hotel. Anyone stay 1 night in Dieng? is it better to do so? Overnight in Dieng depend on you~ But be inform that Dieng has no night life and more kampung-like~ More like cameron but less commercialize~
Day 3: Borobudur, thinking duno wan to do sunrise or sunset. Any recommendations? I recommend sunrise coz i joined it~  biggrin.gif
Day 4: Plan to go Solo, to see candi sukuh & ceto. Any other interesting places? U can try add in Tawamangu Waterfall but be prepare to face 1,250 steps of stair
Day 5: Back KL!

as there are 5 of us, i reckon it'll be cheaper to rent a car + driver, am i right on this? Yes, be remember to as for the final amount~ i got a shock when my driver charged me service charge~ sweat.gif
as for guide, if needed, mayb go Prambanan/ Borobudur that time only engage.

any other shopping places should i include in my trip? besides malioboro street? shopping mostly in malioboro street~ many stalls selling clothes, souvenir, food~ there's also shopping mall there~ Dont forget to try this murtabak telur, SUPER DELICIOUS!!! but onli available at night

last but not least, any recommendation on places to stay? thinking of 1001 malam but a pricey at RM 130/ night. setia kawan seems to be cheaper, any idea folks? how good is setia kawan? important is cleanliness and walking distance in town area
i stay in 1001 malam during my trip~ we bargain on the spot when we are at there~ they also provide tours and got free breakfast but so-so only~
we went setia kawan b4 1001 malam but there full dy~ both setia kawan and 1001 malam seems to have the same boss~

thank you!
QUOTE(stereokumonomu @ Nov 3 2011, 09:25 PM)
hi guys,

im planning to go backpacking alone to jogja, for a week maybe.
have not yet planned any itinerary, but just want to know few stuff

is it safe there?

this is my first time to go backpacking alone, previously always with colleagues. i really wanted to do this since i just really want to feel the adventure.

safe enough to go alone?
going alone should be ok~
but take extra precaution though when people approach u~
and also their beca~ tend to take u to those batik shop to earn commission~ sweat.gif

This post has been edited by littleprawn: Nov 3 2011, 11:35 PM
littleprawn
post Nov 5 2011, 12:02 AM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(spiderwick @ Nov 4 2011, 04:44 PM)
Thanks littleprawn for ur advise!  notworthy.gif

Day 2: since Dieng has no light, think we better back to town  tongue.gif  by the way, is malioboro/ prawirotaman/ soroswijayan more happening at night? any nice place to recommend? Dieng has no night life, not light~ but the homestay in Dieng is not very modern and is very basic~ during night time in molioboro street, the whole street is pack with people~
there's a shopping mall nearby

Or go for massage~

and many food stalls for u to try~

and endless SHOPPING!!!!

Day 4: asked one of my fren, she nearly pengsan when hear 1250 steps of stair. think going to skip this then. or is it worth to climb?
1,250 steps down and up~
Sneak Peak of the waterfall~

For day trip to Solo, will you advise to take car + driver too? or train will be good? how much is the rental per day for car + driver actually?
If convenience, take van/mpv with driver is better coz need naik bukit like genting~ cost around 400k rph i think~

noted on the murtabak telur  rclxms.gif
Is Pasar Beringharjo worth to go? any other shopping areas that i miss out?
Pasar Beringharjo is not compulsory but u may slot in your itinerary if u have the time~
great experience went walking along the pathway there as u can see their daily life activities~

Sneak Peak~

u can also try their brownies~

how much low we can get at 1001 malam? ya noticed that both setia kawan and 1001 malam got same styles.
heard setia kawan very fast being snapped up.
me also stay there around 340k rph~ try not to stay at those facing the streets or u will be waking up very early haha~
This post has been edited by littleprawn: Nov 5 2011, 12:03 AM
littleprawn
post Nov 13 2011, 05:20 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(OhNooy @ Nov 13 2011, 01:48 AM)
Hi guys, I don't get it. If we stay in Manohara, when we pay for the sunrise trip is it already included the USD15? Or we need to fork out the USD15 on top of the 175,000 Rp?

Another thing, do you think going to Solo in 1 day trip is enough? As in going there early in the morning then come back after that. How long journey expected? As from Google Map it shows 70km 1 hour+, which I doubt with the traffic condition there (now Solo is called Surakarta?).
is the usd15 refering to the accomodation charges and 175,000rp refering to the sunrise trip?
if yes, u need to top up the 175,000k rp for the sunrise trip since the accomodation charges itself doesn't include the trip although u stay in Manohara but u have unlimited access to the temple itself during the day time~

trip to Solo 1 day is enough~ travel in the morning from Joga city to Solo~
we visited Candi Sukuh Temple, Cetho Temple & Tawangmangu waterfall plus dinner reach Jogja city at night~
this trip will naik turun bukit like Genting / Cameron~
littleprawn
post Nov 13 2011, 06:59 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

may i know the usd15 is for what charges? deposit?
littleprawn
post Nov 13 2011, 08:00 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(OhNooy @ Nov 13 2011, 07:41 PM)
Ooppss misleading again. The 15USD means entrance fee for Borobudur. I saw the yogyes.com said free entrance to Borobudur means don't need to pay 15USD entrance after we check in to Manohara hotel?
oh, i see~ the usd15 is the entrance fee to the temple~
u dont have to pay the entrance fee to the temple since Manohara guests have unlimited access to the temple~
manohara hotel will give u an unlimited entrance pass so u can go in and out of the temple whenever u want~
they will provide u sarong to wear to the temple so that u dont need to rent it~

littleprawn
post Nov 14 2011, 10:18 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

not sure about the journey~
forgot to record the timing haha~
but its in between 2-3hours, i guess~ sweat.gif
littleprawn
post Nov 20 2011, 03:55 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(spiderwick @ Nov 16 2011, 07:26 PM)
hey guys, the more i read, the more blur i become...

so let say if im staying outside of manohara, if i want to join sunrise tour
i) is it organised by manohara only? coz heard outside one, they wont able to reach before 6am
u should check with the hotel itself whether they provide the sunrise tour~ if they do, i think u should get up very very early in the morning~ make sure the sunrise tour is the one where u can go into the temple~ i know some hotel provide the tour but is view the temple from other place~

ii) paying 350k rupiah is it? i think i read somewhere in hotel website. do i still need to pay usd 12 as entrance?
have to check with the hotel~

if im staying outside of manohara, but not joining sunrise tour, i jus wait outside till 6am then i can go in by paying usd 12 as entrance only?
if i'm not mistaken, the normal opening hours for the temple is not 6am~ therefore u'll unable to go in unless u join the sunrise tour~

as for the ramayana ballet, currently prambanan there is no show right? coz rainy season. so if im going in dec, the only option will be pusawirata?
i dont know~

thank you! tongue.gif
QUOTE(lung @ Nov 19 2011, 02:44 PM)

Planning a trip Yogyakarta, so far I only plan to visit a few places:
1) Borobudur (stay @ Manohara)
2) Prambanan
3) Mount Merapi (trekking)

Few questions:
1) What's the best itinerary for the trip above? Where to stay, etc... I have absolutely no clue as of now...
Depends on how many days you're there. Then i can give some suggestion~
2) Any must-visit places I missed out? Candi2 at Dieng Plateau, Kraton, Tmn Sari, Candi2 at Solo~
3) Where is the best place to get closest to Mount Merapi and experience the ground zero factor?
u need an official guide to bring u there~ try stay at one of those hostel/hotel in Kaliurang that provide the merapi tour with official guide~

Thanks!
littleprawn
post Nov 23 2011, 11:42 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

Day3 - Continued~

After visiting Kaliadem, we head straight to Jogja city for our lunch~
We planned to have it at Ayam Goreng Suharti since its quite famous and other forumers went there~
And these is our lunch~ The ayam goreng quite nice but a bit dry~

Then we head off to Parangtritis beach at the south of Jogja city for sunset~
When we reach the beach, there are quite a number of people there~
Many activities happening around~
Kids playing in the pool on the beach, kids flying kite, house ride and others~

When we are enjoying our coconut water by the beach, a guy came selling some kuih~
Look at that~ Cili Padi~ shocking.gif

Then we went for a horse ride towards the sunset~

After sunset, we went back to Jogja city and our driver drop us at Hotel Kartika~
We bath and rest for a while then take a walk around the street~
Beside the main road, we also walk along those lorong but becareful since its a bit dark~

Look, Setia Kawan Losmen~

After that we went for a massage session to pamper ourselves after a long day trip~

Then we bought some McD fries for supper and its nice~ Haha~ tongue.gif
Thats the end of Day3~

littleprawn
post Nov 24 2011, 11:34 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

Day 4~

Finally no need to wake up early for today~
No more sun rise watching~ sweat.gif
And today we skip day tour with driver and moved it to tomorrow~
Today we will visit Prambanan temple and to go there we will take the cheapest way - the Transjogja bus~ biggrin.gif

Although no need to wake up early, my friend had difficulty sleeping due to the noise from the road since our room is facing the road~
If u planning to book Kartika hotel, try and request for a room not facing the road~
So we decide to moved to another place to stay~
Before that, here's our breakfast~ drool.gif

After the yummy breakfast we went out for a walk to find another place to stay~
The option that we had in mind is the Setia Kawan & the 1001 Malam~

So, we try our luck at Setia Kawan but its full~ sweat.gif

Then we went to 1001Malam which is just nearby Setia Kawan~
We bargain with the owner since we will be staying there for a few night~
And taadaa~~~ Managed to get this room~
Very comfortable and nice compare to the previous one~ blush.gif

user posted imageuser posted image

Hot water located outside~ Free coffee~

Enjoy your breakfast here~

So, we enjoy some coffee first before starting our journey to Prambanan temple~
littleprawn
post Nov 25 2011, 01:35 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

force to pay for extra 3rd person? means extra bed?
when i check with setia kawan, they left with room with single bed~
even if add extra bed price almost like 2single bed room dy~ sweat~

1001malam not bad, just the breakfast so so only haha~
i prefer kartika hotel breakfast~
littleprawn
post Nov 25 2011, 09:44 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(scubamy @ Nov 25 2011, 05:42 PM)
Hi guys,

As I mention in my previous post that i'll be going to jogja for 6d/5n. currently i only booked manohara resort so far. Do I need to book driver/tour in advance or just bargain over there? Can u guys suggest me some itinerary?
Its up to u~ U can book driver in advance or book with the hotel that u are staying~
Try ask whether your hotel provide daily tours~

Day 1 - Manohora resort (Booked). Once reach jogja direct transfer to manohara..relax,visit borobudur Beware of local seller or "guides" approach u~ IGNORE THEM~
Day 2 - Borobudur sunrise tour. Transfer to Jogja (anything we can do here?)  u can combine Kraton & Tmn Sari trip here~ Can visit their BeringHarjo market or visit the Vredeburg fort if u interested
Day 3 - Ding Platue. anything else can squeeze in?? Dieng trip need 1day~ Lots of Candi, Telega & Kawah~ To & from already time consuming~
Day 4 - Prambanan, Kraton
Day 5 - jogja jalan jalan shopping beware if u travel in their beca as they will persuade u to visit batik shop~
Day 6 - back to kl

icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Click this Yogyes Website and u will have all the info u need~ biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by littleprawn: Nov 25 2011, 09:45 PM
littleprawn
post Nov 28 2011, 08:35 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(spiderwick @ Nov 28 2011, 06:54 PM)
thx ya littleprawn, will check with my hotel ppl.

dear all,

normally if we engage driver, we have to buy their meals right? are they joining us to the historical sites as well? have to buy their pass too?
Thank you!
usually people didnt buy meal for their driver since its included in the day trip cost~
just double confirm with them it includes driver, car rental, petrol, tol parking, driver meal, driver accomodation (rarely have this) and most important ask them is that the final price~

when i paid for my driver i shock there a tax imposed on the day trip cost then i mad.gif but still paid it~

driver pass i think i didnt paid for them~
i think they got in for free~
didnt remember paying for them~
correct me if i'm wrong~

they wont join u wonder unless in places like the kawah coz its a bit dangerous there~
they usually will wait for u at the parking place~
littleprawn
post Nov 30 2011, 08:21 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(spiderwick @ Nov 29 2011, 10:56 PM)
ok noted. coz my driver replied me it's inclusive driver, car rental, petrol and parking.
so just wondering whether we have to pay his meals or not. i supposed no need then  tongue.gif

many thanks again littleprawn!
you're most welcome~
remember to print out our email for reference~ smile.gif
littleprawn
post Dec 11 2011, 11:44 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(Aidivn @ Dec 11 2011, 09:31 PM)
izzit safe going alone?
plan to go for 5d4n...
it should be safe~
didnt hear any bad cases yet~
just beware when walking at molioboro street at night coz it will packed with lots of people shopping there~
just put ur bag in front of u and watch out for pick pockets just in case~

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0386sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:40 PM