later spoil my whole dieng trip~ was even thinking to cancel the onglok mie trip at wono~
nvm, i still go for and c how it goes~
since got assurance from u dy~ haha~
wed morning will be departing dy~
excited~
Travel Yogjakarta / jogja, Solo & Semarang, borobudor, Prambanan & Dieng
May 21 2011, 11:12 AM
1,148 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Deep Blue Sea~ |
i was hoping that i wont so "lucky" kena food poisoning~
later spoil my whole dieng trip~ was even thinking to cancel the onglok mie trip at wono~ nvm, i still go for and c how it goes~ since got assurance from u dy~ haha~ wed morning will be departing dy~ excited~ |
May 23 2011, 11:54 AM
323 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(littleprawn @ May 20 2011, 11:10 PM) wow, thanks for the info~ Candi arjuna no need for guide, but telaga warna i think will need a guide to bring you to the spot on top of the hill to see the different colours of the lake. Otherwise it is just a green pond. The guide also told us about the legend behind the lake and the meditation caves and all that, but didnt bring us there. i too will be going to dieng from borobudur coz staying 1 night at manohara hotel~ i just google telaga menjer and looks like its situated on the route between wonosobo to telaga warna~ so did u stop by at telaga menjer? how is it? i'll be stopping by at wonosobo to try their mie onglok~ hope my stomach wont go turning back on me~ btw, i'm curious, why do we need to hire guide in dieng? some of the blogs also hire guide but they received not so good services~ area such as sikidang with guide i understand but i'm not sure place like candi arjuna, telaga warna need guide~ how much did the guide quote you? need to prepare in advance 1st~ I didnt get to stop by telaga menjer, read some reviews on the internet saying that telaga menjer is better because its not as famous as telaga warna. When i went to telaga warna there were a few tourists but the young locals, lepaking playing loud music and all that really spoilt it a bit. Didnt go to menjer because the guide kept saying not enough time. i was quite unhappy. I think its relatively a big place for you to explore on your own. I went to monosobo for lunch but didnt try their mie onglok ( i must have missed this recommendation) but i was brought to the 'best' restaurant allegedly, the menu was normal, food was normal (ayam bakar, ikan bakar was their specialty but the ikan was nice, ayam was so small and over-bakar) but their sambal goreng was good. because we were a bit dissatisfied later we went to a warong to eat their bakso. haha. I brought along pills for food poisoning from malaysia just in case (had a bad case of food poisoning in sri lanka so this time better prepared) but didnt suffer any problems this time. |
May 23 2011, 03:27 PM
3,542 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong, Selangor |
Fo rme, I try my best to avoid guide. I declined their service..Only at the Palace/Kraton, no choice. The ticket automatic ask for guide. but lucky price on voluntary basis. Simialrly at Tmn Seri or king Bath..no choice bcos dunno the way thru from the kampung.
Others, I declined |
May 23 2011, 09:25 PM
@ kneok,
then most probably i wont hired guide~ i'll try and simply climb up telaga warna see can or not~ planning to include telaga menjer but looks like really not enough time since i'll be going to kawah sileri & other places~ @ stimix, how much should we pay for the guide fee~ like a "standard amount"~ scare later i give too little they feel offended~ |
May 23 2011, 09:43 PM
I forgotten liao but i think i gave the Kraton guide ~ rp20K and the Tmn Seri ~ Rp50k...The one in Kraton dun look happy
QUOTE(littleprawn @ May 23 2011, 09:25 PM) @ kneok, then most probably i wont hired guide~ i'll try and simply climb up telaga warna see can or not~ planning to include telaga menjer but looks like really not enough time since i'll be going to kawah sileri & other places~ @ stimix, how much should we pay for the guide fee~ like a "standard amount"~ scare later i give too little they feel offended~ |
May 24 2011, 09:31 AM
May 24 2011, 10:20 AM
323 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
i give the kraton guide 2k only. he thought i was joking but i walked away. lol
May 24 2011, 02:05 PM
May 25 2011, 04:37 PM
I now at manohara hotel near borobudur~
Very sunny day and many people at borobudur temple ~ Going for sunrise tour 2molo~ 175k rp per pax~ |
May 25 2011, 10:17 PM
74 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Just thought I'd like to share some tips as well. Just got back from Yogjakarta.
Overall, my trip was ok, except for the fact that I wasn't too pleased with my driver, who kept suggesting that I start the journey late. Maybe he didn't wanna OT? For example Merapi is best viewed before 9am (as read in some website & confirmed with some locals), but my driver strongly suggested that we start the journey at 11am instead. Throughout the journey, he only treated us better after we gave some tips on the second day. For Dieng, again he suggested that we push off at 9am instead of the usual 7am. The entrance fees have somewhat hiked up and some differs from the info I gather from the web. Here's some entrance fees for reference: Kraton: 12,500Rp (Force u to take guide and need to pay tips after that) Taman Sari: 9,000 Rp Merapi Entrance to Kinahrejo: 11,000 Rp Entrance to Dieng: 3,000 Rp Candi Arjuna & Kawah Sikidang: 20,000 Rp Telaga Warna: 9,000 Rp Photo Permit: 1,000 Rp (applicable to most entrances) Overall, if you're not following tour, I'd suggest that you do adequate research to avoid being shortchanged by your driver, street peddlers, etc. This post has been edited by sassy_chiq: May 25 2011, 10:18 PM |
May 25 2011, 10:24 PM
Informative fees info -pinned to pg 1
QUOTE(sassy_chiq @ May 25 2011, 10:17 PM) Just thought I'd like to share some tips as well. Just got back from Yogjakarta. Overall, my trip was ok, except for the fact that I wasn't too pleased with my driver, who kept suggesting that I start the journey late. Maybe he didn't wanna OT? For example Merapi is best viewed before 9am (as read in some website & confirmed with some locals), but my driver strongly suggested that we start the journey at 11am instead. Throughout the journey, he only treated us better after we gave some tips on the second day. For Dieng, again he suggested that we push off at 9am instead of the usual 7am. The entrance fees have somewhat hiked up and some differs from the info I gather from the web. Here's some entrance fees for reference: Kraton: 12,500Rp (Force u to take guide and need to pay tips after that) Taman Sari: 9,000 Rp Merapi Entrance to Kinahrejo: 11,000 Rp Entrance to Dieng: 3,000 Rp Candi Arjuna & Kawah Sikidang: 20,000 Rp Telaga Warna: 9,000 Rp Photo Permit: 1,000 Rp (applicable to most entrances) Overall, if you're not following tour, I'd suggest that you do adequate research to avoid being shortchanged by your driver, street peddlers, etc. |
May 26 2011, 10:41 AM
Another tip, when travelling, the locals have the tendency to treat you as cashcows...so beware of being fetched to cheap batik shops/ silverware shops when you ride on the becak or andung. If you have extra money to spare, it's good to help the poor in their economy but I also believe that we should part with our money willingly rather than paying so much extra over the normal price. Here's another pricing guide:
Keychain: 10,000 Rp (per pack of 10 keychain inside) Dagadu T shirt: 30,000-35,000 Rp (Ori), 12,500 - 15,000 (Fake) Batik dress: 25,000-35,000 Rp Batik shirt: 30,000 Rp Bakpia per box of 20: 22,000 Rp (Greenbean/ Ori Flavour)/ 25,000 Rp (Other flavour) This post has been edited by sassy_chiq: May 27 2011, 12:11 PM |
May 27 2011, 12:11 PM
Am still wondering, is Kinahrejo and Kali Adem the same thing?
May 28 2011, 07:06 PM
Weather is very good here at jogja~
The highest level of borobudur stil close ~ sad~ Went for merapi trekking and its worth it~ 3km from mount merapi~ Got slaughter for buying the stupa volcanic miniature~ Redeem back by buying borobudur and prambanan miniature for 35k~ Stil left 3 more days at jogja~ |
May 28 2011, 07:20 PM
584 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: Ulaan Baatar, Mongolia |
Telaga warna no need guide wan. There is a trail what goes round both lakes and the best viewing point is from near the dieng theatre. In fact, you can probably avoid paying the entrance fee to telaga warna by taking up the trail from the back of the theatre. Some stone steps going down, then you can already get a good view of the lake.
May 28 2011, 07:35 PM
I view telaga warna from another point by paying the entrance fee~
My driver guide me and my friend up there~ Added on June 1, 2011, 12:06 amGrab all these from Jogja~ ![]() Price List~ Prambanan T-Shirt with Pants Rp25k (My friend bought at other stall for Rp15k) Gareng T-shirt Rp30k "Fixed Price" (Top Left) Fake Dagado T-Shirt Rp12,500 (Size S-M), Rp15k (Size L-onwards) "Fixed Price" Caping T-Shirt Bee Cartoon Rp30k (Middle) "Batik" Pants Rp15k (Bottom Middle) Kids "Batik" Dress Rp20k 3 pcs "Batik" Card Rp35k "Batik" Wayang Kulit Rp90k 40pcs of Keychain Rp1k each (Free 3 batik keychain purse) Fridge magnet Rp15k each "Anti Scratch" Keychain Rp2,500 each Bakpia 575 Rp11k Bakpia Rp12k Carica Syrup Rp10k Madu Sweet Rp12k Borobudur & Prambanan Rp35k for both Borobudur Stupa Rp100k Batik Cap Rp25k each This post has been edited by littleprawn: Jun 2 2011, 12:05 AM |
Jul 4 2011, 06:16 PM
4,261 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(littleprawn @ May 28 2011, 07:35 PM) I view telaga warna from another point by paying the entrance fee~ i slashed the price of the borobudur stupa till 30,000rp and there's actually cheaper ones out there. My driver guide me and my friend up there~ Added on June 1, 2011, 12:06 amGrab all these from Jogja~ ![]() Price List~ Prambanan T-Shirt with Pants Rp25k (My friend bought at other stall for Rp15k) Gareng T-shirt Rp30k "Fixed Price" (Top Left) Fake Dagado T-Shirt Rp12,500 (Size S-M), Rp15k (Size L-onwards) "Fixed Price" Caping T-Shirt Bee Cartoon Rp30k (Middle) "Batik" Pants Rp15k (Bottom Middle) Kids "Batik" Dress Rp20k 3 pcs "Batik" Card Rp35k "Batik" Wayang Kulit Rp90k 40pcs of Keychain Rp1k each (Free 3 batik keychain purse) Fridge magnet Rp15k each "Anti Scratch" Keychain Rp2,500 each Bakpia 575 Rp11k Bakpia Rp12k Carica Syrup Rp10k Madu Sweet Rp12k Borobudur & Prambanan Rp35k for both Borobudur Stupa Rp100k Batik Cap Rp25k each |
Jul 4 2011, 06:42 PM
Yeah the stupa should be ~ Rp30K nia..I was even offered Rp20K for that stupa by another seller after paying Rp30k to the 1st!!
Jul 4 2011, 10:57 PM
928 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(sassy_chiq @ May 26 2011, 10:41 AM) Another tip, when travelling, the locals have the tendency to treat you as cashcows...so beware of being fetched to cheap batik shops/ silverware shops when you ride on the becak or andung. If you have extra money to spare, it's good to help the poor in their economy but I also believe that we should part with our money willingly rather than paying so much extra over the normal price. Here's another pricing guide: Eh i got bakpia for 10k for the ori flavour, and 12k for the mixed flavours.Keychain: 10,000 Rp (per pack of 10 keychain inside) Dagadu T shirt: 30,000-35,000 Rp (Ori), 12,500 - 15,000 (Fake) Batik dress: 25,000-35,000 Rp Batik shirt: 30,000 Rp Bakpia per box of 20: 22,000 Rp (Greenbean/ Ori Flavour)/ 25,000 Rp (Other flavour) Rode all the way to Borobudur on a bike at 5 in the morning. The highway is well paved, perfectly fine for a bike. The upper levels are still closed for renovation when i went during end of June. Some of the main temples in Prambanan were closed too, i think the Siva temple was closed. Spent about 2 hours plus at Borobudur there, then rode to Selo, to see Mt Merapi, that took another 1 hour plus. |
Jul 5 2011, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(europology @ Jul 4 2011, 06:16 PM) i slashed the price of the borobudur stupa till 30,000rp and there's actually cheaper ones out there. I too soft hearted dy~That guy told me he don't have biz for 2 days and ada anak sekolah lagi Then I fell for it Next day after my borobudur sunrise tour got seller offer me 10k only ~ They said its morning price for first customer ~ Then I know I kena dy |
| Change to: | 0.0201sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:49 AM |