6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V36, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

AVFAN
post Nov 17 2018, 07:29 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Nov 17 2018, 07:07 PM)
I think only this one guy come to defend TM about this latest SNAFU. Most of the forumers here are all pouring 🔥 on TM.
This isn't an oversight by Tm it is a clearly trying to turn the tables on consumers who switched 100 Mbps/129 to save money.
TM only did it to save their ARPU.
TM doesn't do mistakes they do ARPU.
Really... how can one not see this as u described?! biggrin.gif

Every FU that they seem to make is to keep arpu...

Then again this outfit hae never had to please customers or fight competition..

We must also not forget the tens of thousands of employed or contracted.

Like the taxi vs grab thingy... gonna get rough...
AVFAN
post Nov 18 2018, 11:41 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Uncle Toby @ Nov 18 2018, 11:04 AM)
Just installed UNIFI 100Mbps. Speed Test Showing 100Mbps. But When Downloading using IDM speed is 100-150 kbps.  Which Is Way lower then my Digi Broadband 10 Mbps that IDM speed can reach 1-1.5 Mbps.

IS TM CHEATING SPEED TEST?
everytime someone hits poor DL speed, the fault is on Unifi..!

not true. in my exp, unifi has NEVER capped DL even for torrents.

just u try others ways to do it since it is possible certain apps or sites restrict.

and u gotta be aware how no. of seeds and peers affect DL speed.

QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 18 2018, 11:33 AM)
anyone has the best settings for utorrent to share that can maximise the speed of 100Mbps?
again, my exp... no need messing around... just default.

100mbps can get max 12MBps easy. it gets harder as u go up... e.g. 500mbps, dun expect same ease to get 60MBps.
AVFAN
post Nov 19 2018, 11:27 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(samuraix79 @ Nov 19 2018, 11:22 AM)
Going to submit my complaint today too. Not satisfied that they only give me 2 options, maintain pay the RM219 (with ultimate) I currently paying to get the Turbo upgrade or downgrade to the RM159 (ultimate maintained) 100mbps and extend contract again for another 2 years.  bangwall.gif
this is bad... looks like they r now flexing muscles, not honoring what menteri and ceo promised!

QUOTE(whistleon @ Nov 19 2018, 11:14 AM)
unifi billing have big big problem.

my office receive a new bill after upgrade to 500M Biz, the RM90 discount is missing!!
[attachmentid=10113178]
WTF the Live Chat is Jam like hell
You are currently 119 in queue. Our representatives will be with you shortly. Thank you for your patience.
it is the invoicing dept in a big mess.

after turbo... missing discounts, missing hypp packs, change prices... u wonder how they work.

i had similar problem, told to wait 15 days.

made report, report auto closed with no action, no explanation after 10 days.

made 2nd report, waiting now...
AVFAN
post Nov 19 2018, 01:34 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(whistleon @ Nov 19 2018, 11:59 AM)
worse Live Chat, never reply my question and quit the chat ranting.gif
keep tell me is prorate calculation so no discound confused.gif  need wait next month bill only know ranting.gif
QUOTE(ejoe @ Nov 19 2018, 12:04 PM)
same here. missing discount after turbo upgrade. already lodge a report at tm point.
QUOTE(excaliburcombo @ Nov 19 2018, 01:14 PM)
rm189 (299+60+20) - (190 diskaun). After turbo rm259 (329+60+20) - (150 diskaun)
QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Nov 19 2018, 01:18 PM)
meaning your promo discount rm40 is missing
need to lodge complaint to TM and MCMC and see what they say
a new TM horror has landed.

seems this new horror is targeted at those turbo-ed to 800mbps.

my case was:

before turbo 299+60-180 = 179, after turbo 329+60-140=249.

but same as case above, net diff = incr rm70.

reported twice, nothing yet.

will see if next bill is same or adjusted accordingly.

** btw, are we sure we did not sign a clause that says "i agree right of unifi to change price or discount anytime they wish without conditions, with or without contract..."!!
AVFAN
post Nov 20 2018, 10:17 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Nov 20 2018, 04:25 AM)
my router is asus RT-AC58, i am on 5ghz ac band.
my issue is erratic speed. i believe i made it clear. my problem is the speedtest started at the very low eg kbps speed and pick up afterward, while during 30 mbps it never happen, ceteris paribus.
this cud be due to unifi's problems last 3 days... u must hv read by now.

or, can try using the beta firmware for yr router:

post #9446, 9456.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2651405/+9440#bottom

AVFAN
post Nov 20 2018, 09:32 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 20 2018, 09:27 PM)
TM is throttling torrent downloads.
been reading this.

do u have evidence on it.. and what caps for what speeds?

i for one cannot be sure as i get mixed results.
AVFAN
post Nov 20 2018, 10:37 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(dayojah @ Nov 20 2018, 10:31 PM)
I have no idea how much international bandwidth TM have, but I am confident that it won't be enough for more than a few MB/s sustained per active user.
Traffic shapers favour small http requests to give a responsive feel and clobber bulk file transfers.
International bandwidth is very expensive, so don't expect miracles for overseas sites
i can understand if it is a technical constraint.

but the question is... is unifi intentionally throttling anyone?

and if so, what sort of throttling for 10, 50, 100, 500, 800 mbps?

so far, i read users throwing all sorts of nos... but do we know what is th truth is?

i am just looking for substantiated claims... becos i get very mixed results.

AVFAN
post Nov 20 2018, 11:00 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(imalmighty @ Nov 20 2018, 10:59 PM)
I see, thx. So, it is a wise choice that i pulled the brake on getting a Dlink Dir842@RM80? How much does it worth in you guys eyes? Haha
rm80?

i tot i could sell it fro rm180? tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Nov 21 2018, 01:05 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(PoorMan @ Nov 21 2018, 12:29 AM)
For the CentOS torrent, I can hit 600-650Mbps max using BitComet. I am only a casual user of torrents, so I'm unfamilar with the settings but I think I'm limited by the max number of concurrent connections. The DL rate was still increasing but then, I have already completed the download.
I don't think there is any throttling but it's kinda hard to find a really active torrent with big pipe seeds and massive enough to see speeds ramping up to 800Mbps.

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Nov 21 2018, 12:47 AM)
direct download I can get 600 MBps-ish on real-debrid, a bunch of .RAR files about 5gb
the problem is.. the downloads will be completed before the connection can even try to reach max speed  laugh.gif
good to read your comments.

i am also convinced there is NO DELIBERATE THROTTLING.

perhaps some form of saturation or technical obstacle(s).

it's just easy but incorrect to say "throttling" when the DL speed is slow! biggrin.gif

AVFAN
post Nov 21 2018, 06:30 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 20 2018, 10:02 PM)
QUOTE(PoorMan @ Nov 21 2018, 12:29 AM)

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Nov 21 2018, 12:47 AM)
just FYI.

i am getting max wifi 300mbps (and not higher with 800mbps pack) with my pc due to the equipment i have.

i just checked my utorrent - was at 32 MBps - can't expect better.

really, this "unifi throttles torrent" needs to be demythed... like bigfoot or roswell. laugh.gif

but if it is useful punchbag, so be it... tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Nov 22 2018, 09:51 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(h03tn4d @ Nov 22 2018, 07:33 AM)
That’s the thing. I checked my password and Id  with them and it’s still the same. So not sure why.

I’m using Asus router AC1300UHP. Been using no problem before the turbo. Sigh.....

I have reset the router and did the basic setup again.
Any settings I need to check and ensure it’s setup correctly?
is anything working at all?

if the phone set working?

is unifitv box working?

hv u tried putting tm stock router back and tried?

u gotta try a couple of things to get some idea what's wrong.
AVFAN
post Nov 22 2018, 03:45 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(h03tn4d @ Nov 22 2018, 10:42 AM)
Avfan, initially the phone didn’t work work. Use mobile phone call it says no incomplete etc. after calling them and reset port it works. But internet still not connected.

Unifi tv won’t work if my router no signal right?

Stock router haven’t yet. Will try that later. Thanks.
if phone is working, it means the BTU/modem is fine.

could be a router problem.

put the stock router back, see what happens.

if OK, put back asus, reset everything, try again.

note, unifi technician dun care about yr own router... if they come they will only check with stock or their own router.

if nothing wrong with stock router, they may charge u rm53 for the visit.

sp, please test with stock router first.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Nov 22 2018, 03:47 PM
AVFAN
post Nov 22 2018, 04:53 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(ijibang @ Nov 22 2018, 04:45 PM)
speed test on wifi (dual band usb eifi adaptor on laptop ; 1m away from router) yields about 50 to 60 Mbps for both 5GHz and 2.4BHz
something not right there.

if the adaptor is working normal, u shud get at least 300mbps at that distance on 5ghz.

do same test with a couple other devices with 5 ghz - handphone, tablet, another laptop, etc.

until u do that, hard to say where the problem may be.

dlink 842 is a capable router - that isn't the problem.
AVFAN
post Nov 26 2018, 12:36 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(chickenluck @ Nov 26 2018, 11:44 AM)
Hello Sifu sifu sekalian,
First and foremost, disclaimer that considered a noob when it comes to Internet. I am on the 500mbps plan and I am running an Asus RT-AC87u (router gifted to me hence I'm not too versed in the router itself). All cables are CAT 5e/6. The speeds on WIFI I'm getting is approx:
30-40mbps on 2.4ghz
80-90mbps on 5ghz.
give some history...

what u had before?

same router, same devices, same tests?

what results before change?
AVFAN
post Nov 28 2018, 12:44 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(andrew16 @ Nov 27 2018, 05:07 PM)
RM179 for 100mb/s and waiting for upgrade to 800mb/s

but it seems those who are RYE 100mb did not manage to upgrade to 800mb

Unifi is very unfair on pricing. charge too high your problem, charge low, you wont get the supposed upgrade speed.
not entirely true...

i was on 100mbps, rm179.

got turboed to 800.

problem was... price was incr by rm70!!

think several cases already reported here.

i had filed reports, etc.

after 4 weeks, still "under investigation".

the staff i spoke to commented it's likely a "system fault"... so i wait.

hopefully the credit and right bill will come next and not have to fight for next 12 months.

thing is there are thousands of complaints now.... those guys/gals are not used to working fast... so... WAIT.... WAIT....

AVFAN
post Nov 29 2018, 03:47 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(excaliburcombo @ Nov 29 2018, 03:22 PM)
the new bill didn't take effect yet. They will refund excess on next bill cycle.
i submit complain on livechat. Actually it depend on CS that take our chat. First time livechat CS said it's normal prorate and so on ranting.gif . Then disconnect me. Second livechat i get good CS. Tell him 1 times only he got it. he also ask me to wait to give report no and explain what report he submit.
pls update when u get the refunds sorted out in full.

i hv similar case like yours... incl what goes on in the livechats.

u r fortunate to get attention within a few days.

i lodge report#1 a month ago - after 10 days, sms came "case resolved and closed" when nothing was resolved.

report#2 made, followed by calls, emails - told to wait 15 days again.

today, received SMS - "need another 15 days to investigate".

seems nobody wants to deal with this billing error crap... likely caused by some billing clerk or IT worker.

or...their accounting software is so good that they came alive and decided to charge more after turbo!

AVFAN
post Nov 29 2018, 05:41 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(chickenluck @ Nov 29 2018, 04:57 PM)
I have had the same router and devices previously when running 50mbps plan.  Before I was getting at least 40mbps.

I have tried with LAN cable and i am still getting 100 mbps or less.

I am pretty convinced it may be my BTU (the huawei). Will request for change as I see some kawan on this thread also got theirs change with hopeful results.
Sorry.... been a few days snce u posted, cant remember all.... this thread moves vv fast!

Yr router can do 500.... what u get is too slow.

What modem u hv? u gotta tell all... then only people can comment.

If modem no good, they will surely replace.

Also, please test again with tm modem, tm router... better find a laptop to test ethernet.

When the guys come, they ONLY test tm supplied eqpt, ethernet with their laptop.

They will not bother or want anything to do with yr own router or other devices. Or wifi.

If they find no problem with their eqpt, they will charge u rm53 for visit.
AVFAN
post Nov 29 2018, 05:55 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Nov 29 2018, 05:48 PM)
The SA said they will charge some amount (forgot exact amount). This amount will be charged through the unifi bill. However, they will credit it back to me on the next bill.

Is that correct?
Dun really know... so far, i hv not been charged for any visit.
AVFAN
post Dec 1 2018, 10:06 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(excaliburcombo @ Nov 30 2018, 09:13 PM)
Sorry actually on sms they reply refund within next 2 month not next bill cycle.
ok, gud 2 know.
AVFAN
post Dec 7 2018, 12:51 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Dec 7 2018, 11:53 AM)
I have the exact same model and only got 200mbps initially. The technician says my router doesn't support 500mpbs but I KNOW it does. So I told him nevermind, if I need to change router, I will buy another Asus model. So after checking with bros over here, I got it fixed.
You need to change Nat Acceleration to Auto and it will go up to 500mbps.
QUOTE(tedfuhrer @ Dec 7 2018, 12:34 PM)
Wow, really? 500mbps is LAN or Wifi?
ac56u same class as my ac1300uhp.

nat acceleration should be set to enabled since speed is >100mbps... for better performance.

i get 680-700mbps with LAN.

why not full 800... i suspect due to my device.

unifi guys use own laptop, get 820-825.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.2171sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:09 AM