6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V36, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

AVFAN
post Nov 7 2018, 11:22 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 7 2018, 11:12 PM)
Check out the date, it could be the bill hasn't covered your new plan as it was reflected before you were Turbo-ed.
my bill is about this time of month... turbo today, the bill shows turbo-ed details.

already reported, will see what happens.
AVFAN
post Nov 8 2018, 07:23 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Nov 8 2018, 05:40 PM)
Today considered truly settled as the last 100Mbps account; which happens to be my main account, has been turboed to 800Mbps  biggrin.gif
now, u gotta watch the next bill.

my case, yesterday... some imbecile in accts upon turbo confirmation immediately incr price by rm70!

made report, rec'd sms... they will "take 15 days to investigate".

i hope not to shout n yell later.

AVFAN
post Nov 8 2018, 10:49 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Nov 8 2018, 09:59 PM)
after much complaints lodged via mcmc since Sept...i finally got my Turbo today (Miri, Swak)

but to my dismay...i only got upgraded to 500Mbps instead of 800Mbps ! Currently paying rm189, checked on my unifi dashboard and the perpetual discount becomes rm130 only...what is freakin tm trying to do ?
same thing like mine.

wait for new bill... see if net price up by how much.

u gotta call or livechat, lodge report.

i did, had msg "15 days to investigate".

the investigation should find some moron play-play raise price the moment he/she sees "turbo done".

or may some training course told them to do so? rolleyes.gif
AVFAN
post Nov 9 2018, 07:01 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Nov 9 2018, 04:42 PM)
Today tried using just C3150v2 as PPPoE router. Latest fw, using quickset unifi and even using google dns, for some reason speedtest gave me around 100Mbps-ish DL and 200+Mbps-ish UL. Restarted router and modem doesn't makes any difference.

Connect back 750Gr3 and able to get 500Mbps-ish.

tested on Unifi 800.

Anyone have any idea where I did wrong?
what device u used to test?

my exp with tests incl the unifi guys using unifi stock routers...

for ethernet 800mbps, laptops can give 820-830, other devices... 500-650 only.
AVFAN
post Nov 9 2018, 09:41 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Nov 9 2018, 08:03 PM)
Tested using laptop i7-8750H direct connection to router using cat6 cable.
You also using same router?
diff routers.

actually 3 routers - tplink1200, dlink842, asus1300uhp.

i could not get >500 on my test device, so i called unifi guys.

their tests showed that my device is lacking... i do not hv a gigabit laptop to test.

with his dell laptop, get 820-830.

my conclusion is there are many devices that will not give >650.

<800mbps problem is less likely the router, more likely to be the client device.
AVFAN
post Nov 10 2018, 05:29 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Nov 10 2018, 05:18 PM)
DIR842 only 300mbps despite it saying it could go above 800mbps? The Tenda Nova if can hit 500mbps, at max I got yesterday 300mbps. Tenda Nova also mentioned 800mbps+ on 5.0ghz wifi.

Thanks will keep that in mind. Probably will change the router then. Or use the Tenda Nova as router. Also I should upgrade to cat6 while i'm at it.
i read your last few posts.. not clear if u mean ethernet or WIFI.

if wired, dir842 (and tplink ac1200) can do up to 830mbps when the guy tested with his latop in my case.

my own devices, max 650.

wifi... his handphone, 500-600; my own devices 200-300.

yr 500mbps, results shud correspond.

ethernet or wifi... i think u gotta have EVERYTHING first class to get full speed.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Nov 10 2018, 05:32 PM
AVFAN
post Nov 10 2018, 11:30 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Nov 10 2018, 08:08 PM)
30 mbps to 100 mbps doesn’t feel any different too. So I think it’s all good unless you download a lot.

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 10 2018, 09:32 PM)
If all stream full HD? 30Mbps is a bit too little for normal household these days. tongue.gif
if all users are using ethernet, 30mbps will do.
netflix hd takes like 6mbps only - 5 people can do at same time!

the trouble is the losses with wifi.
u gotta have plenty to end up sufficient for the each wifi user.
my experience, 3 users streaming common videos, 2 wifi, one wired, 50mbps is min.
100mbps is great, guaranteed smooth.
excess of 100mbps is only required if u are streaming or DL'ing heavy stuff.

AVFAN
post Nov 12 2018, 12:38 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(Sylleth @ Nov 12 2018, 08:59 AM)
Just got Turbo-ed from 10Mbps to 100Mbps about 1.5 week ago.

However everyday when I do the speedtest and download something, the speed is unstable. Sometimes it'll get you as high as 8MB/s (that's the highest peak I've seen so far, but it lasted for only few minutes), and sometimes as low as 2MB/s and I'm the only one using the Internet. So far the stable download speed I'm getting is between 2MB/s to 5MB/s.

Is there a catch there? Like, is it not constantly 10MB/s but "UP" to 10MB/s?
having experienced unifi levels of speeds.. from 10 to 800mbps...

i can attest to full 100mbps or 12.5MBps for 100mbps - ethernet or wifi.

check y r router, cables, device.

and try using diff router and devices.

most of the time, it's your device that's lacking - this is what every other post or thread is about now! tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Nov 12 2018, 03:06 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(cybercrew @ Nov 12 2018, 03:03 PM)
Just got upgraded from 100mbps to 800 mbps.
Hardware spec as below :
Huawei HG8240w
Asus RT-AC55UHP
Tested on wired connection Cat 5e, Hitting max 350 MBPS
Tested on Wifi @ 5 ghz 1 meter from Router. Hitting max speed approx 290 - 300 MBPS.
Not sure if this is due to cable issue.  Just ordered Ugreen Cat 6 cable.. will test it out and update here..
btw, do you guys think it could be cable or my BTU or router ?
Router i used to have QOS enabled.. matching my previous 100mbps speed. So disabled QOS now.
is NAT should be enabled or not ?
1. what device u use to test?

2. what app u use to test?

AVFAN
post Nov 12 2018, 03:21 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(cybercrew @ Nov 12 2018, 03:09 PM)
my desktop wired Gigabit lan port.
iphone 6s plus and ipad for wifi

speedtest.net via web
for LAN, is your desktop gigabit too?

for wifi, u need a better router to get higher speed.

if not, 300 is about all u can get.

read page 1 and the wifi thread, answers r there.

yr question comes out TWICE every day in LYN!
AVFAN
post Nov 13 2018, 11:23 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Nov 13 2018, 10:02 AM)
Yes, confirm torrent is being throttled, after the recent Turbo exercise.
do u know what are cap limits placed on the various turbo-ed packages?

or just one single cap for all?

QUOTE(poque @ Nov 13 2018, 10:15 AM)
Just sharing my experience downgrade my unifi from 500 mbps to 100 mbps earlier..

I received turboed somewhere in Sept 2018 from 50 to 500mbps but unfortunately I unable to enjoy the speed given due to my own devices (max 50 mbps for 2.4g wifi / max 150 for 5g wifi / 350 for wired connection). Already ask the technician for ground assistance which they told me the speed is based on what have been promised (500mbps on wired and 300++ on wifi)

Thus, since my own devices are not capable to get the speed more than 100mbps, i decided to downgrade to 100mbps and need to tie another 2 years contract. after few days they send notification to off my router and enjoy the new speed. Surprisingly, when use wifi i can get 75++ mbps through 2.4ghz + 100mbps 5ghz. better than 500mbps earlier.
this experience could be temp.

i think due to turbo exercise, there is quite a lot of volatilty and instabliity for the various speeds.

more so for wifi.

u gotta check it over a longer period.

my own exp, turboed definitely gives higher speed but not necessarily stable.

AVFAN
post Nov 13 2018, 09:01 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Nov 13 2018, 10:02 AM)
Yes, confirm torrent is being throttled, after the recent Turbo exercise.

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 13 2018, 11:23 AM)
do u know what are cap limits placed on the various turbo-ed packages?
or just one single cap for all?
QUOTE(Cynox @ Nov 13 2018, 11:49 AM)
if your main usage is torrent then no use.  biggrin.gif  But I have switched my habit from download/torrent to streaming, no need to buy hard disk for storage anymore.  icon_idea.gif
u have not responded to my question.

pls respond.

pls do not say something u cannot support n backup.

i ask u becos i am not sure if there is throttle or not.

PLEASE EXPLAIN!

AVFAN
post Nov 13 2018, 09:33 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Nov 13 2018, 09:29 PM)
I answered you coz I am sure there is throttling becoz there is lots of difference in the download speed before and after my line is Turbo'ed. 

But I just stating from my personal experience, I do not owe you any explanation/response.  If you believe then take it, else just leave it.
I have no answer to this, so i did not reply.
u do owe readers here something if u make a claim like that.

if u don't back it up, u will lose credibility, people remember.

if u think this is kopitiam, that's just u.

AVFAN
post Nov 14 2018, 05:51 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Nov 14 2018, 04:15 PM)
Just call up TM again and this time instead of straight away says "port issue", she went on and refresh the connection step by step. End result, still around 500-ish.
So, opened a report waiting for the tech to investigate.

As for my desktop, nah, I'll live with it. It's time for an upgrade anyway ^^.
tech guys will come, like they did in my case.

the guy plugged in his laptop, use his TM speedtest with stock router tplink ac1200 and viola... 820mbps!

changed router to dllink 842, get 830mbps.

i can only accept the results and conclude my own device is not good enough, get 600-650 DL but 207 UL.

i will have to find a super new laptop to test again.

meanwhile, i can more than live with that speed.

may even downgrade at a later stage to 300 or 500 if i can save some RM.
AVFAN
post Nov 14 2018, 08:39 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Nov 14 2018, 07:41 PM)
Guys, how do I know whether my downloading speed is being throttled by unifi or not?

Unifi : 800MB
Router : TM TP Link C1200
Adapter : TP Link AC1900 T9UH
Laptop : i5-3210M, 8GB DDR3, 250GB Samsung Evo SSD

5GHz web speedtest : 280mbps down, 170mbps up.

Downloading a movie size around 800mb using IDM, speed average 9++ KB/sec ~ 1.2 MB/sec. If this is not the right speed, what is the best speed I should be getting with my current setup? I'm asking this because I hope to see great improvement when I switch my current router to Asus GT-AC5300...

I'm not quite sure is this the right speed I'm suppose to get out from my current setup. Highly appreciate sifus here and shred some lights on me~

TQVM...
sifus have spoken but i will tell u what i get.

tplink 1200, dir842, asus 1300uhp... all about the same, assuming firmware is uptodate.

yr adaptor isn't too shabby but i m not sure; i use asus ac55.

on 5ghz, yr results are fine but IDM 1.2MBps - that's poor.

why not do utorrent direct and see how?

5ghz, 50 ft, i get similar results like yours with speedtest but i get torrent up to 20MBps.

ethernet, u can get up to 32MBps.
AVFAN
post Nov 15 2018, 10:43 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Nov 15 2018, 10:35 AM)
I do see an improvement in download speeds to US and EU servers which is something that does help since I moved from 100Mbps to 800Mbps.

I wish they had an option to allow downgrade to 300Mbps or 500Mbps and pay below RM200 rather than going all the way down to 100Mbps at RM129.

It's never fun paying more for something than others but I don't see how to get around this for now.
many incl u and me are thinking the same.

800 is overkill, 100 is on the low side.

300 or 500 is ideal.

BUT, they know this and refuse to offer this now as it will mean lower revenues.

we just hv to wait to see what is their next move.
AVFAN
post Nov 15 2018, 03:14 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(paradiseisland8 @ Nov 15 2018, 02:30 PM)
No report there. I went to change vip10 to 100mbps. The upgrade report is closed. TM supposed to come to change router(got the sms technician supposed to come yesterday). Anyone face similar issue before?
u should chat or call.

it is unifi's fashion now to close reports if they feel like it!!

i had one report closed w/o anything done, made another one.
AVFAN
post Nov 15 2018, 08:23 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(realventis @ Nov 15 2018, 07:54 PM)
Ya first bill.. ya i get the answer already it is a prorated amount.. but there will be iptv charges again for next month bill as expalined by authorized TM agent.. hopefully the charges will be discounted next month as it is included in the package rm129 already..
i advise u to monitor this carefully.

i had unusual charges in my last bill after turbo and they dun seem to understand, can't explain well but just brush it off with "prorated, next month normal".

i dun trust it... looks to me either there are little napoleons putting it new charges when they see fit or mgmt told them to slap new charges and then play dumb.

watch it carefully.

AVFAN
post Nov 16 2018, 07:18 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Nov 16 2018, 06:39 PM)
ooo....

maybe we made too much noise here?!

anyway, i hope the new guy will do something to rationalize and streamline the f'ed up pricing structure for customers.

best thing would be to find the lowest common denominator in any category and apply it to all others, dun ya agree??

i.e. the lowest price, best iptv pack and best std20 for 10mbps, 50, 100, 300, 500, 800 and apply to ALL in their class paying same prices.

then, everyone's on same level, no more complaints... can reduce manpower to deal with calls, livechat, emails, etc - cost savings.

drop in revenue, let it be, let TM stock price slide... it will rebound if they can get their act together.

better now than never... buck up, get efficient, learn how to compete and not live on monopoly and privileges!!

AVFAN
post Nov 17 2018, 06:45 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(iamwatchingYou @ Nov 17 2018, 06:37 PM)
They just trying their luck I think, hoping nobody were reading their FAQ...hahaha. The plan fail I guest.
likely a growing local cultural habit - test waters.

if no noise, it's a go; if too much noise, say mistake, misquoted, retract.

same same politicians.

this habitual tactic has infiltrated even biz.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.2006sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:14 PM