6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V36, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

AVFAN
post Dec 10 2018, 03:02 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Dec 10 2018, 02:54 PM)
i think u are over-reacted. i am referring to most people and NOT ALL people.
For those that clearly aware of what they can do with the speed, that's good.
there is no point to even discuss on individual's need as it only affects one person. I am discussing about the needs for most majority of people.

to most household, it is way more than enough, most people are doing streaming of videos or web browsing. the bandwidth currently at 100Mbps is more than sufficient.
dun forget the fact we are coming from 5Mbps, 10Mbps and 20Mbps that kind of speed to now which is few times more the speed. and this upgrade was only done these 1 to 2 years.
me, coming from 10->30->50->100->800, i'll say.

agree... for MOST households, 100mbps is sufficient, can easily make do, whatever.

for some households doing heavy streaming/DL, need to cover wifi losses, 300-500 will be best.

i will say 800 is overkill for ALMOST all households.

the bad news is UNIFI does not give me a choice! it's either 100 or 800!!

one thing we must not forget - to use 800, 1000 fully, one gotta use cables, change router, change devices - whole lotta $ to spend!

i am not sure such spending is justified, for me at least.

AVFAN
post Dec 10 2018, 05:21 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(mikey8811 @ Dec 10 2018, 05:17 PM)
I could renew to RM129 for 100 Mbs but that seems silly as my bandwidth is capped at 50 Mbps.

Are there cases of folk who ended up paying less than RM 129 for 50 Mbps?

not a favorable position...

there is rm89 but with a GB quota.

suggest u go visit TMpoint.... they may hv something else to offer u.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 10 2018, 05:35 PM
AVFAN
post Dec 10 2018, 05:33 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(whistleon @ Nov 19 2018, 11:59 AM)
worse Live Chat, never reply my question and quit the chat ranting.gif
keep tell me is prorate calculation so no discound confused.gif  need wait next month bill only know ranting.gif
QUOTE(ejoe @ Nov 19 2018, 12:04 PM)
same here. missing discount after turbo upgrade. already lodge a report at tm point.
QUOTE(excaliburcombo @ Nov 19 2018, 01:14 PM)
rm189 (299+60+20) - (190 diskaun). After turbo rm259 (329+60+20) - (150 diskaun)
QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Nov 19 2018, 01:18 PM)
meaning your promo discount rm40 is missing
need to lodge complaint to TM and MCMC and see what they say
revisiting this... if u hv solved the problem, good.

if not, dun give up... keep complaining to them.

i had total rm70 discount missing after turbo.

after 6 weeks, 3 live chats, 3 complaint reports, 3 phone calls, 1 email (copied to mcmc)... i finally recd this today:

We refer to your e-mail, we regret to know that the package discount of RM70 has not been included upon the the package upgrade to unifi 800Mbps (Turbo Upgrade 2018)

However, we found this matter has been forwarded to our Billing Department for their further assistance (report number xxx). The package discount will be added and the excess bill will be waived accordingly. Your request will be processed within 15 days and the bill waiver will be reflected within 2 billing cycle.

very exhausting dealing with them... while they waste precious resources on such unnecessary FUs.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 10 2018, 05:40 PM
AVFAN
post Dec 11 2018, 11:10 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Dec 11 2018, 10:20 AM)
My Turbo 800Mbps has been downgraded to 100Mbps.

TM didn't bother to my request and just downgraded.... their revenue get reduced from 250+ to 129+ now... wakkakakak
if paying 250+, no brainer in downgrading quick quick.

do u need to sign fresh contract for new 100mbps?
AVFAN
post Dec 11 2018, 11:35 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 11 2018, 11:29 AM)
Changing plan to 129 - 100Mbps will refresh contract unless pay for downgrade fees if within contract period.
if no current contract, downgrade = new 2 yrs contract, no penalty?

if current contract, pay penalty... but continue current contract or refresh 2 years?

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 11 2018, 11:35 AM
AVFAN
post Dec 11 2018, 11:42 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 11 2018, 11:39 AM)
If no contract, downgrade = refresh contract without paying penalty.
If with contract, downgrade = refresh contract or pay downgrade fees.
ok, tq.
AVFAN
post Dec 11 2018, 02:34 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(henry514 @ Dec 11 2018, 02:20 PM)
I use few speed tester like Ookla, Fast.com, U Mobile - Speedtest, TM Speed Test, TIME Speed Test. All get the same result 93-95mbps. Complain with TM but they said no server problem or something. Really weird. Thanks for help, apiezsneo :-)
if everything incl cables, router and devices have been the same and u get a speed drop like that, never to return, u shud check:

.. cable connections.
.. fiber optic cable leading to yr house at the white box.
.. check as far as u can the incoming cable from outside.

i experienced "weird" problems twice.

once, it was becos some idiot after a job at the green box outside unplugged the cable for my unit.

the other other, a gardener whacked the cable in the ground, partially severed the cable.
AVFAN
post Dec 11 2018, 03:30 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(FollowMeRogerThat @ Dec 11 2018, 03:24 PM)
My other question for her was will I get a new router as my contract will be renewed for 2 years and she answered that it depends if my current router is able to support the new speed.

I'm actually using ASUS RT-88U which I'm pretty sure it will support.

Question for Sifus here is shouldn't I be entitled for a new router regardless of whether my router supports the speed or not? Please help, if you have experienced this as I plan to tekan them for a new router. I felt that's fair since I'm forced to renew my contract.

Thanks!
they dun care and dun wanna know about your own asus router.

what u need to do is put back the old unifi stock router and see it is working good.

if it is, they will not replace.

if no good, they will come test/confirm, replace new with 1 year warranty since u sign new 2 yr contract.

after they leave, u can put back yr own asus.
AVFAN
post Dec 11 2018, 03:39 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(henry514 @ Dec 11 2018, 03:32 PM)
If really no solution, maybe need to call the technician come over to check. Thanks for help, bro  smile.gif  smile.gif
do check as much as u can b4 u call and ask them to come.

if they find the cable bitten off by a dog or something biggrin.gif , u will be charged rm53 for the visit besides needing paying a contractor to come replace outside cable!
AVFAN
post Dec 11 2018, 03:57 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(lolo0o @ Dec 11 2018, 03:49 PM)
Hello Sifus recently i have turbo-ed to 500mbps and i found out that my internet speed is not stable and it never reach 500mbps on lan test and it varies around 300mbps.
My current router is dlink -dir 882 and i even replace all the internet cable to urgreen cat7 cable, may i know what could be my problem ? Could it be i am still in pilot phase or my modem is failing? Please help T_T
what device u use to test?

what results if u use ookla, other tests?
AVFAN
post Dec 11 2018, 04:19 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(lolo0o @ Dec 11 2018, 04:04 PM)
Hello Sifu, the device i am using is my old desktop, it has a Realtek PCIe GbE Family Controller (RTL 8167 chipset)
Below is the speed test i get from ookla, i dont know what happen to my internet, please help
likely yr OLD desktop not so capable...
better wait for the PC sifus to explain to u...

any other laptop, tv box u can use to test?
using ct5, cat5e or cat6 LAN cable?

AVFAN
post Dec 11 2018, 05:31 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(lolo0o @ Dec 11 2018, 04:36 PM)
This is what i get when i do a speed test on my laptop, what a huge difference i guess processor speed does have an effect on the speed test.
there u go...

the challenge gets even bigger when u try to get high wifi speeds! biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Dec 11 2018, 05:47 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(vandechrome @ Dec 11 2018, 05:33 PM)
i have issue when watching VOD (free one) like TVN HD, Fox Life etc. the screen is freezing and lagging.
but TM keep on saying that i do not have any VOD features for my package.
even the technician came to my house admitted that i have VOD. he tested, with his own STB, also have same issue.

That is why i'm asking if anyone have same plan like me, can confirm have VOD or not.
u mean channel 830 hyppplay?

yes, confirmed crappy as reported by several people:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2918894/+3980#bottom
AVFAN
post Dec 11 2018, 05:54 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 11 2018, 05:47 PM)
I never a believe wifi speed can go constant >100mbps. Maybe if is sitting beside the AP and 1-2 devices connected is possible, but with so many many devices connected i have doubt.
<50ft, same level, 200-300mbps with 800mbps, can... average router... like what i get on my pc.

with 300, 500mbps... probably 100-200...??
AVFAN
post Dec 11 2018, 11:07 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 11 2018, 10:17 PM)
I have this option but have to pay. So didn't proceed further
Some are free, some payable.

U sure u dun find the complimentary ones?

Hypp Play
Hypp Play is a selection of complimentary channels when you subscribe to HyppTV.
Now, you can catch up on the latest TV programmes directly from your favourite
channels by pressing the VOD button or tuning in to channel 830. The feature is also
available on the HyppTV Everywhere app for your convenience & mobility.
AVFAN
post Dec 12 2018, 09:09 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Dec 12 2018, 08:12 AM)
Any Mega Pack customer? I did find out my pack already changed to Ultimate.
so, it took them a while for some customers...

they changed mine a year ago when i went 50->100mbps.
AVFAN
post Dec 12 2018, 02:13 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(coldfission @ Dec 12 2018, 01:34 PM)
TM technician just came to my hse to replace the BTU. However, upon checking it seems that my Asus AC55UHP LAN can only get 360Mbps. When he change the router to the TP Archer C1200 then the LAN can get 500Mbps. Is there any setting in AC55UHP on the LAN speed?
ask in asus thread.

i think can, but maybe need latest or beta firmware.

AVFAN
post Dec 15 2018, 01:28 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Dec 15 2018, 01:19 AM)
Yes, i m sure.

Did a few more round of tests and the best result so far is 450Mbps. Still far from 800Mbps.

Just got turbo-ed today. maybe they are doing some tests and that will explain why i am getting that specific default gateway.

Anyway will monitor over the weekends. Thanks for the support.
If u conclude its unifi problem, u can call unifi to lodge a report.

They will come, test with their laptop n phone.

No charge, even change router if still under warranty.

But if out of warranty and they find no problem with their test, they may charge rm53.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 15 2018, 01:42 AM
AVFAN
post Dec 15 2018, 01:03 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(mckinsey @ Dec 15 2018, 11:12 AM)
Those that have been Turboed, what speeds are you getting for torrents?
800mbps, ethernet, up to 40MBps.

Some small files take only 60secs.
AVFAN
post Dec 16 2018, 05:36 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(stxksy @ Dec 16 2018, 02:47 PM)
Been thinking about downgrading too and many people seemed to be doing it. Not sure what's the relationship between amount of users vs internet speed (I have 8 devices mostly smartphones and PC at home connected to the internet), is it something worth consider regarding keeping 500M.
QUOTE(stxksy @ Dec 16 2018, 04:35 PM)
Streaming but not in 4K, only my PC does. Thank you all again for the advices and I think I will stop complain and stick with it. Have a nice day everyone~
its alright to ask, check...

yr usage is typical like most homes... a dozen devices or so, HD/4k/torrent needs at times only.

imo, 500mbps is perfect.

unless u r paying >rm200, i suggest u keep... then wait for next better package.

becos at this time, u can either stay put or go to 100mbps only.

no other choice - TM purposely designed this... for good or bad.

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0726sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:21 PM