125 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

AMDŽ Socket-AM2 Overclocking thread (V2), discuss our setup/overclocking issues

mruzian
post Jul 11 2007, 08:34 PM

Androidify
744 posts

QUOTE(afosz @ Jul 11 2007, 03:13 PM)
Just flash the new R69AM605.BST, but so sad all set to default value, is it normal? Thus I need to OC again, and I did sweat.gif
hehe dats normal when u flash ur bios bro
everything went to normal setting tongue.gif
afosz
post Jul 11 2007, 09:42 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(mruzian @ Jul 11 2007, 08:34 PM)
everything went to normal setting  tongue.gif
I see, thanks for the info bro. Never tried flash BIOS with OCed cpu tongue.gif
Worm77
post Jul 11 2007, 11:00 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(mruzian @ Jul 11 2007, 08:34 PM)
everything went to normal setting  tongue.gif
Totally agree .. Everything back to default the moment you flash the bios ..

My latest attempt for 3Ghz
afosz
post Jul 11 2007, 11:04 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

The latest BIOS for TA690G from 8tvt is rock stable rclxm9.gif

I played games and not even a single 'display driver has stopped and has been recovered'. No problem OCing and using onboard VGA thumbup.gif
Worm77
post Jul 11 2007, 11:09 PM

94 posts

Great to hear that but I'm already on external GPU .. They should have released it earlier .. Save money in buying GPU ..
afosz
post Jul 11 2007, 11:27 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(Worm77 @ Jul 11 2007, 11:09 PM)
Great to hear that but I'm already on external GPU .. They should have released it earlier .. Save money in buying GPU ..
For the mean time, the onboard is great enough already for me biggrin.gif

But I got a Q, from the web, it stated that it is X1250, but why is it becomes X1200?
Worm77
post Jul 12 2007, 12:18 AM

94 posts

I remember reading somewhere X1250 and X1200 shares the same core .. X1250 with AVIVO meant for consumer market while X1200 without AVIVO for business market .. I think they share the same driver .. 690G running on X1250 core ..

I bought the 690G with the intention to utilise the onboard GPU, save from buying external GPU .. Those initial drivers/ROM has problem with onboard display like the one U mentioned .. Blackout and display problem thingy bug came out .. Fed up with it and bought an external GPU lor ..

This post has been edited by Worm77: Jul 12 2007, 12:19 AM
afosz
post Jul 12 2007, 12:56 AM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(Worm77 @ Jul 12 2007, 12:18 AM)
I remember reading somewhere X1250 and X1200 shares the same core .. X1250 with AVIVO meant for consumer market while X1200 without AVIVO for business market .. I think they share the same driver .. 690G running on X1250 core ..

I bought the 690G with the intention to utilise the onboard GPU, save from buying external GPU .. Those initial drivers/ROM has problem with onboard display like the one U mentioned .. Blackout and display problem thingy bug came out .. Fed up with it and bought an external GPU lor ..
I think that's because of BIOS most probably. I didn't try playing games using the default BIOS, but with 427, sometimes it blacked out. But now using 605, so far so good biggrin.gif
steventan85
post Jul 12 2007, 01:49 AM

6,447 posts

can i overclocked X2 4000 + 65w processor ?

wat is the 65w ?

noob in this area

This post has been edited by steventan85: Jul 12 2007, 01:49 AM
afosz
post Jul 12 2007, 02:48 AM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jul 12 2007, 01:49 AM)

wat is the 65w ?

noob in this area
Yes you can, and full features depends on your mobo. You can read more about OCing in the respective thread provided. It helps, and for any guidance, here is the place tongue.gif

65W is the wattage used for the proc smile.gif
8tvt
post Jul 12 2007, 09:13 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(Worm77 @ Jul 11 2007, 11:00 PM)
Totally agree .. Everything back to default the moment you flash the bios ..

My latest attempt for 3Ghz
i believe u need to set 3x HTT mul...

the latest bios save alot of things.. before that i encounter a problem when try to hibernate the pc.. S1/S3 state should be resolved..

another thing.. in gpu setting got max/limit wattage... by default set as 75W... i think if we increase it as 100W should be great for OCing the gpu... coz power drained from mobo can be bigger.. thus ensure stability..

lol i flashed using awdflash.exe.. the value not reset..
google around guys.. last time i download at biostars site..
as i remember the old days.. using that similar program to flash the bios is the only way...
mruzian
post Jul 12 2007, 02:52 PM

Androidify
744 posts

wat is the 65w ?

noob in this area
every proc cn be o'c bro
its just how far can it o'c will be the prob
it depends on ur setup also biggrin.gif
lohwenli
post Jul 12 2007, 10:41 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jul 10 2007, 01:14 PM)
you actually believed there is Athlon X2 and it's not Athlon64 X2 with typo error?  shocking.gif
There is no mistake. AMD is officially dropping the 64 because there is nothing special about it anymore as all processors now support 64-bit addressing.

QUOTE(afosz @ Jul 10 2007, 02:06 PM)
So is it Athlon64 X2 or a typo error of Athlon X2? Check out here bro, but pls do correct me if I'm wrong. If wiki itself, might be a typo, but amd.com? I don't think so

http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/Produc...5E13076,00.html

But with TDP of 45W kinda do the attraction. Any news about its OCability?
Hah! Should be damn easy to make a brisbane run at 45W..just undervolt..yeah baby.. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(afosz @ Jul 10 2007, 03:12 PM)
Again, it is Phenom tongue.gif

Yeah, probably the name is just a gimmick though blush.gif Yes, it is confirmed. Operating mode 32/64, that means the name is just a gimmick tongue.gif

But I can't find its ocability, is it released yet? Some said its potential is similar with 3600+ Brisbane, only difference is its uses lesser watt

Later Phenom X2 also comes with 45W TDP for lower models thumbup.gif
QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Jul 10 2007, 03:35 PM)
abit kn9 ultra lor...my vdimm comes in this flavours, 1.75,1.8,1.85,1.9,1.95,2.0,2.05,2.10, 2.20,2.30, my bios health says 2.32v
its just the name BE, technically its just a brisbane cherry picked to run at lower voltages. and its out already in LYP...rm 300 for the lowest BE >___>""
Gosh, you people need to read the news more often

This is confirmed (there are more sources, but I can't find the links anymore-so long until my web history also gone)
Barcelona -will be shipped late this month next or next month. Launch will be the following month after that.
http://www.tgdaily.com/content/view/32702/135/

Agena -will be out within 60-90 days of Barcelona. Another announcement by AMD puts the official launch in Nov.
http://www.tgdaily.com/content/view/32731/135/

Gonna look again for that article on AMD's new naming scheme. Basically,
First 2 letters will indicate the categoty of the chip (budget, mainstream, high performance)
First and second number will indicate power consumption and category (forgot which number is which)
Last 2 numbers are to differentiate the different spec chips in the same series.

Sempron -will all be single cores based on the current K8 architecture using DDR2. Will eventually move to the Barcelona architecture, though when exactly has not been mentioned.
Athlon -will all be dual cores based on current K8 architecture using DDR2 (in other words, new revisions of Brisbane).
Phenom -dual and quad cores based on new Barcelona architecture.

Basically, for desktop processors, those with core names based on cities are made on the K8 architecture, and those named after stars are based on the Barcelona architecture (also unofficially known as K8L/K10). The 64 moniker has been dropped because all current processors are already address in 64-bit.

-Update-
Barcelona will launch on September 10
http://www.tgdaily.com/content/view/32674/135/
http://www.tgdaily.com/content/view/32702/135/

Found the link to the new naming scheme. Not the exact same article, but the information is identical.
http://www.vr-zone.com/?i=5030

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Jul 12 2007, 10:49 PM
TSsoulfly
post Jul 12 2007, 10:54 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

shouldn't the next gen Athlon would would be K10 as well? and the main difference between Athlon and Phenom is the absence of 3rd level cache of the former.

This post has been edited by soulfly: Jul 12 2007, 10:55 PM
steventan85
post Jul 13 2007, 12:00 AM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(mruzian @ Jul 12 2007, 02:52 PM)
every proc cn be o'c bro
its just how far can it o'c will be the prob
it depends on ur setup also  biggrin.gif
can u suggest any mobo that can o'c wif tis processor ?

and does the wattage affect the o'c result ?

This post has been edited by steventan85: Jul 13 2007, 12:00 AM
mruzian
post Jul 13 2007, 01:36 AM

Androidify
744 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jul 13 2007, 12:00 AM)

well u can have a look at the 1st page for mobo recmendation
brand such as DFI, Abit and Biostar are quiet gud
but try not to buy gigabyte... tongue.gif
bryanyeo87
post Jul 13 2007, 02:06 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jul 13 2007, 12:00 AM)

no...its the OC that affect the wattage lol....

and like mruzian said, look at the first page and see those who has good OC and see their boards...i recommend u abit kn9 ultra coz manage to post and boot at 343x9.5 ,,,but didn't prime yet due to my chapalang psu....
TSsoulfly
post Jul 13 2007, 10:32 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

wat is the 65w ?

noob in this area
it looks like you totally have no idea about the basics of overclocking, so i suggest that you have a read on the pinned threads first.
Worm77
post Jul 13 2007, 11:57 AM

94 posts

Agree .. Read the basics .. Get in depth info on the role of each items so you get an idea on appropriate settings in due course of OC .. Every component work hand in hand .. Don't simply OC, else, you'll be left with SMOKE and BURNT SMELL, not to mention burnt wallet ..
jy14
post Jul 13 2007, 12:19 PM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jul 13 2007, 10:32 AM)
it looks like you totally have no idea about the basics of overclocking, so i suggest that you have a read on the pinned threads first.
Bro,

I've briefly browse my Abit mobo yesterday, kindly odd that the Dram setting is not within the softmenu. Different from biostar, dfi and Gigabyte. Anyway, I'll be trying to OC it with my brisbane. How far have u manage within the bios itself ?

125 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.6611sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:01 PM