AMDŽ Socket-AM2 Overclocking thread (V2), discuss our setup/overclocking issues

jy14
post Jun 21 2007, 09:24 AM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Jun 21 2007, 01:50 AM)
uhm..guys...i got a serious problem here..

actually the processor i bought got some bent pins..but i managed to insert into the socket..
after that, i reformat my pc, just wanna feel the new windows while overclocking..

but then, the problem came one after another..

here are some symptoms;

- BSOD (even at default clock and doing nothing)
- my antivirus suddenly shut off by itself (the red notification at the taskbar appear)
- suddenly cannot connect to the internet, or simply said got some error at LAN port (if i click at the LAN icon on Network Connection, the message "an error occurred...." popped out
- cannot paste and send to
- suddenly the pc will be slow like hell..the program will be opened 30 seconds after i double-clicked it
- the processor name didnt appear at System Properties, only the rams. but it stated at CPUZ, but like i said, 30 seconds after double-clicked
- window will suddenly hang/lag or not responding, require me tu push the reset/shut down button
- both message about Window Service 32 (something lidat lar) and shutdown countdown timer popped out almost 2~3 times in a row (this is the most annoying part)

er..i guess thats it..perhaps got summore..
anyway im on my sis's lappy right now..that pc cannot surf the internet.. sweat.gif

so anyone can help me find the culprit? is it becoz of motherboard or the problem might be related to the bent pin that i just straightened before?

thanks  smile.gif
Bro, u still got ur TForce 550 ? Try shifting different components n test it out. Mayb u can find out which is giving u the prob. I think could b the mobo again. Otherwise, try to re-install ur windows again.
jy14
post Jun 27 2007, 12:08 PM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

QUOTE(afosz @ Jun 26 2007, 11:07 PM)
ATi7050? I thought that's nVidia laa sweat.gif

So 2.25 is a bit high, but BIOS health status stated 2.20 unsure.gif
2.15 -> 2.11
2.25 -> 2.20
Don't dare to touch it laa while PC running blush.gif

I'm getting Cyclo nod.gif Will try to push higher, but still I don't think so laa because of ayam brand PSU laugh.gif
It'll b safer to get ur PSU 1st, then only OC.

But at 2.3V, no prob to touch the rams. I've touch mine at 2.3V, not that hot,but when u load up, it does get heated up fast. Mayb u can consider adding some Heatsinks to it or a heatspreader. I'm sure Moderno's Vizo thread can offer u some choices.

The TT BT VX already in, u should grab it soon b4 LYP sapu all the stocks. Only got about 100 pcs come in, so, if 10 units for 10 shops in LYP, i think it'll be shortage again. hehe sweat.gif
jy14
post Jun 28 2007, 12:10 PM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

QUOTE(byfc2010 @ Jun 27 2007, 10:24 PM)
all my oc also orthos passed 10+hrs...

i think the time to change PSU lar...

FMA not so reliable this days meh?

planning to get FMAII 460W... any opinion?
With the price of FMA, better u get something from SilverStone or Acbel. Go for the SilverStone ST400, only RM 175-180 at the moment. Its a better solution than other choices at the similar ranges.

For best reliability of ur OC result, keep ur PC running 24/7. For 1 week, if no breakdown or auto-restart, then ur system is good to go. Of coz 24/7 means, idle sometimes, and load sometimes lo, not full load 24/7.

For me, after I OC, i'll let it run at OC-ed speed for some time to see if it is really stable or not. Then i'll b able to leave my rig for folding and etc, can alwiz online and check mail anytime. Nonit to wait for load-up.

jy14
post Jun 28 2007, 03:07 PM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

QUOTE(Hungry_Wolf @ Jun 28 2007, 01:27 PM)
anybody can recommend me a board with at least 2.2v v-dimm?
DFI NF Ultra II-M2 Infinity, Biostar TForce 550SE. Mayb Asus's M2N32 SLI ?
jy14
post Jul 2 2007, 12:57 AM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

QUOTE(Hungry_Wolf @ Jul 2 2007, 12:28 AM)
well i think i have to give up oc my system.. sad.gif
a same problem i had when i bought my abit ai7...
now Abit kn9s, same problem again....

the problem is...
after oc, if warm boot, no problem. when cold boot...cant boot up...if not it will reset to original value..
Mayb if u get the DFI mobo like -pws-, u might b able to cold boot it anytime. I'm about to get back my AM2 rig from my GF. Once its back i'll test out the NF-M2 nView. -pws-, powerslide and soulfly, please beware for a flooded PM of questions. hehe, nolar, just kidding, later ask u guys about OC, now, let me try to wrestle my rig back 1st. haha sweat.gif
jy14
post Jul 2 2007, 12:01 PM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

QUOTE(dblooi @ Jul 2 2007, 01:49 AM)
hi jy14, wanna ask you do you have any idea where can i get biostar TF7050 or TF7025?
Not so soon. The last time i heard, either late this week or mid of July. Depends on Kastam's clearance too.
jy14
post Jul 13 2007, 12:19 PM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jul 13 2007, 10:32 AM)
it looks like you totally have no idea about the basics of overclocking, so i suggest that you have a read on the pinned threads first.
Bro,

I've briefly browse my Abit mobo yesterday, kindly odd that the Dram setting is not within the softmenu. Different from biostar, dfi and Gigabyte. Anyway, I'll be trying to OC it with my brisbane. How far have u manage within the bios itself ?
jy14
post Jul 19 2007, 01:14 AM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Jul 17 2007, 09:32 PM)
Hmm, reviews say the K9A Plat. is chock-loaded with features, but doesn't OC well in 1st BIOS version.

As for the ASUS M2A-MVP, I saw a thread where they say it doesn't support vcore laugh.gif but 5200+s could get over 3Ghz. I don't know if that's the revised version though.
At least 1 person has the latter board (on LYN) so I'm just asking.
I've sold a couple of the M2A-MVP to LYN forumers. I think they mainly used it for HTPC instead of OC, so probably non of them showed up here to share their OC experience.

I was given the chance to test the board once. Not much option for OC. Just tweak the memory speed, CPU frequency and basically that all. No voltage tweaks or timing to play with. Could b due to the earlier version bios ? Coz I tested it was like a few months ago when it was just launched. Supplier kind enuf to loan me for a day to test it out, sort of help to promote it, but not so good for OC purpose i suppose.

Go for the Biostar's TA690G or the TF7050-M2, probably the most economical board at the moment. thumbup.gif
jy14
post Jul 19 2007, 01:19 AM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

QUOTE(ridzOe @ Jul 15 2007, 03:08 PM)
anyone tried the new biostar tf560 am2+ motherboard? the price is quite reasonable RM285 at pczone. thinking of changing mb next month.
This new board is already available actually. That is the best retail price at the moment.

But, I'm not sure if AM2 can use on it or not, still brushing up my knowledge on them. More advice for me, anyone ?
jy14
post Jul 24 2007, 01:24 AM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

bro dblooi,

U confirm all CZBOX has got good OC potential ? Coz my supplier has got lots of 5200+, 5600+ and 6000+ with all CZBOX la.
jy14
post Jul 24 2007, 02:05 AM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

Kalakatu: Could it be bcoz of your memory's tight timing and 1T ? Mayb u can loosen it abit and then c can OC further or not.
jy14
post Aug 9 2007, 12:55 PM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

Easiest way, pull out the battery, go make a cup of tea/coffee, finish the drink, when u r back , feeling hot and fresh, u'll be good to go for another round of OC. thumbup.gif

0.0319sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:59 AM