125 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Bottom

AMDŽ Socket-AM2 Overclocking thread (V2), discuss our setup/overclocking issues

byfc2010
post Sep 16 2007, 10:31 PM

947 posts

QUOTE(arc_archive @ Sep 16 2007, 09:18 PM)
my brother Orleans in action  rclxm9.gif

arc_archive | BIOSTAR TF560 A2+ | Crucial 10th Ann PC5300 | Zalman CNPS9700 LED

[attachmentid=296225]
it seems my mobo hit the fsb wall edi...cannot oc more.
not bad wad the fsb...
how i wish i can have newer mobo rather than mine...

out of topic a bit...
u play SanGuoZhi ah?
haha...
mfcm
post Sep 16 2007, 10:43 PM

2,765 posts

QUOTE(byfc2010 @ Sep 16 2007, 10:31 PM)
not bad wad the fsb...

out of topic a bit...
u play SanGuoZhi ah?
haha...
he's using 330fsb

@arc_archive
nice result u got..hope i can play with higher fsb also soon icon_idea.gif
sempronic
post Sep 17 2007, 12:35 AM

986 posts

QUOTE(mfcm @ Sep 16 2007, 10:43 PM)
he's using 330fsb

@arc_archive
nice result u got..hope i can play with higher fsb also soon  icon_idea.gif
soon??
why not now??

me wanna see ur brisby how high it can go.... brows.gif brows.gif
xixo_12
post Sep 17 2007, 03:39 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

changing the new style of oc.. selalunya target raw speed...haha now looking for fsb
arc_archive
post Sep 17 2007, 05:27 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(byfc2010 @ Sep 16 2007, 10:31 PM)
not bad wad the fsb...

out of topic a bit...
u play SanGuoZhi ah?
haha...
out of topic..
SanGuoZhi is Romance of Three Kingdom rite??ya, i do play it and love it so much actually..had followed it since the fifth version till now 11th..
so craze bout this game...eventhough i cannot read chinese laugh.gif played with ps2 version...

i do hope that my fsb can go higher..like 350mhz...
how bout this mobo 690 chipset..how high it can go??more than 350mhz huh??
rite now going to test my brisby again for higher speed as i juz got my new psu...coz last time,it seem the speed didnt stable enough..keep restarting.. laugh.gif
any idea huh??

byfc2010
post Sep 17 2007, 06:35 AM

947 posts

QUOTE(arc_archive @ Sep 17 2007, 05:27 AM)
out of topic..
SanGuoZhi is Romance of Three Kingdom rite??ya, i do play it and love it so much actually..had followed it since the fifth version till now 11th..
so craze bout this game...eventhough i cannot read chinese  laugh.gif  played with ps2 version...

i do hope that my fsb can go higher..like 350mhz...
how bout this mobo 690 chipset..how high it can go??more than 350mhz huh??
rite now going to test my brisby again for higher speed as i juz got my new psu...coz last time,it seem the speed didnt stable enough..keep restarting.. laugh.gif
any idea huh??
out of topic..
haha yea...
nice game indeed...

hmmz...i've no time to play wif fsb...
jz played wif my ram speed recently...
cz too boring...now exam period... doh.gif
lohwenli
post Sep 17 2007, 08:38 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Sep 13 2007, 05:01 AM)
highend windsor proc with F3 stepping can be get easily. the gem one is lower clocked windsor F3 such as 3800+ F3 really hard to get..dunno why la.....

@sharpman
u may oc ur proc, but cannot expect high/impressive ocing result as ur mobo got lower Vdimm selection. same case just like me.... sad.gif
u got good proc and rams there, maybe by changing to other mobo u can get good ocing result. but for me, i thinks its ok la to run ur X2 6000+ in stock. really syg la...tongue.gif
QUOTE(-pWs- @ Sep 13 2007, 08:49 AM)
Low end F3 did exist in Malaysia, but in small quantity. smile.gif

-pWs-
All kena sapu by OCers overseas...we took more than a year to realise that its a good OC chip..

Btw, found out Phenom will work on (almost) all existing AM2 boards with just a bios update. The only thing lacking will be that the hypertransport will need to be overclocked slightly (otherwise the processor will be underclocked) and split power rails will not be available (meaning the integrated memory controller will run at the same voltage as the processing core, resulting in lower power efficiency).

QUOTE(Hungry_Wolf @ Sep 16 2007, 02:24 AM)
is the memtest 1.70 can really test the memory on AMD X2 AM2?  any alternative to test the ram?
Memtest is not very effective for AM2, I found out. When I overclocked my memory to the max (processor left underclocked), its often possible to pass memtest overnight yet fail prime (using all available free ram) in just an hour or less.

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Sep 17 2007, 08:40 AM
TSsoulfly
post Sep 17 2007, 11:49 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Sep 17 2007, 03:39 AM)
changing the new style of oc.. selalunya target raw speed...haha now looking for fsb
AM2 does not have FSB
AM2's performance solely rely on clockspeed because the memory controller runs at the same speed as the cpu.
High 'fsb' is pretty much useless.
xixo_12
post Sep 17 2007, 12:46 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Sep 17 2007, 11:49 AM)
AM2 does not have FSB
AM2's performance solely rely on clockspeed because the memory controller runs at the same speed as the cpu.
useless?? so try to use high multiplier.. am i rite??
dblooi
post Sep 17 2007, 02:29 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Sep 17 2007, 12:46 PM)
I'm not good in explaination , but you should go through this
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HyperTransport

Hyper Transport is a replacement of Front Side Bus. It's already been mentioned many times in this thread. No such thing as FSB in am2 .

AMD already dumped Front Side Bus thingy since k8 era. I always feel weird when i enter this thread. Why AMD am2 users here keep on mentioning FSB thingy while they are ocing an am2 pc sweat.gif

This post has been edited by dblooi: Sep 17 2007, 02:30 PM
rainingzero
post Sep 17 2007, 04:45 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(dblooi @ Sep 17 2007, 02:29 PM)
I'm not good in explaination , but you should go through this
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HyperTransport

Hyper Transport is a replacement of Front Side Bus. It's already been mentioned many times in this thread. No such thing as FSB in am2 .

AMD already dumped Front Side Bus thingy since k8 era. I always feel weird when i enter this thread. Why AMD am2 users here keep on mentioning FSB thingy while they are ocing an am2 pc  sweat.gif
maybe they just confuse with the bus speed which shown in cpuZ??or maybe just short terms for 'bus speed', typing FSB much more easier... laugh.gif
arc_archive
post Sep 17 2007, 09:56 PM

386 posts

huhuhuhuhu...coz b4...i played wif intel proc...so the term fsb is easy to state the HT thingy..

byfc2010
post Sep 17 2007, 10:20 PM

947 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Sep 17 2007, 04:45 PM)
maybe they just confuse with the bus speed which shown in cpuZ??or maybe just short terms for 'bus speed', typing FSB much more easier... laugh.gif
yea... FSB easier lar...
summore played intel oso...
haha...
everyone understand wad is means wad isn't it... icon_rolleyes.gif
rainingzero
post Sep 17 2007, 11:34 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(arc_archive @ Sep 17 2007, 09:56 PM)
huhuhuhuhu...coz b4...i played wif intel proc...so the term fsb is easy to state the HT thingy..
but u are really bad la arc, buying urself a brisbane, but orleans for ur bro.... sweat.gif laugh.gif
AoiNatsume
post Sep 17 2007, 11:35 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

QUOTE(arc_archive @ Sep 16 2007, 09:18 PM)
my brother Orleans in action  rclxm9.gif

arc_archive | BIOSTAR TF560 A2+ | Crucial 10th Ann PC5300 | Zalman CNPS9700 LED

[attachmentid=296225]
it seems my mobo hit the fsb wall edi...cannot oc more.
Your rams are crying begging for more there...

Im sure you can do better, my crucial 10th anni can do 430mhz @ 4-4-4-12@2.5vdimm.
From browsing this thread, i find that most of the guys here concentrate on raw clockspeed while forgetting about the rams,
your ram mhz/timing do have a huge influence on your performance, no point running 3Ghz if you are doing only 300mhz on your rams.
xixo_12
post Sep 18 2007, 10:37 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

so, rugi.. if buying crucial 10th.. then not oc.. i'm managed to get 485mhz 5-5-5-15 at 2.5v then i downclock back.. brows.gif
TSsoulfly
post Sep 18 2007, 11:15 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Sep 18 2007, 10:37 AM)
so, rugi.. if buying crucial 10th.. then not oc.. i'm managed to get 485mhz 5-5-5-15 at 2.5v then i downclock back.. brows.gif
my normal crucial pc5300 D9 only needs 2.2v for 500mhz 5-5-5-15

arc_archive
post Sep 18 2007, 12:47 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Sep 17 2007, 11:34 PM)
but u are really bad la arc, buying urself a brisbane, but orleans for ur bro.... sweat.gif  laugh.gif
huhuhuhu....cannot give the best one wut...later play games rather than studying... sweat.gif
orlean gud wut...can oc till 2.6Ghz...but my bro didnt know how to oc ler... laugh.gif

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Sep 17 2007, 11:35 PM)
Your rams are crying begging for more there...

Im sure you can do better, my crucial 10th anni can do 430mhz @ 4-4-4-12@2.5vdimm.
From browsing this thread, i find that most of the guys here concentrate on raw clockspeed while forgetting about the rams,
your ram mhz/timing do have a huge influence on your performance, no point running 3Ghz if you are doing only 300mhz on your rams.
i know..but rite now,im going to push more on my proc yet..as im not yet satisfied wif my current speed...
will continue wif mem after got sweet spot for my proc..

last time i try to push my HT@FSB to 380..but when boot in window,check wif cpuz it state only at 355 only...wut the hell...

try change the value that not lower than 355...still no changes..still stuck at 355..anyone encounter this prob b4??

sempronic
post Sep 18 2007, 01:25 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Sep 17 2007, 11:49 AM)
AM2 does not have FSB
QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Sep 17 2007, 12:46 PM)
yup....soulfly is right....
the FSB not give any performance different..
just oc it high as possible for the CPU clock..
the higher & stable...the better....
AoiNatsume
post Sep 18 2007, 02:24 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

QUOTE(arc_archive @ Sep 18 2007, 12:47 PM)
huhuhuhu....cannot give the best one wut...later play games rather than studying...  sweat.gif
orlean gud wut...can oc till 2.6Ghz...but my bro didnt know how to oc ler...  laugh.gif
i know..but rite now,im going to push more on my proc yet..as im not yet satisfied wif my current speed...
will continue wif mem after got sweet spot for my proc..

last time i try to push my HT@FSB to 380..but when boot in window,check wif cpuz it state only at 355 only...wut the hell...

try change the value that not lower than 355...still no changes..still stuck at 355..anyone encounter this prob b4??
Another thing i noticed, your rams running on single channel? slot wrongly?

125 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Top

0.0449sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:58 PM