14 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

AMDŽ Socket-AM2 Overclocking thread (V2), discuss our setup/overclocking issues

dblooi
post Jun 30 2007, 08:10 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jun 30 2007, 05:08 PM)
Guys,
Any idea for me to use 667MHz ram divider and achieve 3GHz?
If using 667Mhz, my com will not boot above roughly at 2.6 - 2.7GHz.
Currently using 533 ram divider w 4-4-4-12.

Already tested a lot of solutions and would like to hear u guys' opinions. icon_question.gif
Thanks in advance 
-pWs-
I understand your situation , because it is where I've stucked as well. My problem more or less same with you, pc reboot or bluescreened at 2.7Ghz-2.8Ghz if i use 667 divider. I've look at your spec, your are using a Nforce4 chipset mobo. I'm using Tforce 6100 AM2. I suspect this is a bug of Nforce4 chipset...... I've seen people use 667divider and push to 1000Mhz without problem by using biostar TA690G, some 590 SLI chipset mobo , some 550 mobo .... but yet havent see anyone do that with nforce 4 series mobo sweat.gif
dblooi
post Jun 30 2007, 08:14 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(coolblade @ Jun 30 2007, 07:13 PM)
what is your voltage of the brisbane cpu and the ddr2 ram?

I just bought  brisbane 3600+. I am also in quest for increasing my cpu clock. Currently 1.38v for the cpu at 2470MHz (260 x 9.5). RAM still at 1.95v, 533MHz ram divider with 5-5-5-15-1T.

I am wondering if the cpu volt at 1.38v is safe for 24/7 usage? Quite afraid that I might shorten the cpu lifespan?

I can boot if using 667MHz divider, but the ram will heat quickly and after about 30 - 60 minutes later, the computer will crash and reboot even I increase ram volt to 2.1v. I didn't dare to increase higher because this kingston ram have neither passive cooling nor active cooling yet.

I think, you can try use any active cooling such as AllnGap's ram cooler if you want to try the 667MHz divider so that it won't be so hot during long operation hours. Hope this idea helps.

But everest shows wrong ram divider information. CPU-Z shows the correct ram divider that I am currently using.

[attachmentid=255393]
IMHO, i think that your vcore is abit high for brisbane to reach 2.4Mhz. What's the stepping of your proc? Mind to share? For me i can push to 300X9.5 with stock vcore without any problem and it is not the limit yet laugh.gif

Added on June 30, 2007, 8:24 pm
QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jun 30 2007, 08:14 PM)
You are right. That is the situation i face. Tried many ram timing, pump vcore pump vdimm wont help any. Sigh sad.gif
So, you also using 533 divider now?
-pWs-
maybe you can try cpu multiplier X8 and ram divider 533. In that case, the ram frequency is equal to CPU/6 which means same as ram divider 667. I've tried it just now, failed at 2.95Ghz for unknown reason again cry.gif

I'm using 800 divider for daily usage. See screen shot below laugh.gif

This post has been edited by dblooi: Jun 30 2007, 08:27 PM

dblooi
post Jun 30 2007, 08:30 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Jun 30 2007, 08:27 PM)
yes..its kinda high for 2.4Ghz..i used only stock vcore and managed to hit 2.8GHz..the difficult part is from 2.9GHz to 3.0GHz,  becoz for me the raise of the vcore is quite high for each megahertz..
hmm...ic. So what's your best result so far? I meant the highest CPU frequency that you ever achieved.

Added on June 30, 2007, 8:33 pm
QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jun 30 2007, 08:30 PM)
Do not wan to try x8 multi ar... Need to raise a lot of HTT to reach 2.9 or 3.0GHz.
I think i will stick to my current setting. Just wonder is there anyway to solve o not actually. smile.gif
-pWs-
haha, i just did it because i'm so curious. Supposed my mobo can hit around 390 HTT but dunno why today keep failing at 370x 8 sweat.gif

btw, what's your best shot? I meant the highest CPU frequency that you ever achieved laugh.gif

This post has been edited by dblooi: Jun 30 2007, 08:33 PM
dblooi
post Jun 30 2007, 08:46 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Jun 30 2007, 08:40 PM)
by using my previous TForce 570U, the highest fsb achieved was 321.1MHz with multiplier x9..but i failed the SuperPI 32M  sweat.gif

that time i didnt try hard, i gave up because i need to play a lot with ram timing so i switched to x9.5 multiplier, and i stopped after i achieved 3.0GHz  smile.gif
ic.... how much vcore that u fed to ur proc in order to get 3GHz?
dblooi
post Jun 30 2007, 10:42 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(coolblade @ Jun 30 2007, 09:49 PM)
@dblooi

Ok, I lowered the vcore a bit. But got BSOD when using 1.30v. Now I using 1.35v. This midnight I want to orthos priming for several hours, after tinkering with OC setup tonight.

My Brisbane proc is ADO3600IAA5DD CAALG 0717EAT
if you don't mind can you upload a screen shot of cpu-z? bcoz it is kinda weird to get BSOD at low frequency + little bit pumped vcore

oh ya, you can try to change the command rate to 2T laugh.gif
dblooi
post Jul 1 2007, 02:36 AM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Jul 1 2007, 12:32 AM)
some update for all~

45nm js start assembly at Penang last few day ~~

so i think end of July this proc able to launch~ after Sg testing~

If i not see wrong it may be barcelona~
are you sure that is 45nm? sweat.gif

the amd roadmap shows that amd plan to enter the 45nm industry at 2008 Q4

source: hkepc

This post has been edited by dblooi: Jul 1 2007, 02:58 AM
dblooi
post Jul 1 2007, 12:08 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(coolblade @ Jul 1 2007, 11:53 AM)
vdimm is currently 1.95v

I've tried your suggestion: pump vdimm to 2.1v whilst set auto (default vcore) for the cpu but not to avail. I got BSOD afterward..

I think it is weird that I have to use 1.35v to reach 2.477 GHz, but other people such as dblooi just use default vcore to reach 2.8GHz, higher than mine.

Maybe it's RAM limitation, or cpu limitation. Overclocking result is different from a person's experience to other person's experience. Maybe my brisbane proc is not from a good production batch, whilst other are lucky get a better binned cpu?
even if it is not a good batch, i bet you still can oc to at least 2.5GHz with default vcore.
What's the ram that you are using anyway?Try to drop the memory divider into 400 instead of using 533. Have you turn off the CPU spread spectrum in BIOS setting? Try to change the command rate to 2T and see. Most probably there are something wrong with the setting, my prediction laugh.gif

This post has been edited by dblooi: Jul 1 2007, 12:10 PM
dblooi
post Jul 1 2007, 07:00 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Jul 1 2007, 06:07 PM)
Thanks...
He is not answering phone call... I guess he not open on sunday...
Later I will go Viewnet and buy... They don't want quote me price through phone..  vmad.gif
Dunno my cap itik Biostar T550 & Cap ayam Mushkin ddr667 can breach 2.8Ghz or not..  sweat.gif
amedion is joining brisbane club soon? brows.gif brows.gif

if your Biostar T550 is cap itik then my TF6100am2 is cap kucing liao sweat.gif

u can reach high hill if u get a good stepping laugh.gif

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=205265

This post has been edited by dblooi: Jul 1 2007, 07:02 PM
dblooi
post Jul 1 2007, 07:11 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Jul 1 2007, 07:03 PM)
Wakaka... Still browsing internet... Long time din online already...
Still dunno want buy or not...
Scare later my Mobo or RAM limiting it to 2.8Ghz... I will throw keyboard...

Well, T6100 is better at overclocking... No doubt about it coz i read a lot a lot of results... Many T550 limits at 270++ HTT... Which means 270 x 10 = 2.7Ghz..  sweat.gif
What's the purpose that you wanna buy brisbane 1st? If you wanna get better super PI result then forget about brisbane. Brisbane's L2 cache has higher latency and due to that it works slower in PI if compare to those windsor proc.

ya TF6100 can achieve higher HTT but it has serious bug with the memory divider. You can check the previous few posts. I've discussed it with -pws- not long ago
dblooi
post Jul 1 2007, 07:35 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Jul 1 2007, 07:27 PM)
yes, they didnt open on Sunday..last time i went there to get my TA690G (RM270), but since they werent opening, i bought at Viewnet for RM280 instead  sweat.gif
hi kalakatu, do u have any idea where can i get biostar TF7050 or TF7025?
dblooi
post Jul 1 2007, 11:35 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Jul 1 2007, 10:47 PM)
sorry i dont know..most of the shops at LYP only bring in the TA690G..
maybe u can ask jy14 or steamen to get the stuff for u  smile.gif
got it, i adi PM them icon_rolleyes.gif
dblooi
post Jul 2 2007, 01:49 AM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(jy14 @ Jul 2 2007, 12:57 AM)
Mayb if u get the DFI mobo like -pws-, u might b able to cold boot it anytime. I'm about to get back my AM2 rig from my GF. Once its back i'll test out the NF-M2 nView. -pws-, powerslide and soulfly, please beware for a flooded PM of questions. hehe, nolar, just kidding, later ask u guys about OC, now, let me try to wrestle my rig back 1st. haha sweat.gif
hi jy14, wanna ask you do you have any idea where can i get biostar TF7050 or TF7025?
dblooi
post Jul 2 2007, 03:05 PM

1,404 posts

dblooi
post Jul 3 2007, 12:55 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(nonoking @ Jul 3 2007, 12:38 PM)
bro........finally i solve my problem n i`ll visit optician later!!

haha...

This is my OC` result,1st time OC...

i want open 24/7 day....is it possible?

chipset very hot~~@@
congrats ... you can change your HTT multiplier to 3X instead of 4X and change the command rate to 2T instead of using 1T if you wish to go further rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by dblooi: Jul 3 2007, 12:56 PM
dblooi
post Jul 4 2007, 09:44 PM

1,404 posts

soulfly is right . Compare the Pi 1M screenshots below, brisbane X2 3600+ is slower than windsor X2 3800+ for 2.1 sec. And it is not end of the story yet. The performance gap between these two proc is getting wider when you overclock them. It is happened because brisbane X2 3600+ has higher L2 cache latency.

This post has been edited by dblooi: Jul 4 2007, 10:21 PM

dblooi
post Jul 5 2007, 04:07 AM

1,404 posts

I've seen many good overclockers here but then i was wondering why only a few people taking part in the Super Pi Top 10 challenge? Personally i feel very fun to take part in the SPI challenge and I've learned some new things about tweaking and overclocking the system. And yet I'm still learning.

I've just roughly read through this thread and I've found many people can achieved 28s~29s result easily (for AMD am2) in Super Pi 1M but again i feel so weird because rarely see people submit their result to the OC database.

Gentlemen, no offense from me. I voice it out because of curiosity and I'm just try to understand the situation notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by dblooi: Jul 5 2007, 04:10 AM
dblooi
post Jul 5 2007, 10:08 AM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(afosz @ Jul 5 2007, 07:44 AM)
I got a Q. Which one is better and faster, running at 2.8GHz with RAM timing of 4-4-4-12 or 3.0GHz with RAM timing 5-5-5-15?
always up your cpu speed 1st laugh.gif

This post has been edited by dblooi: Jul 5 2007, 10:09 AM
dblooi
post Jul 6 2007, 08:35 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jul 6 2007, 08:24 PM)
95% F3 Windsor can do 3.0GHz.... just look for CZ stepping.
i thought this is a secret. looks like it is not brows.gif brows.gif

soulfly, what's the good stepping that u know for CZ3800?

so far i know that 0715 is extremely overclockable .... brows.gif

plan to get one very soon

dblooi
post Jul 10 2007, 09:49 AM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jul 10 2007, 09:02 AM)
are u sure u set it in bios like that..
as i knew.. cpu-z report the voltage incorrectly while reaching 3.2ghz for brisbane..
and for sure it's not stable for that voltage.. if really can works.. it's awesome..
quite suspicious, but i think he really did that with 1.326v.....
dblooi
post Jul 14 2007, 09:57 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jul 14 2007, 06:52 PM)
You have to add vcore for it already.
Last time my windsor 38 need 1.5x to reach 2.5Ghz. FYI, my windsor 38 is 89W one.  smile.gif
And yes, as byfc2010 said, windsor is much more difficult to oc if compared to brisbane
-pWs-
nowadays windsor is different already. You can hit 3Ghz with windsor easily if you know how to pick a good one.....

14 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0478sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:10 AM