155 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Notebook Recommendation Thread v.31, Need To Buy Laptop... Please Come In

ZM Fong
post Oct 8 2018, 06:03 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(russell612 @ Oct 8 2018, 04:32 PM)
Guys does Acer sell the Aspire 7 series here in Msia? Heard they equipping with Kaby Lake G. Looks promising
Unfortunately, no
wanritsu
post Oct 8 2018, 08:33 PM

267 posts

1. Budget : RM 2k max
2. Usage : Buying laptop for my mom. No need for anything fancy lol. Mostly for surfing. Sometimes Microsoft Office. No gaming. Maybe for watching movies once in a while.
3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) :
15' monitor
Prefer ASUS was thinking about one of those vivobooks.

Thank you sifus smile.gif
ZM Fong
post Oct 8 2018, 08:44 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(wanritsu @ Oct 8 2018, 08:33 PM)
1. Budget : RM 2k max
2. Usage  : Buying laptop for my mom. No need for anything fancy lol. Mostly for surfing. Sometimes Microsoft Office. No gaming. Maybe  for watching movies once in a while.
3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) :
15' monitor
Prefer ASUS was thinking about one of those vivobooks.

Thank you sifus smile.gif
Vivobooks are generally mediocre. For your budget, I suggest you to go used if you really need 15 inch
SUSLordDenning
post Oct 8 2018, 09:05 PM

peanut butter jelly
1,502 posts

been seeing a lot of recommendations for the Y530 lately.. (3.4k after 15% discount)

Mind to share other competitor/options besides it?

Say if max budget is 4k..
russell612
post Oct 8 2018, 09:07 PM

781 posts

Also I saw that our dell products are about 1.5X more expensive than their US counterparts. Why is that so? Been wanting to get a dell machine but their prices just pisses me off
ZM Fong
post Oct 8 2018, 10:13 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(LordDenning @ Oct 8 2018, 09:05 PM)
been seeing a lot of recommendations for the Y530 lately.. (3.4k after 15% discount)

Mind to share other competitor/options besides it?

Say if max budget is 4k..
Illegear Raven
Commandos Glock 5 (Clevo NB50TK1)
Dell G7 - 1050 only (in this budget), low sRGB IPS
ZM Fong
post Oct 8 2018, 10:15 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(russell612 @ Oct 8 2018, 09:07 PM)
Also I saw that our dell products are about 1.5X more expensive than their US counterparts. Why is that so? Been wanting to get a dell machine but their prices just pisses me off
Dell Malaysia problem. Can try DFO
SUSLordDenning
post Oct 8 2018, 10:36 PM

peanut butter jelly
1,502 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Oct 8 2018, 10:13 PM)
Illegear Raven
Commandos Glock 5 (Clevo NB50TK1)
Dell G7 - 1050 only (in this budget), low sRGB IPS
alright will check them out.

btw u got pm.

capsulr
post Oct 9 2018, 06:04 AM

472 posts

Haven't been able to sleep for a few nights now, thinking of what laptop to buy
I'm just too damn picky.

I'm aiming for GTX 1060, either acer predator or asus tuf.
So see see, Asus TUF actually give the 120hz screen for i7 @ RM 5K, shit. Ok go for acer predator then.
Acer predator helios 300 just fits it so well at RM 3.6K, but I just found out that this i5 version ALSO does not come with the 144hz screen, only with the i7 @ rm 5K as well, what the hell.

The 60hz screen provided colour accuracy and brightness SUCKS SO MUCH ASS, so I am thinking about upgrading the screen, RM 300, then upgrade ram, 8gb ddr4 another RM 300.
Fuck suddenly already tambah 600 out of nowhere, laptop become RM 4,200 now for an i5 and so much additional work to put in, plus the keyboard sucks as well.

So are there any good laptops with a GTX 1060 that is cheap with good screen and keyboard at RM 4.5K -5K that I should consider? Or does anyone know if there will be a refresh from Dell and lenovo soon and I should wait?

This post has been edited by capsulr: Oct 9 2018, 06:17 AM
myway1985
post Oct 9 2018, 08:34 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(capsulr @ Oct 9 2018, 06:04 AM)
Haven't been able to sleep for a few nights now, thinking of what laptop to buy
I'm just too damn picky.

I'm aiming for GTX 1060, either acer predator or asus tuf.
So see see, Asus TUF actually give the 120hz screen for i7 @ RM 5K, shit. Ok go for acer predator then.
Acer predator helios 300 just fits it so well at RM 3.6K, but I just found out that this i5 version ALSO does not come with the 144hz screen, only with the i7 @ rm 5K as well, what the hell.

The 60hz screen provided colour accuracy and brightness SUCKS SO MUCH ASS, so I am thinking about upgrading the screen, RM 300, then upgrade ram, 8gb ddr4 another RM 300.
Fuck suddenly already tambah 600 out of nowhere, laptop become RM 4,200 now for an i5 and so much additional work to put in, plus the keyboard sucks as well.

So are there any good laptops with a GTX 1060 that is cheap with good screen and keyboard at RM 4.5K -5K that I should consider? Or does anyone know if there will be a refresh from Dell and lenovo soon and I should wait?
try this.older model

Alienware 13 R3 Gaming Laptop Intel® Core™ i7-7700HQ (Quad-Core, 6MB Cache, up to 3.8GHz w/ Turbo Boost) 8GB DDR4 at 2667MHz (1x8GB) 256GB PCIe SSD (Boot) NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 1060 with 6GB GDDR5 Windows 10 Home 13.3 inch FHD (1920 x 1080) IPS Anti-Glare 300-nits Display with Alienware Head-KBL Rm5000
myway1985
post Oct 9 2018, 08:35 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(russell612 @ Oct 8 2018, 09:07 PM)
premium product.. Lol.. Yes.. Dfo a good choice now.. Come with premium support warranty
ZM Fong
post Oct 9 2018, 02:14 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(capsulr @ Oct 9 2018, 06:04 AM)
First: Avoid Helios 300 and FX504GM, bad cooling and OKish build quality. Unless you don't mind that

Can consider these:
1. Illegear Raven (TongFang GJ5CN6E) with 1060 and 144Hz IPS. Can choose in house mechanical keyboard which is similar to blue switches. I suggest you to take i5 8300H since 8750H runs hot.
2. Commandos Carbine 5 (Clevo N950TP6). Keyboard is nothing special though. Comes with desktop CPU. I suggest you to take i5 8400.
3. Level51 W15 Lite (Clevo N950TP6) with 120Hz TN. Same explanation with Carbine 5.
scootersRcool
post Oct 10 2018, 04:55 PM

Welp, round 2.

Budget: 7k
CPU: i7 or higher (may not be relevant
RAM : 16/32GB
Weight: If possible, below 2kg, but this is flexible.
Battery life: 7-8+ hours? (or whatever is reasonable)

Uses : Highly aggressive photoshop.
Note: Memory(RAM) is top priority.

This post has been edited by scootersRcool: Oct 10 2018, 05:18 PM
ZM Fong
post Oct 10 2018, 05:10 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(scootersRcool @ Oct 10 2018, 04:55 PM)
Welp, round 2.

Budget: 7k
CPU: i7 or higher (may not be relevant
RAM : 16/32GB
Weight: If possible, below 2kg, but not a high priority, yet.

Uses : Highly aggressive photoshop.
Note: Memory(RAM) is top priority.
Any preference on battery life? Max weight you can accept?
hi54ever
post Oct 10 2018, 05:12 PM

744 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Oct 8 2018, 11:00 AM)
HP Omen 15-DC0126TX
Asus GL504GM
Illegear Onyx
Lenovo Legion Y530 (81LB001GMJ) - low sRGB IPS

Light weight but don't have thin bezel: MSI GP63
thanks guys, some pm-ed as well. how was lenovo quality over time? aftersales service? they just release their 1060 version of y530 and seems like pretty good competition for others. Asus and msi seems having poor quality from what i read.

scootersRcool
post Oct 10 2018, 05:17 PM

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Oct 10 2018, 05:10 PM)
Any preference on battery life? Max weight you can accept?
Battery life > 7-8hours
I'd prefer it to be under 2kg, but am flexible on weight.
Jay1221
post Oct 10 2018, 05:51 PM

21 posts

LENOVO Y530, i5 with GTX 1060 6 GB looks promising..,but can it chasis handle the thermal from the gpu and cpu? cant find any review on youtube about this laptop configuration...however...,dave2d once say it should be fine with 1060...any opinions fellas?
ZM Fong
post Oct 10 2018, 05:58 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(hi54ever @ Oct 10 2018, 05:12 PM)
thanks guys, some pm-ed as well. how was lenovo quality over time? aftersales service? they just release their 1060 version of y530 and seems like pretty good competition for others. Asus and msi seems having poor quality from what i read.
Quality: Depends on model, not brand
Aftersales service: Onsite is pretty good (takes a few days, unlike Dell), carry in also good. I would say it depends on luck and which service centers since I've heard both good and bad stories

Y530 with 1060 has very good value

Asus and MSI has good and bad models, however their quality has indeed dropped compared to a few years ago (same goes with other brands, though not that significant)
ZM Fong
post Oct 10 2018, 05:59 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Jay1221 @ Oct 10 2018, 05:51 PM)
LENOVO Y530, i5 with GTX 1060 6 GB looks promising..,but can it chasis handle the thermal from the gpu and cpu?
8300H+1060 - no problem, the GPU still has plenty of cooling room
If 8750H+1060, it might struggle a bit since 8750H runs hot
kamikraze
post Oct 10 2018, 06:15 PM

Iphone 12 Pro Max + Magicwatch 2
6,425 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Oct 10 2018, 05:59 PM)
8300H+1060 - no problem, the GPU still has plenty of cooling room
If 8750H+1060, it might struggle a bit since 8750H runs hot
there's no additional 2-years warranty option too. you stuck with 1year warranty for y530 with gtx1060

155 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0171sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:06 AM