155 Pages « < 73 74 75 76 77 > » Bottom

Notebook Recommendation Thread v.31, Need To Buy Laptop... Please Come In

salveusassault
post Feb 14 2019, 02:48 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Feb 13 2019, 04:51 PM)
Actually you don't have to spend that much, below 5k is enough aldy for your usage unless you want RTX GPU

Illegear Z7
Asus GL703GE

Check my gaming laptop list for more options (though I haven't update it for quite a long time)
Hey there, thanks for the suggestions man! biggrin.gif
NGV22
post Feb 14 2019, 03:03 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Feb 11 2019, 04:13 PM)
Might want to bump up budget unless you're fine with low end CPU+low RAM and refurb/used stuffs
im ok with intel i3 and equivalent cpu. also, 4gb RAM.

ssd would be good but not necessary.
ZM Fong
post Feb 14 2019, 05:17 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(NGV22 @ Feb 14 2019, 03:03 PM)
im ok with intel i3 and equivalent cpu. also, 4gb RAM.

ssd would be good but not necessary.
Preferred max weight in kg and min battery life in hours?
NGV22
post Feb 14 2019, 05:20 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Feb 14 2019, 05:17 PM)
Preferred max weight in kg and min battery life in hours?
battery life 8 hrs. max weight does not matter. thanks!

ZM Fong
post Feb 14 2019, 06:30 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(NGV22 @ Feb 14 2019, 05:20 PM)
battery life 8 hrs. max weight does not matter. thanks!
Acer Swift 1 SF114-32-P4KX / P77B
dylan_chng
post Feb 14 2019, 09:42 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(NGV22 @ Feb 14 2019, 03:03 PM)
im ok with intel i3 and equivalent cpu.
QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Feb 14 2019, 06:30 PM)
Acer Swift 1 SF114-32-P4KX / P77B
The Swift 1's Pentium is weaker than an i3.

ZM Fong
post Feb 14 2019, 11:46 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(dylan_chng @ Feb 14 2019, 09:42 PM)
The Swift 1's Pentium is weaker than an i3.
Ah I missed that, my bad

Lenovo Ideapad 330S-14IKB 81F400G1MJ / G2MJ
nicklause
post Feb 15 2019, 10:58 AM

I planning to upgrade my current ultrabook, HP Spectre X360 with the core i5 processor. I've narrowed down to two of my favorites but I'm open to other suggestion as well. At this juncture I'm looking at getting either a Razer Blade Stealth 13 with the UHD Graphics 620 and a Razer Core X combo (I'm aware the price does not include a graphic card) or a Razer Blade 15 v1 with the GTX1060 Full HD 144hz screen.

Since I'm unable to find the exact spec I'm looking for in Malaysia I'm planning to go down to Singapore to get the laptops, currently the prices of the two choices I have in mind are:

1. Razer Blade Stealth 13 with Core X: SGD2159 + SGD449 after forex based on today's rate is RM6485 + RM1348= RM7833
2. Razer Blade 15 v1: SGD3084 after forex based on today's rate is RM9084

Now I understand that's a lot of money to shell out that is why I took to LYN to consult some sifus and everybody's opinion. I've also considered going for the base Razer Blade 15 with GTX 1060 and HD 60hz screen which is priced at a more modest SGD2499(RM7506),however at that price point I will be only getting a 128gb SSD + 1TB HDD and a thicker body and a lower capacity battery. I'm not considering the Razer Blade Stealth 13 with the Nvidia MX150 as the price premium (SGD320/RM961) does not get me much more performance with a Nvidia MX150 and it also has a shorter battery life.

Now more on my intended usage of the laptop, I'm a working professional which deals mostly with various Microsoft office applications and some emailing plus research on the internet. I prefer to have a laptop which I can carry around with me easily and does not require me to be tied down by a power brick. I can live with at most a mid day charge on a normal day of work as I travel quite often. I would also like to note that I do have an external Anker 26800mAh powerbank which allow me to charge my laptop on the go. If I based my choices solely on my work I would've picked the Razer Blade Stealth 13 however I'm also a casual gamer. I like to have the privilege to slip in 30-60mins of game play sometimes when I'm either transiting during a flight or if I'm early to a meeting or if I'm done with my work at my office. The games I mostly play are the total war series and world of warships. I occasionally play FPS as well. I'm by no means a heavy gamer which require my daily dose of gaming.

I hope to be able to get some opinions and inputs from LYN, I am open to other suggestions as well. I've looked at the Gigabyte Aero 15 and the MSI GS65 Stealth thin as they are in the same price range however I do not fancy their design as I mentioned before I'm a working professional and I don't wanna be whipping out my laptop during meetings or presentation and have a pulsating logo of a dragon or overly flashy laptop design in front of my business partners and clients. Thank you very much in advance!
ZM Fong
post Feb 15 2019, 12:29 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(nicklause @ Feb 15 2019, 10:58 AM)
1. Razer Blade Stealth 13 with Core X: SGD2159 + SGD449 after forex based on today's rate is RM6485 + RM1348= RM7833
2. Razer Blade 15 v1: SGD3084 after forex based on today's rate is RM9084
Avoid Razer laptops
nicklause
post Feb 15 2019, 12:43 PM

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Feb 15 2019, 12:29 PM)
Avoid Razer laptops
Hi, any reason for that? What alternatives to a laptop with similar feel and performance? Thanks
ZM Fong
post Feb 15 2019, 01:09 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(nicklause @ Feb 15 2019, 12:43 PM)
Hi, any reason for that? What alternatives to a laptop with similar feel and performance? Thanks
No QC at all and poor warranty service

Budget? Usage? Any preference on weight and battery life?
nicklause
post Feb 15 2019, 01:18 PM

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Feb 15 2019, 01:09 PM)
No QC at all and poor warranty service

Budget? Usage? Any preference on weight and battery life?
Budget: 7.5k
Usage: mostly work and some light gaming(looking forward to running TW: 3 kingdoms in the future)
Weight: as light as possible
Battery: around 8hrs or more on moderate usage(Microsoft office)

Appreciate your help

This post has been edited by nicklause: Feb 15 2019, 01:19 PM
ZM Fong
post Feb 15 2019, 01:23 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(nicklause @ Feb 15 2019, 01:18 PM)
Weight: as light as possible
Battery: around 8hrs or more on moderate usage(Microsoft office)
Max weight in kg?

8 hrs battery life is very difficult to achieve in gaming laptop
nicklause
post Feb 15 2019, 03:47 PM

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Feb 15 2019, 01:23 PM)
Max weight in kg?

8 hrs battery life is very difficult to achieve in gaming laptop

I'd say max weight around 1.5kg, sorry am not very well versed when it comes to the techie stuff, i was hoping for a lappy that could last me the day of work thats why i said 8hours, however if the lappy supports a usb-c I have an external battery to make it last longer.
SUSxcves
post Feb 15 2019, 04:01 PM

43 posts

so after doing some research online, many seems to advice stretching out the budget slightly to get the gtx1060 instead of the 1050/1050ti as it is a significantly better card and more "future proof".
is it true that the 1060 is a way better card than even the 1050ti?

initially i was looking at y530, i5 + gtx1080ti + 8gb ram + 128gb ssd + 1tb hdd + 144hz panel. after 15% discount the price was 4.2k..

looking at the specs of the legion y530 below. exactly 4.5k after 15% discount.
i dont mind to up my budget to 4.5k cause i wanna buy something that can last me for a long term usage..
wonder if this is a solid deal or are there better laptop suggestions out there?

Processor : Intel Core i5-8300H Processor (8MB Cache, 2.30GHz)
Total Memory : 8GB DDR4 2666MHz SODIMM
Graphic Card : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB GDDR5 192bit
Display : 15.6"FHD (1920 x 1080) LED, IPS, Anti-glare, 300nit, 144Hz
Hard Drive : 256GB Solid State Drive M.2 PCIe

i also checked out illegear's raven for similar specs, is about 4.4k for the i5 + gtx1060 + 8gb ram + 144hz panel. the diff is its 120gb ssd + 1tb sshd combo, and it gets a mechanical keyboard.

also, is the i5 + gtx1060 a good combo? or an i7 is needed? i dont use any rendering software or adobe, etc.. but i do use it for programming and sometimes running some virtual machines, but not those very intensive VMs i think..

This post has been edited by xcves: Feb 15 2019, 04:19 PM
Rajey
post Feb 15 2019, 04:24 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(xcves @ Feb 15 2019, 04:01 PM)
so after doing some research online, many seems to advice stretching out the budget slightly to get the gtx1060 instead of the 1050/1050ti as it is a significantly better card and more "future proof".
is it true that the 1060 is a way better card than even the 1050ti?

initially i was looking at y530, i5 + gtx1080ti + 8gb ram + 128gb ssd + 1tb hdd + 144hz panel. after 15% discount the price was 4.2k..
looking at the specs of the legion y530 below. exactly 4.5k after 15% discount.
i dont mind to up my budget to 4.5k cause i wanna buy something that can last me for a long term usage..
wonder if this is a solid deal or are there better laptop suggestions out there?

Processor : Intel Core i5-8300H Processor (8MB Cache, 2.30GHz)
Total Memory : 8GB DDR4 2666MHz SODIMM
Graphic Card : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB GDDR5 192bit
Display : 15.6"FHD (1920 x 1080) LED, IPS, Anti-glare, 300nit, 144Hz
Hard Drive : 256GB Solid State Drive M.2 PCIe

i also checked out illegear's raven for similar specs, is about 4.4k for the i5 + gtx1060 + 8gb ram + 144hz panel. the diff is its 120gb ssd + 1tb sshd combo, and it gets a mechanical keyboard.

also, is the i5 + gtx1060 a good combo? or an i7 is needed? i dont use any rendering software or adobe, etc.. but i do use it for programming and sometimes running some virtual machines, but not those very intensive VMs i think..
Yes, the 1060 is that much better than the 1050Ti, if you're going to get a 10xx series laptop in 2019 and want to future proof for a couple years, you have to get the 1060.

the i5-8300H basically outperforms the previous generation's i7. So as long as you won't be doing big time video or picture editing, this i5 will do just fine.
ZM Fong
post Feb 15 2019, 05:11 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(nicklause @ Feb 15 2019, 03:47 PM)
I'd say max weight around 1.5kg, sorry am not very well versed when it comes to the techie stuff, i was hoping for a lappy that could last me the day of work thats why i said 8hours, however if the lappy supports a usb-c I have an external battery to make it last longer.
Since you want low weight and long battery life, you might want to consider eGPU solution. I dunno where got sell eGPU but I can recommend some affordable options with TB3

Lenovo Yoga 730 13 customize
Lenovo Ideapad 720s 13 Intel 81BV000BMJ / CMJ
Lenovo Yoga S730 81J0005LMJ / 81J0005KMJ
ZM Fong
post Feb 15 2019, 05:15 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(xcves @ Feb 15 2019, 04:01 PM)
snip
1060 is significantly better than 1050TI

If you're buying Y530 from Lenovo website, I suggest you to opt for HDD only and upgrade SSD by your own

i5-8300H is a decent chip if you don't always run workload that requires much multi core performance

Affordable but good 1060 laptops:
Commandos Carbine 5 (Clevo N950TP6)
Lenovo Legion Y530 customize
Illegear Raven (TongFang GJ5CN6E)
SUSxcves
post Feb 15 2019, 05:33 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Feb 15 2019, 05:15 PM)
1060 is significantly better than 1050TI

If you're buying Y530 from Lenovo website, I suggest you to opt for HDD only and upgrade SSD by your own

i5-8300H is a decent chip if you don't always run workload that requires much multi core performance

Affordable but good 1060 laptops:
Commandos Carbine 5 (Clevo N950TP6)
Lenovo Legion Y530 customize
Illegear Raven (TongFang GJ5CN6E)
hi. as you can see from the image, have to select a SSD. only HDD is an option. so i will select the 256gb ssd + no hdd instead.

what surprise me the most after doing comparisons.. i found out that for a similar build between different y530, you can get a 1060 rather than 1050ti for a mere 300 ringgit more only

y530 = i5 + gtx 1050ti + 8gb ram + 128gb ssd + 1tb hdd + 144hz ips panel = rm 4.2k after student discount
y530 = i5 + gtx 1060 + 8gb ram + 256gb ssd + 144hz ips panel = rm 4.5k after student discount << you get a 1060 card for a mere 300 ringgit, although no hdd but the m.2 256gb nvme ssd more than makes up for it i guess.

raven = i5 + gtx 1050ti + 8gb ram + 120gb ssd + 1tb sshd + 144hz panel = rm 3.8k
raven = i5 + gtx 1060 + 8gb ram + 120 gb ssd + 1tb sshd + 144hz panel = rm 4.4k

as you can see, for the 1060 build the price between y530 and raven is about similar to each other specs wise. so choosing between y530 or raven would then fall upon other factors like laptop design, cooling performance, etc etc.

but for the 1050ti build, the raven and also glock 5 is way cheaper at around 3.8k compared to y530 4.2k price. i guess the y530 1050ti build is way way overpriced and not worth it at all to get. might as well go for 1060 straight, or else get either raven or glock 5 for the 1050ti build..

This post has been edited by xcves: Feb 15 2019, 07:26 PM
dany06
post Feb 15 2019, 05:52 PM

120 posts

Any suggestions for secondary school student to purely work on word/excel etc? Looking for cheapest laptop with acceptable reliability. I can get around 1k - 1.2k via lazada/shopee but i don't know if those are goods or not. Thanks.

155 Pages « < 73 74 75 76 77 > » Top

0.0369sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:31 AM