Driving Malaysia Car into Thailand, Step-by-Step guideline

Kieff
post Dec 17 2019, 07:00 AM

80 posts

Dear all,
I bought the compulsory 9 days insurance b4 entering Thailand, but I decided to stay till day 11. My family and I now in Na Thawi, Where can I buy the additional insurance here?
blaze91
post Dec 24 2019, 09:39 AM

1,009 posts

Hi Sifus,

Planning to drive into hatyai. Can let me know what are the things I have to prepare. And also have question. Can I make photocopy of my car grant and get verified from nearest police station?

SleepingAran
post Dec 24 2019, 11:07 AM

21 posts

Just curious, is Malaysia NGV system compatible with Thailand NGV system? Can Malaysian NGV car fill NGV at Thailand PTT station?
Lanchio
post Dec 24 2019, 03:05 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(blaze91 @ Dec 24 2019, 09:39 AM)
Hi Sifus,

Planning to drive into hatyai. Can let me know what are the things I have to prepare. And also have question. Can I make photocopy of my car grant and get verified from nearest police station?
For first time into TH, best to have original VOC. Depends on the TH Customs officer, sometimes they only want original, sometimes photocopy will do. But for first time, as car not registered in the system, best to have original.

You can't save Google Maps TH map into your phone, it's a copyright thing. So, I save HERE maps. But the accuracy of both maps can be horrible out of town. Even driving in town, it can be tricky as TH town roads are narrow & GPS inaccurate.

Remember to return the TH Customs form (for your car) after you chop your passport at departure. Failing to return will incur penalties ($$$$) the next time you drive in.

blaze91
post Dec 24 2019, 07:08 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(Lanchio @ Dec 24 2019, 03:05 PM)
For first time into TH, best to have original VOC. Depends on the TH Customs officer, sometimes they only want original, sometimes photocopy will do. But for first time, as car not registered in the system, best to have original.

You can't save Google Maps TH map into your phone, it's a copyright thing. So, I save HERE maps. But the accuracy of both maps can be horrible out of town. Even driving in town, it can be tricky as TH town roads are narrow & GPS inaccurate.

Remember to return the TH Customs form (for your car) after you chop your passport at departure. Failing to return will incur penalties ($$$$) the next time you drive in.
JPJ counter was closed by the time arrived today. Perhaps photocopy of verified(from policestation) VOC is valid?

This post has been edited by blaze91: Dec 24 2019, 07:09 PM
Icehart
post Jan 1 2020, 02:57 AM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(blaze91 @ Dec 24 2019, 07:08 PM)
JPJ counter was closed by the time arrived today. Perhaps photocopy of verified(from policestation) VOC is valid?
So did it work?
As far as I know need original.
wyh
post Jan 1 2020, 06:37 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(blaze91 @ Dec 24 2019, 09:39 AM)
Hi Sifus,

Usually photocopy will do most of the time but recommended to have original kept along with you.

i've cross numerous times in 2019 and none of them ask for original yet.
blaze91
post Jan 8 2020, 09:35 AM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jan 1 2020, 02:57 AM)
So did it work?
As far as I know need original.
I just brought the photocopy and didnt have any issues going into thailand. Photocopy will do
blaze91
post Jan 8 2020, 09:35 AM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(wyh @ Jan 1 2020, 06:37 PM)
Usually photocopy will do most of the time but recommended to have original kept along with you.

exactly they didnt ask for original. photocopy was fine
raimy_m9
post Jan 8 2020, 10:51 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(wyh @ Jan 1 2020, 06:37 PM)

almost all thai border won't ask for original, even though it's required by them. but,at times some border control will ask(bkh will never ask coz its popular). i encountered a few times. but it's usually during the period when security between both countries are tightened .when there's an insurgent, something happened or high risk area they requires all original during that period. (wang kelian, when the big hooha2 last time), golok when there's bombing. but luckily i brought voc while some of my friend not. go jpj kiosk and print out voc. motor rm20, car rm50.
when thai side requires all original, and you don't have one, usually it's budi bicara je., go find their officer moneyflies.gif i had to pay rm50 demn. no receipt. that time i was driving solo in golok area and days before that got bombing and insurgency. alot of people has been turned down. can't enter.
like i said, budi bicara, go find their officer in charge for the customs and prepare to pay.

if kacau pun usually malaysian police. not thai side. malaysian side kacau will tell you to get a chop from nearest balai while giving you a big smile brows.gif (small border usually). budi bicara je. but my friend kena, didn't bring original, so just park at the border and naik with another person.

this is just me and my friends experience as a frequent cross border overlander . sometimes we ride, sometimes i drive, sometimes my friend drives coz we too lazy to ride. or just take a flight. kl to bkh sudah 480km and our plus highway is freaking boring..

the latest adventure was we masuk cambodia last november. driving navara through bkh, osmah(in cambodia), krong poi pet then bkh.
last month masuk thai, from wang kelian, then exit at sungai kolok. next trip, dunno yet, usually i go on impulse.

the only border i never tried to cross between my-thai is the one near my hometown in tanah merah kelantan. bukit bunga(buketa)

This post has been edited by raimy_m9: Jan 8 2020, 10:51 AM
raimy_m9
post Jan 8 2020, 11:03 AM

174 posts

one more thing, we purchased voluntary insurance package, it comes with 1 year compulsary, and 6months voluntary for about rm420..
if cover my motor it will be rm440 for the same type of insurance.

"The Voluntary Insurance provides Thailand's property / vehicle damages coverage due to an accident in Thailand and it is divided into three different classes. Only the class three is offered to foreign vehicle."

if not just take the compulsary for about rm20 for a week will do. but if anything happen like, accident, death etc, you're going to be in a lot of trouble. if you have voluntary, at least you don't have to pay anything, any compensation etc.. if no death involved lah.

my friend accident langgar thai car, but since he has voluntary insurance, just call the insurance, and within 30minutes their nearest panel will come take picture and settle everything for you. you don;t have to pay anything.

or
just take a short term voluntary and compulsory will do. and your 101 extension.

This post has been edited by raimy_m9: Jan 8 2020, 11:13 AM
Leeyanxin P
post Jan 21 2020, 01:10 AM

Probation

Hi, Im planning to drive to hatyai at these coming CNY. Which kastam do u all suggest?
TSjaylim94
post Jan 22 2020, 09:39 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(Leeyanxin @ Jan 21 2020, 01:10 AM)
Hi, Im planning to drive to hatyai at these coming CNY. Which kastam do u all suggest?
Hi there,

If you are from the North South Highway (Jitra) that area, just use Bukit Kayu hitam(BKT) to enter.
Otherwise, if you take another path to another entrance, it might about the same while you queuing at BKT kastam biggrin.gif

Blofeld
post Jun 20 2022, 06:51 PM

4,701 posts

Anyone recently travelled by car to Hatyai after the Covid pandemic?

Are the procedures still the same?

Like getting the authorisation letter signed, TM2, TM3, ...?

Any new additional procedures?
Paddy
post Jul 14 2022, 12:04 PM

44 posts

i plan rent car in thailand , just using malaysia license or need idp ?
TSjaylim94
post Jul 18 2022, 06:55 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(Paddy @ Jul 14 2022, 12:04 PM)
i plan rent car in thailand , just using malaysia license or need idp ?
If I not mistaken, if the car is Thailand register car u gonna have IDP, if the car is Malaysia register car, then you use Msia License would be fine.
nebula87
post Jul 21 2022, 04:22 PM

Fg = mg
1,420 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jun 20 2022, 06:51 PM)
Anyone recently travelled by car to Hatyai after the Covid pandemic?

Are the procedures still the same?

Like getting the authorisation letter signed, TM2, TM3, ...?

Any new additional procedures?
I just back from Hatyai short trip on 19th Jul 2022 by car (crossing Thai by Sadao border)

Yes, they added 1 more step when going into Thailand, which you can see in the attach image.

(1) - (New) Where you need to park you car at the road side, all passengers and driver need to go down, Scan an QR code and fill up your details and attached a print screen (.jpg) of your vaccination page. After press submit, it will give you a Thai Pass QR code.

After that, walk to the left a bit, there are a few staffs to scan your Thai Pass QR code, once scanned, the staff will stamp your white card.

(2) - (Process no change) If your white card not stamped, Thai custom will ask you to go back to (1).

(3) - (Process no change)

This post has been edited by nebula87: Jul 21 2022, 04:24 PM
Blofeld
post Jul 22 2022, 02:39 PM

4,701 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Jul 21 2022, 04:22 PM)
I just back from Hatyai short trip on 19th Jul 2022 by car (crossing Thai by Sadao border)

Yes, they added 1 more step when going into Thailand, which you can see in the attach image.

(1) - (New) Where you need to park you car at the road side, all passengers and driver need to go down, Scan an QR code and fill up your details and attached a print screen (.jpg) of your vaccination page. After press submit, it will give you a Thai Pass QR code.

After that, walk to the left a bit, there are a few staffs to scan your Thai Pass QR code, once scanned, the staff will stamp your white card.

(2) - (Process no change) If your white card not stamped, Thai custom will ask you to go back to (1).

(3) - (Process no change)
Wow thank you so much!

For no 1, do you print screen the yellow coloured vaccination page or the vaccination cert?

and where to collect the white card?

And when you return to Malaysia, the process is still the same?
nebula87
post Jul 22 2022, 02:48 PM

Fg = mg
1,420 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jul 22 2022, 02:39 PM)
Wow thank you so much!

For no 1, do you print screen the yellow coloured vaccination page or the vaccination cert?

and where to collect the white card?

And when you return to Malaysia, the process is still the same?
I print screen from the PDF format.

I got the white card from the road side stall, those who help to fill up details for TM2,TM3, and white card. they also sell Thai car insurance.

Yes, for return to Malaysia, the process is still the same.
Blofeld
post Jul 22 2022, 03:38 PM

4,701 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Jul 22 2022, 02:48 PM)
I print screen from the PDF format.

I got the white card from the road side stall, those who help to fill up details for TM2,TM3, and white card. they also sell Thai car insurance.

Yes, for return to Malaysia, the process is still the same.

For this part =
Scan an QR code and fill up your details and attached a print screen (.jpg) of your vaccination page.

Who will check it whether you attached correctly and does it take long for them to check?

Any recommendations on which road side stall to get the Thai car insurance?

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0310sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:25 AM