Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V35, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

mylinear
post Nov 1 2018, 11:05 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(winyap991 @ Nov 1 2018, 09:01 PM)
It is unfortunate that users did not get together and all go switch to the new RM129 100M package as a sign of protest against them. Apart from very heavy downloaders, , 100M should be relatively sufficient for now for most average users. After all, 100M has been the highest speed available for a couple of years now and everyone was managing with it. This would have really made them sit up and even actually listen to user feedback as they would be losing a huge amount of revenue if this happened in a large scale.

This would have also been an opportunity for them to standardize pricing for all users as it is now very unfair that users pay different prices for the same speed, or get different speeds for the same price. It may even have been an opportunity to get them to revise the UnifiTV compulsary subscription or at least reduce the price of it. They would have eventually come up with higher packages anyway and users then could upgrade as they wish.

But it is quite difficult to get users to co-operate like this as generally users only complain about their own issue and once it is resolved, they do not care about the other users. Users are generally also not willing to sacrifice for a short term in order to get some long term benefit. Many users also think let the others do the work and I'll sit back and get the benefits when it is all done. I guess this is part of our way of thinking and culture here. And I guess such big companies know that very well and take advantage of it. Users do have some power over them but only in large numbers. Users are on the losing end in the end.

cskean
post Nov 1 2018, 11:09 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(alfredhow78 @ Nov 1 2018, 06:57 PM)
Fastest..? Speed ever recorded on wifi.

5ghz
800mbps
Huawei mate 20

I think different device acts differently...
What router are you using?
bernard90
post Nov 1 2018, 11:48 PM

228 posts

Hi all,

Got any sifu can help why my laptop and iphone connect to same 5ghz wireless but when do speed test on iphone can reach max speed of 200mbps+ but for laptop only can reach 100mbps+. But still both are not reach 300mbps, the max speed. Currently i am using TP Link AC1200, does change router can solve this issue? do I need to buy a good wifi adapter for my laptop?
ldragon
post Nov 2 2018, 12:04 AM

981 posts

QUOTE(bernard90 @ Nov 1 2018, 11:48 PM)
Hi all,

Got any sifu can help why my laptop and iphone connect to same 5ghz wireless but when do speed test on iphone can reach max speed of 200mbps+ but for laptop only can reach 100mbps+. But still both are not reach 300mbps, the max speed. Currently i am using TP Link AC1200, does change router can solve this issue? do I need to buy a good wifi adapter for my laptop?
What is your laptop wireless chipset?
bernard90
post Nov 2 2018, 12:11 AM

228 posts

QUOTE(ldragon @ Nov 2 2018, 12:04 AM)
What is your laptop wireless chipset?
Intel® Dual Band Wireless-AC 3165. You mean this?
JohnLai
post Nov 2 2018, 12:17 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,620 posts

QUOTE(bernard90 @ Nov 2 2018, 12:11 AM)
Intel® Dual Band Wireless-AC 3165. You mean this?
https://www.intel.com/content/dam/www/publi...-3165-brief.pdf

Single stream 433Mbps link speed, so best case would be 260Mbps.

Since you are getting 100Mbps....please configure your tplink c1200 5ghz channel width to 80Mhz
ken120
post Nov 2 2018, 12:18 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 1 2018, 10:56 PM)
There is no ‘modem’. Read 1st page, 1st post, green text, to know more about what you are getting as well as other general info. Good luck.
BTU aka ONT is called fibre optic modem doh.gif doh.gif

dickybird
post Nov 2 2018, 12:23 AM

2,070 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Nov 1 2018, 03:05 PM)
it is called the customer retention form, only applicable if you are out of contract I think
QUOTE(andrew16 @ Nov 1 2018, 03:10 PM)
im still under contract, meaning nothing can be done?

rubbish TM, i think they are the most complained company in Malaysia.
QUOTE(cskean @ Nov 1 2018, 03:21 PM)
From my experience, I went into TM Point to request for my turbo to be expedite, and my Unifi is still under contract. I told them directly I want to fill in the retention form to speed up my turbo upgrade process. Instead of giving me the form to fill in, the staff there say will help me to send a email directly to the turbo upgrade department to "expedite" my upgrade.

P/S : Just for a quick tips, 1st time I went there, I took the number and waited for almost 1hr. 2nd time I went again, this time I just queue at the Information Service counter, want make my request. If possible, take a look of the email that they send just to make sure they really did what they promise you. I went back for the 3rd time because I suspect they didn't send the email as they promise, and no surprise when I speak to the same CS again, it seems like they did send the email, but the Unifi account was not MINE!!!

I waited approx 2 weeks time as promised by the CS there, and my unifi was turbo-ed~
I am also under contract, but they don't know that so to get you off their case, they give you this form to fill and for them to take action.
birain
post Nov 2 2018, 12:46 AM

良い一日を
1,448 posts

Hi all,

throw away your old hardware(laptop and iphone) and buy the latest with the current specs....anyway, your network wifi protocol not the same. icon_idea.gif
dickybird
post Nov 2 2018, 12:49 AM

2,070 posts

Hi all,

First page, first post. Green text!
If TLDR, you need to buy a new more powerful router, notebook and smartphone.
msa9696
post Nov 2 2018, 01:38 AM

1,582 posts

QUOTE(kevintth @ Nov 1 2018, 09:19 AM)
Thank you for your suggestion. It seems like TP-Link T4U is the choice  smile.gif
How i wish i could downgrade it. Sadly, i'm still under the contract.
From what I understand, still allowed to downgrade even with contract
aBcD-|
post Nov 2 2018, 01:40 AM

935 posts

Guys, I need help with WAN disconnection issue.

As image below,

As I managed to ping 3 IPs, 2 private IP and 1 public IP.

192.168.0.1 is router from ground floor, gateway to WAN.
192.168.1.1 is modem from 2nd floor, which my laptop connected via Wi-Fi. (aka 192.168.0.105 in router's domain)

The thing is, each time I am disconnected from WAN, I received 192.168.0.1 network is unreachable. In the meantime, pinging to local 192.168.0.1 is working just fine.

Okay, sometimes I get request timed out at most 1 time from 192.168.0.1, but I dun see the reason why I receive destination net unreachable messages that much from WAN.

P.S: I am not network expert, but I also ensure that these ping commands were running simultaneously. The major anomaly is disconnected from WAN, while receiving message saying "192.168.0.1" destination net unreachable.

puke.gif puke.gif puke.gif puke.gif puke.gif
Doraku
post Nov 2 2018, 02:33 AM

Old threads digger
1,121 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Nov 2 2018, 12:46 AM)
throw away your old hardware(laptop and iphone) and buy the latest with the current specs....anyway, your network wifi protocol not the same. icon_idea.gif
This is not a /K to post like that lel sleep.gif Please post responsibility.
birain
post Nov 2 2018, 07:30 AM

良い一日を
1,448 posts

QUOTE(Doraku @ Nov 2 2018, 02:33 AM)
This is not a /K to post like that lel sleep.gif  Please post responsibility.
btw, i did not post a /k style answer. you cannot aspect your old hardware to match the current situation unless you upgraded you wifi network card as well. do check your laptop specs and look for the network card protocol that support the current speed. no point using old tech and expecting to get full gigabit speed. you got your 300,500 and 800 speed upgrade but don't forget to invest in your hardware as well. want full speed, use LAN connection instead of wifi.

check list:-
1) network card/wifi card
2) LAN cable version e.g Cat5, Cat6 & Cat6A
3) BTU and modem as well
TSSilentVampire
post Nov 2 2018, 07:47 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,706 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 1 2018, 11:05 PM)
Optical Network Unit is a modem...... sweat.gif
Yes, I know that, but you don't refer to it that way. Just semantics smile.gif

QUOTE(ken120 @ Nov 2 2018, 12:18 AM)
BTU aka ONT is called fibre optic modem doh.gif  doh.gif
My friend, you don't refer to it as fibre optic modem, but you refer to it as BTU or ONU. Yes, it is the same thing, but I am just teaching him the right term to use. Just semantics smile.gif
TSSilentVampire
post Nov 2 2018, 08:01 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,706 posts

Topic closed. Continue here for V36: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4685213

0.0180sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 03:55 AM